Anyone Migrating to Australia?

merci

foggy
coz i just managed to get 115 pts (and hv to use the bonus 5 pts) in order to meet 120 pts. i'm afraid that if they increase by another 5 pts soon then i wont qualify

emerjo

Eileen....then....better hurry. Anyway, upon visa is granted, you have 5 upto years to move over, but need to be aware that you are required to stay in AU for 3 yrs. You may move over on the last day of the 5th year, but you got to be in AU for the next 3 years then. Moving there earlier, you have free way to get out for tour or come back SG for matters.

merci

Foggy,
now my situation is if i get a band 6 for my ielts, then i dont have to claim for the bonus points... but if i get a band 5 then i hv to use the bonus points....

do u knw if i can put a band 6 for my application and also say that i one to claim for bonus points... (this will add up to 125 points)... but if i only managed to get band 5 for my ielts, then the CO shld deduct my points accordingly right?

but if i get a band 6, then can i tell the CO i dont want to use the bonus points?

7ll

Hi all, our application APPROVED liao, haha...we received the email from the CO on friday, we must make an initial entry before 9-Sept-07, after that we may go on & off untill the last 2 years before the PR expire date on 8-Nov-2011. haha...i'm happy

emerjo

Lawlee, CONGRATS!!!! Many Congrats. Wow...your application is so so fast. You just submitted end Oct right???? I'm still waiting for my hubby's IELTS result. Hopefully ours is as fast too. Wow...I'm happy for you. Congrats Again!

So, when and where are you planning your landing?

emerjo

Eileen,
I'm not too sure about your situation. Are you applying on your own or through your agent?

If you are on your own, I'll think better to wait for the IELTS result...which should be out by this week. Get the required points before you submit may be critical in your case. If you have an agent, better to check with them 1st.

emmeline

Hey Gals!!

I just wanted to wish you all the best for those who are applying for Australia migration, and for those who got yours approved, BIG CONGRATS!!!

My hubby & I moved to Sydney last Dec '05, and are on the lookout for fellow Singaporeans like us who are or have migrated here for long term.

Just curious, are any of you coming over to Sydney ?

Anyway, pls keep in touch. Am busy helping out a friend's wedding over here now, so I may not reply that fast, but plse do write tho. My email: [email protected].

Take care!

7ll

Hi Foggy, thank you very much,it is a 'license',the real chapter havent start yet...haha, don worry, your turn will be very fast. moreover, both of you have OZ qualification, sure got no problem one.

we will visit OZ on & off begin next may'07, & planning to move over permenantly about early 09, but if manage to find job early than probably will just go!!!!

Hi Emmeline, how's your live in sydney? what abt the weather? job market?, sorry ah...start yearning to know everything abt OZ, haha..

barbapapa

Hi Lawlee

Congrats!! Which part of australia do you intend to go? If you are going to Perth, let me know ya? Cos me going there.

I just went to Aus embassy to get my visa on the passport. So i can travel anytime soon.

7ll

Thank you!!

Eileen, normally you will know the result within 11 mths to 1 year if everything ok, be patient, it will be your turn soon

Blue,we select Perth too, my hub more confidence & familiar with perth, by the way, i remember you had mentioned that you will move over to perth by next year, right?

emmeline

Hi snoozy,

IELTS is an English test (International English Language Testing System), a very commonly used internationally-recognised system by Australia & US for testing English language skills in listening, reading, writing and speaking. They use this to test potential migrants to ensure we meet their required English standard.

Actually, I'm surprised we Singaporeans need to take IELTS, aren't we exempted from this test? Cos S'pore English standard is the BEST i thot.

I din have to take the test, but then I applied together with my hubby as 1 unit, under skilled migrants visa, so i dun really know.

Lawlee: U are going to Perth?? Any reason?
I studied there 6 years ago for my undergraduate degree, but did not think of ever moving there cos too quiet for me.

