Anyone gg 15D Italy/Swit/Paris with Dynasty on 27 Oct 08?

yongyong

Hello snowypooh, I've also signed up for the dynasty 15 days Italy/Swiz/France, departing early december. Will be attending their briefing tomorrow.
I heard from one colleague Dynasty's accomodation and food so so only. How did you find the hotels you stayed in? You did any homework prior to this trip? I was adviced to do some reading on the places I'll be visiting, esp Italy where we'll b visiting a lot of historical sites. Was your guide good?

snowypooh

Hi Stir, that's great, hope u enjoy the trip.

Well, better keep personal comments to pm.

Yes, I'd done some basic research (what to see at where) but I'm not a history person so didn't bother to memorise the historical facts. However, anyone will be awed by the sights. Imagine how capable they were to be able to come up with such splendid works centuries ago.

The local guides (note: there were different local guides in each city) were pretty knowledgeable however (depending on various factors such as the size of the group, how loud the guide talks, how attentive you are, etc) it maybe difficult to catch what the guides are talking about so it's always better to equip yourselves with some basic knowledge unless u're only interested in snapping photos & not interested to know what u're shooting.

Each of the 3 country has it's own charms & overall this trip is a good all-rounder. Covers major aspects of what's required, there's religion, history, beautiful scenery & shopping.

Btw, do note that there'll be fair amount of walking (about 10-15 mins) especially in Italy where the coaches will be parked at a distance from the places of interest.

~sblbee~

hi stir,
omg, we'll b travelling tgr.....we r using d same hotel n same holiday package....i cant attend their briefing today, do let me know wat to expect frm tis trip n some tips ok?

colt_26

Hi meiling, you signed up with dynasty on 15D to europe? When you leaving? I have a friend who signed up for 1-15 dec. I just came back with dynasty. You might be travelling with my tour mgr, Ivan. Nice chap.

Intending to extend your stay?

yongyong

Hi Meiling, Ya, so surprised to find you in this thread too! I'll be attending the briefing alone cos hubby not in Singapore...so will they give u an over the counter briefing at a later date?

snowypooh, how's the weather over there now? is it cheaper to get winter wear from SG or over there? where you got your winter wear fr and hw much did you spend for the whole trip over there, excluding package fee?

~sblbee~

colt_26,
oh mine, lotsa MM brides here....im so happy
yes, i signed up on d same date as ur fren so i'll b seeing her there

oh great, i heard frm a fellow bride dat ivan is gd too so i've got nothing to worry abt now...so happy :p
actually had wanted to extend my stay to go london but i doubt i got d time cos lotsa things to b done in sch....so i guz i'll go another time when i visit other places in europe :p

stir,
heheheh....so how was d briefing? wat was being shared? i duno if they'll brief me over d counter cos i think their aim was to collect d airport tax frm me leh...nothing was being mentioned so far :p

~sblbee~

by d way, how much to prepare for tipping n d extra charges dat we need to pay d local guides, bus drivers n our tour guide? i duno if i've changed enuff $ for dat :p

colt_26

Hi meiling, I am sure you will enjoy the trip. We were asked to prepare 78 euro per pax for the tips. That will be all. The rest is mainly for your food, shopping etc........

do bring more thick clothings as it will be quite cold in dec.

~sblbee~

colt_26,
thanks for sharing! i'll put aside 80 euros for d tips ba....hope watever dat i changed will b enuff :p yah im going to pack my luggage, hopefully got enuff space for d bags dat im gona buy for myself n for my frens :p

colt_26

meiling,

the cash we changed mainly used for food and souvenirs. the bigger items can use credit card.

do call the credit card company to inform you going overseas so there will be less delay when you use your card overseas.

do bring along heatpacks as well.

snowypooh

hi Jolene, it should be winter already when u go in Dec. Better to be equipped with warm clothings before u go, more convenient mah rather than to hunt around for winter wear while u're there. BTW, rough gauge on pricing of clothes in Italy, about 40EUR. In Singapore, also about 40SGD. You do the maths.

yongyong

Hi MeiLing,
We were given a set of notes during the briefing, i believe they'll pass it to you when you pay for your airport tax. (Advice on how much to prepare for tipping is included in the notes). No questions were raised during the briefing, I guess the tour manager was quite clear (though I find it a bit draggy). He spent a lot of time explaining about the "optionals". Telling us this cannot be missed that cannot be missed...and in total we should prepare how much money for these optional trips. If I didn't rem wrongly, he said each of us is adviced to change ard 700 euro and 400 swiss franc (and tt's excluding our own shopping).
Our group will have 20 over to 30 over ppl i think...consisting of two or three families, some young couples and some middle aged couples. Not all attended the briefing.
Weather wise, it'll be colder in the mountains (below 0 degreesC) but for other places right, morning temperature ranging from 15-24 degrees C, and evening could drop to ard 8 degreesC. I think the cold is bearable.

