Anyone staying in Bukit Panjang

minz

yah, talking abt where to eat... I eat the food at BP eat until super sian liao. But our area here like no eating places unless drive out to buy. Plus I think the ventilation at foodcourt is very bad. Normally after buying food clothes will stink, eventhough it's only a short while...I always hated that smell, so most of the time will avoid there if possible lor

soyabean

hi BP gals!
binbin invited me over to tis thread!

i m oso staying in BP, segar. my parents oso stay in BP, senja. moved into my place abt 2 mths ago...

totoro: u from the jun btb thread oso rite?

totoro

hi soyabean

yayayaya....me also June bride..which blk huh..

maybe next time we all can meet up and plaza for bubbletea hor..will be so fun right?

smurfy

I am also a current and future resident of Bt panjang. Can I join in too?

I am currently staying at Jelapang, Blk 53X with my parents. Will be moving to Blk 17X (resale) in the near future. My house is currently under reno, think shld be finish by this weekend liao... in fact, my whole family "tribe" staying in BP :p . My eldest sis beside Mayspring, second sis at Fajar, parents at Jelapang
. so happy to be staying so near each other

cutiechar

Hi all the ladies!!

I am waiting for my flat at jurong west but then waited quite for awhile, so we decided to select segar blk 47* near the expressway there..

jus wanna check if it is convenient living in BP? the greenridge shopping and fajar shopping izzit a commercial centre or just contain some mama shop only? keke...

tks for replying!

binbin

hi hi welcome soyabean, smurfy and cutiechar!!! hehehhe welcome to the BP family yar?

soyabean, saw ur posting in the hp thread so faster come here to check ur posting...hehhehhee.... so u staying in segar huh? u chose the white, red and green ones or the beige ones?

smurfy! wow, whole family stays here! so fun!!! hehhehee...for me, i stay with my parents now in lompang (which is among the blks you will be moving into, block 17* *wink wink*), and will be moving to senja 65*.

cutiechar....errrrr..... it's not realli a commercial centre nor some mama shop leh...dunno how to describe hehehhehee..... i feel that it's super convenient in terms of transport!!! super bus 190, 700, 960 brings me to town and back so fast!!! but well have to admit food wise still can have some improvement loh....hehehhee....nebermine will cook ourselves then!!!

binbin

hi soyabean, din know u oredi moved in leh, must have missed it when u mentioned it...hehehhee.... so it's nicely renovated now? what is the renovation theme huh? what does ur place look like? me starting reno next week, so beri kaypoh...hehehhehe....

cutiechar

Hi binbin

nice to know u too!

Hi Soyabean!

You staying at 48* segar road there? cool!

Are you facing any expressway? How is the place there? we intend to get the flats there..hopefully can get and we can be neighbours hor!

binbin

hi cutiechar...... huh? u intend to get? u mean u have not purchased the flat huh? but thinking of lah? hehhee i tot u got the flat oredi.....

soyabean

hi BP gals!

binbin..
yeah.. i moved in abt 2 mths ago. wedding next mth liao. i didnt reali hv a reno theme, jus modern i guess. hv quite a lot of colors actuali, dun like my house to be in one color. mine is the red and green ones... hehe... btw, who u engage for reno?

cutiechar, we're neighbours i tink.
my MBR faces the expressway.. can be quite dusty leh..

totoro

Hi soya bean, heeheei staying near BPplaza, at blk 183, next time we all can go there for kopi!!

i think when i start reno in july, i start to bug all of u with questions...nnow busy with preparation to get married

cutiechar

Hi Binbin,

my new flat is at jurong west but I waited so long for it..its a delayed project and I need a flat before my customary this Dec..I have went to see BP flats and me and hubby think not bad..went to see Senjar Link yesterday..might be taking the executive flat but then budget constraint unless sell away the car..sigh :S

soya..I felt that Segar road there abit noisy coz of expressway..but its a good place coz don have to worry abt ur oppsite having high rise building/centre..

soyabean

cutiechar,
i hv to say segar flats are quiet and peaceful and with no buildings blocking it. but it can be a little inconvenient though cos its quite a walk from the nearest lrt. it'll be better if the couple owns a car.

as for the noise, we have grown used to it already.

totoro,
no prob..
jus come here if u hv questions on reno! will try my best to answer them.

