Anyone been to Taipei b4?

greenie

hahahaha, yah, a bit sidetracked, but nvm lah, no one chase us out yet!

ohhh, i din get to see ur studio shots, so cant comment. but overall, r u happy wif ur BS?

idono

Been away for a while due to exams

Mao,
My baby is a monkey BB then :p. Didn't plan for it, but I guess I can't fault the monkey BB for playing around with our family planning..haha

As for the toilet thingie, I didn't really notice. Most of their toilet a bit like our hawker centre / coffeeshop ones. But I got one colleague whose only willing to look for McDonald toilet, so everywhere we go, the 1st thing she'll look for is McDonald.

Some of the "strange" looking vege are really nice. Much better than our vege
. Have to trial & error...heh heh.

The way they cook bamboo shoot is quite different. So may not have recognise it. but if u smell something funny, then tht's either bamboo shoot or smelly beancurd.

I was with Milan Wedding Collections. Photography is really those journalistic style. And yar, you would prefer a brightly lit area for night shoots. else imagine ur night shoot turn out only 2 of you and darkness as your background.
We didn't really want studio photos, but took it anyway. It wasnt too bad, and not really "studio"-like. More like an indoor shoot around the Milan shop and its area. Was pretty satisfied overall. How else would you explain an extra $3k for photo...haha

okeanosmao

starz,

actually not reall satisfied. the only thing i'm satisfied is the makeup artist n the wedding dress..

idono,

Congratulations!! when will be BB due? i wanted to have monkey BB lor but too bad, still no news. u r still studying? part time? btw, can't remember r u gal or guy huh? tink u mentioned b4..
hw come only choose mcdonald? tot will choose hotel toilets?

greenie

idono, oh wow! u r a daddy already! heee..
tts nice... u sounded very young.

wah, u spent an extra $3K on photos.... burst budget liao... my hb wld nvr allow!

mao, yah ur wedding gown is very nice. and u look great in ur AD photos. u noe i got nightmares abt wearg a gown i dun like... *shrudders*

idono is a guy, if i rem correctly.
but the way he talks sound very happy-go-lucky... dun sound like a daddy... heee

idono

yar, 3-mth old BB liao.
well, i'm the first guy of class to have a BB. So is my wife the 1st person amongst her friends to have one

yar, at 1st when we sign the credit for $3k, very heartpain, coz only intend to have about $1k extra. But aiya, chinchye lor... anyway, money can always make back

and in fact, we changed bridal shop once after paying $1k deposit. originally signed up with seletar broadway. but found their gowns old & out of fashion and photography is not modern too.

but on hindsight, we should have hired a good videographer for the actual day. we didn't hv a proper videographer for that day. We feel that video is more meaningful rather than a actual day photographer.

yar, guy guy. you mean u can even deduce tht from my posting? i guess i'm a sagi, so more optismistic & go-lucky kind..haha.

err... most places in taiwan no 5-star hotel leh... how to find toilet. but mcDonald, there're plenty... heh heh.

okeanosmao

starz,

oh forgotten u've seen my AD photos..hee..i like the makeup lor..

idono,

u r daddy liao..must b serious lor...first guy in yr class to hv BB?? yr wife must b young.

wah, u spent alot on photos hor..i din spend alot, top only 6 photos..anyway, if top up more oso no use, photos are not well taken..but we bargained for free acrylic frames.
i did noticed my bridal shop evening gowns r oso limited n abit outdated but i din changed lor..cos cannot find someone to transfer..nobody wans
..no choice but to stick to it..

hmm..videographer will b able to catch yr happiest moments lor and can play anytime u wan if wans to refresh back memories..hee..i oso hv videographer but not professional ones lor.

eh, i din noticed mcdonals leh...only noticed alot of convenience stores..mayb i'm always inside the van..

idono

hi mao,

hmm.... can send me link to your photos as well?
I hv not had time to scan our photos, else can share too. wanna see pic of my BB?

yar, daddy liao, must be serious
heh heh... can relax in this forum...haha

Is 24 young for a gal to hv BB?

yar, tht time i'm still newbie at wedding shopping, so kenna talk into signing up, somemore I'm quite chinchye one. can't bear to see wife sad sad, so we sign-up anr one lor

heh, its like tht. we wish photo well-taken, but if really turn out good, then pay so much more for extras. end up wishing photo shouldn't be so well-taken... haha.

yar, me hv a videographer too, not pro one.

greenie

idono, then how old r u? i wan, i wan to view ur BB's pix... i like babies very much.
pls click on my nick to get my email addy.

