Anyone have low sex drive after taking oral contraceptive (Mercilon)

priest

Just to find out from this forum anyone sex drive decline after taking oral contraceptive "Mercilon".

My wife is prescribed with Mercilon for her heavy period. She has been on this pill for about 6 months and I realise that her sex drive has decline drastically. She seems no longer interested in sex anymore, she refuse to be fondle, cuddle and have sex but only want to be kiss. BTW my wife is a SAHM.

Anyone taking this pill care to share your experience.

hazuki

hi, i took this pill for abt 2mths.. not much difference for me. maybe her hormones r already abit imbalance tats y got heavy period.. so during adjusting period, her hormone lvl may drop at first? try few mths n c if it gets better?

priest

Hi Pebble do you also have the feeling of don want to be touch and fondle?

My wife say she will get slightly wet during kissing but will dry up immediately when I just touch below. It is true as the moment I touch it is slightly wet but in the next second the wetness turned into draught. This is the time when she will hint to stop by saying there is no water flowing from her tap. Sighed.... This has go on for almost all occasions after she is on the pills.

inex

there are other contraceptive pills out there.. get her to switch?

theres always good old condom to fall back on

priest

cant go back to condom as she is on pills to regulate and lighten her period. She is also not keen to try other pills as mercilon is so far the only contraceptive that do not result in side effect like hair loss, weight gain, gastric discomfort(she has sensitive stomach) and drop in sex drive as compare to other pills. Ironically, she may not even know that the pills has cause her sex drive to decline although I have hint her about it.

smurfying

How about switching to yasmin? tis is oso known as low dosage and minimal side effects. so far it works for me. no hair loss, weight gain or watever, and most of all, my complexion looks great. ;P

priest

WEll will have to convince her to do the switch to see the different.

Anyway thanks for all the sharing.

wenthena

I was on several pills.. Wah! they worked very well I must say! Cos woman totally dun feel like having sex.

heee okok bad joke.

I took Diane 35 got pregnant, so now SAHM to 2 kids.

Then i took yasmin. Sex drive totally zero. Now i on IUD we have Va Va vroom!

lovelynn0213

some clinic did not do a gd job on IUD will have blooding after having sex.
for me, i check for doc and he say there might b a decrease in sex drive, which is normal. one of the side effect lo.
yasmin is the best pill so far, expensive, costing more tehn $1 per pill, but actually still the same lar

vanadis82

i was on diane-35, but seems it actually increased sex drive!
I think it depends on individuals. Some side effect are being described as "affecting" something, can be increase or decrease.
diane-35 made me gain weight, so i stopped though.

janie_wawa

are pills realli tat safe? i also have my doubts..& of coz..the part on wt gain...which is y i refuse to be on pill...

dogtag73

Priest, maybe she is under stress? try loosen her up abit by lighten her housework, or bring her to somewhere lomantic...

If u really buay loon, you can always depends on our trustworthy pair of hands, they will never fail u...some application KY will do the job.

satisfied_gal

Hi Priest,

Maybe can ask your wife to try out those Contrapetive Patch, dun need to take med. So far so side effect, just a bit of rash around the patch. Got to paste it one the backside.
Easy to use and is convenient

piggy12

Hi Priest, i was on Yasmin no side effect for me.. according to my gynae yasmin has the least side effect... but of cos depend on individual... maybe there r other factor tt cos this drop in sex drive?

priest

hi piggy, she is on yasmin now but same problem which is zero sex drive. Just imagine yasmin is low in dosage and she already has such side effect so can imagine if she will to switch to a higher dosage OC. However after she took the yasmin she seem to has lesses migrane attack and clamp during her menses period.

iantho

Low sex drive or Erectile Dysfunction (inability to sustain erection) is a very common disorder which most men face in there life at some stage for one reason or the other like high blood pressure, high cholesterol, diabetes, fatigue, stress, physical injuries, certain medication, smoking and alcohol consumption. The exact reason behind your problem can only be judged by a specialist and only then one should use the medicines prescribed. You can have the information on ED and ED related drugs (Viagra, Levitra) on http://www.viagracare.com

ryanmel

Im already on yasmin for 3 cycles, did not experience any side effects.
Infact my skin turns better, no weight gain, no pms anymore.

My pills cost me $1 each at local clinic, haha treat it as 'investment' on family planning.

Melissa.

peaberry

I was previously on Mercilon and it worked wonders for lightening my period, but it increased my appetite like crazy! My sex drive wasn't affected though. Think differently ladies react differently to it.

Yasmin made me cranky and just impossible to be with, while Diane35 actually gave me zits (it's meant to clear acne) when I usually have flawless skin. Have stopped taking contraceptive pills altogether though, as there I've yet to find one that's right for me... Maybe can get your wife to try other brands, until she finds one that doesn't have such drastic side effects?

idealone

yes, side effects depend on the OC and the person taking it. if you have been taking it for a while and found something not ordinary has taken place, it is the side effects. Advice is to go to the doc and request for a change. I can name a few OC here but also no use cos it depends on 1) does the clinic carries the stock 2) OC is a prescriptive med and you can't buy it OTC in singapore.

andee

i was prescribed diane 35 to regulate my period and also acne problem but i think it caused a relapse of gastritis for me cos i have problems with gastric.. so the doctors i went to advised me to stop but my period never came, only spotting and i have yet to call my gynae cos i am thinking of changing one... but i do have to say diane 35 really clears up my acne... but other than that, i battled with gastric problems (had to be hospitalize for one time) and felt really blotted and big suddenly... but sex drive, no change..

i wonder if there's any other option i can choose from...

idealone

diane 35 contains estrogens and antiandrogens. Antiandrogen is a type of drug that is used to treat severe hypersexuality, excessive body hair as well as acne in women.

If you think your acne problem is cleared, perhaps you would want to try other pills like yasmin (still can treat mild acne)

Anyway, low sex drive is a known side effect of combination pill. A suggestion is to take progesterone pill instead.

lefe

try taking ovine placenta softgels from extreme wellness. Within 30 days your sex drive would be increased by 100%