cutiechar

Hi Soya,

I went there yesterday (Segar) to see the flats again..spot blk 478 and blk 479 not bad..facing expressway but my husband got second tots coz he thinks its noisy and only he is driving..he worry abt me travelling to work and etc..I guess urs is the exec one? sigh..mayb cannot be neighbours with u liaozz..keke

Hi binbin..you staying at Senjar rite? I am looking at blk 650 facing the bushes there..but haven decided leh..coz price too steep..sigh..

soyabean

cutiechar,
me staying in 4room oni lah... hehe... oso dun hv $ to buy exec... i like my house to be small and cosy and oso easier to clean mah... hehe...

i oso dun drive... so i depend on my hubby oso... after sometime a bit used to the walk to the lrt. i try to convince myself that its good exercise (whh is quite true anyway...) and if at night usu hubby will fetch me cos he scared not reali safe.

sweetcorn

hi bin bin, soyabean, cutechar, I'm also staying at segar! soyabean, I think we stay in the same area - the green & red one. I'm at 47*, facing inside garden. I didn't know there are 4-rm there. I thot all either 5rm or E-flat?

cutechar, you can change your selection now meh? I think there are quite plenty of E-Flat left in our area...you can slowly take your pic. I like the tennis court best
However, do note that their windows grills hor is green ones so difficult to match interior deco leh. Me doing reno now a bit headache, aiyo.

binbin

hi hi cutiechar! so u are considering 650 huh?!!! mine is also in that cluster...
it's a wonderful place, both of us feel sooo happy whenever we go visit out place..... love the greenery around it, as well as the twinkling lights along the expressway in the distance. also love the bukit timah nature reserve which faces us! so happy...
how long have u been working? perhaps can top up ur cpf with a bit of cash so u can pay deposit. the monthly installment shldn't be any prob right, we also take the longest possible period of repayment....

btw, why did u say "senjar link"? i think it's Senja Road....

hi soyabean, my ID is Ergo Design. dun think u've heard of him coz he dun advertise, only by recommendation.

totoro, dun worry, we welcome any questions...
we started our reno yesterday. took leave whole day.... went twice in the morning and nigh. when we were there at night with our ID, all the floor tiles hacked off liao, plus our study room wall...wow! so fast.... hehehhehhee.... lucky we took pics of our place b4 the works or else we sure feel beri heart pain..... :p

soyabean

hi sweetcorn,
yes we staying same area. my living room faces the garden.

hv u rented the tennis court before? how do they deduct the fee cos i think can mk reservation thru phone rite?

and actuali i like the green windows. i didnt go into blending its color with my interior decor. i thot the color was nice and unique and so i left it on its own.

binbin...
err... yeah, neber heard of ur ID before. have fun with renovation. its a fun process.

pio

Could I check with you. My parents just got a new flat from HDB in BP as well. When you went down to HDB to collect your keys, did you go to activate your Power Supply acocunt as well? If yes, did they ask for a deposit to be paid on the spot?

My parents thought they paid up the deposit on the spot, but a bill came along with the deposit indicated there. I wonder if they recalled correctly. So I wanted to find out if it is standard procedures to pay up the deposit on the spot, cos I recalled they adhered to the std procedures.

Please advise.

binbin

hi Pio, yes we actiivated our power supply on the spot. just asked my FH for u and he said we did pay the deposit on the spot too, by cash. think it's quite cheap, less than $20.

perhaps ur parents paid by credit card/cheque and was later on not approved due to some reasons? that's y HDB ask for $ again? perhaps u can call them up to check.

pio

Hi Binbin,

Thanks so much for checking. Nope, they usually pay thru cash and not using cheque or credit card. So if it was paid on the spot, it has to be cash.

Sigh, that day the counter was very busy, so my mum thought she remember the lady clipping the $100 note from my dad onto the form which my dad filled up.

Sigh... I thought I recalled my dad paying something as well.

P.S. Binbin, if I recalled correctly from past postings, yours is an exec flat also right? How come you need to pay only $20?

binbin

hi Pio, i said $20 only from memory leh heeheehee... coz i din ask him how much. and even i ask he wun rem coz he not beri good memory with figures.....hhehehhee.... it could be $100 for all i know leh. i will let you know if my FH knows how much we paid....

