Anyone plan to have baby?

I don't know why it is but once you start to plan for it, it will take some time before you can conceive.

The hubby and I were not planning to have any babies so soon after the wedding but my ah girl can't wait .. she's 5 months old now.

jasmine23

hi hi.... i didn''t plan much.... i just tried to get myself preggie ever since i got married in jan 07.. now, finally got preggie... 5 wks le... but, i did do my hmwork s in testing when is my ovulation period n saving the moment for that day.... haha..

but after the deed, i put a pillow or smthing to raise up my hips to let the sperm retain inside me....

keke

damsel

Yeah me and hubby were not planning to have a kid so soon as well but we discovered I was pregnant just a month after the wedding. Looks like things happen when you least expect it.

damsel

Hi Jaz, hee hee should have mention that it happen in 2005 my girl is one already. Anyway after 2 weeks I miss my period I took a pregnancy test and the results was positive. Some of my friends told me to wait another 2 weeks before going to see Gynae to confirm the pregnancy.

jasmine23

ic.... me unlike u lah... me first time... haha. test myself after a few days no AF... so, positive. went c dr straight

pretty78

wow ... suddenly I thought this thread is quiet ever since I have posted it and now become active cos of the 2 of u....

Hi Damsel and Jaz.....

For myself, I am not sure whether when I can get preggy... Although I was not urgent to get preggy initially and tried for several months ..... But in the end, without any avail.

So even not kan cheong also din get preggy... At a lost dunno what to do now ...

anemic

Happen to bump in.

I used to frequent this link. Now I have just set up my eBay store, selling gemstones accessories. Opening today, just in time for Mother's Day.

Knowing the healing properties of real gemstones, we are specializing in gemstones accessories.

Click on the link below to find out the benefit of wearing gemstones.

E.g.
Amethyst as a healing stone contains sobering and calming qualities which allow this stone to be commonly associated with peace.

Please visit us.
http://search.ebay.com.sg/_W0QQcatrefZC12QQfrtsZ25QQsassZhealingstoneaccessories

ccc

I have been using the ovulation kit, it helps in showing when ovulation starts but maybe my hubby and I need to 'work' harder..

Been trying for about 3 mths each mth i get menses i go ' no baby!' my hubby says he so stressed...

would love to hear from others with experiences to share, especially how to have baby soon..? any tips?

pretty78

Hi Sinny,

Me just started to use the OPK strip to help me with my TTC this month.....

Um..... wondering why did u say u and ur hubby need to 'work' harder??? Could you elaborate??

Ask u har, since u use the OPK strip.... How many days does the OPK strip shows positive??

ojaneo

hi Sinny,

i dun have any experience to share wif u, but u sounded so stress ler.
from wat i noe is u've to relax. understanding some pressure from, but keep u out of pressure, enjoy ur 'working' wif ur hubby dun under 'baby' pressure

onceabride

hi gals, I think the best thing to do is to relax and enjoy sex with hubby and then let nature takes it's course. if you get too stress out and pressure abt getting pregnant, it will be harder.

pretty78

yah gals..... it's easy to say, but hard to do .. hee hee ...

But I know that still have to try loh....
Thanks for your advices gals. ..

I dunno wanna pin too high hopes also .... Just take it as it is .. .

ccc

hi doreen,

my OPK strip has 2 lines which means positive for ovulation, so my hubby and I worked for the nite, the next nite i didn't use OPK strip bcos he was too tired, so I guess that's why we failed to conceive..so as long as the OPK positive..we just 'do it'?

pretty78

Sinny,

Oh ic .... yupz... when the OPK shows positive when the test line is equally dark or even darker than the control line.....

If OPK shows 2 lines, but the test line is more faint than the control line, result means negative.

If the OPK strip shows positive, it means the LH surge is detected within the next 24 up to 36 hours loh.... so can just 'work hard' ... hee ....

Frankly hor, i find even that the OPK strip shows positive and BD..... it also has chance that will never strike cos of alot of reasons why the eggs may not be fertilised also loh...

So I feel that the OPK strip is just a guideline only ....

ccc

hi doreen,

yes totally agree it seems its only a guide...but somehow at least it tells us when is ovulation rather than we having to guess..Yes i think key is to work hard when ovulation. Kinda disappointed every mth my menses come..i wait every mth to use the OPK religiously..then...no baby. Like what you said, sometimes egg not fertilised, may be sperm not good also..

pretty78

Sinny,

yah ... got to try for a few months, taking it easy one loh...
although i can also understand how you feel.... esp the disappointment that every month menses come ....

Just hope that not with high hope, will turn out to a bigger or greater disappointment ....