Our life here in Sydney is pretty blessed so far. We love the life here, & we've made many friends (Malaysians, koreans, Argentinians, Singaporeans, PRC's, etc) thru our contacts & our church. Jobwise, it hasn't been too hard for me to find a job here either. But i think the "trick" is keeping an open mind to the place while also being confident in yourself & your skills so you don't let others take advantage or look down on you.

At the same time, I can understand how Viv felt, altho I never got shouted at before,..but yikes!! I am someone who would NEVER let anyone shout at me.
However, I def felt the cultural differences initially, and am still adjusting myself. Like Viv says, u gotta try hard not to keep comparing Syd to SG, which is VERY hard sometimes becos SG is such a super efficient, service-friendly, updated & technological advanced society compared to Syd at times. Hahaha! It is true! Whoever said that ang moh country is always better yah?
Of course the reason why we moved is becos of the search for a better quality of life which we did get. Also, to be honest, altho we both expected it, the best thing is that, both my hubby & I have not really felt any impact of racism over here.
. If anything, we have been treated well & with respect & pretty much like everyone else. They say that Sydney is very cosmopolitan, which I have to agree, & very multi-cultural - they have so many nationalities & races here! So much so there's no reason to be racist.

emmeline

Eileen,

Where are you moving to? Also, dun worry, I'm sure you'll be able to get the bonus 5 points. Does this mean u are going to take the IELTS for this?

Also, gosh.. I'm surprised they increased points frm 115-120 liao! So fast...& that u must stay in OZ 3 out of 5 years.. instead of 2. I guess it was good we applied earlier.

barbapapa

Lawlee,

Yeah travel to Perth next year lar. But when are you moving? Do keep me updated.

emmeline,
Perth have changed quite a bit since then. The city has evolved into a more vibrant and cosmopolitan city too althou not as big as sydney.

syl123

LawLee, Wow!!! Congratulations!!!

Foggy, you will be next!!!

Eileen, have you received your IELTS results yet?
Should be quite soon right, since it is more than 2 weeks already. I think you should wait for your IELTS results too since it is coming really soon.

I received my skills assessment last week! Phew! Next thing is to wait for my IELTS results and we should be ready for the submission.

Hang in there everyone!

Hi Emmeline! Great to hear from you. How's the working culture in Sydney? Heard that working life is Sydney is as stressful as in SG??? Also, things there are pretty expensive?

7ll

Hi Blue, our's should be may or june'07, havent decide & we will try to go to Mel/Sdy on 2008 to 'see see look look'. hope we can share or exchange the info that we collect, OK?

Emmeline, we choose Perth is mainly my hub study there before, he LOVE the place very much, beside, some of his relative & friends has been settled down there quite sometime already, so, it is easier to start there first if we need any help.

So happy to hear that you are doing well in sydney, hope you always come in & tell us your stories, doesn't matter good or bad,its motivate me...

bubble_low

I'm considering to migrate to Perth. Juz wonder whether it will be easy to find a job in Perth.

Also how to start off with the application ? i'm think i be migrating under "skilled".

Also how to calculate the points ?

Thks for helping.

barbapapa

Hi Lawlee,

Do keep me updated on the situation in Perth. Me might be making the first trip in march 06 just to settle administrative stuff like opening bank a/c and getting tax number etc.......then officially move over there by next yr end or later.

i am still skeptical about getting a job in perth. but from my observation, it seems that female do get jobs faster than the male. but we'll have to see if that is the case. ha ha ha

Keep in touch!

7ll

Hi Blue, so fast open the bank account? i thought of doing it when permenantly stay there, mm...may be should do it in advance. Do let me know the procedure then.

