Anyone planning a SG wedding but currently in Australia?

jacq23

Am keen to exchange tips/ideas with anyone currently living in Aust and planning their wedding in Singapore?
Thanks Jacq

peanutbutta

I'm having my church ceremony and reception in Brisbane but will also be having a dinner reception in Singapore so rellies don't have to fly over. My mum's doing all the planning and I'm just leaving it all up to her. We'll actually also be having a reception in Taiwan coz my FH's originally from taiwan and that's all being organised by his mum

Gives everyone a job and keeps everyone busy

jacq23

hello peanutbutta! same here, i have left most of the organising to my family and partner's parents however ultimately am the decision maker
are you getting your WD from Brissy? A bit confused if I should get the dresses from Melb or SG??
Cheers Jacq

peanutbutta

Hi Jacq,

Yeap.. I'll be getting all my stuff over here and then carting them all to singapore and taiwan. Mum keeps telling me that it's cheaper to get my WD in singapore (apparently they all come as a package with photography and make up and stuff??) But it's just too much hassle and when you consider the air fare, it's just not worth it
Also, I assume you'll need a couple of fittings over a few months and if you're not around it'll be difficult
Don't wanna end up with a dress that doesn't fit!

Are you having your ceremony in Melb or sg? When's the big day? Mine's 12/04/08.

eminozy

i just got married in melbourne a month ago. and having a big gigantic celebration at chevrons in december 07. i am arranging everything from here,yes!

joenbby

i'm planning my wedding here from the gold coast. it's really hard when you can't be there to view everything yourself. Now deciding on dates, preferably early 2008. I'm thinking whether to have a ROM first in July 07 then wedding in Jan 08 or to do it all in one day including church wedding. Any suggestions?

I'm planning to have my photoshoots here and already bought the gown & bridesmaid dresses too. Why waste the beautiful scenery we have here...

good luck everyone!

necrosis

hey joenbby,

i think it's great you're doing your ps there...
do you know any aussie based PG who take PS?
cos all i can find as those that take for the AD...
maybe you could send me links to a few that do PS as we know it..

peanutbutta

sorry.. but what is PG and PS? I'm still trying to get my head round all these acronyms

joenbby, wow u're organised
i haven't even started looking for my gown yet! Have u chosen a photographer? It's true what you say about aust's scenery.. I seen some beautiful wedding photos taken down the coast. We've told our photographer that we want some mountain shots and some beach shots... but becoz we're having our ceremony and reception in the city, we might be a bit tight for time. However, our photographer is doing an engagement session for us for free.. so we'll probably do our beach shots then!

emiliajo, Congratulations on your wedding!

joenbby

i'm not totally organised yet. It's just that i'm so excited abt my gown and i reckon that's the most important thing other than the ring so that's the 1st thing i've settled...more to come..

i haven't confirmed a photographer (PG) yet. At first thought of looking for my FH's colleague but she's off to TOwnsville so might have to look ard again. Definitely not missing out on the mountain range and beautiful beach.

NEC: don't really know any off hand but i did spoke to a few walk in in the coast and they don't really care if you have the ceremony or not. They'll just spend a few more hours with you and go a couple more places to finish off the package. It'll still be a normal package but maybe you can bargain for more stuff as our time is not restricted and they'll be more than happy to do that. It's easier to arrange a shooting time as normal wedding will be fixed and sometimes PG are overbooked. I heard Oct is a good time for shooting. I might do it then..will let you know if i manage to get some quotes.

eminozy

thanks peanutbutta.

i say a photographer is the most crucial bit. mine was ok. I trusted my housemate since hes learning photography, but the outcome was ok-ok.Thank god he got a couple that were good. anyways, my wedding in melb was so small, we never got anything done really properly..but it was good as it was all good frens, relaxed atmosphere, good food and impromptu- 20 guests only!

I was especially happy with the food, the company, the clothes,the make up from chanel which cost me only $80 and with $100 in Australia you get a beautiful fresh bouquet...and the groom's corsage.

I custom made my Gown in singapore through a chinese auntie- something which would have cost me a $1000 to rent ended up being only $250..a bargain... i designed it and its special. 2 piece songket material tube top with cross back ribbons and shandong silk mermaid skirt with songket trailing back.... VERY HAPPY!

The wedding in spore unfortunately is going to be more expensive. altogether for melbourne i spent less than $2000 excluding the rings!

