Anyone can advise how to choose a GOOD & RELIABLE Interior Designer or Contractor

jul

Hi kind

Only 2 are thru recommendations. The other 5 are just off the cuffs. So left with not much choices. *sigh*

Still thinking of whether I shd go see more IDs.

jul

Jess Jazz

I've heard that it's advisable to hold 5 - 10% till the IDs have rectified all the work. If u pay up total sum when reno is completed, they might not be interested in coming back to rectify poor workmanship.

My place is at Sengkang. Yours?

jess jazz

Hi Jul

For my case, first signed contracts by paying $500 deposit then paid them 50% then another 50%. Coz me & hubby found that Dave is sincere & trust.

Although, we have paid them all by now. He still call us almost everyday to update on the process of touch-ups & ask me & hubby how we find the reno?? Got any problems muz let him know. Indeed a very responsible guy.

mine is at Buangkok (hougang area) didn't I mention to u b4??

besse

hi jul

haha, we also been around shopping for IDs for 2-3 months on every weekends. It was so tiring.. and some IDs, you know you can drop them after the 2nd appt when they reverted with their quotes.. cos the person you interact with doesn't give you a comfy feel.

In fact, we shortlisted most of the IDs we went to off the cuff, through magazines etc. went to abt 10 and in the end, shortlisted 4 to visit their works. If you wan, you can go view more than 1 projects for the workmanship. Talking to the owner does help for feedback.

Also, we realised that for the same company, people will get diff experiences working with diff designers (if they have more than 1), thus, you must feel comfy with the person that will do up your love nest..

We did not make our decision solely based on cost, but for the advice and experiences the designer and the firm has. Hope we made the right choice .. so far so good.

Jess Jazz

Hehe.. lucky you.. i also keeping my fingers crossed that my house will turn out perfect too.

jul

Jess Jazz

Wow, u got a really nice guy. I heard so many horror stories abt designers being very nice before u sign. Then once reno starts, they disappear. The only time u hear from them is when it's time for payment.

Dun think u've told me where ur flat is. Are u very upset abt the NEL not running thru ur station?

jess jazz

Hi Jul

Actually, Dave is the opposite person compare to others. He's a straigth forward person. He's that kind of person, u want to sign then sign lor a bit ya ya like tat. Its only u signed liao then he will treat u very good. Now, he's like buddy buddy wif my hubby leh.

Not upset at all, coz it make no difference to me. coz the NEL is still veri far from my hse.

jul

Hi Besse

Hey! I'm gog by the service & attitude of the designer too. Of course price cannot be too ridiculous high, but I think most IDs quote abt the same.

bookworm

just out of curiousity, what will happen after u sign the contract with the designer, what will be the next step and so on?

jul

Bookworm

I think u're supposed to see the 3D drawings, choose materials & colour, then start work. The actual work will be tiling work, false ceiling, painting, carpentry, washing & clearing up. Shd be abt there.

Didn't u ask ur designer at Humanspace?

bookworm

hi jul,

no i didn't ask her cos i have yet to confirm if i am using her.

wanted to find out more first mah.

dolphin_88

Hi all ,

my comment is that if you have friends have just finished reno. their house and you think their workmanship/desgin and service is ok . why not take up them .

But first , you must set some target budget/desgin to do for your house reno.

and also , you can compare those package reno. at Exhibition ..

jess jazz

Jus my opinion, dun trust those in the exhibition. They are worst than those u walk-in. The purpose for them to be there is for sales only.

jul

Bookworm

Oic. Well, it's gd to get more info first. That's why I started this thread in the first place *haha*

jul

Hi dolphin

I'm afraid that I've to agree with Jess Jazz. The ones in exhibition are not trustworthy! Heard so many stories of how the pple there only get u to sign up. Then the designer u deal with is totally different!

phoebe81

I engage my ID thru exhibiton. Quite gd and this company is not bad as what u all think. My reno is ard $27K as my FH wants to make our house look nice. I finish my reno ard in early october. If u guys not hurry in looking for ID maybe can pop by my house to c their design n workmanship. Remember if u guys going to any exhibiton, don't sign up any plans straight away even though they r giving free gifts. Get their quote first then decide 2 sign up with them.

