Anyone knows Foo Chow (FuZhou) traditional wedding customs ?

monica

: )
I am Foo Chow!!!!
But we didn't follow the custom very strictly. For foo chow actually we have to give 2 life chickens. But substitute by Ang Pow. One Roast Pig. One Raw Pork Leg (Substitute by 12 cans of pork leg) 4 bottles of Syrup water. 2 bottle of alcohol. Foo chow don't really get married very early. Hmmm I'll check with my Granny tonight for the details.

kiroro

Hi Monica,

It's so good to know that there's a Foo chow (cos very rare ) .

I'm foo chow and hubby is cantonese. Which one should I follow ?

monica

kiroror!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
SAME!!!!!!! I had abit of both. My MIL's rule was must give my mum "diaper money" Just a couple hundreds loh. And of cos cantonese and the blocking of the door tradition. And have to put this leaf like a fern in my hubby's pocket and underneath the pig. Lao Poh Bing - We gave cakes instead. Easier. The basket had longan, mushrooms, black fungus, "FaCai", Red Dates.....
Must bow to parents before leaving the house.
For us we did not go strictly according to tradition. No need to follow timing also. Cos my grandparents all catholic. So we simplified the whole thing. Oh remember the pig. Must return the 4 legs to your MIL. Your mum take the middle section. And your mum must buy a pair of pants for your hubby. The pants wrap in red paper. Put in the middle section of the pig. Then wrap the middle section with red paper again. No idea what it meant. And your hubby when return to your mum's house. He has to eat rice. And he has to "Tian Fan" Take a second serving of rice.

joyce

kiroro, If you think Foo Chow is rare.. what about me? My father Foo Qing... Hockchia.. and my mother's side is Khek and i married a teochew..

linda

Hi Hi .....

My FIL is Heng Wah, and my MIL is Foo Chow (I love their ang zhao chicken) and I teochew and my mum (a cantonese) wants me to follow cantonese traditions of the roast piggy thing...... And according to Cantonese, must give future in-laws the front legs of pig cos I am born by the "first wife" of the family. .....

So confusing hor?

blee

Wow! That sounds pretty complicated. Hope you don't have to follow all the customs of the different dialect groups

kiroro

Hi Monica,

Wow!! what a coincidence !!
okie, I'll keep that in mind about the traditions here.

Hi Joyce,

Yeah, yours sure sounds complicated. Which did you follow ?

another bride

Hi Monica,

for fu zhou dialect (bride), do we need any jewellery from the groom's side ? like "si dian jin" or similar??

monica

My parents didn't ask for it. I don't think Fu Zhou practices Si Dian Jin. My MIL is a Cantonese she gave me a very super duper chunky chain/bracelet/bangle but not on request.

vodka

Hi Monica,

I tink I'm confused.

Who's supposed to do wat? live chickens, pork legs durin gou da li or actual day. Pants under roast pig durin guo da li or actual day?

N I'm Foo Chow but hubby Hokkien. Shouldnt brides b followin groom's dialect grp customs?

jojok

Me also foo chow & my FH a hokkien. Didn't know that foo chow had so many traditions... Both parents have not officially met to discuss on the guo da li issues yet.

BTW, how many tables does your parents request fm the guy side (though the couple r usually the one paying for it)?

vodka

Initially my mum will b invitin only 2 tables of my aunties/uncles (her bros n sis). But i increase her no. of guests to 4 tables now cos i tink 2 tables not enug for her to invite my cousins (mum's side) as well.

My mum is not really requestin tables fr guy side cos we r payin for everythg so we get to keep all ang pows too.

She only requested for si dian jin as gift fr guy's side n a necklace fr my MIL durin tea ceremony. Pin jin will oso b token sum only.

jojok

Do u think 10 to 12 tables is alot? Reason being my dad has a big family & he wants to invite some friends & neighbours. My FH & myself paying for it but my parents keep the angbao.

Your views...

decbride

I'm also foo chow, but we mostly follow's the general tradition only, not anything specific to the foo chow. things like having 2 orange syrup, 2 hard liquor, some oranges, pork leg cans, cakes for bride's relatives.

hi jojok,

really depends on what you can afford.

dutchess

hi all!!!

wow!! really surpised that there are so many foochows here!! thought it is rather rare to even find any around nowadays. my mum's foochow, my dad's canto. but i've always considered myself foochow cos i was brought up by my maternal granny and learnt to speak the dialect from her. can't speak a word of canto.

well, sorry i can't really help with the traditions of foochow cos my mum's the modern kind, didn't really bother to follow. whatever my MIL say we just do. she's hokkien and my FIL is hockchia, so that means my hubby's also hockhia.

btw, just out of curiosity, anybody here still speak or know how to speak the dialect?? used to be pretty ok at it but now quite cham already since i don't see my grandma as often as when i was a kid.

decbride

hi dutchess,

I speak foo chow. In fact, both my parents are foo chow, so I was made to learn foo chow since young. There are some very cheem cheem words that i still don't understand, but generally conversation in Foo Chow is fine. I speak Foo Chow at home most of the time.

