Anyone making own ring pillow, own church decor, guest book and wedding gown?

gentlegiant

Hi, Was going around Spotlight yesterday and saw a dressmaking book on gown making? Was wondering does anyone know a tailor that can make good gown besides those we see in the boutique. I am curious. I am also thinking of making my own ring pillow and guestbook. Thought that this will be very meaningful. Share here if you have any creative ideas for the wedding and if you have any comments.

mayelene

I'm oso thinking of making my guestbook, cos i think the price they charge outside for a guestbook is outrageous haha....
but have no ideas as to how to make it leh......
anyone can share share?

loppi_tan

Hi Gentlegiant and Mayelene,
I do not think those guestbook that are sold in wedding favor shops or gift shops are worth the $$ too. Hence, for my wedding, I went for something simple. Just a large piece of handmade paper and some rose petals thrown around was what I had for my wedding.
After which, you may roll it up and safe keep it. Does not take up space. Or you can frame it with acrylic frames just like an artwork. Very minimalist and sweet. For me, I chose the second option.

katgrrl

Hi Gentlegiant,

Yup, there are tailors who are able to make wedding gowns. The plus side is that it will be much cheaper (600-900) but the flip side is that you probably need a really good idea of what design you want or at the very least the cut (ballgown, ALine, sheath, mermaid etc), neckline (boat, heartshaped..), sleeves etc.... 2 tailors that I know are: a shop on level 2 of International Plaza (owner's name's Christine, she teaches at LaSalle apparently). Another one's at www.bridalnet.com.sg, a bridal wholesaler where u can also get gloves, veils etc..

Guestbook, hmmm...how about a good quality notebook, for instance from the shop at CityLink (can't remember the name, sorry) opp SingTel. Hope this helps!

gentlegiant

Dear Su-AN and Katgirk,
Thanks for infos. Very helpful indeed. I amactually thinking should I have guestbook becos sometimes people just write becos they need to write. Do you think pple will be offended if I asked them to wriet their well-wishes on a card attached to a ballon, afterwhich me and my FH can release to the sky....heee.Just a thot. AT least something different

BTW i found a website that have very nice invitation cards :-http://www.invitesite.com/about_diy.html

Do you think it's realistic to make you own invites which amount up to 200 pieces...actaully i'm scared and excited abt making my own card. Not sure it's worth the effort.

loppi_tan

Hi Gentlegiant,
the idea is quite nice but thought it might be a pity to release all of it into the sky. If I were you, I would like to keep the well-wishes. It would be interesting to dig out all these treasures when you and your hubby are old. Then you two can go back the stream of memories...and recall those tender moments.

As to whether ppl will be offended...um...i dun think so. Why should they? Unless they are reluntant about attending your wedding and etc...if not, I think it is nice to be given a chance to pen down well wishes for friends/relatives as a token/memory.

By the way, making 200 invites may be quite a challenge. Of course, it is meaningful to do your own but you should not drain yourself too much as you should look your best for your wedding.

I wanted to make my own invites too during my wedding. Tried one, very satisfied but gave up as it was quite time consuming doing it. Got someone else to design and print the invites in the end. Not expensive and no hassle.

Juz my two-cent worth of thot....

eternity

gentlegiant,

you can leave cards and writing instruments on individual tables and get someone to announce the reason for those.... to pen down well-wishes for the couple... this way, you can be quite sure that you are not jus receiving a signature but from those who truly wants to give you their blessings...

katgrrl

Hi Gentlegiant,

200 pieces seem like a lot of work..alright, it depends on how complicated it is, I guess. It all comes back to how much time you have. But on the other hand, it'd be something unique & meaningful compared to the cookie cutter invitations we see all the time.

gentlegiant

Hi eternity,
I like your ideas. Give people time to pen down what they wantto say.

Maybe I will do one first and see how complex is it.

Actually I am very excited...abt doing all these than wedding itself

Hi Mayelene

Just thot of an idea for the guest book. Purchase a stack of dark coloured paper, say black or navy blue, and punch a line of holes on the left side of the landscaped paper. Using twine, ribbons (satin, organza etc), thread through the holes to secure the pages together.

