Anyone getting Ipad this Friday?

doll,

YOur office in centre-point meh?

I thought in Kaki Bukit.. Your company also has an office near centre point right?

SM, I went to a clinic near Centrepoint to get meds. Eczema flared up again. Then I took my lunch, dessert and kopi there too.

doll,

You mean iBook's ebook? If you have SG apple account, don't think you can buy.. you can only download free books.

But there are other ebook applications that will allow you to buy ebooks.

Bedokboy, iPad is designed for non techies like me leh.

SM, I miss my own office. New office location sucks big time.

Which eBook app is good? I might wanna buy one eBook to try and see if I like reading an eBook.

there are kobo, stanza and also kindle apps as well.

If you want free one, the ibook apps has a lot of free ebook to read.

doll,

I haven't install the kindle apps yet.. I have kobo though - cost I had it before on my iPhone.. so sort of stick with it.

Unfortunately quite a number of the magazine apps require online access, unless purchased. Perhaps it has to do with copyright issues.

No. Not copyright issues.

I think the publishing house are still grappling with the right approach.

To rely on advertisement and publish for free or to charge for the magazine?

For iPad, the route taken by most is to charge. A lot of application that are free for the iPhone, they are now charging for the iPad.

Paying for magazine is fine but not at the same price as the newstand price. I think they got the economic model wrong. Who is going to want to pay for an online magazine at the same price as one on the web? Delivery and manufacturing cost on the web is so so much lower than the actual published magazine.

But give them some time. Like ebooks it is now really picking up.. eMagazines will take some time too.

Just learned today that Apple has an app that allows users to trace down on a lost iPhone or iPad, among other things. It's called Mobile Me, but it's expensive, charging USD99 in annual fee.

That feature is just one of the many features of mobileme. Its main purpose is for synchronization of information of your iPad, iPhone, computer - with "cloud-like" resources..

Unlikely to have expandable memory like SD card.. just look at the history of Apple products - CLOSED.

It will have a camera - mainly for facetime and probably different colours.. they may increase the internal memory - that is about all.

You won't even get USB port. And you still need the damned iTunes to connect - probably the worst thing about the iPad. Why would you need a computer to connect when it is already like a computer? Try screwing up your passcode and you will know the pain - of connecting to computer and recovering your iPad.

Apple make great products. But they are also damn stubborn people. Of late it has become worse.