Between, may i know how do you all setter your hdb flat? we haven buy yet, but my MIL keep asking us to get one as investment, i just feel no point...any advise?

bellelow

Hi there, I got mine PR approved last Nov 04. Planning to move anytime in 07 & 08. Anyone is going over? Maybe we could share info. Currently, I am applying for my baby's PR. still gathering docs for my agent, he will lodge the application for me. I didnt wanna do it myself. At least, he's there to explain anything I want to know on migration thingy.

barbapapa

hi lawlee,

In fact i had the same situation as you do. Parents were insistent abt us getting a HDB flat as investment. but there is no point in doing that. firstly, the $$ in CPF can be used for investment instead of plundering into the cost of the flat and then incurr monthly instalment thereafter. question is who is going to finance the monthly instalment? also when settling in aus, we all will need $$ to survive at least 2 or 3 mths without a job and that requires a lot of money. no point paying for HDB instalments in spore and survive day to day in australia.

Besides we both started working very late in our life and don;t have substantial CPF nor savings. its makes no sense to be buying the HDB flat and supporting the instalments and save at the same time. Unless your parents are kind enough to support that property.

Might as well save more and buy a property in australia lar.....

Your thoughts?

7ll

Blue,we have same situation & same thinking, i dare not to tell them...ya, just now my hub suggested we open the bank account during our first visit too. any idea the minimum deposit needed?

hi bellelow, welcome to join us, may be one day we all will see each other in Perth, haha..

rainman

Hi Low (bubble_low)

my dad's fren is doing migration stuffs. She used to be singaporean and is not settled down in sydney. my bro has gotten his PR thru her.

if interested, i can share the contact with you. drop me your email address?

merci

sylvia
can u tell me how the military discharge cert looks like? does it comes in a folder?? i cant find my hubby's one and this is holding back our application
i rang SAF one mth back to request for a new copy but have yet to hear from them... i wonder how long it'll take...

barbapapa

hi Lawlee,

I dunno how much to deposit leh. But i will be opening a fixed deposit account to earn the high interest. i think previously in the thread someone mentioned abt ANZ's bank i/r is abt 5%. Going to check out other bank as well. Last time when i was studying, Bankwest gave a very good i/r which is abt 5.75%. so need to do some research.

theaprilwedding

I'll soon be making an application for spouse visa. Has anyone taken this route? Or is everyone making a skilled migrant application? Will move to Perth in June next year after the wedding.

Just a couple of questions for starters because am a little confused. What is an IELTS? Is that required for a spouse visa?

dat

I know this has been discussed before, but does anyone have the contact of doing certified true copies for free or cheap?

Most documents have already been done free at an Aussie chemist, now only passport and employment letter has to be certified, but i'm thinking passport will cost quite alot due to the large number of pages?

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Do PM me if it's not possible to be posted :)

Hi Blue,
NAB is not bad as well, you can save with Netsaver/iSaver where the i/r is 5.6% if i'm not wrong. But recently, there's been talk in Australia abt i/r hike again, hopefully this will benefit people who are saving more (but not those who are borrowing more)

bellelow

Hi Lawlee
Thanks for welcoming me. Sadly, I wont be going to Perth. My other friends are. My family and I are heading further down to Melbourne. I havent been to Perth before but will visit Perth to see how's the place like. I see most of you are heading to Perth... anyone to Melbourne?

bellelow

Hi DA.T, I am also looking for someone to certify my docs hoping to get free or minimal charge as I have asked around, the lawyers are charging by per signature. Imagine if we have over 10 copies...

bellelow

Personally, I think IELTS is such a waste of money examination. I paid S$280.00 and took 2 half day leaves just for this exam. My hubby didnt have to sit for this exam unfortunately, I have to - they wanted me to prove that I can understand english even my agent was surprised with the requirement.

barbapapa

hi Rany!
Cool..another one going to perth! keep in contact!

Hi Dat. Thanks for the FD info. Will be doing some research on that.

I did mention in my previous post on the lawyer that i went with and he charges a reasonable figure. Abt $5 a piece. but sometimes he very easy going and gives u a discount. His name is Edward D'Souza at the Republic plaza. u can look for him if u like.