~sblbee~

stir,
thanks for sharing! i might b skipping some of d optional tours cos my aim is to grab some bags there :p oppsss....i only changed ard 1150 euro n 600 swiss franc...think im going to change more in tis case :p
oh great, i was so worried dat i cant tahan d extremely cold weather there :p

basker

Will be gg with CTC 14days Italy/Swiss on 11 DEC..a list of optional tours given out but advise to take up Gondola Serenade Eur35, City of Romeo & Juliet Eur28, Lake district Eur30 and Junfraujoch Chf179. Any idea which one can skip ?? Thks

~sblbee~

basker888,
frm wat i know, we may not b covering all d optional tours, it all depends on d time....for me,i think city of romeo & juliet can skip, but def not d gondola n jungfrau....not too sure of d lake district cos mine doesnt have tis location :p

basker

During the briefing the temp for Italy 7 to 14 degree Cel while Swiss is snowing already temp 8 to -ve 10 (up the Alps). So be prepared.

virgoinvenus

anyone keen to join dynasty travel 12D Swiss/Italy departuring 22JAn (CNY period)..
still not confirm ..waiting for more pple..

strongyetweak

colt_26 & snowypooh,

Did you join the Jungfraujoch optional tour in Switzerland? Any good? Am contemplating... because not cheap... if not going then I will not change too much Swiss Franc...

Is there anything to look see look see at Interlaken if we don't take the Jungfraujoch optinal tour?

lovetotravel

Dear yaya,

Jungfraujoch is a must go itineary. Its worth the price and you will enjoy it. It is known as top of Europe with the highest train station.

colt_26

Hi yaya,

Depending on the season you go to Jungfraujoch. View supposedly quite maginificent but when we went in Nov, it was snowing quite badly and we didnt get to see much. Thou its expensive but its worth the experience.

Anyway, Interlaken has nothing much to shop or see. Its just a small town.

~sblbee~

i juz came back frm my trip wif dynasty...i had lotsa fun

for me, jungfrau is a must-go...d weather was great when i went there so it's lucky for me cos we get to do all d things

blinko

Hi hi...

Did anyone sign up for this package lately? Or anyone just back?

I call last week to ask about their price, the grp departing end mar is confirm and the price is cheaper than april... I thought not confirm grp usually is cheaper? Can anyone share~

aaronkwl

I was looking at the 12D swiss and italy tour with Dynasty, leaving on 18 April or 20 April 2009 (cannot rem). The price is around $4,000 per pax and I am thinking a bit ex. Any comment?

blinko

Aaron> $4,000 per pax tax included? I tink it's ex... I'm looking at the 15D Italy, Swiss and Paris and it's ard $4,500 after tax....
Guess u can go NATAS or those travel fair this weekend to check out other deals cos 12D Swiss & Italy are quite common package which other agencies also offer...

aaronkwl

Hi Blinko, yeah tax included. I thought it's ex too. And because of the price, it may not form the 15 person tour (which is the min. requirement). I have searchother agencies, its either without the dates I want or the itinerary not attractive. Are you look for price or places of interests? When are you going?

blinko

Aaroon> It's definitely too ex even after tax. Chan Bro advert is showing only $2,988 onwards for 12D Italy & Swiss. Even after tax etc... the most I guess it's $3,800+++ but last week when I call them, they tell me they dun fly on SQ...

You can consider taking a look at CTC 14D Italy & Swiss, i think it's quite a comprehensive one but i find it ex compare with Dynasty 15D Italy, Swiss & Paris. The CTC one cost around $4,100++ (before tax) So depends on individual preference bah~

I'm more or less fixed on Dynasty 15D package... looking at the one departing on 27th April... Quite a good date cos in between there's 2 Public Holiday... take lesser leave... haha~ Wanna consider? haha then 2 more confirmed pax... keke...

aaronkwl

Blinko,how much is the one on 27 April? We have to depart somewhere on or before 20 April. 27 April we cannot make it... =.=

blinko

Aaron> depart 27th Apr is $4,138+$373(taxes)
Btw they have a confirmed grp for 26th or 27th March and it's $3,988+$373... That's the price they quote me...

pinkjolli

I am going with Dynasty 15D Italy, Swiss and Paris departing on 27 Mar 09 by SQ.

Anyone else here going too? =)

pinjie8275

I am planning to go sometimes end of this yr too... Would greatly appreciate it if you guys can share with us ur experience with the travel agency when u're back.

Have a safe and enjoyable trip ya! (^_^)