I tell myself not to pin any hope this month liaoz..... just take things easy as it comes..... Else, it will result in more of a stressful period also .... esp now I'm in 2ww period somemore.... whew...

beanniebean

ladies

me also planning for babies, but it just my one sided option, my hubby say why not wait for another 2 years than plan. sad...

ccc

my ovulation strip hasn;t detected my fertility and my menses are about due soon..kinda wonder are ovulation strips 100% accurate? Are there more effective methods?

noscon

sinny

how many days did u test with the strips? if yr cycle is 28 days, then some recommend u test from day 12-18.

Some people with pcos dun ovulate every month and for all normal women, there will be 1-2 months each yr when they wont ovulate too.... But even tho they dun ovulate, their mense will still come as per normal

ccc

noscon,

I followed the chart and this mth was 33 days so I based on around 18 days or someting like that..oh your explanation, may explain why I don't see myself ovulating this mth..

cactus_79

Hi femme,

Having a child and the upfront costs can be high. Delivery/hospitalization costs, immunizations can be cheap if you go polyclinic/Govt and don't stay in A class, stroller, pram, playpen, bedding,clothes, breast pump machine, are all upfront costs. You can get estimate of medical costs from MOH website. You can save on necessary items (pram,etc) if you buy used ones, or borrow from friends/relatives.

Once the child is born, the cost is low. Child eats little. Even diapers and milk is not very expensive.

Until about 18 months old, you will have options for child's education... like play group..all these are options which cost money.

If you plan to have a maid,then cost will be higher each month though. Levy is $200 plus maid's salary between 240 to 320 for inexperienced maids (different nationality).

roomfulofstars

Hi cactus_79, what is the range of upfront costs? I hear things like diapers and milk cost a lot leh. So... it doesn't?

I really am not sure how much to set aside.

But HTB and I have no intention to get maid.

femme,
you can check the price of diapers and milk from suppermarket.
but do remember the medical cost is even more than diapers and milk money. you can consider work in a company that provides child care benefits to employees, then you will save a lot of money. as in they allow you to claim medical expenses for child.

cactus_79

Hi femme,

It depends what you mean by "alot". What I meant in my earlier post is that medical costs and the costs of getting a maid and enrolling your child in enrichment classes is more expensive than diapers cost.

You may want to discuss with your husband what you plan for your child for the first 24 years of his/her life, the things you want to provide your child with, then estimate the costs of those thing, then impute estimated inflation through those years. If the task is too difficult, then perhaps over the first 7 years of your child's life.

It's hard for me to explain what I mean in a post. But an example is this:

Pregnancy: polyclinic care/specialist care at govt hospital/private O&G care
Delivery: Govt hospital/Private hospital & type of ward
Immunizations for baby: Polyclinic/Private clinic
diapers : Cloth for home, disposable for outdoors? Or all disposable? Brand?
Milk: Breast feed? Expressed breast milk (must buy pump - electronic/manual)? powder milk (brand)?
Cost of childcare : Allowance to parent/childcare centre?
Enrichment classes: From 18 months old, there are lots of classes which you can send your child to... the costs also varies.

Medical costs can also cost alot alot of money. One way to limit such expenses is to buy medical insurance from the time the child is born ( I think most policies want the insured to be at leat 30 days old before policy is taken up - pls check with insurer). Another thing you can do is to also work in a company with child care benefitis - a non-working, full time schooling child under age of 18/21 is considered an employee's dependents by most companies providng such medical benefits.

Get your expectations first, then consider cost. Hope this helps.

cactus_79

Femme, you asked about "upfront" costs.

I don't know what you mean by "upfront", as that definition can vary from person to person.

I'm thinking, upfront means pregnancy and delivery and first 2 years of child's life.
The biggest expense for the above time period is really the antenatal costs and delivery costs. And any medical issues with the child (ie. special needs child, medical problem).

cactus_79

Hmm... Femme, if both you and your hb want to have kids, there's really never a good enough time to have them. You may feel inclined to save up until you have "enough" to have a child, but how would we know how much is "enough"? With inflation, costs are likely to increase. As we grow older, our parents also age and they may need more of our money... if we have kids when we are older, we may feel sandwhiched between 2 major expenses...