Bellelow,
IELTS are a compulsory thing for aus immigration now.....it does not matter if we r singaporeans or not.or if we r good in our english language. EVERYONE needs to take it now. This is so that every migrant are able to assimilate into the aus society.

so those who got exempted fall under old policy liao...

dat

bellelow,

I'm already in Melb, and that's where OH's coming to as well :)

Blue,
thanks, but some people have found $2/copy right?
but if all else fails, then would try out your contact.

syl123

Hi Eileen,

Congrats!! So I should get mine in 1 week time!!!
So, now you can meet the points required already?

The military discharge form is printed on a greenish piece of paper, A4 size, no folder!

Hi Bellelow/Hi dat,
Our first choice is Melbourne....and wouldn't mind Brisbane too....but it depends on where we can get jobs.

Hi Law Lee/Hi Blue,
With rgds to the HDB flat, we are planning to keep it and rent it out. Then, at least we can get some cash in SG to pay for our financial obligations here (insurance policy, allowance for parents, etc.)

7ll

Hi gals, thank you for the FD's info & so happy to see more & more ppl joining us, especially from diffrent cities.

DA.T, can share your living experience in Melb?

bellelow

aaa.. sylvia, great to know someone is heading to Melbourne.

that's right DA.T, perhaps you could share your life over there?

theaprilwedding

Hey Blue,

Cool! When are you making the move? Has your application been approved yet? Is it a skilled migrant visa or a spouse visa?

May I also ask the name of the lawyer firm you went to? Or is the firm itself called Edward D'souza something something? ;)

Thanks heaps!

barbapapa

hey rany,

Me just got the Application approved in oct 06. making the move maybe 1 yr later. its skilled visa. but i might be going over to nxt yr march to open a/c, accoomodation and do all the migrant stuff first.

The lawyer firm is not called Edward D'souza...i can;t remember the exact name of the firm but u can look up his name in some lawyer's list over the net.

so do keep in contact and update me and lawlee any stuff you might contact.

dat

I'm a student here, so my living expenses may not be an accurate one, but for groceries, if you bother to go to the markets or get home brands (for certain products), it is rather cheap.

When my OH came over, and we cooked at home instead of eating out, we probably spent $20-30 per week on food (but this excludes start up costs for pots and pans, oil, gas etc).

If you're thinking of renting, it depends on the area that you'll be looking at. OH and I are looking to rent in the city, cos that's where my uni is, and where his job is likely to be as well. For a two room townhouse/apt it's approx 300pw (unfurnished or partially furnished, not including utilities). So far my utilities are included in my rent except for electricity, which i'm paying $20 per mth. I asked a few friends and they said it's safe to say that utilities (water, gas, electricity) is about $50/person/month. Broadband internet is $50, but if you get the optus deal (which is you subscribe to landline, broadband internet, handphone, cable tv) there're discounts, similar to Starhub in singapore.

Other than that, parking in the city is expensive, and the roads in the city is crowded, plus having to familarize yourself with how to drive with trams next to your car is rather daunting. Public transport is not exactly cheap, but it's convenient. (for a monthly Metcard it'll cost $100, a single trip on the city saver is $2.30, can check out www.metcard.com.au for more pricing details).

So far I''m enjoying the city life.. it's similar to singapore so you won't feel 'lost'. I'vebeen to perth and felt it was too 'gloomy and slow moving for my liking' (no offence to those going there). BUt when i came to Melb, felt it's a place i could live in (OH felt the same way to, that's whyy we're planning the move). Alot, there's a large migrant population, and *touch wood*, so far have no seen/heard any news of racism here.

Sorry if this is a long, rambling post.

emerjo

Welcome those who just joined us. It is good to see crowds here.

Thanks Sylvia for your encouragement. I hope you get good grades for your IELTS next week. I told my agent about Blue’s and Lawlee’s fast approvals, and was informed that they could be in MODL; in their cases -Accounts or Finance. Is that true Blue & Lawlee?

Blue, Lawlee, it is good to open the bank account when you are there. Other than the interest, you may also remit more money when the exchange rate is good. As for the housing, if I were to be in your shoes where you have not gotten any b4, I would not buy it at all for the same reasons you have. Unlike you two, I’ve mine and I’ll do what Sylvia has suggested – Rent It Out.