yah, same here, only extra $1K for photos. in fact, my hb frowns on this amt liao. anyway we will see how. mayb the photos turn out not as nice, so no pt buyg extra.

ohhh seletar broadway. coincidentally, tt was the 1st BS i shortlisted. was very tempted to sign up coz they promised us alot of goodies. and price was very reasonable. but later we went to the exhibition and signed up wif GHA instead. coz i glance thru SB's ROM gowns then, they were very old and quite limited. i cant imagine wearg a run-down gown, so in the end i took up GHA.

my ROM photos were quite ruined, tt each time i looked at it, i regretted not hiring a prof photographer. thus i told myself i will not allow this to happen on my AD. i hv already engaged a reliable AD photographer & videography. initially my hb rejected the idea of hiring a videographer, coz he feels no one will look at it several yrs down the road. but i was very insistent. and we managed to compromise in the end. to me, the day will pass by very fast w/o u remembering wat happened, so muz capture it on video.

no lah, i cant tell u r a guy the 1st few times i was in this thread. then got 1 time, u mentioned it, so i rem lor.

yah, mao, u 4got i saw ur AD photos liao. its nice... i like ur AD photos.

actually it was my ideal age to hv a BB at 24. but hor, i am past tt age now, so a bit regretful.

okeanosmao

idono,

my photos uploaded halfway leh..can let u c lor...i find the link first hor cos been months i hvn upload..
yah, i wan to c yr BB photos..

24 to me still okie lah..jus rite lor, so when both old liao at least the child oredi grow up..btw, hw old r u?

starz,

i din get any pro photographer for rom. my fren did for me..so far so gd..trust her skill mah..
AD must engage those pro for u better..photos will come out nice lor..

greenie

hi mao,

actually the photographer 4 my ROM was a photographer at a BS as well. but i juz cant understd why my photos turned out quite badly. i looked so swollen... sigh...

so i decided not to take anymore risk, and i spent a bit more to engage a pro instead. will set my mind at ease.

yah lor, hvg a BB at 24 is juz rite... when the BB is in their 20s', the parents' r still young mah... hehehe...

dun worry, mao, u oso look very young.

starz,
My ROM pictures are the same, my face like swollen... Let me tell you, its the makeup.... U engage a makeup artist?

babu

mi just came back fr taipei, can give some advise.. stay in Rainbow Hotel is e best, cos it just rite in e middle Xin Men Ding.. not really rundown but not a 5* or maybe not even 4*, pretty convience thou.. i'll suggest on back pack, it really easy to go around with MRT every where, very similar to Hong Kong.. very safe too. Food: don forget to try their Lu Roi Fan, it really delicious.. a lot of xiao chi too, just try everything a bit, u won't regret it. But need to go diet after ur trip! hehe..
Shi Lin Ye Shi and Wu Fen Pu is a must go place if e ladies want to buy up to date fashion clothing. they're very Ha-Chi, so most of their clothing very japanese, if u watch taiwan vareity show, those singer like Jollie or Ah Ya, the clothing there are very much like wat they wear.. Can reach there by MRT, pretty easy.. hope e infor help.. cheers

greenie

hi missylan,

u oso kena bad ROM pix?

yes, i had a MUA. its from my BS mah... my colleague did comment tt the MUA did not do a gd job. anyway i am not hvg her 4 my AD.

hi babu... i heard abt rainbow hotel here in this forum but we did not stay anywhere near the city when i was there.

i think u muz b pretty adventurous to try all their food. i am not lor. thus ended up i din try alot of things, esp food tt give out a kind of funny smell... i juz walk away.

yah, i agree, their fashion is very japanese inspired. the guide told us tt taiwanese likes to follow japanese style very much. dunno why leh. though i like their clothes, i din think it was very appropriate to wear in SG. i think pple will give me weird stares. hahaha

okeanosmao

starz,

me too, my rom MUA is no good. i jus dun like the way she put makeup for me. so i requested to change MUA during AD. lucky i did change if nt, i'll regret forever.

babu,

yes, the clothings there follow jap trend lor..but somehow, not suitable for me..hee..i prefer the food to clothes...yah, i agreed. after taipei trip, i put on weight ah..cos pratically trying those xiao chi if nt, kinda regret not trying leh..

idono

Seems quite ley chey to email. I guess its quite "safe" to post BB photos here? Pls warn me if its otherwise ok? then i'll take it down.

