Anyone sprain their back before??

hi guys, nothing really related to the heart.

I had flu 3 weeks back. And since then, had a bad back, energy level was so low that I couldn't get thr 1/2 a normal workout. Even my normal swimming was so tiring. Then, I went bowling 2 weeks back during the weekend thinking I had rested enough. Just 3 games, (my usual night is at least 6 games). By the time, I was going home, my back started to hurt sharply.

Till now, I can only swim and walk on the threadmill. Doc said 2 weeks back that it should be okie in a couple of days. But its still pain everytime I sit or get up. Bending my neck downwards in a seated position stretches my back and trig the sharp pain consistently. Seeing the doc only seem to be asking me to take more medication and painkillers only.

I'm getting very restless. I can feel my energy level increasing back to normal finally but the back is still hurting. Anyone with similar injuries? How long did it take to recover? I have gotten a belt to support the back. When can I finally get well enough to start bodybuilding again?

Milo - U sound "Shutter" to me leh........

Maybe U strained the "vein aka geng"... No strenuous workout for the time being.... Do U want to go try "Tui Na"???

"Ang Mo" docs may not be able to do much for "vein aka geng" other than giving painkillers. Too much are oso not good for our health..

I once strained my back.. went to a "sinseh" twice and it really get better...

2cents worth =)

Hey Milo, let me know if you need to see a sports injury GP for a check. I know one good one who sees rugby players. Even before you start "tui-na", best to first confirm that you are not really injured.

I was at his clinic last week for back pain. He checked and determined that my spinal cord isn't injured but that the muscles around the spine is inflammed or strained. So, I don't need specialist care for now.

Iris, huh? Thai Ghost Story? u mean I sounded like a ghost to u??

Doll, I'm pretty sure its muscle as its trig in positions that needs to stretch the back muscle. Any idea how long it will take to get well?

Able to expedite through traditional TCM and acupunture. I do know of a chinese TCM sensei in the east that's skilled in such. If you like to try, I can share with you the contact

dsoo

haha the shutter story goes like this - this guy kept complaining of neck/shoulder ache....went to see doctors but could nvr find the cause...the pain was actually caused by a ghost sitting on his shoulders all along..

your back aches are due to your flu and not sports or strenuous physical activities? i had something like this once....after a bad bout of fever/flu...but my aches were more at the shoulder blades and neck...i didn't really seek any medical help...it went off after sometime...but quite a while - like over a month..
i don't know...but i put it to general health deterioration from the illness..

but if it persist...do seek help. And best to avoid any activities that stresses your back in the interim..

Milo

I have been having backache on and off for the past 7-8 months. Recently, it got quite bad that I couldn't sleep well. The backache is due to long hours of working at the computer and driving. The doctor gave me medication for the pain and muscle relaxation. He also taught me how to stretch my body to "reverse" the strains in the muscle.

For you, maybe you should try to stay off exercise for a while to let it have a chance for a full recovery first.

wjchiang

sounds like u might have inflammation of the tendon(s). If u're open to chinese docs, acupunture might help relieve the pain

the main thing is I just completed my bulking phase 2 weeks before my flu. And all the resting is wasting my muscle away. Very waste for the months of hardwork in the gym. That's why I want to get well asap to maintain the mass and start cutting the fat. My last measurement, I already lost more than 1 cm on the arms and 4 cm on the chest
Of cos, part of it is probably due to the fact my muscles are not pumped up now. So, probably smaller.

Milo, if it's any consolation to you, I lost some cm's too on the bust after losing weight haha. Everything comes with a price tag.

Whatever it is, health is more important ok.

dsoo

you can train all you want and become mr manhunt when you are well
don't be vainpot at the expense of your health!

eh it rhymes..hahah

Bust is "good" fat that very few women are willing to lose lor. Some even pay loads of money to put "fats" there hehe

well... not every 'container' can 'support' the weight though.

My wife is one of those that always envy the models. She hope to have them a cup smaller. And I dun understand why. I love them the way it is.

dsoo, its not about being vain.

Its about the months of efforts from hard training, + supplements, diet and strict resting periods that I put through to bulk up. Its really frustrating.

dsoo

ok understand...
but if you force it when your body is sending out warning signals, the results might be disastrous.
Better let it heal.

I believe it shouldn't be that difficult to pick it up again since you already started somewhere. The thing with health, its best to heed its warning and be patient. And with determination, I'm sure you will be back in shape (and even better) in no time!

Due to some reasons I have to stay off any forms of exercise for two months. So, I am watching my diet fiercely instead to ensure no weight gain and to find other ways to manage work stress. Three weeks have passed, another six weeks to go.....

dsoo

i think you all very healthy leh.
i'm a couch potato man..my wife sometimes mistook me for a beanbag if i sit motionless for awhile.

Dsoo,

I'm one that has always been combating growing fat all my life since the age of 18. It has to do with my unhealthy lifestyle while growing up, my generic body type and the big love for food.

Frankly, I don't like the process of training especially cardio. I would rather work the shit out in the gym regularly to enjoy my KFC than be deprived from good food.

