Anyone did TOILET RENO with spray over coating?

favored

My 2 current toilets are tiled up but as it is a resale flat, I don't like the colors yet do not have enough budget to re-tile.

Anyone has heard of Designerflakes or Faith Coat? They use a spray over chemical,epoxy,to creat a newlook. You can choose any color combination.

I wonder if they are reliable...will the paint peel off with time as my wall tiles of smooth surface? Anyone has experience??

gnm

hmm... the pricing for the epoxy overcoat is about the same as the price of a overlay for your toilet... so you may want to consider the option of overlaying as well ;)

favored

Hi Wee,

You have experience with the epoxy overcoat? Is it true that it will peel off with time? Actually I thot the colors are interesting compared to tiles.

I did aquire about the option of overlay, will the thickness of the tiles make my already small toilets look even smaller? How about the finishing at the edge of the door? Will also look a little thicker right?

Just for curiosity, how many times can tiles be overlaid? Is it so called legal in old HDB flats?

Also, usually holes are drilled in between tiles...so if layover with different tile size, is it difficult to drill through or cause cracks?

summerice

Hi favoured

Its better not to overlay ur wall tiles....my ID say coz gravity. So far i only did overlay my floor tiles. The paint over is not a bad idea if the cost is not high.

gnm

Hello favored,

I am not sure about the epoxy overcoat peeling, cos i have never done it before. Many are doing the overcoat cos it is an alternative to the messy hacking of the existing tiles. Easy to apply, and a quick solution to breathing new life to the existing toilets at the minimum possible time.

If you find that the epoxy coat can meet your needs and you like the variety presented to you, by all means go for it.

We did some research during our reno search and found that the pricing of epoxy coating and overlaying of tiles are about the same, so it is worth a look if you are looking for more alternatives for your toilet designs.

As for overlay, usually people will overlay once. More layer of overlay means more weight of your toilet walls/floor on the existing structure, and this may not be advisable.
This decision to allow more overlay or not is usually determined by the PE during the submission of permit for the overlay to be done. So cannot advise you there on the number of overlay layers as well.

As long as the overlay is done properly, you will not even know there is a layer of old tiles behind the overlaid tiles, so drilling should not cause any issue, unless your old tiles underneath are hollow, then that may cause a problem. Do a check of your existing tiles by knocking on them with a metal spoon first to see how many of them are hollow before making a decision to overlay or not. If there are too many hollow tiles, then it is advisable to hack the old ones before laying the new tiles over ;)

as for which is better, personally, we prefer the overlay, cos the feeling on the feet from the new tiles are nicer. FW and myself dun like the feeling of the epoxy on the feet when we tried them during the exhibition... so decided on a overlay instead ;)

favored

Hi Summerice and Wee,

Thanks for your advise. One more question, any idea how much will an overlay and epoxy approx. cost? Is 2.5k enof? My flat is the old tall point-block. I don;t wish to be ker tok by those unethical contractor.

gnm

not sure about the walls, but they all calculate by psf, and a typical toilet floor cost about ~~$450 each... with a little bargaining, mabbe a little less ;)

nerraw_tan

If m not wrong, the epoxy is like the spray for the car..if you spray over the existing tile, u still can see the tile structure...i saw when one of the ID show me the design pic...

As for me, i hack all the wall tiles & just plaster & pain...safe on tiles cost...I did consider not to hack the wall, but the ID said since is about 12 years old resale flat is better to hack la...not sure you all hv similar encounter ?

mymomento06

I have done epoxy spray for all (2 toilets) my toilet walls and kitchen walls 5 years ago for my flat. I would say I prefer epoxy over retiling coz its cheaper and its easy to maintain.

The epoxy spray over will also cover the gaps between the tiles and hence I have no unsightly "blacken" gaps, unlike normal tiles.

However, you'll not be able to used harsh chemicals to clean your bathroom (e.g. bleach) else the paint may degrade.

After 5 years, my epoxy paint still look very new except for some gaps near the toilet floors (which I scrub weekly)where the paint had peeled off a little but it is unnoticeable unless u look really carefully.

As for my kitchen walls, I do not see any peeling at all after 5 years.