Best is you should call HDB, tell them you HAVE paid, and that the counter girl has made a mistake. Why are they paying u again.

btw, have u checked whether the bill is for the deposit? perhaps it is the 1st monthly payment?

cutiechar

Hi Soya

4 rm better coz we are headache over the exec one also..imagine 2 of us there..can hear echoes..wahaha..:S

Hi Sweetcorn

Coz my flat is a delayed project so HDB give us another selection(walk-in-selection) but not much left..BP only left exec..sigh..
Yar! I was attracted by the tennis court oso and the running track..think it looks great..and the window has a nice green colour but the only thing is that my husband find the LRT too far and in other words he is picky lar! : )

Hi Binbin

I am more attracted to Senjar Road coz of the LRT and the view is facing the bushes there and if you live high level,can see the two piles of granite(wrong spelling?!?!)..hee..but only left exec oso..now still condsidering..hope can be ur neighbours..

binbin

hi cutiechar! yeah yeah be our neighbours lah....hehehhee..... i have found 2 new neighbours from this forum liaoz.

yeah, can see the 2 granite hills in the distance, though that's not realli the attraction for us. we just love the outlook of the cluster, and the 16 panels of full height windows...hehhehee....

binbin

hi chutiechar,just visited the hdb web, blk 650 still has some units left right? unit 02's and 04's. which one u eyeing at? which floor?

pio

Hi Totoro,

My parents selected Blk 607 (Senja Rd - one of the blocks that has been built earlier, but these are exec units that are still empty), and I selected Blk 630 (Senja Rd).

Binbin, sigh... I guess I need to ask them to recall again. but it definitely is for the deposit, cos they are also charging us for usage and first-monthly payment in the 1st billing (if I recalled from the bill my dad showed me last night).

sweetsuz

hi pio,

i think i did not pay the $100 deposit on the spot. when i went to collect my keys, i just need to pay the 3 mths conservancy fees. the $100 deposit for the PUB was charged to the next bill.

juz a brief intro...my unit is at binbin cluster. but my unit not facing the wide greeneries but facing the LRT. I can still catch some of the greeneries from bedrooms' view. i wld be starting reno in Jun

cutiechar

Hi Binbin

I "boe" the 20 floor but taken up..the 20 flr unit shiok leh..the full-length window longer than the rest of the unit..looks like a condo man..hehe..

I eyeing the 19th flr but must face the granite..

which level u in?

pio

Hi Sweetsuz,

Did you apply for the power supply account on that same day of key collection? Did they ask for $100 as part of the 'std procedure', but because you did not bring enough or applying thru Giro that they left it in the 1st billing? Also, if you were planning to apply thru Giro, did they give you the Giro form to fill up on the spot?

Actually when it was BP WIS, we did take a look at Binbin's and your clusters, cos I have always been very awed and impressed with the condo-like feel your cluster has. But we went late in the evening and randomly selected someone's house to go into. I think it may be because that house has a lot of built-up places, and hence at that time I thought that the rooms look a bit small, thus we chose B607 finally. But, I think I read some postings, and it seems that your cluster's exec flat is spacious and not small. :p Good for you.

But perhaps it is a blessing in disguise, cos B607 is nearer to the amenities than your cluster. In that case, I wouldn't have to worry abt my parents walking too long a distance. It is a give and take. :p

pio

I just realised that half of us in this thread is living near our parents (in BP). I thought that is a good arrangement - mum's home cooked food, esp since I can't cook. Moreover, won't feel very alienated once I move out. :p

bp gal

I'm another Senja girl, near my parents, in-laws, work place and church. Beat that!

binbin

hi chutiechar, my level is 19th.
we wanted 20th initially, and could have taken it if we want to. we did manage to get the measurements of the ceiling height and everything, and believe it or not, it's more than 1 metre higher than the rest! but we din want it due to several reasons - too high ceiling false ceiling will be more exp, curtains harder to make, may have leakage. and also, our 20th floor would-be neighbours are super inconsiderate, hang their undies outside the unit we were eyeing. imagine how hard to get along they would be!

hi bp-gal, welcome.

binbin

oh cutiechar, ours doesn't directly face granite hill, coz ours is corner block of the cluster.
we do see granite hill if we go to masterbedroom. but most of the view is greenery.

