Anyone been to Krabi?

Hi are & ling

THanks for sharing. I'm keen on doing the snorkelling and sea kayaking bit..just hope the weather permits!

Are,

Which tour agency did u book the sea kayaking package from? Is it self-guided or guided? I'm worried that it'll be v tiring for me and my poor hubby will end up paddling on his own :p Heheheh. Read that Hong Island is v beautiful, but that Phi Phi is very commercialised. I've read up on the various islands, beaches to visit but I've not made up my mind on where to go. We're there to relax and have fun..so I dun intend on having a fixed itinerary. Just have a rough idea of what to expect..but knowing the boat timings is a very good tip. Do hotels provide beach towels or do we hafta bring our own?

lux

Hi Alhana..

Frankly... everywhere is commericalize.. however if you do not want to be at phi phi 'commercialize' part.. try their resort away from the town albeit expensive but the whole experience is really wayward. I think they have a 5 star hotel on that side of phi phi together with another lousy one.. You got to take a long tail boat abt 20-30 mins to reach that part... If I am not wrong try holiday inn.. the hotel we stayed at wasnt top class... but it'll do because of the price.

Hotels provides towels and stuff so no worries... at least the hotels that I went to which wasnt top of the mill..

ya impromptu is abt the way to go.. just check out their tours at the places rather than book them in singapore. I reckon there be 30-40% cheaper comparatively.

are

alhana... i booked the hotel locally, which included a half day guided town tour. the guide was a v nice chinese man so we trusted him to book the tours for us. it was our HM so we din want to try to book frm the streets, in case there r miscomm. the rates r more ex, but the service was really gd. the sea kayak was guided, the guide was really fun & we had a great time.
they inter-sell tours so u might end up w my tour @ a much lower price!

i din stay @ phi phi. was oni there 4 lunch. the tour was mainly to snorkel @ various locations & stopovrs @ some islands. so unless u plan to stay there, being commercialised hardly affects u!

I'm staying at Ao Nang thru out the trip. Will use it as a base to go island hopping. Saw lotsa pics promoting sea kayaking and snorkelling...man, the waters really look beautiful. I visited the Virtual Tourist forum and someone commented that Phi Phi is a tourist trap, and that there are other islands much nicer, cleaner and quieter. Of coz, there are others who also marvel at Phi Phi..perhaps it depends on which part of the island you visit...or what ure expectations are. Did anyone go to Koh Poda or Chicken Island to snorkel?

Am leaving tmr morning..can't wait!!

lux

al..

Chicken island is over-rated.. Koh poda is okay..they are always include inthose short island trips *i think is a 3-4 island hop* from morning till 3-4... lunch and drinks provided..

go to this place where they have the world famous resort.. I am not sure what is the name but if you go to one of those short island trip they will sure to bring you there.. they have this temple where they worship.. hmmm .. the male anatomy.. Quirky place.. but the resort is out of this world..

No doubt abt phi phi being a tourist trap.. we stay in some resort wayward and was charged cheaper than holiday inn *which I think is at least 200USD* but more expensive than our very own westin I reckon! and the hotel was lousy!!!! However after snorkeling.. the thing you need most is the cool air blowing in your face....

I wish i had my trip files with me.. but is with my frds at the moment..I spent a chunk of our money at phi phi but everywhere else is heaven.. if you can go to Koh lanta and stay a day and take a trip out to their national park.. I thought I was in heaven when I was there.. totally far out..

Geeze.. all this talking is making me wanting to go back..

BTW.. are you considering getting your own mask and tube for snorkeling?

Well, I'm back
We did the 4 island hop (Koh Poda & Tup Island were beautiful) and the mangrove kayaking. Wanted to try white water rafting / 5 island hop (incl Hong Island) but we were quite sunburnt after the first 2 activities. Anyway, we wld wanna go back again...maybe this time next yr..so will save other activities for the next trip
I've also heard abt Koh Lanta. On our next trip's itinerary perhaps.

The weather was fantastic! I've been hearing pple say tt its the monsoon, and it'll be rainy, but we were blessed w a blazing hot sun and blue skies everyday! The islands looked picture perfect w the sun beating down on us relentlessly. Didn't bring a mask / snorkel since they tour provided them, but may consider getting our own next time. Dun really fancy the idea of using communal snorkels.

Anyway, some good things abt the low season. HOtels are much cheaper, tours are discounted, and there's no crowd. U can go to the islands and see a large expanse of sand w/o crowds covering ever square inch. Each tour also has less pple compared to the high season. OUr kayaking guide said tt in the low season, a group can consist of perhaps 8 pple (like our group). In high season, his group can swell to 30 pax! Ao Nang beach was v quiet, even at nites. Restaurants can go empty for the whole nite! I thought it was perfect coz we were there to relax in peace and quiet. I'm glad I decided on Krabi even tho its the monsoon season now

deviant

wow, sounds real fun!

