Anyone getting Ipad this Friday?

Do you have the micro SIM (3FF)? Else, you just gotten a white elephant that doesn't work with your normal SIM.

sm, not understanding what you mean 3G version not mandatory.

DO you mean using it like an iPod where connection is only through wifi? If so, then probably need to wait for Froyo to provide the Wifi service from the mobile to the iPad. Else, the device will be limited to places with Wifi hotspots.

Quite an expensive toy if used without mobile data connectivity.

Yes. Without Wifi hotspot, you can surf outside.

But no need to wait for froyo. There are already some phones that can act as wifi router through 3G but I don't quite like the performances..

I was thinking the 3G module in iPAD probably useless shortly as more advance 4G phone with Wifi capability will be available by end end of the year. The 3G option in the iPad is 200 more.

I don't use ipad outside that frequently.. I normally and intend to use it to surf in bed.

yes, but I doubt WiMax will be launched in sg anytime soon. 3G data coverage is really poor. I'm with Singtel, the connection is constantly switch from GPRS, 3G and 3.5G.

Ya.. proven singtel is bad. I have starhub.. When I am out with colleague (he with singtel), he always complain about connection speed..

I am generally happy with starhub.

Note that 3G connection is also dependent on the number of people accessing.. maybe singtel has too many subscribers and not enough bandwidth..

Not really expensive toy. As I said, I don't surf outside that frequently.

I played with iPad for a while.. it is a totally new user experience..

to add on, the phone router not so good becos it got quite heated up after a while, bf passed me his router so that I can surf while I am at home

SG prices is very good.. in fact the wifi version is slightly cheaper than the US prices.. based on current exchange rate..

if you have an existing data plan, you don't need an extra data plan for ipad. just cut the sim down to fit in the ipad.

sm, for high $600, probably can get a high end netbook. $300+ can get basic model. Why need to spend $1k for this non expandable product?

Every single netbook in the market has more HDD space than that. Have a battery life that last 6-9 hrs.

tomasulu, cutting the SIM without a proper cutter can easily damage the chip inside. And without an adapter, you will not be able to use if for your normal mobiles in future too. Not to mention that electronic stuffs could be sensitive and requires the precision. A bad contact might corrupt the contents in the SIM. This has happen with some old mobiles with poor contact points. Not all SIM OS are fool-proof with transaction backup buffer to protect against tearing issues.

The WiFi iPad can use a MiFi device. All telcos are carrying this product, which is FOC when you sign up to a mobile broadband plan.

Just my view, I find that netbook screen too small I dont really like to use it to surf net. ipad can buy or rent movies from App store, download free nice game to play mah...download books to read.

But I agreed ipad is quite expensive. Still feeling a bit heart pain...hee

milo,

You have to use the iPAD to appreciate the experience. I have netbook as well.

It is a different ballgame altogether.

No boot-up. Instant start.. NO HDD means longer battery life.

Before I sleep I like to surf, emails, watch videos and with netbook I hate to open it and then wait for it.. so I normally make do with my iPhone.. So it is going to make my iPhone redundant.

I will use netbook when I need to do serious staff.

OK.. tell me which notebook - full tested can last 9 hrs..

Not so worried about the SIMS. The telco will carry the micro-sim soon.

Feature wise, iPAD is nothing new.. it is a subset of netbook. but user experience wise.. it is different..

anyway, we use just to surf net, emails, you tubes, read news, read books - these are stuff that iPad is good in. YOu give it to a 3 year old kid, they also know how to use.

The same cannot be said of the netbook.

Telcos already offer microSIM cards, since May/June 2010. Believe there will be more variety of plans that will come our way very soon.

sm, probably. just like the iphone. I'm not hooked on it yet. Shall see about it.

I don't power down my notebook when I leave office. Just standby. I do the powering down only when going to bed. So, mostly I avoid the bootup timing. I don't own a personal netbook. Just gotten the EzPC for my mum during PC show for $450. They claimed the battery can last that long. But, I didn't test it though.

Nevertheless, its double the battery power than my office computer which lasts 2.5 hrs normally.

Faith, don't need to buy movies lah unless you are strongly against piracy. There are iphone apps to d/l movies and TV streaming (Cn stations) for free.

Same application existing in various platforms. Iphone, Andriods (and BlackBerry as well i suppose?)

micro SIM is good for the industry. Everyone needs to change their SIM when they get their iPhone4 or iPads

Doll, why do you say so leh? I just mentioned its good for industry. Just as iPhone is good for the telcos to push data usage to finally overtake voice. Something all previous smartphones fail pitifully. I'm an avatar bread maker LOL.

Doll, the infrastructure is very costly. If the solution has low usage, its damn expensive to maintain and it will take a long time to cover the initial costs. For all the yrs, the telcos have no biz case and confidence to be profitable with a budget data plan. But with heavy usage in today's context, the operating costs is spread. That's why we are able to subscribe to data plans at such good pricing nowadays. Its basically encouraging us to switch to a smartphone.