Here's one of him just birth,
http://vietnam.deltasoft.com.my/baby/1.jpg

Giving a big yawn after 1.5hr (obviously bored with the labour process and the big hoohaa.. kekeek )
http://vietnam.deltasoft.com.my/baby/2.jpg

On his eighth day of life on earth, giving us the "evil" look

http://vietnam.deltasoft.com.my/baby/Jon01_08day.jpg

His 12th day, starting to get v. curious. If he looks dark on your monitor, err... yar, he's quite dark skin tone, but not tht dark as u see here, its due to daddy's lousy photoshop skill

http://vietnam.deltasoft.com.my/baby/Jon02_12day.jpg
http://vietnam.deltasoft.com.my/baby/Jon03_12day.jpg
http://vietnam.deltasoft.com.my/baby/Jon04_12day.jpg
http://vietnam.deltasoft.com.my/baby/Jon05_12day.jpg
http://vietnam.deltasoft.com.my/baby/Jon06_12day.jpg

1.5mth later... (obviously pleased with himself)
http://vietnam.deltasoft.com.my/baby/Jon0428.jpg
http://vietnam.deltasoft.com.my/baby/Jon0429.jpg
http://vietnam.deltasoft.com.my/baby/Jon0501a.jpg
http://vietnam.deltasoft.com.my/baby/Jon0501b.jpg

idono

Have I responded that I'm 29? Starting to feel old.

Which bridal studio did you choose tht provides not-so-good MUA? talking abt tht, i had terrible experience for my 1st make-up. the MUA spread some weird cooling stuff all over my face, then smear some cool gel on it... yucks. end of day, i had a tough time getting all the stuff off my face. after like 20 min washing i tot i had it off, then silly me use towel to wipe and my whole towel turned color.

greenie

idono, ur BB is very very cute!
i love BB! heehehee..
i think its not easy to snap a gd pix of the BB laffing, and ur son had such a hearty laff!

u still young lah, where got old? 4 a guy, i think tt is pretty ok. u r the same age as my hb.

hmmm, wat make up did u hv? weird cooling stuff? if u had been washg 4 20mins, then how come ur towel still kena colour? *scratch head*

idono

hv to have patience lor. when he's so young, only a few times each day, he'll be quite happy. but nowadays, can laugh back when I smile at him. just tht due to exam stress, didn't take more photos of him

the cooling stuff suppose to "protect" my skin and help the make-up to stay on the whole day. cant remember wht the gals call it. cost me extra to pay for it.

err... i guess i didnt' wash hard enuff? kinda didn't expect make-up to stay on so well.

bit_bit

Idono,

happen to come into this thread by chance...
thanks for sharing ur BB's photos... he's such a handsome cheery baby!
106378.gif

okeanosmao

idono,

yr BB is soooooosooooo cute!! i love BBs too..hmm, by looking at him, can roughly imagine hw u look like..cos yr boy boy v handsome!!
oops, hvn send u the link to my photos yet..
jus curious, does yr wife oso surfs this forum??
u still hvn pass 30 mah, where got old..at least give u $30 note u still can give $1 change
my HB jus pass 30 so he kinda anxious to hv BB..

greenie

idono, the so-called cooling thing is called "ampuole" lah.
but its rather colourless, shldnt "colour" ur towel mah. hehehhe... perhaps the MUA applied powder on ur face.

i guess tts why many parents say all their worries r 4gotten when they see their BB smile.

he's really adorable. made me & mao drooling liao. hahahahaha...

missylan, i think there is a very slim chance u will get my MUA as she is my in-hse MUA. unless u r in the same BS as me?
ohh, the MU trial was used on my ROM mah... so tt was the 1st time.

mao, dun b anxious, ur hb $30 no chg liao, but u still got chg, so still got time.

okeanosmao

starz,

can't be help lor cos my hse oso got 1 BB niece. haha..oso make me drool..BBs are forever cute.
ya, guys oso will hv ampoule..but can opt out rite?

idono

I agree, BB is taking away my time for other things
Cant help it though

Hmm.. boy boy good looking, daddy not so good :p heh heh. yar, my wife surf this forum too. Not sure what's her nick though. Usually she reads threads tht I dun normally read, eg. bridal shops, mummy threads etc.

