Anyone heard of Punggol Clinic for skin problems?

phuture

Heard from my friend that Punggol Clinic is very good. Has anyone here been to see the Dr there for skin problems?

pegsfur

phuture,

Is it the one at Hougang? If it is, then yes, that clinic is very popular with skin problems. Whether it works or not depends on individual.

My brother had red angry acne on his face during his teen years & after taking the medicine & cleanser prescribed by the doc, the acne & redness disappeared. My bro's friend went to the same doc cos he had more severe acne problems than my bro & he was oso cured.

But hor, for me it never really works leh. Once i stopped the medication, i get the pimples again

kacey

Hi pegsfur,
I guess u r rite. Seeing the rite skin doc really depends on luck. It may work wells for others and not for some even though it is very popular wif skin prob. I oso have the same experience like u....dun work for me.

My bf went to see the doctor and is still under-going treatment now... His skin has improved a lot... Quite effective...

Even for me, I have scars on my legs... they are getting lighter now...

dabee

phuture:
u can give it a try. like what everyone said, depends on individual. i seen this one, dun really works for me. i also seen the one at toa phayoh, also not very effective, so difficult to hv those clear rosy skin.
good luck to you!!!

kacey

Hi dabee,
can i know which tao payoh doc u have seen? Wonder if he is the same doc we are prefering too coz we r having discussion over this topic in the forum too. Wanna to share wif us? Join us at "very good doc at toa payoh central". Thks

pegsfur

kacey,

I've been told that medication can only control pimples as mine is due to hormonal imbalance. That is why when i stop the medication, all came back - with a vengence!

The only way for people like me is to go & get preggy & have a baby ... face will turned better as the body will produce more female hormones ..... I sort of believe this theory cos my aunty was just like dat .... had big acne b4 she was married, but after giving birth, her complexion became better!

kacey

Pegsfur,

Me too...mine is oso due to hormonal imbalance. I guess med can't do much help. Whether or not the face will clear up after pregnant depends on individuals. I have have seen many preg women have terrible outbreak during their pregnacy...very scary leh.

So can i know wat r u using to control ur pimples?

tess

my problem problem is sort of under control. now is more like curing the scarring.
I'm very confident of the product - detox and colostrum. This particular brand is good and effective.There are so many in the mrkt dont waste your $ buying the wrong one.

I can now see that the scars are slowly fading. I'm looking forward to a clear, smooth complexion.

keruri

hi BlueSky,
i believe this is the clinic that u r looking for.

Ponggol Clinic
Blk 23 Hougang Ave 3 #01-283
Tel : 6280 2585

phuture

Yes that's the one... good luck everyone! Mine is not acne, just little bumps by the side of the face... they tend to leave scars

Hi Tess

How much does Detox and Colostrum cost?
Btw, where can they be bought from?
What is the purpose? My scars take quite long to fade.. So hoping for a good solution to them

harrods

been to visit this doc. Find that the advice he gives is very different from what I have known. This doc says don't apply any moisturiser, toner, sunblock, etc on your skin. Just wash your face 4 times a day.

Has anyone's skin worked on his regimen?

pegsfur

Hi harrods,

yup, dat is the doc's recommendation ... dun apply anything on the face EXCEPT his medication
It's very terrible for me cos i have oily inner skin but dry outer skin. If I dun put moisturiser, the skin peels ... & the best part is, the cleanser which the doc gives helps on PEELING!!!!

Ok, this doesn't work for me, as i've said in my posting earlier, but it did work for my bro & his friend. But i thing i must admit, the pimple cream he prescribed is good! Dries up pimples really fast. Even though I've stopped going to him already, I still buy the pimple cream from his clinic

harrods

Pegs,

I have the opp skin...dry inner but oily outer...but same, if i dun put moisturiser, my skin will be flaky and very hard to put makeup...so moisturiser is still a must...I've tried punggol doc for one week already..get mixed comments...some say improve, some say worse...i also duno myself!

Can I know how long were u with him b4 u decided to give up? Becos' he was like so confident that he could give me flawless skin...i'm not sure to continue his method or not, although it does help save a lot of time in the mornings and nites, not having to pile on up the skincare...

Did he explain to you why cannot put moisturiser, etc. not even sunblock! when i asked him, he din ans me directly, just repeated not to use.

what pimple cream u using? mine is in a clinical tube...then got some chemical description on it one...that's the only one i have from him and the wash..

pegsfur

harrods,

Think I was with him for abt 4 - 6 mths b4 I decided to give up. The reason was becos I was getting bigger acne then before!!!