Went Phi Phi in Marxh 2003, now feel ike going back there again after reading your post!
hee hee...

lux

Al!!

I reckon you enjoy the trip too much!! hehehe..

You know the season in Feb is also rather cheap.. apparently not much tourists as well when I went last year.. I think Nov to Jan is the hot hot hot season..

I got my own mask and tubes (ok that sounds like.. hmm nvm..) at a local dive shop cost me ard $30-40 couldnt remember.. I go on at least 1 snorkel trip yearly and for the sake of hygiene I thought it was rather worth it...

I am going to try the canoeing next time.. I mean there is so much to explore but I only fear my arms will give up on me.

Sigh.. perfect weather, nice blue sky and clear waters. what more can you asked for!

I want to do the Philipines if I have the chance. Their boracay apparently is dreamy just like islands off thailand.

Ask you a question.. how do you compare Krabi with Samui.. was comtemplating of going there.

Hi Ling

Yup yup..we were dreading the return home. But what to do, all good things must come to an end. Nvm..there's always next time! I won't be able to go in Feb..hubby's a teacher so we can only go during the school hols. That's one of the reasons why we deferred this trip for so long. It seemed the monsoon season in Krabi wld coincide w his long June holiday break, so we always ended up vacationing elsewhere. But we took a chance this yr n were rewarded by fantastic weather

Yeah, I think if you want to snorkel regularly, its best to get ure own equip. The fit wld be better, and yeah, for hygiene reasons too. I didn't really think much abt using shared snorkels when I was there..but after thinking back, I was like 'ewww..u dun know where its been!'

Canoeing was actually not too bad. I dun have much upper body strength, so was quite worried that I wld tire myself our v quickly and tt my poor hubby wld hafta do all the work. But in the end, I managed to kayak almost the entire 2 hrs! Twds the end, my arms n shoulders were starting to fatigue, but I did it! Dun worry, I think u'll do fine. Perhaps the open sea kayaking wld be more tiring, what w waves and currents tossing u abt. The river was quite placid, so not too taxing. Alot of bugs tho! Had spiders and mozzies jumping aboard our kayak! I was swatting at them while we got ourselves stuck in the mangrove forest a few times :p Some spots were really tight to kayak through...

Hmm..I can't really judge whether Krabi or Samui is better. I was only at Samui for 2 full days..not much time to really explore the island and chk out activities. But if given the choice, I wld probably wanna revisit Krabi instead of Samui. I think Samui is pricier than Krabi..more upmarket than Krabi & Phuket.

Oh yeah, Boracay looks lovely. Pacific Islands like Fiji, Tahiti wld be really nice too, as well as the Carribean. Too rich for my pocket tho.

lux

Al..

You be having the 'sea, sand and sun' dream for the next 1 month.. Trust me..

Wah .. spiders are they black widow size or small like?.. wah scary man!I am a bit hmmm paranoid of creepy crawlies.. the last thing I want is to have something drop on my head when I am trying to balance a plastic vessel in waters that I have no idea what lurks in it.. Geeze!

I was trying to decide if I want to go to Samui or the Philipines. It is cheap right thanks to the extremist group and the kidnaps that is happening across their tourist spots! We certainly dont want to be on CNN requesting for rescue if you get what I mean.

French Polynesia.. that is like wah!!!! But I think there is like gradual visit lah.. I wanna do maldives and mauritus(spelling!!) first.. get to visit Sri lanka or seychelles or something in the process..

Man..I am so drooling to go to some places smooth sand and sunny skies for a vacation!!

Ling,

Yeah boy...When I was in Krabi, I was already dreaming abt our snorkelling activities earlier in the day :p Sad that it ended so quickly!!

The spiders are small..if big ones I wld've jumped out of the kayak! Hehehe. But honestly, I was so frustrated at our kayak getting stuck in the mangrove forest that I just angrily swatted them away. It was hard to canoe in there coz the spaces were quite tight...our paddles were getting stuck in the branches ..but that portion was just for a couple of metres..afterwards we were back out in the wide river again.

I was telling my hubby tt the Philippines has beautiful islands...and he said 'yeah, they have the Abu Sayaf too!' I guess that kidnapping incident is still fresh in our memories. Somehow that thought twarted me more than the Bali bombings (we had contemplated Bali before we finally decided on Krabi), esp w all the news abt pple getting kidnapped and beheaded now. Brrr. Anyway, I was glad I chose Krabi over Bali. I was asking friends who'd been to Bali and they didn't give me v enthusiastic responses.. Krabi had always been our first choice, until news of violence in Thailand's south came abt earlier this year. Oh well, been there, and no sign of violence.