Mao, how to access ur links har? I dun seem find it in my email -> [email protected]

oh... ok ampoule. not sure if can opt out, but MUA is using so many things on me tht i'm not sure which are the optional ones... haha.

greenie

mao, i think u r the sort tt goes ga-ga over BBs when u spot one? heee, i am lor... when i see a BB on the MRT at times, i will play wif him. then my hb always say "dun try to 'abduct' the BB ah, later his mommy scold u." of coz jokingly lah, but its fun lor, esp the BB smiled at u, wah, the feeling is so happy.

i din noe guys oso hv ampuole... hmmm...

oh yah, can u share wif me the links or websites u went to when u were researchg on ur hse reno the other time? btw how is ur new hse coming along?

idono, dun b so "qian xu" lah... heee, mayb ur BB takes after ur wife?

of coz the guys will not noe wat r the things the MUA uses on ur face lah, u juz pay lor...

mao, u got links meh? wat pix? did i see b4?

okeanosmao

idono, paiseh ah, i hvn send u the link yet...haha..will send u ltr..bz at work & at home too..sometimes frm the look of BB will knw hw good looking the parents are lor..so dun feel pai seh hor..

starz, yup..i like BBs alot..u oso ah..hmm..so planning to hv one soon after yr AD?
the link ah? i think u hv seen the photos b4..those i took in studio ones lor..

finally decided on one contractor liao..hv seen roughly abt 5 lor..eh, as for the links, i hv to find 4 u first..
so how's yr flat hunting? managed to get one?

greenie

hi mao,

me same like u... like to play wif BBs... but sometimes when ppl say to quickly go and hv one of my own, i ponder 4 a while leh. of coz i can chuck the BB back to their parents when the BB cries, but if its my own, then i gotta pacifify the child. i dunno if i will hv tt kind of patience.

hmmm, i am not planning to hv a BB immed after my wedding, but rather 1 yr later. coz much as i wld like to b a young mom, i think i wanna hv some time to build up the bond wif my hb 1st b4 a child comes in.
but of coz if the BB arrives earlier than expected, then will still hv him.

did i see those in studio b4? cant rem... only rem i saw ur AD photos.

we managed to hunt and shortlisted 2 units, but we dare not finalise the unit yet coz am waitg 4 my hb's current unit to b sold off 1st. keeping fingers crossed.

okeanosmao

hi starz,

yup, u gotta b patient lor..my 6 mth old niece likes ppl to carry her all the time...she cannot b left alone for awhile..must hv someone toking to her..if nt, she will cry..
hee..can't imagine u being a mum leh..u seems so carefree to me leh..

oh, remember when we meet up with the rest of the gals, i showed u all my rom photos n some of the indoor shoots photos.

the owners can wait for u to sell off the flat?? actually, if the new hse under yr hb n yr name, u can buy the flat first..but of cos, if u wan to roll yr $$ then no choice u hv to sell the flat b4 u can do anything.

greenie

hi mao....

oh yah, u showed us ur pix b4! alamak i 4got!
pai seh hor!!!

cant imagine me being a mum? hahahahaha....
i think i am old enuff to b mum 4 2 kids!

the owners can wait 4 us, but my hb dun wan to end up wif the addn stress of hvg 2 hse under his name. its too much to service the loans lor. thus in order to avoid any finanacial burden, we juz gotta wait to sell off the unit.

okeanosmao

starz,

oh nw current hse oso under yr HB's name ah?? then its better to sell the current one first lor..at least there's no rush for u.
hee, nbrmd..its okie..anyway its been such a long time rite?

idono,

hv send u the link to ur hotmail acct liao..
previously oredi met up wif starz b4 cos we are both frm another thread then we bunch of gals meet up to chat lor..
nbr meet up wif guy frm forum b4 leh..can try..scully all the attention turn to yr BB if u bring him over..

oh my god, keep looking at yr BB photos..so cute!!

greenie

idono,

i think u r confused liao... my hb is not intending to buy 2 flats. currently, he has a flat under his name. wat i was tellg maomao was if we r gog to buy the resale flat b4 we sell off his current one, my hb will end up wif 2 houses under his name, meang more burden mah. so we hav to sell off the current unit b4 buyg a new one.

yah, i met up wif maomao b4 tog wif other gals from another thread previously.

mao, yah, we better wait 4 the current one to sell off b4 we conmmit, we dun wan other pple to say we r wearing so kan cheong and end up burdening ourselves. b patient lor.

yah, idono's BB sooooooooooooooooooooo cute! OMG! i cant stand it!!!!

idono

Hi Starz,

heh heh. Think will keep this thread in his scrapbook then show BB next time

oh, my question is how did u hb manage to get a flat under his name? Am asking becoz I'm quite interested in pinnacle's location. But right now just bought my current flat (which is new) like 2 yrs only. so is there a way for me to buy pinnacle as well?