sweetsuz

Hi Pio,

We activated the power supply on the day of keys collection. As we have nets, there is no reason for us to have not enough money to pay the deposit. They did mention to us that we need to pay $100 which will be billed to our first bill statement.
i dun think i was given any giro form to fill in as i hv to go to any SingPost branch/stamp dispenser machine to pay my bills.

one thing i like about my cluster is that beside the condo feel, the rooms and living/dining area are very bright throughout the day....thanks to the full height windows. my fren which got a unit at 608 find that her unit is rather small even though its the same size as mine. furthermore, having a balcony means that sunlight dun easily goes to the living area which make the area rather dark - hence smaller.

binbin, my neighbours also hang their undies outside, right at the lift area!! and their bicycles are parked near my unit. seems like this is a big family cos i always see lots of pple in their house whenever i visit my place. unlike neighbours nowadays - with doors usually closed - this neighbour of mine keep their door open...similar to those kampong eras.

soyabean

hey,
yeah... we all stay close to our parents... dats nice rite? its always comforting to know ur mummy is not far from u.

binbin...
wow looks like u reali did alot of homework when buying ur flat... even went to measure ceiling... hehe.... for me, when i selected my flat, it was still a flat piece of land.

seems like alot of u stay at senja.

soyabean

totoro,
dun feel lonely lah... though different region but same estate mah... we hv the same cloud over our flats... haha...

how's ur sourcing for reno going along? wat stage are u at now?

cutiechar

Hi binbin,

agree that the height of window is longer than the normal unit's window..I fall in love in the window lenght at 20 flr..so bright and fresh feeling..when I went to BP that day, there are many people staying together in a unit..they have lots of shoes and shoe racks outside their unit, along corridor..quite freak out.. :S

yar your blk is at the other end. I am at 605 corner which was more closer to the hill..facing the granite..actualli we have a concern that they might build high-rise housing development according to the selection book..so we dare not take there..in fact looking at the unit facing LRT station is not as shiok as the hill-facing.

haven decided coz quite ex..btw is urs exec? if its is, den I got lotsa question to bombard u!hehehe

pio

Hi Sweetsuz,

Thanks for letting me know. Hee... I guess my parents have probably remembered wrongly about having paid the deposit.

But aren't yours a exec flat as well? Then I guess you can't compare with B608 bedrooms (which is 5-room, I think). It is generally smaller, at least that is so when I compare my bedrooms with my parents' flats' (about 1/3 smaller).

Yep, you got long windows! My parents' flats have wide windows, so it is still quite bright.

Totoro, how did you get by without activating power supply? :p Won't they cut off your pre-activated supply? For my flat, they cut it off after abt 1 month (after some reminders). Hehee... then I couldn't bear the thought that I need to go look for another toilet when nature calls. It doesn't help that my place at that time was still quite 'undeveloped' - no one has moved in yet. So I got my FH to apply :p

sweetcorn

hi soyabean, cutechar, initally, I also like the green windows, like quite unique but cos me planning for a resort style theme for interior so the green windows seems a bit weird? But I'm the kind who always feel the field is greener at the other side oops
. haha. Actually, Senja cluster would be a better resort style theme but too bad, don't have 5-rm already during the WIS.

cutechar, if you are choosing exec, I think binbin's area is a better choice.

As for the tennis court, me haven't booked before, actually me haven't shift in leh, planning to start reno around end Aug only. I've actually signed contract but afraid to clash with you know what so play safe, do it after...

binbin

hi cutiechar, yes mine is an exec flat...
queued 3 days and nights to get that unit. what questions you wanna ask?
come, I am ready! hehehhehee....
glad to help ....

binbin

hi totoro, dun feel lonely leh! i am staying near your new place now.....me in 17*.
and after i move, will come back to my parents place quite often mah, so still beri near you....hehhehehee.......

yah, how's ur sourcing for reno coming along?

pio

Hi Binbin & Sweetsuz,

For your flats, are the wiring concealed or exposed? Any problems with your flat (e.g. rusty nails, taps, door frames, dirty tiles, etc) cos it has been left vacant for quite some time? Cos that was what happened for my parents'. Wondering if HDB helped you to rectify the defects?

binbin

hi Pio, our wiring is concealed, only the end points (where u are supposed to put in the light bulbs) are exposed.