Maldives is v nice. One of my colleagues went there on her honeymoon. Ex tho..nice if you really have the cash to splurge!

greenie

so anyone can tell me which is a nice place to stay? Golden Beach is much recommended but more exp leh... any that is slightly cheaper? was thinking of 4D3N...

bluebellas

Hi Starz,

I stayed at Ao Nang Villa. It's quite nice and they have just renovated their spa. I also popped into Golden Beach (next door) to take a look but I still prefer Ao-Nang.

Hi starz

I stayed at this new resort called Krabi La Playa resort (opened early this yr). It's quite nice, and as it was new then, not many Singaporeans chose to stay there (all those on our airport transfer ride dropped off at Ao Nang Villa). Can chk the hotel out here : http://www.krabilaplaya.com/

Its not right at Ao NAng beach unlike Ao NAng villa and GOlden Beach, but the walk is not far (prob 5-10 min depending on how fast a walker you are). And quite a number of restaurants, massage parlours and hotels along the way. Its also very near the factory outlet mall.

We went in June, which was the low season, so the rates were much cheaper. we paid less than $500 per pax for 6D/5N (for accommodation and air tix). And we spent probably another $400 on tours, food, massage. So all in, the trip cost us less than $1.5k for 2 persons.

sysa

Hi Starz,

I booked my 3D/2N Krabi trip with Five Stars Tours and extended another 2 nites. stayed 5D/4N in Krabi. It was abt $500 per pax.

Spent about another $700 which included a day car rental, spa, thai massage, pedicure/manicure, seafood meals everyday, some shopping and the 2-island tour.

rokko

hi everyone, just to add on the info about krabi here
just came back from a trip to krabi, absolutely loved it! lots of activities to do there, lots of good and CHEAP eats there as well!

<u><font color="ff0000">accomodations</font></u>
we stayed at pavillion queen's bay, which is a little off the main busy ao nang beach stretch.. it's good as it's quieter away from the touristy belt, also bad cos it is quite a distance to walk - but FH and i took it as a nice after-dinner stroll to walk back to our hotel

but i'll highly recommend pavillion queen's bay anyway becos the rooms are very spacious and clean, equipped with LARGE bathrooms and even a nice swing outside at the large balcony! only thing is, there isnt a nice scenery to look at from the balcony... hehee...
232771.jpg

the breakfast menu is faily standard BUT the breakfast place is absolutely wonderful! the restaurant is on the top floor, and u'll be sitting outside on the terrace overlooking the entire scenenry below! very breezy, very welcoming, very pleasant dining experience!

232772.jpg

just one more thing to add about pavillion queen's bay - the service is nothing short of wonderful! it happened to be my FH's birthday during our trip there, and the manager there 'conspired' with me to arrange for a birthday cake sent to him at midnight on his birthday! it came nicely lit up with a rose, and an entire group of staff (of about 6 or 7 of them) came to our room to wish him happy birthday! hehee

<u><font color="ff0000">food</font></u>
both FH and I are passionate about food (hee), so one of the main highlights of any trip is to check out the food places! so here are some of our recommendations

(1) ao nang cuisine (along ao nang beach): this is reputably one of the better restaurants along ao nang beach, so we had to go there to check it out... great ambience, great food! we had the crab meat fried rice (it's very yummy, a must-try!), tom yum koong, thai style sweet and sour fish, tamarind prawns, drinks for both of us... came up to 720 baht for both of us(plus tips)
(2) e-san restaurant (along ao nang beach, nearer la playa hotel): we had the fried fish (a must-try!), pad thai, tom yum koong, and glass noodles, drinks for both of us... came up to about 500 baht... ambience here aint as good as ao nang cuisine, but food is definitely comparable
(3) thara seafood restaurant (along noppothara beach, need to take a taxi there from ao nong beach): we got this recommendation from an interent guide to krabi, so we decided to check it out.. and what a find! excellent seafood at low low prices! we had tom yum koong, pad thai, papaya salad (a must-try!), chilli crabs, mussels and shell-fish, sotong fried with chilli, and beer for both of us... came up to only 700 baht for both of us (incl. tips)!!!
(4) ruen mai restaurant (in krabi town): this is listed in lonely planet (my personal definitive guide), and when i asked the locals where to go for good thai food, they all recommended this place, so i figured cant go wrong with this... it was excellent! beautiful setting set amid lush (albeit artificial) forest setting with lots of locals patronising the restaurant... we had tom yum koong, a starter which was extremely good but i cant remember the name - something like meat with plum sauce or something, glass noodles, and fried sandfish, and beer for both - came up to only 500 baht (plus tips)!
(5) roadside stalls: if u're not finicky about roadside stalls, do try the pad thai along any roadside stalls - we tried a couple and frankly, we thought they'd beat any restuarants' pad thai flat! absolutely yummy stuff! try also some of the pancakes that are sold along ao nong beach - the mango pancake is divine! a must try!!