Overall, I would think its a well-worth alternative to retiling esply if you have budget constraints.

apaitu

Hi Mymomento

this is something new to me.... what is epoxy spray tile? how it look like ? do u have any picture to share.... and how much it cost...

David

summerice

I know there are some anti slip epoxy that is coated onto the tiles also, are they the same?

Mymomento will it be rough or smooth. Any pics to show us?

Epoxy spray is just a polymer spray on top .. resin type not an actual tile

favored, i tried www.designerflakes.com.sg but didnt work? do u hve complete addy? juz wanna take a lk

ernie_derek

Hi people,

Would interested to participate as we have just engaged a co to do this epoxy overcoat for both our toilets and other areas.

List:

COmmon toilet flooring and wall
Master Bedroom flooring
Balcony Flooring
Kitchen Flooring

The Person-in-charge is called David from Poh Chin Enterprise at Tampines.

For all the stuff mentioned, he charges us less than 2k. Which is lesser than overlay.

On 4 Dec, he will be bringing his workers to do the spray liao. Shall post more once its done.

Happy sharing!

ernie_derek

Hi both,

The project has started! Yippee!

All BLACK!! :p

4th Dec: David the boss, sent 2 Chinese young Singaporeans to our place and the journey begins.
Basically the workers only did preparation jobs i.e. masking newspaper on the edge, cleaning the entire toilet for us! hahaha! so pai seh to get them clean toilet for us..

5th Dec: Spray the toilet wall only

6th Dec: Spray the floor for balcony, kitchen and toilet.

7th and today: Touch up

9th Dec: Master bedroom (to be confirmed)

I love the results of the wall! Cool!

I have taken some photos liao. Shall upload once everything is ready ya!

blessed

this is exactly the thread i am looking for!! i juz got a resale 30yr, but the kitchen wall tiles SUCKS! haha, very very cheena (from 1st owner i guess), but tis a pretty big kitchen, no budget to retile so considering "painting", however dont know the exact term b4 i found this thread

Hi favoured and my momento and mary,

if i want to spray my toilet n bathroom (er very small only, coz its those 1for toilet 1 for shower kind) and my kitchen wall tiles, is 1.5k enough? i m buying a malay (2nd owner) flat so my hb cannot accept the colour (Green and kitchen wall is very cheena from 1st owner which is chinese), though i m ok, actually green is my fav colour hahaha. but i also love the idea of a NEW look and i m contemplating BLACK for my kitchen
. pls give me more advice and comments on this option, btw, other then designerflakes, who else provide such svc, m on tight budget, so need to do some research, thanks!

ernie_derek

Hi Blessed,

Sorry for the late reply. Din have Internet access at home so gotta come to office to reply. :p

Yup, its enuff. David is a nice guy so you can negoitate with him. He is very understanding and honest person.

You can call to make an appt with him and go down to take a look if that is what you wanted. Just need to give David a call will do.

ernie_derek

Hi people,

Actually i intend to post the photos today but...

I have problem uploading the photos!!!

It says that my photo exceed 600 X 600... hmmm...

I dunno how to resize them... gosh..

Pls pardon me and give me a while ya...

ernie_derek

AFTER:

We sprayed the entire toilet black.

Wall: Smooth glossy surface
Floor: Rough non-glossy surface

To liven up the toilet, we got ourselves a RED flower pot with RED flower.

435486.jpg

435487.jpg

435488.jpg

435489.jpg

Hope you guys have a better view on this spraying coating thingie.

Cheers,e!

blessed

hi Mary,

thanks for ur feedback! your toilet AFTER very stylo :D... but too bad mine very small, if i make it black will look like a small hole hahah. but i like the effect very much
. do u mind telling me how much this cost? coz i wan to spray entire kitchen too.

btw, did u spray the toilet bowl too??!! hahha... but this is so ideal, exactly wat i wanted, defintely will call David when i get my flat keys
thanks again

tbkiang

Is it possible to do even after I completed my reno? Will the place or my toilet accessories, basin get dirty?

ernie_derek

Thanks Blessed!