The best deal was my bridesmaid dresses, i got it on offer from sports girl from $250 to $29.. silk bubble skirt tube dress with ribbon- dark violet in color. hehehehhah

jacq23

Hi gals, sorry I have been so busy at work and have not had the time to access this thread. Glad to have found people who are in the same boat. I am almost closed to securing a venue in SG and the AD (actual day for peanut
is 19/7/08. In the meantime over the last week we've decided to fly to SG early next yr to get the dresses (bridal & evening) and finalise the lil' bits. I will be having a church wedding as both our parents are Catholics so the mums will be attending to that.

Peanut, you are right about the WD packages in SG, my friend said that $3K can get you a decent MTM wedding and evening dress, make-up, hair, flowers, car and I think PS as well. I have to confirm the PS bit however.

Also if anyone of you require any hotel price packages, pls let me know as I have a couple sitting in my inbox.

necrosis

hi joenbby,

oh i see....thanks..
but the thing i'm still worrying abt is, that taking AD pics and PS pics are quite different...so the skills required are a little different...
have seen some of the "pre-weddings" that some aussie PGs do...most look quite posed...or the very formal portrait kind...

jacq,
for abt 3k, you will get PS in the SG BS...the only thing is how many photos(poses)/pages in the album.
some BS are kind enough to rent out bridemaids dresses/brother & fathers jackets at no extra costs also..it all depends on your bargaining powress!

jacq23

thanks for the advice nec! i will probably try my best with the bargaining, the best thing i love and miss abt SG
sorry i don't know of any PS which is good here so can't help.

joenbby, i understand that u can now book ROM online a couple of months before ur ceremony then they will even deliver the cert to the church if u r having a church wedding. we're probably doing that as well. check out the website for more info.

emilia jo, any photos to share? btw what's songket? can email to [email protected]?

peanutbutta

Jacq.. OMG.. $3K is so good if it includes photos as well! I'm paying $10K for photos alone!

Nec, where abouts in Aust are you? The photographer I'm using is more photojournalistic (as opposed to traditional (i.e. posey)) and I've got a feeling thats the kind of photos you're after. He's based in brisbane.. website is www.irisimaging.com.au. Check it out.

Are you girls having your wedding in both aust and sg? Or just sg alone? My main wedding will be in brisbane but i'll also have reception dinners in both taiwan and sg. We'll be having about 100 guests in brisbane.. with most of our friends coming from interstate (perth and sydney)- we've only just moved to brisbane recently. I'm having a hard time estimating numbers coz everyone says they'll come but I'm not sure how much weight their words will carry when its comes down to the crunch

Anyway, I'm glad my mum's dealing with everything in sg (i don't care much for the sg wedding coz i probably won't know 99% of the people there). We actually wouldn't have had a sg/taiwan reception if our parents hadn't asked us to. But I'm kinda glad we're doing it coz it just means 3 weeks of wedding celebrations which should be fun!

jacq23

Yeah Peanut, I know! When I heard it was 3K, I immediately put away my grandiose ideas of getting the dresses from here and decided to do everything in SG
somemore in SG dollars and we earn in Aussie...heheh...the only downfall is that we won't get the beautiful scenery here and my partner and i would probably end up looking all sweaty in the pics!!

we are only having the one celebration in SG since family and friends are all back there. we were initially toying with the idea of having it in perth since the weather is always glorious unlike Melb and we have some family and friends there. even the SG people can go over but then logistically we would have to reinvent the wheel so scrapped that and now back to just the one in SG.

I would probably leave about 10-15% of guests eventually not turning up esp if they have to fly interstate. I myself had to skip a good buddy's wedding in SG at the last minute because of work commitments. maybe just emphasise to them that it would be lovely if they could confirm their attendance to avoid any misunderstanding later.

margiel

Glad to see this thread. I am currently in Sin but having 2 ceremony: Melb (Jul 07) and Sin (08). Need help or advise what to wear for Melb ceremony as it will be winter, i can't get tube gowns nor spaghetti dresses in Sin to bring over, still searching for suitable yet nice and comfy one. Any suggestions what do the 'winter' brides wear in oz?
Hi Jacq and Nec
Good to see you gals here.

margiel

Emilia Jo
Can you give me the contact of the chinese auntie who made ur gown in Sin? Do you have contact for make up artist in Melb?

peanutbutta

Jacq...Yeah I think i'll go with your advice and estimate about 10-15 or even 20% of my invited guests not turning up. Thats so sad tho
If only we could have postponed our move from sydney to brisbane by a year or 2..or if we could have moved back to perth instead of coming to brisbane... it would have been much easier (and much more fun) organising a wedding there.