Eileen, CONGRATS with **hugz hugz**, good for you. Now points gained, no worry, can submit your application already. My hubby also cleared …hahaha… just submitted to my agent today. I hope to receive GOOD news by Dec 06. Oh… have you gotten the military discharge cert?

Emmeline, thanks for sharing. It’s great that you enjoy the life in Sydney. I’ve never been there, but I heard from the doctor who did our medical checkup that it’s a very nice place and the weather is more mild than Melbourne. He encouraged us to choose Sydney.

Emmeline, Eileen, I made a mistake. We got to stay 2 years (not 3 years) out of 5 years, however we need to stay 3 years to obtain the citizenship. So sorry for the confusion. Also… heard from Blue that they are changing the regulations from 2007 onwards.

Low, better start your application fast. AU migration rules & regulations changes so fast & very frequently. As for the point, check this out: http://www.workpermit.com/australia/point_calculator.htm

Bellelow, I’m keen to go to Melbourne too. Which part will u be settling down?

DA.T, thanks for sharing your experience. Which school are you at? RMIT? Hmm… and what is OH?

barbapapa

Hi Foggy,

Me and lawlee got the application pretty fast bcos i reckon we process the application ourselves and it was pretty straightforward. I don;t belong in the MODL list but i'm not sure if lawlee is. Everytime we receive any info from the immigration, we will process the info almost immediately cos we do not want to delay despite a deadline stated by the immigration. I would believe that doing the application through an agent make take a longer time?

Last time i applied, we went through an agent and they made a mess out of everything! We demanded a refund and decided to do ourselves. anyway immigration did state that the avg time to process the application is between 9 mths to 1 yr. so ours took 1 year. i believe there are people who got their application approved earlier?

emerjo

Hello blue,

I see, and agree that going through the agents have longer waits.

There's an interesting scenario which my agent told me. She has 2 particular cases where the whole applications took only 4 & 6 mths respectively, and the applicants were not even in MODL. It all falls back to how hardworking and the job load of the CO.

Not to mention that the CO needs to go on holidays too. During those time, the applications are all on pending.

I hope my CO holds her holiday till ours approved.
**sorry for the selfish tots**

7ll

Hi slyvia & Foggy, thank Q for the suggestion, i think must find a appropriate time & talk to my IL regarding the house...

My husband is mechanical engineer & i'm asso. engineer, both of us working in construction industry, it's not in the MDOL. it's took 11 mths then approved our application, not fast la...think Blue's one faster than me
anyway, would be your turn soon, be patient...

Ya, i think OH - Old husband is "lau kong", haha..

syl123

Yah...was trying to figure out what OH is also...hmmmmm ...Other Half????

Lawlee, yeah agree with Foggy that since you have not bought the apartment yet...then you shouldn't cos there will be cash outlay. We are trying to save as much as we can now to bring over to Oz....I guess with a kid, we have to be more prudent.

Photostory- I guess to answer your question...it depends on the type of visa you are applying for...Skilled or Partner??? and also whether single application and using agent or not and how complicated the application is.

For skilled migration, I guess it will be about S$3k-S$4k in total without using agent and about S$7k-$8k if using agent. As mentioned above it takes about 1 year.

theaprilwedding

Hey blue! - Thanks for the tip. Will look it up. So it's Lawlee and you for Perth. Great! Got kakis. ;)

Lawlee - Congrats on getting your appln approved!

Sylvia - Yikes! A skilled migration application w/o agent costs $3-4k?? I didn't know that.

Photo-story - If spouse visa it's abt $1700. But this cost excludes all the additionals like the health test and the documents you need to have notarised, etc.

dat

Foggy: i'm at Uni of Melbourne. OH is other half, it's commonly used in aussie forums.. we're not married yet, but will be once his PR matters are finalized.

Lawlee: OH in local context can also be Old Husband, think you can claim credit for coin-ing it! :)

Btw, every one who's getting PR/citizenship, so you're planning to settle down for good in australia?