Mao,

dun think I wanna be caught by my guy friends meeting up with mother's and wife's... haha. But if wife is interested, i can accompany her...heh heh.

greenie

idono,

i hv no idea how my hb did it then but the hse is solely under his name ONLY. his parents & siblings r juz considered occupants. under this special condition, if he were to buy another flat and loan from HDB, he hv to stay in his current flat for at least 10 yrs b4 he can do so. on the other hand, if we wan to move out after 5 yrs, we can only loan from banks. thus we will b doing so if we r gettg a resale now.

hv u been to the showflat at pinnacle? i hav been wantg to go. it seems under the pinnacle thread, not many pple can afford to get a flat there. so sorry tt i am not able to answer ur qns as i dunno much abt housing rules.

idono

starz,

tht's quite interesting....hmm....

me been wanting to go to the showflat too... any idea when they'll close it down?
for tht location, the price is pretty worth it. else will hv to pay much higher for private property

okeanosmao

idono,

u r thinking of getting pinnacle flat?? i'm not sure when the showroom will end. mayb u wan to go to hdb website to check.
is the flat u bought under resale? hv u buy any hdb hse under 1st timer? if u bought a new hse under 1st timer, u cannot buy another new hse. for 5 yrs, u cannot sell yr current hse oso. its either u downgrade to smaller resale hse or upgrade to a bigger hse. if its resale flat, u can wait for 2 yrs b4 selling yr flat n buy new ones.
for further details, its better u call hdb up. they'll xplain to u clearly.
to me, i tink pinnacle is too expensive for me..scully cannot pay for the hse if based on our pay.

starz,

these urls are search frm search engine. i've some more in my office pc..will post here again.
http://www.earnest-interiors.com/
http://www.classic-ideas.com.sg/
http://www.promax.com.sg/advice.html
http://www.homeimprovement.com.sg/
http://www.chesuyan.com/
http://jazz-interior.com/
http://www.incubate.com.sg/

greenie

idono, interesting meh? it sounds so complicated to me. everytime when i tell my frens, they dun believe tt my hb can own the flat solely!

aiyah, i haven gone to the showflat yet... dun think they will end the showroom so soon lah...

mao is clearer on housing rules. i noe nuts abt it!

thks, mao, 4 providing the URLs. i will check them out!

milo66

hi the thread is so quiet recently...

anyone going TW recently. me planning to go during Jan by Satours

idono

Hmm... think i've exhausted wht i can say abt taiwan
except tht i know recently, some man tried to convert lions to christianity at mucha zoo which is located in taipei, reachable by MRT system. Needless to say, the lions decide to bite him. probably got fedup coz too sian abt pple preaching to them.

panggou

hi ladies, can I find out, may I know which are the recommended hotels near the train station please? My hubby and I are going free and easy, thus will like to have some recommendation.

I read the archive and realised you gals like the Ah Zhong Mian Xian, may I know where is it near?

demio

Hi Winnie,

Ah Zhong Mian Xian is at Xi Men Ding...

Does your train station refers to the "real" train or the MRT (jie yun)?

demio

there are quite a number of hotels that are around MRTs... i usu stay in this one call Friends Hotel.... no star type... but its cheap... for about slightly over $100 a nite u can get a room with jacuzzi type of bathtub.. check it out:
http://www.ffh.com.tw/08_ff/aboutus.html

it's about 45 min ride from Airport by Cab or hotel ferry service... it's opp Ming Quan MRT station so it's pretty convenient.. can get to most places within 10-15 min with MRT..

there are a lot more... you can check out this site.. http://www.easytravel.com.tw/

try lookin for one near to zhongxiao fuxing station or taipei station cos those are interchanges..like our city hall.. more convenient and these areas are more bustling..

bindi

please advise which hotel to stay in. Do we have to change hotel if travelling F&E??

any places that we must sure go if it's a 5 day 4 night trip?

where can i find the hotels online?

demio

hi bindi,

it depends on where u wanna go... taipei is quite big... if u r just goin to the city area then i dun think u need to change hotels..

can check out this site: http://www.easytravel.com.tw/

5 days.. if u wanna male it real compact, i suggest perhaps u can try goin further up north to places like yang ming shan for a couple of days, then proceed down to taipei city for the next 2 days for food and shoppin before headin home...

must go places.. well, the 2 "must go" places for tourists seems to be shi lin night market and xi men ding... great for buyin clothes and stuff.. and snacks like ji pa etc in the night mkt (then u'll noe the one in spor in crap!)

if u r into night spots, can check out their MOS as well..

u may also wanna check out their HUGE shoppin mall call xing guang san yue.. there's a few but the biggest is at the city hall area..

if u like books, there's a 24 hr bookstore called cheng pin..

food wise, too many.... there's a stretch of restaurants behind sogo at zhong xiao dong road.. the jap charcoal grill is really good... the ma la guo to me is a must try... too many... depends on wot u like really..