Most do not speak foo chow now cos most are married to non-foo chow families, and some didn't bother to teach their kids also. In fact non of my cousins know how to speak Foo Chow.
It's a dying language.

dutchess

hi dec bride

such a pity that it's a dying language. i think it's a unique language and the best part is when we speak it, most people have no idea what we are talking about! hehehehe....

i think i have to brush up on my foochow lest it really dies out on me.

vodka

Conversational foo chow no prob for me...used 2 b better but nowadays a little rusty eversince I got my own flat.

dolphie

I'm Foochow too! Didn't see this thread till today.

Vodka, dutchess and decbride,
You gals are good to be able to learn foochow. I tried to get my dad to teach me but surprisingly he wasn't very enthusiastic about it. Said that if I learnt it, I wouldn't be able to talk to anyone else other than pple from my dad's side of the family. So sad.

I'm quite keen to learn, want to "preserve" this unique language before it's lost.

jojok

H,

Both my parents r foochow but me & sibling can't speak, understand a little. My parents will usually speak foochow if they dun want us to understand what they r talking. ha.a.a.

decbride

Hi dutchess/vodka/dolphie/jojok,

maybe should teach the kids next time, so that can preserve the language. Then again, who can they speak to?

Hubby always say that we sound like fighting when we speak foo chow. :p

do you gals like those foo chow food?

I love Hong Zhao chicken, Oyster cake/biscuit esp but not many places have them. Ever since grandma pass away, I don't get to eat that much Hong Zhao any more. Really miss it very much.
I heard bugis (near the Guan yin temple) has nice Hong Zhao chicken, and bugis street has the oyster thing. Yummy! Hopefully, they will not disappear so fast.

vodka

my grandma makes her own ang zhao. i dun like 2 eat those ang zhao chicken sold outside...not nice n veri diluted.

jojok

what is the oyster cake/biscuit? dun think i tasted it b4. how does it look like?

i never like the hong zhao chicken till recently find it good. my mum also makes her own hong zhao & the wine. we shld take more wine during confirment in future cos its good 4 health.

my FH doesn't like hong zhao, to him it looks like a bowl of "blood" with chicken. he is fine w the taste but not the "appearance". must get him used to it.

decbride

hi vodka,

my grandma also used to make her own wine and hong zhao.
So sad. No one in my family knows how to make them anymore. If we want to eat Hong Zhao, we go to shop and save and buy the hong zhao paste, but it's not as good as the ones make by my grandma.

Hi jojok,

it's a round thing made of floor. They put some oysters in it and deep fried it. In Foo Chow, it's call "Tie Piang" I think.

jojok

Hi decbride,

Thanks, got it! Never taste it in S'pore b4. Ate it in China when I was young as my parents brought us back to our hometown. I recall, its v tasty.

anyone of you like foochow fishballs? my FH likes it, anyone knows where can i buy it?

decbride

hi jojok,

You can get it at Bugis. Just across the road from bugis junction, where they have those pasar malam kind of store.

Me me... I love it! Yummy. :p

Can get it from NTUC, but not as nice. You might want to try the one along beach road, near concourse. It's nice, but have not been there for more than 10 yrs already. :p I think it's still there, In one of the shop houses. It was on TV just a while back.
They also have those "Yen" in foo chow. Grey in colour with some mice pork inside.

vodka

we usually get ours from a "home factory" @ geylang. I dun noe the exact address. the next time i go there i'll take note of the lor n hse no. n post it here.

I dun like any other foo chow fishball in SG cos all too starchy, cant taste fish at all, even the beach rd ones.

vodka

Just learnt fr granny 2day tat Foo Chow usually request 4 a diamond bangle/bracelet fr groom's family.

monica

WAH!!! Why my granny never request?????????? : (
My granny request for 2 live chicken.....

OF COS NEVER GIVE HER lah.... where to find?

jojok

I heard fm my mum the bangle/bracelet must b in a pair but need not b diamond.

Have u heard that our parents got to buy pants for the groom too? Told my parents that I will go w him to buy office pants which is more practical. What does it symbolised, I m not sure.

decbride

Heard about the bangle too. Think it should be dragon and phoenix bangle, so need not be in diamond.

