Anyone frequent SPA or a member of any SPA?

aa

I would like to hear more about the SPA u go to. Why you chose it among the rest.

Me cant decide. Some are ridiculously expensive. Some are cheap but I think they're more into facial rather than massages.

julia andrew

I go for my massage every month. So far I've tried the reputable one like renewal & st gregory.

My conclusion is St greg is rubbish. Don't waste your time there.

You could try renewal club spa at Hotel Meritus Negara. There is this massuer name Sow. She is specially employed from Thailand Banyan Tree & I guarantee you will be satisfied with her service.

aa

Hi Julia Andrew,

Why do you say St Greg is no good?

Did you sign up with Renewal Day Spa on membership? How much is one massage?

gan

hi, anyone interested in a helio asia spa package?? i bought it at $1200.00.
willing ti ley go at $800. it has a wide rrange of facilities like slimming/toning/wraps, or even all kinds of facila and manicure/pedicure.

julia andrew

Hi AA

Went to St Greg couple of time for massage. 1st they don't allow u to use the facility provided that you are a member. (Not even the waiting lounge) 2nd is because the massuer were just probably a part time that goes through the motion rather than serious massage therapist that take pride in their job.

I did not sign for any package coz I would rather have the flexibility of choosing where I want 2 go exp now when new spa centre are really sprouting in the market. I will choose the best.

aa

pls let me know if u come across any good and worthy spa.

hv u been to the new rustic nirvana at cantonment rd?

cherly

I make enquired with Nirvana at cantonment Road, it seem not cheap too. I am looking for one spa and massage too.

aa

I believe there're some cheap ones around. But not as nice decor and not sure whether reliable or not.

angsana

i just came back from bintan, stayed at angsana, which is a cheaper line from banyan tree. not half bad. the diff betw banyan tree spa and angsana spa at bintan is that banyan tree spa is enclosed, angsana one is open air.

went with bf, rather nice. 2 to a "room". it was fun, esp afterwards we took a shower together in the open shower, shrouded by greens of course. nice!

i like softer touch, so i went for the maui massage, which was long, soft strokes. he likes firmer fingers, so he went for remaju or something like that, his feedback also very good!

ssl

HI

I would like to second angsana's comments on Angsana. I also been there recently with hubby in February for our anniversary.

We had a relaxing and enjoyable massage session in a open concept hut!! facing the sea and so romantic. We each have a massaseur serving us (both ladies) and we both opt for swedish massage. But his is with firmer pressure whereas mine is softer.

The masseseurs are quite professional to me cos they asked whether if the strength is ok at times. And i noticed that they try to leave this palm or at least fingertips on your body when they are getting ready to apply new oil on your body.

This makes me feel assured that she's there at all times and there's no surprise "attack" by her anywhere.

Though it's not that cheap if u were to compare to Nirwana or Mayang Sari, but i think it's worth the money paid. And its stds could be comparable to Banyan Tree who happens to be their sister company.

I would probably try Asmara in Bintan which is owned by Jazreel Low. Saw this rates and i think is quite reasonable.

aa

wow! reading what both of u written here is quite tempting. i've always been looking forward to a spa outing with my FH. but not sure whether to just do it here in spore or at bintan becos budget very tight now. a lot of things have to think 10 times before doing.

can u 2 tell me how much u spent for the spa services alone?

SSL,

is asmara bintan in the nirwana or mayang sari resort? when will u be trying it?

can we stay in other resorts but go over to angsana for the spa services?

ssl

HI AA

Asmara has got spa at both Nirwana and Mayang Sari Resort. Their booking office in Singapore is actually Jazreel Low's Collections. Tel : 6 227 6334 or u can check out their site at:

www.asmaraspas.com

cant really remember how much i spent at Angsana cos hubby paid for all. heehee. I dont think they can stop u for going to their spa if u are not staying at their resort.

of course sometimes if u stay at their resort, got package deal leh??

aa

did u all took up a package from travel agency or just buy the ferry tickets and book the hotel urself?

lhuisian

I would recommend Banyan tree spa services. The one i tried was at Bintan Banyan tree resort. serene and relaxing ambience and professional service. The room has full floor to ceiling glass window facing the open sea ... they also play soothing music ...