bookworm

u all found ur ID already?
TAG IMAGE (Shown Actual Size)

secret_garden

anyone has engaged rezt&relax? any comments on their service and quality and workmanship?
anyone can share who i can talk to there?

many thanks

phoebe81

Hi Secret Garden

I engaged Rezt & Relax. I have finished my renovation already. Quite satisfied with their services and carpentry. Maybe can intro my ID o you. My ID is not not with R&R anymore.

tigerjes

Hi Jass Jazz

I went to IntraDesign website, I quite like their designs based on their pervious project photos. Do you mind share with me the cost and the things in the package that you sign up. You can email to me at [email protected]

sensory

Hi Jass and Jazz

I am also interested to find out more about Intradesign. Can e-mail me your quotation too ?

nyny

need some advice from you.
i will be getting my key end of this month (resale flat). when should i start looking for contractor/id?
must the contractor/id see the place first before they can give quotation?

neece

nyny,

u can start looking ard for a contractor/id now. u've got a floor plan for ur new flat, right?
just bring it along to the contractor/id and tell them and let them know ur preferences.
from there, they'll get back to u with a quote. mostly wouldn't need to view the actual flat to give quotes.

nyny

thanks neece.
ya got the floor plan liao.
how would the contractor know the actual measurement of the area that we want them to do? quotation that they give us is just rough estimation based on the estimated measurement? will it affect my comparison with other contractor/id?

aeina

Hi NyNy,

U like my same case leh. Nway, i started planning my renovation since last August even though I got my flat in Nov 2003. Imagine, now i m only going to start renovating. Don't rush yourself if u don't intend to move in soon. Plan carefully, ask for many quotations, speaks to many contractors. It is a hassle but it is worth it. The more u know, the better it is. Nway, i have compiled my tips and i ve emailed u.

Oh yeah, normally, i will email them on my requirement e.g. how feet for my wardrobe and ask for quotation via email first before deciding to meet up with them.

nyny

thanks aeina.
the problem is that i have NIL knowledge on the material to be use and the feel of the material. so, if i email to them, i won't know how to describe, too....

pucca

Can anyone tell me when you engage a contractor to give you a quotation for kitchen cabinets, normally they will give you the kitchen design first or after you accept the quote then they will draw for you.

pepper

hi pucca

u should roughly tell them how long u want the cabinet to be. they measure in terms of "foot" and not "metres". u should tell them whether u want laminated or veneer material for your cabinet(coz they differ in price)and whether u want the doors to be "postform" or "system" material. also the type of surface of the bottom cabinet , either postform (cheap) or solid, or marble, granit etc and how many frosted glass panels u want. then the contractor can quote u. if not sure about the materials ask them to show u samples. when comparing, it must be like to like meaing u must tell every contractor to quote for the same material,same length of cabinet.

the drawing will come later and u can decide where the drawers are, where the sink and stove are, the designs for the handles and laminate or colour of solid top or granit etc, where u want the cabinets to be located etc.

pepper

hi pucca, think i answered ur query wrongly. the reply should be directed to nyny.

pucca, for my case i paid the deposit then the ID will draw for me. not before. else they worry u take their idea but don engage them.

aeina

Hi Nyny,

I ve attached the standard outline that i ve used when i asked for renvoation. Shortlist those that u need, compile and send to them. It will be better for u to walk in and see the samples etc.

As for materials tips, u can refer to this website. Very useful. http://www.nobel.com.sg/WhiteBoard%20Renovation%20Tips/RenovationMain.htm

Like i said, must do homework cos this is a major investment.

<center><table border=1><tr><td>
mime_msword.gif
outline
Standard Outline.doc (29.2 k)</td></tr></table></center>

elfy

I'm new here as well and sourcing for good ID. Please send me your quotation too. Thanks

simon_cyc

For those who has experience a nice, cheap n responsible id/contractor pls recommend to those who are currently trying to find a gd 1.