I also can't exercise for a while.. but I am eating fiercely to put on some weight.. having lost quite a bit recently..

smileguy

hi Milo
i think try to stay off strenuous workout for the time being especially weight lifting which is a potiential harm to one's back if we does not handle it well...most important is to recover 1st if not muscle will tend to strain n tear more..i am a gym regular too.For me regular gym workout keep my momentum going..so i believe within 1 or 2mths after u recover sure u will get back to ur shape if u continue ur routine..Take care..

Milo, you are like one of my colleagues who exercises to eat junk food hehe.

SM, how did you lose weight? Not enough sleep ah?

dsoo and iris, thanks about the shutter. Just watch it online last night. NICE! Its a good horror movie even though its with chinese subtitles. didn't catch most of the words due to my poor reading in chinese.

SM, the only time I lost weight from was last yr when I was hit by both a persistent constipation + severe throat infection leading to high fever. All that due to constant travelling, bad diet, taking not enough water plus too much alcohol and no rest in between. That's why this yr, I'm determine to lead a more healthy lifestyle.

ninku10

Milo, as long as you don't get any tingling sensation in your butt or legs, then you should be fine. If not you might have a pinched nerve.

You should take it easy when going to the gym and be careful with your back. I hurt my back real bad more than 1 year ago while doing super heavy barbell row. I lost 8kg from the 2 months of lay off from the gym. I am a very hardgainer so that it a blow to me.

I am no expert but i felt very uncomfortable with people exercising so that they can eat junk food and not feel bad, This is utter rubbish to me. I know of 1 guy who run 3 -4 times a week but he eat quite a bit of unhealthy food and in the end, developed a heart attack due to artherosclerosis.

I really hope you can adopt a more healthy lifestyle with food and excerise. It's only for your own good.

bobby, its not really rubbish.

Its always a balance. I don't over-eat normally. The bulking phase is really a 'honeymoon' as I can allow additional calories. But still, proper common sense in avoid trans-fat is needed naturally.

Most sportsman consume at least 2-3 times the amount of calories from the average joe. The objective is really to push metabolism high enough to burn off the calories. Michael Pelps is a good example, his body is so efficient that he could literally eat anything.

It is not true that junk food cannot be eaten. Rest assured, I don't do KFC every other day. But, when I do, I know most of it can be burnt off and not stored.

Running too often is very stressful on the knees actually. The pro have very careful pre-caution to avoid over stressing them. But the average joe is probably not lasting beyond a few months or yrs. i got downgraded to Pes C2 this way. Too much jogging.

dsoo

power right milo - shutter's my all time favourite horror movie - one of the very few that can make it!

high 5 doll, i'm an ardent arnold's fan too! you stay in the east? I was so happy when they opened an express arnold's counter in pasir ris..

Hey Dsoo, me no live in the east. Work in the east though and been to the outlet in City Plaza for lunchie. Where's the express counter located?

Talking about food, if you're a Haagen Dazs fan.....Choice at SPC is having a promo - Two pints for $23.90!

dsoo

its in the park with the fishing pond, next to the train station. but the one at city plaza has more variety like the ice kachang etc...

not much of an ice-cream fan...but thanks! will probably get some for my wife who loves sweet stuff. i prefer savoury...

I prefer popeye chicken leh... *drooling*... Used to eat at Changi Airport and watched cartoon at the same time... Hehehe...

dsoo - How come I duno there got open a counter huh?? Me stayed there so long liao...... chum!!!

for KFC, its nicer if you buy back. Reheat in the oven, this way, all the excess oil is drained away instead of consumed. Try it, it tastes better. Equally crispy but less oily.

I normally buy back from JB during shopping trips to Msia. Its 26 ringit for 8 pieces, which exchange rate a 2.41, its only SDG$1.35 per piece!

ninku10

Hi Milo, I am one of those that highly disregard running for cardio for the damage done is more than the benefit reaped. People don't seems to realise that. The great bodybuilder Milos Sarcev also don't do running for cardio. Many other bodybuilders also follow suit.

Now speaking of 'confusing ' the body to induce metabolism, there are ways to do that other than eating junk food. You can shock the body by increasing your calroies by consuming more oat, potatos, cottage cheese, etc but not oily stuff. I have done all these before, likewise for changing your exercise regime to 'shock/confuse' you muscle because of muscle memory.

But if you still believe in eating junk food to up your metabolism, by all means even though there are other options. The pros only have very few 'cheat' days in their bodybuilding career, normally after their competition. I don't think you are there yet? Am i?

bobby,

I spoke about running only because you mentioned about the guy that ran 3-4 times weekly but developed heart problems.

it is never eating junk to up the metabolism. Its the other way round.

The difference between eating to live or living to eat. For all my life, I enjoy food. But I take them in moderation. Unlike when I grew up, I had 0 exercise and tend to overeat all the time. For me personally, its a miserable life to remain on a fully strict diet, I'm not going to stay ripped and close to 0 fat for competitive kind of body state. I simply love food too much to let it go altogether.