But if you are looking at regular spa sessions in Singapore, I am a member of Amore spa. It's not as solid as banyan tree but good enough for the package that i paid for. Paid 1000 bucks for the package. Valid for 2 years. Each time u go for a spa session, depending on what service u choose, they will jus deduct the amount from your 1000 credits. As a member you get 30% off the rack rates. The good thing is you can share this with your friends ... your galfriends can also book using your membership and also enjoy the 30% disc.

gwyen

I frequent Rustic Nirvana at Cantonment. They have a second outlet now at Liang Seah. Their massages are very good!

jacko_wacko

i have a FIL Spa Silver membership worth $1500 that's i wan to let go because after i signed up, i'm having cold feet about going cos' i cannot stand being massaged by another. too self-conscious. let me know if anyone interested. can e-mail me @ [email protected] re:FIL Spa

sunnyday

I have a package with Amore Day Spa. So far I have good comments on them. They will hv one therapist who will follow through your treatment from the start to the end. The rooms and beds are clean. The environment is nice too. So far I have tried 4 therapists and they are nice. But I like one particular one so I normally request for her when I go for my facial once a month.

angelyn

I went to the spa at Angsana bintan and it is really divine. Actually, they have both open air and private air-con rooms. The service there is really good. There was once they made a mistake on the no. of persons i booked for and they gave us all 20% discount. The menu and price list can be found in their website: www.angsanaspa.com it's very comprehensive! just be sure to book in advance as it is very popular. i will surely go there again!

As for sg, I think generally, if you want good quality spas, it's very costly! Amrita spa at Raffles City is very good and of coz the price is also very high.. website:http://www.amritaspa.com/singapore/raffles_city/index.php

happy_mummy

hi gals...

i hate the liang seah st. - Nivirna coz the staff there seem to be so engrossed in their conversation.

I have got a voucher from kiddy club worth S$ 230 for abodminal ginger n scrub but guess wat happened. Went in less than 15 minutes n was out.
I thot supposed to be 60 - 90 mins as i called earlier to check but its not the case.

Moreover, they asked u to pay for the so called spa facilities - i only used their bed n towel which is the basis needs. THERE GOES MY s$ 8.40 which is nothing.

I was waiting for the staff to tell me more abt their package but they didn't even bother to tell me...just serve me plain water, make payment of S$ 8.40 (GOTTA CHEATED) n go. I was very blur..how come.

So...i give up n choose other spa which is better in tanjong pagar but am seeing whether anyone is interested to share the sessions wiht me...abt 100 to be spiltted into 50/50 n payment to be fully made in six mths to enjoy a better price.

chickensoup

Hi Happy mum,

I also felt r-nirvana is over-rated. I went for a prenatal massage. The massage is ok but they don't seem that upclass as compared to st. greg or aspara. And the free 30min foot spa is just a machine vibrating at the feet for 10 min so that they can talk to u about the package. Anyway, one time affair, so it's an experience.

frogprincess

I thought spa Botanica was great untill this weekend!!

My husband and I got married on Sentosa on 22 Jan. To get into the wedding party mood, I went to the Spa Botanica with my close girl friends for a spa themed hen party, which was unfortunately disturbed firstly by motorized grass cutting less than 10m away from our outdoor massage and secondly a false emergency alarm! It was such an obvious intrusion to our wedding party that the spa manager came out and offered us a 15% discount voucher. This appeared to be such a sweet gesture, and he would have won many a loyal client, except for what happened when we tried to actually use the voucher!

My new hubby and I booked a couples treatment for day before yesterday (i.e. 29 Jan 2005). We are not rich, and couple treatments are at least $500 plus, but as we were newly married, we wanted to indulge a little. I had already mentioned to the Spa manager that I would be using the voucher with my husband, and we mentioned the voucher when we booked the treatment, and at no time did the spa tell us that the discount did not apply to the couples treatment!

When it came to payment time, they happily told us that it was for the a la carte treatment only. Nowhere on their spa menu does it actually state which treatment comes under the a la carte menu. When I pointed this out to the Spa manager he actually rolled his eyes at us, and became impatient and condescending. He told us that we should just come back another time to use the voucher. The best part was he even told us that he is sorry to have given us that voucher if he had known it would have caused this confusion!

Ultimately, we wanted to indulge in an expensive treatment to celebrate our wedding. What really ruined the otherwise relaxing experience was the unpleasant way that we were handled when the error came to light, and the spa manager treated us like we were trying to cheat them!

I am posting this here in case any of you are thinking of going to the Spa Botanica - you may be shocked by the level of service you get for that kind of price!

tebearz

Anybody knows about the package for Rustic Nirvana about the jamu wrap and for how many session? Trying it at $98 before GST for trial session. Does it really helps to slim down after delivery?

fatcat

ribbit: I agree with you that the receptionist or whoever work the counter got very bad service, but everything else like the massage, the enviorment and facility is good.

rabeanco

I frequent Renewal Day Spa at UE Square. Quite reasonable price, quiet and serene. Can use gym and steam room (no jaccuzi in ladies toilet but there is hot and cold pool in the gents). Look for Rose/Maria for massage, they are good, especially in Indonesian massage. If you prefer hard massage, try Cathy.

And, i also frequent Tea Tree Spa in Holiday Inn Resort, Batam. Nice environment, gentle and friendly masseurs. To save all troubles, go to "Five Star" travel agency at Golden Mile Complex to book a 2 day 1 night package, which will include accomodation, breakfast, ferry and transfer.

aly1010

i've tried these...

