Anyone change your name ?

serene_lee

Hi AMK,

My HB recently go for a name change. 1st U have to go find a lawyer(cost abt $90) which help people to do the new name. Then bring all the form from the lawyer and go to SIR building. From there U have to pay $60 to $100 to get the new IC.

alleb

Any one have any contacts for lawyers who do changing of name?? Preferly below $100.

Hi AMK,

I am changing my name too. Why did u want to change ur name??

amk

How abt those documents for inusrance and house ?

Hi Jasmine,

I am told that my name is not good for my ba zhi. I am in dilemma now. Cos if change, wonder how to go abt settles those legal documents for house, inusrance etc. Also, dun know how to tell the pple in my office leh..How abt you ?

clarewoo

Hi AMK,

My hubby also had to changed his chinese name after having his ba zhi calculated. However, he only changed the chinese character of his name but he left his dialect name in his IC alone. So it saves up our trouble of having to change his name on all his legal documents.

alleb

Hi AMK,

Me situaton same as Clare Woo hubby. When i see feng shui for my hse a last mth, i was told that my chinese character name is not gd for me. So my dialet name is to remain the same but just need to change the the chinese character. Therefore, i just need to get a lawyer to give me the legal doc and after that just need to change my IC as only my chinese name is reflected there. Did the person who told u to change ur name wants you to change to a diff pronunciation or changing the chinese character will do?? If only changing the chinese character, it will be a lot more easier i tink

Hi Clare and Serene,

Do u still have the contact of the lawyer to give me ? Thks. And how much do they charge?

Hi Jasmine,

My friend also advised by Feng Shui master to change his Chinese name but FS master said no need to change IC. He just advised my friend to use it.

amk

Hi Clare/Celia,

The fengshui master told me that my name do not suits me, the propose name that he gave me is a totally different set of character with different pronouciation. He told me that he is unable to change my chinese character because this name do not suits me and clash with my ba zhi. It think in this case I have to change my dialect name as well right?

Hi Jasmine, do u need to change your HDB docs ?

Actually I am wondering does changing names really helps to improve luck. Any experience to share ?

Do you mean you(Jasmine) and (clare's hubby) only change to a diff chinese character but the pronunciation is still the same?

clarewoo

Hi Jasmine,

I don't have the lawyer's contact now. Only remembered they are located at HDB office at Toa Payoh.

Hi AMK,

My husband dialect name when translated to chinese do not sound the same as his new chinese name too. But we're too lazy to go and change all the legal documents so just have to live with it. He also has an English name and his dialect name is rarely use, so it doesn't bother him at all.

serene_lee

Hi AMK, My HB also change his chinese character and also add in his christian name. If they need any docu just bring along the lawyer letter lor. This is what we do for all our HDB and other stuff.

So sorry, I do not keep the num with me. Why dun you try call up the lawyer on the yellow pages. My HB legal fee is $90. The cheapest of all. It is my SIL who called up and ask one by one.

pukka

Hi..I was told to change my chinese name as well. May i know which feng shui master you all went to cos think i want to seek second opinion before changing. any reconmendations? Many many thanks!

jewelmelody

Hi I change my chinese character name for S$98 at a master's house at woodlands. I request change characters but do not change the "vowels"

Thereafter, I went to law firm to get my deed poll, change my chinese characters, delete my hanyu pinyin and also add my English name.

amk

usually those shifu give you only a list of names to choose only right? Can we actually use those type of books and choose the names ourselves?

jewelmelody

HI msn queen, the law firm "Loh Eben Ong & Partners" at middle road. The deed poll is S$90

HI AMK, the master has to calculate the strokes and also based your "8 Zi" to find the best characters. Infact since I request to maintain the vowels of my chinese characters, I have limited choices. I have 2 choices given to me so I chose the best one out of the 2.

wtan

hi hi all brides-to-be..
just to share...u can also go to jing zi long which is next to Aljunied MRT Station...
master jin is very detailed, he will calculate the chinese characters based on ur dob/timing & then printed it out in a report format as his writing are too messy & explain to us what are the best characters that he will be recommended based on our dob/timing..
he will analyse to me why the name is good & in whc period of age will it most affect us..also he gave me quite a few options..i went to look for him to change my chinese name & i find that aft the change in my chinese characters..things seem to be smooth for me & i have just got a small pay rise..
he also calculate the selection of auspicious dates..i find him very friendly & willing to share with us abt the GDL procedures & process..we find it very useful as nowadays we younger generation isnt fully awared of the customs & it's awaz gd to have someone who's familiar in this area to share with us..but he's very busy with fengshui appointments..so got to make appt b4 go down to look for him..
i paid $88 for the change in my chinese characters & $120 for the selection of my AD, he also advised us the date/timing of an-chuan, GDL, combing of hair etc..do call him at 6741 7377 & tell him that u r recommended by the mcdonalds couple..cheers~

amk

Can give me some advice. Would like to change my chinese name too. (To a diff sounding). Any idea whether is better to change the dialect name too and hanyu pinyin too ? If change the dialect name, will it be too troublesome cos all my certificates etc are in my dialect name. Thanks!

nivedita1

amk

its not inconvenient at all.. when u get a lawyer for a name change, u received a DEED POLL. with this.. u gotta bring with u for interview and accompany with ur old certs with old name. so pple will know ur name has now been changed. get wat i mean. need lawyer contacts tell me. last time i do less than $80

babygoh

i just change my chinese name after consulting a china feng shui master at riverside point. Cost me $100 for painting a new chinese name and ask me to hang on to the wall. I felt better as day goes by, and i finally went to lawyer and got a deed poll $80 and after a week i won $30 in toto..quite lucky

blueflower

is it okie not to see a lawyer after having your name changed? does it matter? what are the steps that one should do after changing their chinese name? please advise.

hi babygoh,
could i please have the lawyer's contact? pls email to [email protected]. thanks!

everafter

I think its better to get ur NRIC to change into ur new name, else it seems defeat the purpose mah. Of cos with that, u need to get a deed poll, i did mine for $60 plus change of new NRIC $60. So its not realli expensive lah. I got a better job after name changed.
partly oso bcos i hate my old name.

havavi

i went to this 'zhang pan xian' at beencolen centre for fortune telling and change of name after knowing my name actually dont suit me. total $60 for both service.
after which got to write 300 times my new name in chinese and submit to him for informing those above.
fortune telling is from birth till 80 plus age.
he very accurate in money fortune telling $6. he gave me 2 numbers and i just forget to buy only, it came out (heart pain).

as for ic and lawyer stuff, i have not done yet.

blanqq

ok.. let me answer your question, if you do your deedpoll by the lawyer and thereafter changed your new name of your NRIC so you need to amend your e-file cos' it only reflects your old name not your new name.

however, you do not change your NRIC within 28 days after you did your deed poll then it's no longer valid and you need to do a new deedpoll..

hammiebao

Just did my deed poll and changed to new IC today !!

Everything was done very fast...
3pm I reach the law firm
3:40pm Deed Poll ready to collect
4pm reached ICA
5pm collect New IC

My deed poll was done at $50 only !!! the cheapest I found, got 1 original copy of the deed poll and 2 Copies.

If anyone want the law firm contact, please email me [email protected]

icedfrappe

Hi, have emailed a few above,but if it fails, can anyone give me the contact to the lawyer who charges $50 if you do have it? Would greatly appreciat this,thanks!

ivanho

Hi ! I'm also looking for contact of lawyer charging at cheaper rate for deed poll..30yrs old..going to re register NRIC and intend to include english name..anyone has the contact to the lawyer who charges $50? pls email me at [email protected]!