I do not know if it's the medication he gave which caused the acne but it was really uncontrollable. For my bro's case, the medication helped to dry up & shrink the pimples, whereas mine just helped to ENLARGE the pimples .. arrrrrghhhhh!

Hey, same here ... he didn't really explain why cannot put moisturiser ...

I think we are using the same pimple cream

Did you take the oral medication too?

harrods

Pegs,

wow! 4-6mths is a long while. You really have patience. I've been to him for only a week and am getting impatient liao, maybe pressured by CNY coming. need to look mei mei when go people's hse, dun wan relatives to comment how come so long no c the face become like that...hai!

Actually I'm not sure if that is a pimple cream...seems like a all-in-one cream. haha. becos' that's the only thing im allowed to put on...what do u do now? still ur own facial wash and then put on the cream at nite and that's it?

I'm thinking of using back my own moisturiser, toner, sunblock, etc liao cos' everynite feel so 'dirty' when I go to work with makeup and come back only use his facial wash to 'dab dab', according to his instructions...

A lot of my colleagues recommended me to him...and coincidentally they r guys, like ur bro...I'm wondering if it only works on guys...since for us gers, there r so many other considerations like our hormones, etc.

I'm on oral too. Does it help for u? U mean u were on oral for the 4-6mths? Argh, I quite hate the med...cos' I hate tablets!

chicory

I am a satisfied patient of Punggol Clinic. I can only say you must have lotsa patience. My face had very terrible outbreak after seeing him and taking his medication. But they slowly cleared up after seeing him regularly and faithfully following his advice. I also have dry outer skin, the cleanser is v strong, abit is sufficient. The pimple cream is v good, if he says must finish the whole tube in a mth, do it... you will be amazed at the results after the pimples clear and tho the acnes are big, there are no scarrings left.

harrods

Hi Chicory,

how long were u with the doc b4 u saw results?

So u followed his instructions and washed 4x a day with the wash and only apply his cream at nite? nothing else?

Were u on oral as well?

belinda

Hello, does anyone have any idea whats the exact name of the so called pimple cream? (Maybe its chemical name is also fine)

In addition, how much does a consultation/visit with him cost? What about the purchase of just the cream? How much does it cost?

harrods

Hi Belinda,

I believe it's the doc's self prescription. No branding to it. There are some chemical names on it and one of which is tretinoin.

I can't tem how much he charges for consultation alone, but my visit to him, which included the cleanser, oral medication and pimple cream costs abt $50 only. I feel it's very reasonable.

qin17

I have went to see this doc. It really did help mi clear up all the acne but now the problem I have is red marks leave behind by the scne. Did anyone experience it before? I quite sure it is not acne coz when I touch it it is smooth one and when i look in the mirror, it is timy red marks.
Quite upset about it lor. The doc never give mi any med to apply, juz the med and the wash. I am waiting to go back for my second visit. Hope it help mi clear my red marks as well..

yvonne

noticed tat the last posting here was 2 mths ago..wondering if qin and harrods' skin problem has improved?

i oso hv pimple n acne/scars problem for a yr already...but i din bother to do anything

Recently seems to get worst coz colleagues commented =(

i visited Punggol clinic after reading this forum and i oso learnt tat one of my cousin, who's skin is scarred with pimples, oso visited this doc n her skin improved tremendously!

I m given cleanser and a tube of cream to apply only at nite. same as above, instruction given is not to apply any other things on my face.

i tried for a few days (washing 4 times a day)after my visit but its too troublesome for me. after each wash, i have to put on concealer. also, the washing has caused my skin to be dry and flaky. =( so i thought, the more i should 'conceal'.

i tink its not good to have concealer or fdn on the face but i just can't face my colleagues with my 'bare skin'
so now i only wash it in the morning n at nite.
oh ya, i m also given pink tablets for oral medication. i told the doc tat i m trying for a baby so prefer not to take oral tablets but he said that the medicine is very safe, even if i am pregnant oso can take.

can i find out from the rest here, so u really wash 4 times a day? if so, do u put on anything else after tat??
thks.

qin17

Hi Yvonne

Ya. I really washed my face 4 times a day. I nv put on make up coz my face is very allergy one. i scare if i put on makeup it will worsen.