(1) amara hotel also hv room + massage + salt soak package..
i think their massage is good, the mgr oso not pushy in selling the package (was quite a good deal though the last time i went, sthg like 20% off)

(2) Haach at M hotel (massage + chicken pie)
- massage so-so but the pie taste GREAT!! mgr too pushy in selling package n ala carte vouchers .. dun like

(3) amore day spa
tried that many many yrs ago (when they are stil in tiong bahru plaza)
massage quite good

(4) philip wain
massage quite gd but attitude n biz ethics are bad.. quite some disputes with them, went to small claims, reached an agreement to transfer membership to my sister, but eventually mia, din hear anythg from them.. call 1-2 times cant find the mgr.. give up

(5) afond
the therapist "climbed" onto me to massage.. scary.. the scrub oso not vey enjoyable

(6)aromatic house
end with with finger nail marks on my body after the massage

out of these few which i hv tried, i'm keen to go back to amara or amore again..

pink_ice

Helo, all,

I highly recomend "ESTEBEL SPA", a totally relaxing experience, being treated like VIP and MOST IMPORTANT OF ALL, NO SELLING OR ANY PUSHING TO BUY PRODUCTS OR SIGN ANY PACKAGES. That's the most important criteria to me when i chose spas cos i dnt wana be stress out and pressurized instead of relaxing. Just my experience for sharing...

yiuan1833

I've tried Estebel Spa, very good service. No pushing of products or package. The spa is at Beach Road, Shaw Tower. Can trial with promo price b4 sign up, only thing need to sign thru' distributor.

lisafann

i can recommend my favourite place.. spa ritual at bugis.. very friendly,, and not pushy .. i like their elemental facial.. very effective.. heee... they dont use steamer coz prolong usage of steamer is very sensitive to the skin.. no harm trying this place.. www.ritual.com.sg

preciousam16

a newbie here... hope you gals dun find me nuisance with long story...

i'm ex-st gregory staff... first of all... from what i know... why they dun let you use the facilities is becos they previously is only for the Plaza Club Fitness Member to use... but now they allow to use the jacuzzi and the sauna already... i mean those package holders for st gregory...

but my colleagues told me that the branch at Novena is not very good as the staff there is like their aircon... COLD... blooded... they are not friendly enough so overall the service is like so so... once i went for interview and they saw my resume stating i'm with St gregory before so he told me the one at Novena is really not good... hee....

i like St Gregory at Plaza Parkroyal Hotel... Balinese style... good for those with very tired bodies to have their massage and then you won't feel your body tensed up or stiffen...

the MRO there are very friendly!!!

and there's another spa opened by few peoples previously from St Gregory, its call Spa Sauvignon (http://www.spasauvignon.com.sg), Singapore 's first wine-themed spa founded on the principles of vinotherapy.

they are featured in quite a number of mags... address: SPA SAUVIGNON PTE LTD (Business Reg.# 200504810K)
71 Bussorah Street, Singapore 199484
(Opposite Plaza Parkroyal Hotel, Beach Road)
Tel.: (65) 6296-0980 • Fax: (65) 6296-0580

If you dun mind, you can tell them Samantha (ex-colleague of them) intro to you, not sure if there's discount, hee... cos the last time i did tell them if my fren goes got discount, they said it depends on whether they have promotions goin on...

sorry for the long winded story, hope it did / can be of some help for you gals. (^^,)

addict

Been to Sensualite, almost got conned to sign up a $5000+ package. So called it's best package for my "problem". And at Helio Asia, was talked into buying package. I don believe in signing up package as I feel service would be different once you've paid in full. Still I feel home massage is better for those who have tight budget like me! I don't care for any jacuzzi or steam bath like that..so I don go to SPA. $35 for full 1-hr body massage to relieve my stress & tension of the day is more important. Ambience is excellent for a home-based... Now I go there every 3 weeks to unwind!

addict

For those who are interested, you might like to email my therapist at [email protected] Just tell her I recommend her to all of you. Ya..one more thing is I don believe in paying for "self-service" such as using electrical foot bath, soaking myself in bathtub at the SPA. And all these times spent are included in the service called 2-hr or 3-hr when actual massage by therapist is only 1 hr or less...

suesue

sin mei fong, home base is quite orite..
provided if every1 here is comfortable as u r.not all homebase & spas r v clean ya..
some spas r so particullar, they keep their plc clean for some hygein purposes. dats y i like to go to spas.. when u r comfot with all the nessasities ...hehehehe..

suesue

kraton spa havin promo $68 for 1hr 30mins massage & scrub for limited period, col 62976515 for appt..

kelbin

The Spa @ Anew at Marina South is having their 10th Anniversary. Their staffs r from thai. Very professional.

sunshineweect

i just came back from Bangkok. Great spa at LAVANA. 5 star standard and 3 star price. I heard it runs by a singaporean. Sukhumvit soi 12.

coka

any recommendation for good herbal or floral soak with hydro-bath?
or dead sea salt soak?

based within singapore? (Too busy to travel out of SG)