no rusty nails, taps or problems with door frames. as for tiles, some parts are dirty but din bother us coz we are hacking anyway. After you get the keys, you are supposed to check your place for any defects or unsatisfactory works and REPORT to HDB within 2 weeks, so that they can rectify them.
for us, we asked them to amend the following: one of the flush buttons in the toilet, a stray red paint on the main door frame, the bathroom door (railing not smooth), fill up the paint cracks in the partition wall......they did all of it...

sweetsuz

hello...

pio, our wiring is concealed as well.

binbin is more fortunate....i came across rusty nails, wall cracks, cracks on tiles, main door, scratches on household shelter door, loose switches, faults on windows between kitchen and service balcony, flush buttons not installed properly.

HDB took ages to rectify the faults. to make matters worse, they replace defective window glass panes with another set of defective ones
i've already given up on them and just settle with one eye closed.
so sad....

binbin

hi sweetsuz, no lah, i also have wall cracks (but like i mentioned it's on the partition walls, not reinforced walls, so no harm to the structure), and flush button problems too. i also have tile cracks but din bother coz we hacking.

actuali hdb did not manage to rectify all faults at one shot. they had to come many times b4 we are satisfied.

Is the hdb guy who is handling ur case called felix?

pio

Hi Binbin and Sweetsuz,

BinBin, I agree with Sweetsuz that you are quite fortunate, cos the defects you listed 'sounds' minimal. However, you may be one who is not as fussy as me. :p

My parents' case had no concealed wiring - wiring is exposed. Everything that is metal has rusted. Tiles cracked, windows so dirty they can barely be restored to former glory, household shelter door very difficult to open (was yours the round handle kind?), leaking pipes, door dirty, etc, etc...

Actually, we were quite upset at first. But then we tried to get HDB guy to rectify it. He realllllyyyy took his own sweet time and procrastinated, although some of the things (like metal parts, wall tiles and main door) are replaced. In the end my dad was corresponding directly with the contractors to do the repair jobs. That took a really long time too, cos contractors aren't supposed to take orders from us, but rather from HDB. Also, in the toilet, the border tiles have cracked, but he said that it can't be replaced, cos no more stocks - so how? To date, they have yet finished the repair jobs.

Really wonder why we paid so much to suffer this much! Don't you agree (as in your case)? HDB shd give us a compensation in such cases, where we probably need our own contractor to rectify the works.

But, maybe it was because we were too fussy - cos some others who got the flats in the same block during the WIS didn't really get HDB to rectify much. In fact, one owner also had a difficult-to-open household shelter door. It was so bad that only her contractor could open, but she can't. HDB guy said that it was due to long-time-no-open, after a while would be ok. I really wonder though ... hmm ... do they want to fiddle with the handle when the emergency sirens ring? Many of her rusty handles were also not replaced, because she said it is alright as long as it is still useable. Heee... it made me wonder if I was too fussy.

Regardless, we have recently engaged a contractor. We pray and believe that the house would turn out right. :p

sweetsuz

pio, it's not wrong of us to be too fussy. we paid a lot of money for the unit, remember? with that huge amount invested in the flat, we can't just accept sub-standard work.

basically, the whole place is very dirty cos it's been left unattended for a number of years. the gaps in-between tiles are already black with dirt and i wonder how am i gonna restore it to the original condition. hehe...really wish that i can strike lottery so that i can replace everything. :p

i find that HDB tend to give a lot of excuses. for example when i told them that the toilet doors are quite difficult to open and close. they just told me that it's like that, it's not the problem of the workmanship. then i told them about loose rubber at the windows, and they give excuses like the house being vacant for quite some time and hence the problem arise. they din offer to replace and seem not too willing to do so.

i got the keys on christmas eve, reported the defects in mid-Jan and they took months to do the job, giving excuses that they have a lot of projects to handle.

we took the nasty approach - send our feedback through their QSM network and, voila! they responded immediately and speed up the processes. but their contractors dirtied our place with sweet wrappers and cigarette ashes. my contractor told me that there's even more problematic cases. HDB's contractors did their business in the unit but did not flush the water. imagine the stink when the owner visited the place.

get some extra tiles/materials from HDB so that u can ask ur contractor to replace if u come across more defects.

binbin, yup, the person i liase with is felix.