I am delighted with David's work. He is very responsible. =)

Well, you can always choose another colour or get David to mix a colour for you. He has many many kind of colours neh. We chose Black cos my FH loves it, tats why. =)

The cost of our toilet is
Floor = $250 + 4 Walls = $700.
Total: $950 lor.
Cheap for getting a new look for a toilet, isnt it?

I spray our kitchen and balcony black too but dun have photos yet. They are $250 each for floor too.

As for the WC, its black lah.. kekeke, we bot a black WC to match mah. BUT! hehe, we get David to spray the pipe and shampoo shelf for us FREE! Yippee!

Hi BK, are you doing your reno now? Hmmm, basically they are very neat in their work. So wun get dirty one! In fact, they clean the entire toilet for you! wahahahaha!!! Anw, you can drop by his place (appt pls :p) and ask him for discount and tell him more infor about your current renovation to see if this fits into your home.

Cheers,e!

blessed

hi mary,

thanks again for ur ans
...ooh u did ur kitchen n balcony too! yes, i want black for my kitchen too
.. y the flr is $250 only ah for kitchen, very good price!

tbkiang

Thks Mary for your responds and invitation! Really I can visit your hse? My FW was so tempting to change the toilet tiles and hope to have a rustic feel, but we were step back by the high tiling cost. Looking at what you had done and the price rekindle our wish again

Oh ya, did David tell u how long will be paint last? Is it strong enough to withstand daily usage?

ernie_derek

wahahaha, aiyo bk.. you misunderstood liao lah, i mean David's place lah. He got sprayed the paints on his own wall and toilet as samples lah.

But you gotta make appt with him first. kekekeke!! :p

At first, we were worried about the maintainance. whether it can last or not. David reassured us that normal household detergents should be okie. Only Thinner cannot lor. Anyway, we dun intend to paint anything, so dun need to use thinner mah. hehe!

He guaranteed us 1 year. =)

Hi Blessed,

Yup, 250 for flr cos smaller mah. Wall got 4 surfaces so more exp lor. =)

Hope i clarify both of your doubts.

Cheers,e!

rosequartz

Any new opinions or suggestions for coating?
I came across do.com.sg , wondering is it the same thing.

Anyone had done the coating for a few years, care to share how is it going for you? Is it still good?

nana

Hiya,

Came back to this forum after many yrs cos redoing reno. Just wanna share my experiences w this spray stuff.

In 2001 this was like a new thing, so I got it done for my kitchen & kitchen toilet walls (all matte white). A couple of my frens who bought resale flats did so as well. Initially it looked fab esp can customise design, mix colours, matte walls etc.
9 yrs down the rd, kitchen side all yellowing & toilet side peeling off like mad cos water contact. My frens r having exact same problems. This is y I m in this forum again.

To conclude, I wld adv to do it as a ST solution or only for dry areas. This option DOESNT work well for wet areas. So consider wisely & decide well. Gd luck

aslee

hihi nana,

wow to think abt it that the spray coating last till the 9th year is worth it ..even we had the white existing wall tile on it after nice donkey yrs it will start to grow mould n crack tile or dirty staining in between the tiling..is also hard to clean..
jus a thought.

heart08

Anyone has contacts for companies/contractors that do sprays for toilet floor tiles? My parents do not want to spend so much to redo the toilet so i'm tiking of spraying the tiles. It should be cheaper than overlaying tiles right? Is it possible to DIY?

Appreciate all advice. Thanks!

17may

I am thinking of having my toilet floor tiles sprayed, may I know if the spray is anti-slip?
How's the condition like after few years? Will it peel off?

tutto

Hi all, we do spray epoxy flakes over tiles,see our website at www.tutto.com.sg for photos and prices.
You can call me at 91386272 Mr loh for more info.
we are manufacturers and applicators and some of our products is listed in HDB approval lis.
Will post some photos later

berry-kean

AFTER:

We sprayed the entire toilet black.

Wall: Smooth glossy surface
Floor: Rough non-glossy surface

To liven up the toilet, we got ourselves a RED flower pot with RED flower.

435486.jpg

435487.jpg

435488.jpg

435489.jpg

Hope you guys have a better view on this spraying coating thingie.

Cheers,e!
That's a five star toilet look!