Yes, the pants represents "Fu Fu Kuai Kuai" (in cantonese).

angelia

hi jojok,
For the pants, my parents just ask my hubby to buy, then give to them. They paid for the pants. When you return the pants, you have to return with an angbao in the pocket (at least for cantonese).

For cantonese, you know got roast pig rite. The bride family will take the middle portion and return the rest. The pants is placed in the middle and returned together with the head and tail.

pausini

So surprise there is so many FooChow here.
My Mum is FooChow and dad is FooChin.

My MIL is a FooChow too.

My mum make the Red Wine too.

I was borned in Malaysia, Perak, Sitiawan.
Anyone?

I wonder would our mother know each other mother here.

neece

Hi paisini,

You're born in Sitiawan? My parents born there too wor... their families stayed in Simpang Dua.

Heheh.. needless to say my parents are Foo Chow too.

pausini

Hi neece,

is it? sitiawan is quite big, my grandma is at kg koh. She used to sell noodles and porriage and quite famous too. However, she is getting old and now she is helping out with my uncle with the stall. i still love to go back. my FH love the`place and the food.

shook,

ur parents made the red wine?

i dun think i will be following all of the foochow tradition.

shook

Hihi Pausini
My parents don't make red wine. My aunt does. She always gives red wine to my mum then my mum cooks it wif chicken.
R u a foochow or foochin??

silvery

Hi Guys,

I am also a "pure" foo-chow, my mum is from perak sitiwan too!! So has anyone being to Sitiawan lately?? Miss the food there..

pausini

Hi Shook,

To follow dad is foochin but i never bother. i always think i am foochow. Infact, foochin is too chim to learn and speak.
My dad cant even master it, only my grandfather. Originated from china but he have passed away long time ago.

So all the while i can only speak foochow. I wanted to know how to make the red wine. My mum say very easy but never have the chance to do it myself. Have to be careful and the qty have to be right else will spolit the wine or not nice.

Silvery,
my parents form there too! I just went back ard aprilcos granddad (mum's dad) passed away. very sad, he cooked very good dishes. We missed him very much.
I miss the onion pancake. (Kong Pai) I miss my grandma fried noodle, her penang lasksa, the dry noodle (kang Puang mee)

I am going back to hold another dinner in Sitiawan for all my relatives.

sotong

My hubby is Fu Qing too. But I have absolutely no idea what traditions they have, how the dialect sounds like or even where it originate from.

neece

Hi pausini,

My paternal grandparents have a grocery store at a corner, now mend by my aunt.

I miss the food there too, never fail to eat "lu mian" just so tastier than singapore. We would usually buy "soh mian" (aka longevity noodles), "kong piang", "ki ah gueh" (aka steamed sweet-potato cake) and ingredients for making red wine when we're there.

Will be going back after Christmas...

pausini

Hi neece,
same here. we will always get a lot of thing back from sitiawan.

My mum visit hometown more often now. So she will always get the ingredient for making red wine. My MIL is also a foochow but she dun know how to make the red wine so my mum is providing her some when she made.

My FH love the red wine chicken soup very much especially when my mum cook cos she add alot of wine in it. very strong, where my MIL normally add more of the red residual than the wine.

My PIL love te "Soh Mian" from sitiawan whenever any of my relative coming over to spore. they will ask me to help them to get 10K. and my MIL will distribute the 10K among her own siblings and my FH grandma.

Sitiawan "Soh Mian" super. very thin and tasty.

shook

Hihi Pausini
Ur dad foochin then u r foochin lar. Aiyoh u follow mother's tongue.
Since ur mum knows how to make red wine, then u can learn fm her.
Both my parents r foochin, but they dun teach my brother n me to speak foochin coz not common in Singapore. My dad said there r more foochin in Indonesia.
Wow, neece n u make me drool. Sinful, cannot, muz control my diet.

lollol

i am Foo Chin too. Dad's Foo Chin while mum's Foo Chow. Thought it's a v rare dialect but so glad to see u guys here. Have never known any other Foo Chin so far. Mum makes the Ang Chow Chicken and wine. Like the Foo Chow fishball and yen soup. Yummy

piggersorous

this thread has been quiet since 2002..
wonderin if theres anione in SB who is a Foo Chow bride marryin a Cantonese groom???

fluffsmurfie

Hi Piggersorous,

Me me ...

You too? We are also not very sure of the real custom, just following what most people are doing. (Modernised)

piggersorous

hi fluffysmurfie
yep yep.. me oso hockchew.. parents r hockchew but hb is cantonese..
my grandparents not ard animore so dunoe wats the tradition..
so so do u eat the "ang zhao chicken"??