For this, you can even request your guest to bring a photograph of themselves taken with you to be pasted on the page as they write their well wishes and blessings. Think this is quite personal and memorable, for the newly weds and their friends/relatives. Moreover it is definitely cost saving, as Polariods are so expensive.

gentlegiant

Wah....Mehmeh, you are fabulous. Very impressed with the works you put up.

Mehmeh, What did you use to put the flowers together....? Tell me leh..

Wahhh...I'm indeed very impressed.

Let oUr creative juice flow.....!!!!!

mayelene

hi mehmeh... that's a great idea! the photo part is cool.... hee.... think i can experiment experiment. haha. can use gold and silver pen to write.

Hi Gentlegiant

The flowers have green-wire stalks. Initially I wanted to use glue to stick at the edges of the petals, but my mum contributed the idea tt twisting the wire gives more flexibility. So just twist and twist lor.. When you have them in your hands, you will just get the idea

Hi Mayelene,
I've actually purchased a few huge pieces of textured paper for guests to sign-in and write their blessings. But I'm now quite keen to take on this idea of a scrapbook with photos. I think it's quite memorable to trace the frenship and relationship of you & ur guests
Gold and silver pen wld definitely be great!!
I can just imagine how classic the guest book wld be. Some years down the rd, you & ur hubby can flip thru and dwell on the lovely memories.

levynn

i was thinking of having a DIY guest book too. su-an's idea of framing it is good. maybe even more innovative... can line the well-wishes out under a piece of clear glass, then act as a top for ur coffee table.

actually, i have a similar idea as mehmeh... except the photo part. i dun think many guests will really bring their photos. even so, most will only b your frens.

anyone had done anything to share visually??

woof

i m making my own ang bao box since i cannot get the shape i wan (seashell).....oso making my own guest book too......meh meh's idea is gd but den fotos wise..i guess the guests cant b bother to bring their fotos lah....instead u put ur own fotos in..so itz a guest book cum foto album....

aliciakuah

hi mehmeh,

think your idea is very good. have u finished making your ang pow box and guestbook? can share with me your artwork?

la_win

Hi Lee Jillian,
Like what chummy mention the materials is quite costly and the time spent. I wanted to do my ring pillow at first but after thinking abt the cost and the time need to spent, i brought my ring pillow.
My ring pillow pc
403878.jpg

violac

hi i thought i'd share some pics of a ring pillow i made as well. i saw some being sold for $45-$50 at gift shops!! this one cost me less than $20 and i still have excess material to make a second one.

419635.jpg

419636.jpg

kimifin

I am doing my own wrist corsages, page boy corsage, flower girl head band & flower basket & car decor. My rom in coming March, will share you the photos.
Have to shop for artifical flowers. The handicraft shop at People's Park complex(?) have many things, but kinda rusty & dusty. End up, I got most of my things at Bukit Timah Plaza & Beauty World. B1 of beauty world, got a shop(right of the stationary shop(tended by an old grandma & little ger) selling ribbons & hand make roses. You will find many items there!

sadnessgal

need some ideas: thought of sewing the names of me and my FH onto the ring pillow..what are the ways that i can do it? thanks!

huiz

I have a one in a million (or rather the only in the world) unique looking purely hand made ring pillow to let go.
Interested parties can email me at [email protected] for the pic and further discussions

sleepycat1

Just to share...if u are intending to DIY, there are cheaper materials sold at Chinatown, esp People's Park Complex (the building with all the tour agencies). You can try looking there.

raspberriez05

Hi everybody..! I need sum help... i would like to sew / embroidery the initials of me and my FH onto the ring pillow.. Any idea hw that can b done?

thnx!

aileenli

Hi Ivy,

I'm interested in your wedding items. how to contact you other than email? As I urgently need these items.thanks!

noxlumos

If anyone interested,

we are selling our Ring Pillow, Gift Exchange Box and Bird Cage angpao 'box'.

Email [email protected] if interested

Ring pillow:

1725359.jpg

Bird cage:

1725360.jpg

Gift exchange boxes:

1725361.jpg

Thank you,
Adi & Siska