My fren commented that my face has improved a lot. the red scar is also fading. scar wont recover so soon one. so must have patient.

When i first used the facial wash i also think that it is very troublesome but then for the sake of better skin, you have to be hardworking lor. do what he told you and you will see result..

gracious

y can't you put on sunblock? i toto sunblock is very very impt as harmful rays can worsen our skin even indoors. i'm very surprised how come dr chan says tht you can't put on sunblock leh...*dunno whether to consult him or not*

whitebear

My friend & I went to see this doctor at pungol clinic in hougang before. Think he only provide one type of facial wash, cream & medicine for all the patients having acne problems. Regardless how serious or minor problem you have. So I felt that the wash was too strong and dries my skin after 3 days of using it. Also his advise for all patients are the same :-
- Do not squezing your pimples / acne
- Do not go facial
- Do not blot away the oil on your face
- Do not apply any moisturizer or other skin care products on your face.

Charges still for same at $50 each. I will not spend my $$ to visit him again unless I got real serious acne all over my face. If yours just minor with few pimples, no need to spend the $$ to see him lah. Its a waste $$ cos medicine will be too strong & advise from him are as above......

princessy

Hi all, i used to be one of his patients. His medication n cream did work on me, so even now when i've stopped med i continue with the cream. But it didnt really work on my bro. So i guess it very much depends on individual.

strawbeary

I used to see him too, but when i was off the medication, pimples slowly come back again, so I did not went back either. But I would say that once the pimples clear up, my face was really good, totally no scarring and very smooth.

miralyn

jux sharin-my hb is ex-patient for 1.5yrs. Once stop med, all pops back, so it oni temp suppress ur hormones. However the cleanser is quite strong may cos peelin as help keep skin dry.

The cream aids skin recover so its like "tonic" quite heaty-may endup w/pimples.

Overall feel he is rude, doesnt put heart into reviewing ur condition. Nv advise stop medication/reduce cos only 1 formula for all cases. Unlike som doc will change/stop once improvement achieved as not gd for long term medication.

qin17

Dear Miralyn

Hi. He did reduce the dosage for me. First time i go he give mi a lot then slowly he reduce the dosage till one day he say you are discharged, no need to come anymore, you can buy facial wash and cream if you wan. Ya. He is a very attitude doctor. Everytime go only $40-$50 onli depending on how much he wan give mi for the medicine.

phiphiphi

I feel that you shouldn't take too much of the doctor's medication after all what he is giving is anti-biotics that is why your skin heals so fast. Besides, you will also notice that for some, after the medication is finished the pimples come back. Too much of those ain't good for your health. Unless the condition of your skin is very very bad that u have to see the doc if not it is not advisable to keep seeing him. That is why now i try not to visit too often, just let the pimples heal normally. But i must say the facial wash he gives is good. And i think the clinic moved to hougang st 21 already.

ettusias

Tried dr chan as well, same 4 steps, same cleanser, same cream and same medication.

tried it for a month plus but my condition didn't improve, more pimples pop up after i finished my medication. face felt very dry outer but yet still oily. so, ain't gonna carry on with his products.

r0n

acne problem don get well after a mth or 2...depend on yrself too..u hav to control yr diet..don eat too much heaty food, fried food, choclate, peanut etc....punggol clinic is realli gd la...cheap n yr face gets well too...beta den going to new york new care....spend a bomb by making yr face WORST! lousy service too...new york products is damm exp too...an ampoules abt the size of haf of yr thumb cost $120...=.=

opp srjc is blk 23 lor.. very long that clinic.. more than 23yrs lor
my sis used to go tehr but then hers is bad skin prob, i think she was prescibe combiderm if i did rem wrongly but the side effect was the skin get thinner and more easy to get scratch even with a pc of paper.. but she did get a bit better though prob cannot b solved.. now she use other prod if i not wrong but didnt visit there anymore..

sodepressed

Can I know what kind of oral medicine he prescribed?
Doxycycline, diane 35, oratane or roaccutane?what are the side effects of taking the medicine and what's the dosage like?

xiaooink

i went to tat clinic before..afew yrs ago..skin was very bad,alot of acne popping out here n there and mum heard of the clinic and brought me there..

i forgot wad kind of medicine they prescribe, but they gave me some solution to apply and some pills..expensive,went there for follow up afew times.. e result is good, acne problem stops..

rachel1987

hi the clinic is still there never move . cos sunday i go ther i still c the clinic name is the same but sunday is closed....