And this is also the reason why the Singtel data connection is so poor. Too many subscribers and their network have issues supporting the heavy data usage.

2 yrs 4 versions of iPhones. Definitely, Telcos are loving it.

Milo, heavy data usage on the network causes another set of problems for the telcos, called over subscription. Telcos have to constantly add capacity to handle that, that is costly.

The telcos love and hate the iPhone. They are paying a lot more to carry the iPhone and I am sure profits are hurt.

Doll,

My personal frustration with Singtel bad data connectivity for months seems to suggest nothing has been done thus far to off load the stress.

I suspect that Singtel intentionally are slow to upgrade their infrastructure. My guess, probably dragging as long as possible to upgrade directly for 4G instead.

The ROI for any 3G network updates is within the short window before their switch to 4G. The irony is their advertisement speaking about better coverage. My God, its data coverage is truly awful at my office. Never reaching 3.5G. Mostly connecting and GPRS and dropping signal all of the time.

"don't need to buy movies lah unless you are strongly against piracy. There are iphone apps to d/l movies and TV streaming (Cn stations) for free"

really ah??? actually not suppose to do so but so tempting hee let me inform my bf to check it out using his 64GB Ipad which is beta to store more movies lol...can save my apple gift card liao...haha

Milo, can cut the normal sim to fit into the iPad, u can YouTube for the info. For me I'm using the 64G n Wifi set, Now in fact... I use the 3G more becos I find that it uses less battery compared with using the Wifi...

The best part abt the iPad is that it is a great tool to keep my kid n baby occupied when we're having meals...

This is my First ever apple product since the 1st gen iPod. Bought for wife but since she already has a Mac and iPhone, and my daughter is very good with both, I thought I'd at least go thru this self-education to keep up with my daughter...

I am Sold on this product. Must have!

Ok for those who can wait... I am hearing from the stores in the states that a camera version with various colour options Might hit the stores this christmas... So look out for it, I cannot vouch if the sales person was telling the truth.

hi bro, yes. I mentioned, you can cut. And u risk damaging the chip as well. I would prefer to get it directly from the operators and with them providing me the needed adapters to use them on normal SIM devices still.

I would consider when the pricing is reduced. I avoid being paying premium pricing to be the 1st ginnie pigs. I am using the iPod for quick short browsing - Unused old toy for wife. When she dispose of her iPhone, maybe I would pick it up or just sell it away. I like my HTC andriod fine. It works really great with my corporate emailing. My company disallow iPhone connectivity to our corporate mailbox due to weak security.

Doll, not just BPL... Also Champs league. IMHO, the most exciting and beautiful league. Games played at club level by the top teams in Europe! Anytime better than National competitions.

yeah but the cutting super easy... anyway there's an AT&T microsim in the iPad liao, so just place back to back and cut... when i got it, the microsim not avail... so have to do this way... worse case spoil just try another, but very hard to cut wrongly... really very hard.

yes I agreed with powder the sim is easy to cut. My bil already been using it for the 3G ipad even before the microsim is launch. But now dont need to cut liao lar already got microsim mah

Milo, it's hard to follow EPL. It's a lot of commitment lor. World Cup, Euro Cup ok because it's just that intensive one month.

I won't be watching EPL as I simply refuse to go for MIO TV. Singtel in a fix as some users cannot receive MIO TV.

The technology of MIO TV is that you need to be a certain distance from the telephone exchange - otherwise the signal degrade too much. Many people has already bad experience with MIO TV - unless those who are closer to the exchange.

The government is laying fibre to all our homes - coming to my house this quarter.. and 2 years later - we are all going to have super-fast network.

I been watching EPL since the 70s but 2 years of not watching them won't kill me. For some big matches I will just go online streaming to watch.

For world cup and euro, I have it recorded automatically.. then I delete the lousy matches.

I probably go for 64GB Wifi+3G.

Powder is right.. ever little toddlers can play with the iPAD easily.. the same cannot be said of netbook.

I am very much technology driven but on the other hand I also look at the user experience.

I do have a android phone in addition to iPhone as well. Android phone is also quite good.. and I think it is giving iPhone a run for its money. We may see Android based tablet in the months to come..

But Nokia is in big trouble. Already 60B euros wiped off its shares.. And Nokia is recruiting an American CEO to help save them from the onslaught of apple and the Androids. Already, they lost the lower end phone market share to Samsung.

Yeh
So happy! I'm looking forward to the ipad on our shore! But most probably I'm not getting it that soon...as I want it as a Christmas pressie! =)

we are over charged big time on the memory. They are not using any magical hardware. Just normal flash memory. Good money for apple.

Well, I don't need any plan.. the most I get another sim card..

My daughter has M1 data plan - I heard that M1 data rates are good.. I am going to test M1 vs starhub (as I know singtel sucks)