So, have you decided on where you will have your reception in sg? Think you mentioned that you were close to confirming? It must be really hard to decide when you're not there to actually see it hey. My mum's still negotiating with the Conrad Hotel (after nearly 2 months)... typical mum

jacq23

Hi Marg! Welcome to this thread
I heard from my colleague that even guests are quite picky about their attire for weddings in different seasons...i think it's funny since you'll be quite lucky to even get all your guests to wear a suit and gown for a wedding in SG!!

When my friend married in Autumn, she wore a backless dress but topped it off with a scarf similar to a veil material. it looked pretty elegant. however at the end of the evening, with all the drinking and partying, she was more than happy to go around without the scarf.

i'll check out the mags here and see if they have any winter collection and let you know also

peanutbutta

Hey margiel... you could go with a bolero (the lace ones are beautiful) or a bit of faux fur if you don't think its too much.
Check out www.weddingcentral.com.au. Do a search in the forum for winter weddings or bolero and you'll see a few threads with discussion on what to wear during winter. Maybe the girls in there can give you more ideas

eminozy

heheh.. sorry been tied up with work... its been nutz here, i think its the weather change... blame the weather..yup...blame the weather!

ok..where do i start....

ok jacq... well, i have my photos on multiply but u have to be a my contact to see it... heheh its still under secret.. want to surprise my frens/ families in spore u see, they dont know i am already married!

eminozy.multiply.com

aaahhh , songket is a traditional malay cotton textile with gold or silver detailed embroidery- its royal textile sorta.

OZBRIDE/ MARGIEL
The chinese auntie's shop is in geylang. if you stop in Aljunied mrt and go to Tanjong Katong Complex, shes on the 2nd floor, you cant miss her.. go up the escalator from the front and walked towards the back on your left side.,..her shop is on the right! shes the only chinese lady there amongst all the malay shops! I dont have her contact or details unfortunately..as it was one of them chances when u walked in, it felt right. Made 3 different clothes there .. i also thought of making the dresses for my bridesmaides if i didnt buy the sportsgirl dresses! Maybe you can just tell her that I recommend you there .. she dunno my name too but tell her i am the malay girl with the extremely tall angmoh husband and she did my songket 2 piece mermaid WG...she will remember cozi hang out with her alot while designing and discussing the dress! if you go there .. tell her i said hi and thank u! shes super nice!

MARGIEL-The make up artist to contact is FAINA..shes from CHANEL at Chadstone Shopping centre, shes the supervisor.. very wonderful person and she works there almost everyday except Tuesdays.... i found one trick from her! with asian brown eyes... never ever wear pink as it will make ur eyes more red like a bunny rabbit! She will come to your house if shes free, if not u have to go to the CHANEL counter! book her in advance!
MARGIEL.. WINTER? why winter? Well, peanutbutta suggestion with bolera or faux fur sounds divine.....or white/ivory velvet dress will be beautiful.. with pearls and crystals!...a bit heavy but will keep u warm!

eminozy

481292.jpg

hehehe :p unfortunately this was one fo the 4 nice photos of our outside wedding photo thingy... the rest was ...not there yet...

please take note, choosing a good photographer is important!

margiel

Jacq
Thanks. Keep me update if you find out anything!

Peanutbutta
Will definitely check the site out. So exciting!!!
Emilia jo
Got the shop direction, Joo Chiat Complex is not too far from my place and so is Chadstone Shopping Mall.. hehe Have to ask my FH to go there and have a chat with Fiana.. I was playing with the idea of getting Malay dress too as they always look smart, elegant and + it comes with a shawl. Had gone down to Little india to look around as well.. Still don't know what to get. Hee
Thanks gals, i feel so warm here, everyone is sooo helpful!!

eminozy

no worries margiel, glad to help!

how ironic, you are near so many places! yeah , if you want some modern malay style, the autie can help you, most definietly!

anyways, for florist in Melbourne, i recommend Williams florist in Oakleigh, only 10 minutes from Chadstone... its so bizzare..i was upset, walking down the street, saw the shop and went in. The floral bouquets for a bride's mag here have so many of their work featured. unbelievable...right next to my doorstep, I found this amazing florist.

www.williamsflorist.com.au

just whistle if you need more help! thanks for multiplying me! when u coming over to oz?
hehehe

eminozy

thanks margiel.
wow the donut cake is so cute...yeah, i heard krispy kreme does them in the states.not sure if they do it in oz.
4/7...sounds good, gimme a holler if u need help once u here!