Whilst it is good to have an idea of how much expense will be incurred to have a baby, please know that you have cheaper options - polyclinic instead of private care. govt instead of private hospital. All these things make a difference where costs is concerned. There is no such thing as more expensive = better. Or branded = better.

cactus_79

Standard advice from drs is if you are younger than 35 years old, try for at least 1 year, and if can't conceive go to a specialist. Try for at least 6 months if you are older than 35.

ccc

cactus..will try to be more patient. ;)

I was just disappointed each time U use the ovulation kit, I feel I am more accurate about the timings, but am still not getting it right after so many months, whereas I feel some people get so easily pregnant even when they're not planning? How do they do that..? *magical!*

the more you dun wan a kid, the more likely you get it. not because you wan it but because you are destinated to have it. like myself, I detest kids so much, and i wun be suprise if i get it despite pre-cautions taken.

i think whether you are able to conveive or not is not that important. because we dun get married just to have kids, this isn't the basic reason of why you choose to marry. its a good to have not a must to have.

just enjoy the couplehood and let nature takes its course. dun give yourself unnecessary stress that is harmful to your health and may indirectly strain this marriage.

just do your best. if you are unable to conceive after 1 year, its time to seek professional help.

all the best.

cactus_79

Hi Sinny,

I think I understand how you feel. And you are certaintly trying your best. SOme couples are just luckier than others but it doesn't mean your time won't come. Continue thinking positive k!

Actually, I feel it's not important to track your fertile periods. Intimacy on alternate days of the month works just as well and not knowing when you are fertile can put u and your hb in a more relaxed mood which may increase chances of conception and definately increase enjoyment.

ccc

Hi cynthia and cactus,

Thanks for your great advice..I really do hope we can have more time together ie: alternate nites but sometimes our jobs make us so lethargic at the end of the day..

I just don't understand why people can be so 'lucky' as to have kids when they dun plan! So i guess the more u plan sometimes the harder it becomes, when u dun plan then it becomes a natural progression..?

because for those couples who don't plan, they do not feel stress and fully enjoy the process.

when you are making love, try not to think of any other things but just enjoy the intimate moment with your hubby.

cactus_79

Hi Sinny,

I think it's the mentality.

For couples who don't plan, they aren't thinking about having a baby by a certain time. For couples who plan, they probbaly have a certain timeline to have a baby. For this latter group of couples, if they can't adhere to the timeline, every passing day becomes alot of stress to them and their desire to have a baby is further augmented with each passing day. I think it's the way both groups of couples see things.

Maybe you would want to take up steps to prepare you and your hb for the arrival of your baby? I think most people just want a baby but they don't really plan for one. When the baby is born, they don't really know what to do or the options ahead of them. Planning for your baby would include steps like making sure your necessary immunixations are done, diet and weight is ideal for hb and u, finances have been put aside, and child care arrnagements have been made. YOu may even want to consider and compare the different types of antenatal and delivery packages that are available out there... the different types of maternity insurance.

By the time you'd gotten yourself prepared, your bundle of joy would most probably have arrived!

Remember.. think positive. always think positive. THat's very important. In a marriage, spouse is most important. Babies are good to have but not must have. If you can gear towards this mind set, you will be happier.

candy_floss11

Hi Sinny, you may want to try taking the Bak Foong Pill (Bai Feng Wan). You can buy them from chinese medical shops or Eu Yan Sang outlets. I heard from my mother it helps in conceiving.

ccc

candyfloss,

its in an orange packaging right? used to take it monthly after my menses...so it helps in conceiving..? Will give it a shot, ho often and when should i consume it..?

Thanks cynthia and cactus,

Yes, I think I am overstressed to have a child. I think I will just try not to depend on ovulation kits too much and take it as a natural progression.

cactus_79

Hi Sinny, ovulation kits help you pinpoint your fertile periods. They don't make you or your hb more fertile. Perhaps you can consider taking other active steps to prepare for child bearing and kid rearng to take your mind off the stresses of having a child. I think there will come a point in time in the lives of most women when they will want badly to have a child. For some, it may come a bit earlier, for others, later,.

candy_floss11

Hi Sinny,

I am not sure about the packaging for other brands. But Eu Yan Sang's comes in a red & yellow box & called the gold Label Bak Foong Pill.

Recommended dosage on the box says 1 pill once a week. However, my sister will break the pill to four parts and take one every two days. But pls note that after you get pregnant, you are not suppose to take it during pregnancy, as it may lead to miscarriage. You can also consult the sales personnel at Eu Yan Sang.

My sister got pregnant after taking it...anyway no harm trying.

All the best.

cactus_79

Just to add to Candy floss' post. If you are taking TCM or alternative medicine to help conceive, do always tell your GP if you are given medicines in case bad drug interaction. Also, try not to take a mix of drugs to help conception... you can probably safely take all TCM, as long as you know what each is used for, but don't take a bit of TCM, a bit of alternative medicine, a bit of western medicine unless you are certain it is safe.