I probably way much fatter than most serious bodybuilders. My goal in bodybuilding is nothing oompetitive at all nor do I even compare myself against the greats nor the pros... just simple building the right mass and some cut to balance the genetic flaws in my body type.

Lastly, everyone runs a risk of heart diseases. With a healthy balance in one's lifestyle, the risk is lower but not ruled out. Its all about personal choices, just as how some body builders are smoking. Its kind of ironic but its life. We don't live perfect lives.

Anyway, for most part of my exercise regime, I was guilty of not eating enough of the right food and overtraining. Thanks to the internet, I'm able to read and learn alot more. All I had was a book I bought and I only focused on the workout routines. That was so wrong.
I'm able to bulk more effective over the past few months than in yrs previously.

dsoo

i tried popeyes.....there's one at the airport and one at sg flyer....not bad too...
but i still prefer arnolds.. i like muslim fried chicken in general...soemthing abt their spices...
and i think JB KFC taste better than local's!

ninku10

As long as you feel justified about your own eating habit, that's fine. I am not imposing any ideas on you. I have also relented to a less hectic excerise workout unlike 1 year ago. I think my injury is there for a reason. You should take note of your back as well. Take care and pump hard.

Doll, you would understand if you have a narrow shoulder but big ribs, broad hips and a rather big head and broad angular jaw. If you look at my parents especially my dad, u will know where all those came from.

Bodybuilding is the only way I can change that balance. Enhance the V-shape and thicken those shoulders and back to make the hips look smaller and balanced. Also, having larger arms with popping veins definitely looks good. Especially veins on the deltoids itself. I find that really cool.

Just as how women go for enhancement or push up, this is guy's way of improving how we look.

Milo, are you pear shaped? Hey, perhaps we could exchange shoulders! I have shoulders that look too broad and straight for my frame hehe

Guess besides exercising to improve body shape, can try dressing right to mask flaws.....

Doll, there is a limit to how much clothes can mask flaws. When I first bulk up mass on my shoulders, I simply love how much more solid they looked.

For once, I can wear biz shirts 1 size bigger and not have the shoulders drooping down. Unlike the waist, which is alot easier to mask. Just tut out the shirt

hi Bobby, since u r seasoned trainer, check one thing with u.

The joint on my shoulders have been hurting ever since I started training again months back. I tried stopping copletely for 2 weeks but its pretty much the same. I have tried to be extra careful not to overstress the joint and rest the shoulders sufficiently. If I hit it hard, there will be swelling on the joint after the workout lasting a few days.

I basically train each body part only once a week. Doing like 4-7 variety of exercises of 3/4 sets each to hit the isolated part. So, logically, I should be getting 6-7 days rest in between.

Training 3 times a week,
Slot 1 : chest and shoulders
Slot 2 : Back and biceps
Slot 3 : legs + triceps
Each resistence training doesn't last beyond 45mins-1 hour.
For cardio, I swim each time (15-45 mins) depending on my energy level after the workout and on some off days.

Question : Is it okie to continue working out like this? Or do I need to stop completely for the shoulders? It doesn't seem to improve with rest. I feel its abit like my knee. The catridge as worn out and nothing much I can do except not to overstress it anymore.

ninku10

Hi Milo, I am not a personal trainer but from what you wrote, do you really do 4-7 exercise of 3-4 sets for shoulders? I feel that is a overkill and overtraining. Shoulder being a smaller muscle group don't need so much stimulation unlike back or legs. I would, if i were you, do 2-3 sets of 2-3 exercise for shoulders. Never load your shoulder too much as the shoulder is very prone to rotator cuff injury and very prone to impinge nerve. The joint pain should indicate that your form might be no good.

I also do my regime less than an hour. You can try adopting High intensity training,popularised by Mike Menzter. Try reading up on this as i feel it can give good result without overtraining.

for the shoulders,
- shoulder presses (standing and seated / pressed behind neck)
- lateral raises with dumb bells (front, side and rear)
- cable raises
- Machine to isolate the rear deltoids.

When u say 2-3 exercises, meaning i will do a subset of (2-3 exercises) of the variety of possible? This way, my usual workout will complete within 20 mins or so?

I will read more on the high intensity training that you mention. Thanks.

Bobby...
I am a bit curious.. Never load your shoulder too much as the shoulder is very prone to rotator cuff injury and very prone to impinge nerve. The joint pain should indicate that your form might be no good.

May I know any suggestion for improving the shoulder injuries> asking on my husband's behalf<
He was excused from doing his IPPT since he broke his right shoulder in the last hill trg in brunei several years ago. He mentioned occasionally he could feel his right shoulder (esp the joint part) freeze and drop off but can put back by rotating back.

Phew that sounded like a very loose joint and prone to dislocation... Medically did the doctors sugguest to tighten it with some screws or what?

hi Bobby,

i checked out on YouTube on HIT. In his recommended routine, he is training a bombination of muscles 2 times a week.

However, I read also online about hitting related muscle group together to avoid repeated days of stress on the part. While the muscle group with be heavily stressed during the workout, this would probably give it more time to recover from the workout. no?