peanutbutta- i still am contemplating on cupcakes fr the singapore one, its so hot right now!

simplycupcakes.multiply.com

peanutbutta

emilia jo..OMG some of the cupcake cakes on that website are so cute! Hmm.. i know some of the girls on weddingcentral are making their own cupcakes. I wonder if i'll be able to do that. I'm not the best at baking... but my mum might be able to pull it off!! hehehe From looking at the pictures, i'll just need to make plain cupcakes, ice them, and then put them on the cake stand and decorate with fresh flowers. Hmmm.. possibly do-able
It'll definitely save me some money if i do that.. question is if it's worth the stress. What do u girls think?

ozbride

thanks for the info emilia jo

peanutbutta, your dinner in Conrad is after your ceremony here in Brissie or? will you PM me? thanks

jacq23

Hi gals! I still think the cupcake cake (although the donuts look very tempting) is the cutest!! especially with pink icing and ribbons! Peanut, if your mum manages to pull it off, i'm sure it'll be a hit. just don't make in excess. my friend's mum loves baking and made a "sugee" (it's a eurasian traditional cake) cake for every 30 tables at the wedding and more than 50% went to waste!

anyway we have put a deposit on swissotel raffles plaza (what used to be called westin stamford) for July 08, so that's one stress factor down and a gazillion more to go. unfortunately the hotel is already providing the standard 5 tier cake so i would probably just go with that.

btw there's a wedding show coming up in melb, anyone going?

eminozy

jacq are u in melbourne right now? where exactly?
heheh. i dunno why but i've been looking at cupcakes for a week now intensely than ever before and going cupcake supply shopping tonight in the city since its late night shopping. Gna try baking them next week! hehehe

Its quite sad that its hard to find a cupcake bakery here.. theres like 3-4 but in absolutely ULU place. I love suggeee..i can make them not too bad!The ang mohs reckon they taste like shortbread cookies.

Can try and bake lah... but it will take eons and your mum will be so poofed for your wedding after baking 100s of cupcakes. Have to consider that.
ps : went to a wedding semi expo in myers chadstone, couple of months ago...very interesting

jacq23

Hi emi! yes i'm in melbourne, work in the city
you? have you considered about the icing? is it easy to do? i do bake but only out of betty crocker mix with water and butter type of thing...heheh..
have you had your ceremony here already? when r u having the SG one?

i lurveee sugee, havent had it in a while since we missed christmas in SG last year. i tink the main ingredient is semolina? or am i just making things up?

eminozy

aaaaaaaaah. i work in Southbank on thurdays/fridays. thats why i am out and about on then..like going to the cupcake supplies tonight and laguna! hehehehe
main ingredient is ghee! heheheh i was a white wings/betty crocker fan too, but i've been googling for cupcake recipes and seems to be aye ok.some even uses the premade cakemix base...i want to go the next level now-to make my own flavour-PANDAN.heheheh and also to make it pretty!

my ozie ceremony was last month. SG will be in December!

peanutbutta

Valkwan.. Conrad will be 2 weeks after Brisbane. I'm having my wedding ceremony + reception in Brisbane on 12/04/08, followed by a taiwan reception on 19/04/08 and lastly singapore on 26/04/08.

Jacq.. congratulations on booking ur hotel
I think that's one of the biggest things to get out of the way! Now u can breath nice and easy (for a while at least

Emilia... yeap,exactly... I'm just wondering if it's worth putting my mum and myself through all that stress just to save a coupla hundreds. Maybe i'll just buy a cupcake wedding cake from the shops.

On the topic of baking... I'm baking a Japanese Cotton Cheesecake right now hehehe
Got the recipe from the internet but dunno how it'll turn out. I'll find out in 30mins time when it's ready. So far every single cake i've baked has been unsuccessful (not a good track record considering I'm trying to bake my own wedding cupcakes hehe). Tried making green tea chiffon cake a few times but it has always gone flat on me. So sad

ozbride

hi jacq... my understanding is that SG hotels provide a cake model so it is 5 tiers of 'plastic' or perhaps they changed this for new 2008 packages?

hi peanutbutta.. i was actually hoping to check with you if you were booking Conrad using 2007 prices or the new prices for 2008. that's why wondering when your dinner event is... will you PM me? thanks

eminozy

yeah the cakes are mostly fake cept the cutting tier. they- Chevrons wanted to give me one too and i refused.. i thought it was too ohbiang! hehehheheh. So because of that, now they charging corkage on it.... so irritating, how can they compare it to a bottle?.

yeah peanutbutta, i am super hands on about all my things. i did do a lot for my frens/family weddings.