Im currently renovating my hse so i know it is a tiring process .....

My recommendation:
Firm: JGH Design &amp; Contract Pte Ltd
Contractor: Mr. Stanley Fong
(Tell him that Simon from Buangkok recommend him to u guys, mayb got discount )

Hope this will help you guys.

Can refer to my previous thread 'Good Contractor to recommend ........... ' for more info.

ivybl

I am new to this website and is looking for a ID for my 5 rm flat. Got tight budget.

Anyone care to share their quotation? Would really appreciate your help and information!!

stevy

Hi Aeina,

Do you mind emailing me your Tips? I am also new to all these and hope to really find a good designer/contractor to do my house

chillia

my ID is Joe from DEcormark from IMM. so far not bad with his services, haven reali start work yet. commencing in Sep.
prices reasonable n very patient n friendly...no obligation oso. he will sketch out a plan even b4 making any payment. can tell him Chillia from Strathmore recommmend, he sure treat u good good!

chillia

my ID is Joe from DEcormark from IMM. so far not bad with his services, haven reali start work yet. commencing in Sep.
prices reasonable n very patient n friendly...no obligation oso. he will sketch out a plan even b4 making any payment. can tell him Chillia from Strathmore recommmend, he sure treat u good good!

piggy08

I actually got a quote from Image Cxxxx. For 110Sqm, they quoted mi $36k. Is it at a high end?

Any comments on them?

jnp

Hi Piggy,

It's difficult to say if it's on the high side or not. Alot depends on what u are doing to your place &amp; the materials used. Do u have many carpentary, feature walls etc. To have the best gauge of whether your quote is ex, get a few more quote from other ID/contractor with the same requirements, immediately, u will be able to tell the difference.

Hi Sky,
I'm currently using InnerView also at IMM. So far, very satisfied with their service. My place is completing in 1wk time. To me, they are more of a contractor then a ID firm cos most of my house design came from myself. But the guy doing for me has more than 10yrs of experience so he can still advise some aspects of design. Price quite reasonable but the most important is that they are very flexible. During the course of my reno, I made many changes and my contractor has been very accomodating. If u want to know more, u can PM me.

piggy08

Hi Jnp,

I checked out with a few more companies. Abt de same place lo...got quite a few carpentary so tink it maybe because of this tats y so ex...

piggy

jnp

Hi Piggy,

If u have checked with a few companies &amp; the price is about there, then it should be around that price. Carpentary are normally quite ex so if 30+ is out of your budget, then u will need to prioritise and see which one u can do without.

piggy08

Hi JnP,

Ic. Think will remove some of de stuffs. Need to c whether can fit into our budget.

Thks a lot JnP!

alyssa88

You can try Richard from Zander Designs. Friendly, professional and deliver results. Can be contacted at 91278034.

tunagirl

Hi Bug bear.. my ID's fr Intradesign.. very reliable and efficient.. our reno will be completed soon.. gd workmanship as well. so far we're v happy with her and the co as a whole.. email me i'l share more with u.

blurbaby

Other than that what else made up of a good and reliable contractor?

Please assist as i am new in these area.

Thank u

hippo2002

I get quotation from various ID companies and discovered their quote are at least 100% mark-up vs contractor.
For instance, powder coated casement window &amp; grilles quote was $5.5K from ID whilst I got the same thing at $2.5K by going direct to grilles specialist.

Now almost done with my renovation. At $40k I revamped the entire house, changed whole house flooring, plastering, rewiring, false ceiling, new casement windows, painting, curtains, lightings, bathroom accessories, stove &amp; hob, new water pipes, EVERYTHING in !

I used my previous wet work contractor (he did my 1st house, good price &amp; quality). I also managed to find a carpenter who is a sub-con for ID companies. He quoted me market price, though his price is still a few $K higher than conventional carpenter. At least I still get ID grade carpentry since I by past the middle man (ID) and went direct.

My guess is, to get exactly the same thing as what I have now, I will probably have to pay at least $80K to ID company

But bear in mind, lots of coordination work. Because I ended up as the project manager, need to manage time line between different parties.