Thought of doing that for mine, but after the pain and exhaustion from a simple wedding of 23. I think i better sit down and look pretty. DIY is better left out of your wedding, truly! heheheh

I am ordering my cake from the simplycupcake gal.

tell us hows your jap cheese cake doinG!

peanutbutta

BOOHHOOOO My cheesecake was a flop...like all my other cakes
When I turned the oven off it looked really beautiful and well risen.. so i left it there to cool.. went and took a nap.. and when I went back the cake had sunk in the centre and looked all wrinkly and ugly
So sad
Oh well.. try again tomorrow

valkwan, let me check with my mum and I'll pm you the details. She's the one organising my singapore reception. The only thing I know is that the dinner's going to be held there

ozbride

hi emilia jo.. you don't want the fake cake yet they charge you corkage? hmmm... or you mean you asked for a real cake so they charge you corkage?

peanutbutta.. sorry to hear about your cake.
well, hope to hear from you soon! thanks!

margiel

emilia jo & jacq
Whereabout is the wedding show in melbourne? hehehe i'll tell my FH to look out. I'm also a pretty hands on person when helping friends'/ cousin's wedding preparation but this time round, even if i want to have hands-on for my own, it is just beyond my abilities heheee... have to sit back and relax and be a happy bride!! Hey btw have you guys done 'major shifting' of your barang barang from sin to oz before? How to go about?

eminozy

peanutbutta..
it flops in the middle? i remember mum told me about it before but i just cant put my head innit.i will ask her if i get a chance and tell u whats wrong! I think maybe u should open the oven door ajar a bit lah when cooling down....hmmm mum always take her cakes out and leave it on the cooling rack too...am sure your cake taste good, though?

valkwan
sorry for the confusion..yeah they charge me corkage for the real cake that i am going to order, dont understand why!*sigh*

margiel
theres a wedding show like every month..they go from one place to the another ..theres a website if you google it you will find the company that runs it!

heheh. i lived in Australia for 7 years already, 6 years in adelaide and just moved here last year. The first time i came here i was with a backpack, my imac and a box. thats it! everything i have here are accumulatance. i still have half of my things in spore in the store room and i think i should get rid of them coz i dont use them..just memories. BUT my husband, Chris is moving here, so he will do a lot of crazy packing like u margiel. he said the cheapest way is unaccompanied baggage through airlines....

You can try google Baggage masters too. Good luck

eminozy

margiel..its not joo chiat complex..its tanjong katong complex!
the round one with a makan place at the bottom.

jacq23

hi valkwan! i'm not sure abt the cake cos i haven't even seen the venue myself!! from the contract, i think it's just the standard plasticky cake and only the top tier is real. my partner n i are not too concerned abt the cake and if need be when the time comes, i will probably get one of my mum's kakis to bake or we might have to end up buying one

marg, i've been in aust for 6 yrs now, did uni in perth and then moved to melb 3 yrs ago so most of my belongings r here. bcos i used to make frequent trips back to SG when on uni hols, i was able to bring back a couple of things at a time. otherwise if u would like to bring everything, try int'l freight via shipping as it'll probably be heaps cheaper and if u can wait for them to arrive a bit later. also if u have any friends/family coming over,get them to carry some stuff for you.

jacq23

hey emilia, maybe u can bake sugee for me next time?hehe...r u already settled in melb? what made u move from adelaide? call me a doofus but i cant seem to locate ur wedding pics on multiply. i've already 'invited' you but when i go to your profile pg, i cant find the wedding pics...sorry my blonde roots are starting to show under my brunette head

peanut, thanks for your wishes. yes it is a huge relief, now i can freely tell ppl abt the wedding otherwise it was this nagging feeling of securing a venue that determines/pans everything else out. now just looking around for nice dress ideas, flowers, bridesmaid outfits, colour themes. oh yea, sorry abt ur cheesecake! was it meant to be similar to the ones they used to sell at parkway parade (omg how 80's am I?) there used to be a little food court in the basement that sold chiffony jap cheesecakes,they were the best!

on another note, does anyone know of any good live bands that play at weddings? my family is into dancing and having a gd time which would probably be a bit of a shock to my partner's family at the wedding...hehhe...

margiel

Today i was at CK Tangs with friends and saw Daniel Yam's dresses/ gowns... Nice nice but colour is abit dull.. Didn't know there is a Island Cafe at 4th flr, had my hot choc and really enjoyed the relaxing ambience, it just simply brings you away from the madness at every level in the mall! heeee...

emilia
The makan place at tanjong katong complex is it the Malay cafe in the middle? have been there recently and saw some nice Baju which cost abt 200-300+. Didn't dare to try them on hehe just admired from outside hee.. Will pester my Malay colleague to go with me one day.

Jacq
I am thinking of getting shipping company to ship my barang x2 over. Sad to say my current flat may be selling off soon as both my sisters are getting their own flats. Hence i need to shift my things over to Oz.. Heard that it may cost up to 1K or more.. I have not really check it out nor do shipping co hunting... at times feeling tired and overwhelmed with so much transition heee..
Emilia, what does it mean by unaccompanied baggage through airlines? Is it shipment through airfrieght?

Wow didn't know both of u had such long stay in Oz oredi
Oh btw i went to do my mani and pedicure just now at Bugis Street. Soooo many pedi shop there!! The basic one with shaping, filing and nail polish is from $6.90-$8.90. Last dec when i was in melb, it seems like an in-thing except that the charges are much higher, couldn't bear to part my money for it so ended up doing DIY.

eminozy

heheheh.

jacq-its under photos. http://eminozy.multiply.com/photos/album/45.
enjoy yourself.

ok i just realised one more thing there's 2 types of sugee.. one is the cake type the other is the melt in your mouth soft white balls. which one u talking about? hehehe

I came to melb coz it was something i wanted for the passed 12 years. Ended up in adelaide instead coz i wanted to study and live cheap by the beach. After studying 2 degrees, i thought am ready for Melbourne to do my masters part time. Melbourne is a big no no for party crazed people and who are easily influenced when at a young curious age. I had friends who ended up gambling their tuition fees and getting into debt in melbourne. now i can coz i am older and little bit wiser!

bands.... u mean rock and roll bands or string quartets?

Margiel
yeah there are a lot of nice bajus there. i cant believe that Malay Singaporeans nowadays buy them at prices like $400 with intense beading and good material just for Hari Raya. Mine wasnt even that luxurious for my wedding in melbourne... coz i thought it should be simple and elegant-$180. i bought it at this shop on the 2nd level called JELITA.
heheheheh

Where do u live margiel? Chris and me are now looking at 3 bedroom flats in singapore hopefully next year. We are thinking of investing in one so we can go there for holidays and eat till u flat!
hehehehhaha

Unacompanied baggage is like when u over load your baggage while checking in and the airlines will suggest them to go on the next available flight without u in it at a lower price. But u can freight all of them seperately as well, it depends on how much stuffs you have. i say if 100kilos, 30 with u and the other 70.. u can always put on the airline..sports gears are always free on, no kilo count for them.

I cant believe mani/pedicures are so cheap in singapore! its crazy!

eminozy

and hello everyone... am curious ..what brought u guys here to australia? or coming over here soon? do tell!

peanutbutta

Valkwan.. Mum says its based on 2008 prices
If u need to know anything else let me know.

Emilia... Yeap.. i left it to cool down with the oven door ajar.. i think i didn't bake it for long enuff :p hehehee I actually told my mum to bake the same cake and see if the recipe works.. and her's turned out perfectly.. but she baked it for 20mins longer than i did (i got impatient)So I think i've figured out the problem with this cake. But I still don't know what's wrong with the 10 other cakes that i've made

Jacq.. I don't know what the real jap cheesecake is supposed to taste like. I've never tried it b4. Just found the recipe online on someone's blog and there were great reviews for it so decided to try it out! Hmmm.. thought it tasted quite similar to pound cake.. but maybe not quite as dense(?).

Ok.. on to emilia's Q about aust.. I've been in aust for about 11 years now. Did my high school and uni perth, then moved over to sydney for work... then took a year off to travel round europe last year and now we've moved to Brisbane to be closer to family. FH grew up in Brisbane so most of his family's over here.. and mine's here too... parents fly back and forth... Jacq.. which uni did u go to in Perth? I went to UWA and graduated in 2003. Might have crossed paths at some point in Perth or have mutual friends. I find the asian community so small there. Everyone knows everyone else

I don't have alot of contact with sg anymore.. I'm now an aust citizen and i go to sg for a holiday about once every 2 yrs.. and don't have any friends there (hence don't care about sg wedding) except from my best friend who I've known since I was 5

Thats a short summary of me and australia
It'll be nice to hear about everyone else!