<u><font color="ff0000">activities</font></u>
(1) diving: we did a full-day diving with aqua-vision, which is listed in lonely planet as one of the better dive centres in krabi.. they were indeed very professional bunch of people and enjoyed our diving with them. dive operators in krabi usually go to one spot a day, and we could only make it on monday, which they were heading off to phi phi island for diving, ALTHOUGH the place we badly wanted to go (cos we heard sightings of mantas and whale sharks are common there) is Hin Daeng and Hin Muang, which aqua-vision was heading for on the next day (tue), and we cldnt go cos we were flying off on wed and the mandatory one day off-diving had to apply... sigh... phi phi was a tad disappointing becos visibility was poor, prob due to a spot of bad weather...
(2) rock-climbing: krabi is apparently THE PLACE for rock-climbing and we decided we had to do it... we booked with king climbers for a half-day climb(the other good one is called cliffsman), and they provided free transfers from hotel... there are also full-day, two-day or even three-day courses if u wish, but we figured a half-day climb wld suffice for both of us... it was quite an experience and the instructors are very professional, so i felt very safe doing my climb, although i came back with lots of bruises and cuts on my legs (note: do wear long pants and not shorts like silly me, so that u wont end up with unglam cuts all over the legs!)

<u><font color="ff0000">spa and massage</font></u>
what is thailand without the mandatory stop for spa and massage? hee... our hotel was offering thai massage for 1695 baht for 85mins, which we felt was too steep, so we asked around and found this place called wanalee spa, which we will highly recommend (they will give free transfers to and from ur hotel)... upon reaching, they will serve u a cold towel, welcome drink, then FH and I were brought to a pavilion for just the two of us where we had our traditionl thai massage - i can safely say that it was the best thai massage i've ever had (after having done thai massages in phuket and bangkok)! after the massage we were served hot tea and fruits... all these for only 500 baht per person! of cos we also tipped them, and we were v pleased so we tipped 100 baht each (20%)

ok i shall have to stop here before i go rambling on... hope this spot of info will come in handy for anyone planning a trip to krabi! lemme know if u need more help/info yah? happy holidays everyone!

shelyn

Hi rokko,

Glad to know that you enjoyed your trip. I am doing research for my honeymoon next yr (dec) and still undecided on which resort to go in thailand. Seems like krabi is a much recommended one. But I've never went on a resort trip b4 so a bit lost on how to go about booking the tours etc.

Have some qns to ask u:
Which tour agency did you book your trip from? How much did it cost and wat does it include?
Did you book your day tours from the s'pore agent as well?
How about the spa. How did you find out about the different prices etc?

Sorry for asking so many qns... cos totally clueless on this. Usu juz went for packaged tour where everything is taken care of... =P
I alwiz marvel at those almost perfect postcard kind of pictures of beach resort. They look so romantic that's why i decided i muz go to such places for my honeymoon...haha...

I can only go for a short trip, ard 3 or 4 days so can't have too much activities.... so now trying to find out wat are the 'muz-try' activities.

would gladly welcome any advice/recommendations from anyone for a mountain turtle here... =P

rokko

hi shelyn
hey dun worry, ask away! im very happy to help out in any way i can!

silkair flies to krabi direct every mon, wed, fri, sat... wed &amp; fri are morning flights while mon &amp; sat are afternoon flights, so to max your stay there you prolly can go wed-sat (4 full days) or fri-mon (also 4 full days)

i booked mine really last min, like one week before? hehee... quite an impulse decision to just go... headed to chan brothers (it was one of the few agencies opened on sat evening) and we paid about $600 (sorry i cant remember exact amount now, invoice with FH) for 4 nights at pavillion queen's bay, which is a 4/5 star hotel, flying by silkair... price incl. 4N accomodation (with breakfast), round trip airport transfer, half day city tour. btw, price varies depending on where you are staying.. ao nang villa (which is rather nice) is cheaper, while the really nice one such as sheraton will def cost more... if you wanna splurge, i have been told that there are REALLY REALLY NICE ones such as rayavadee, pimalai and tubkaak which are really luxurious and great for honeymooners
problem is, they are situated in the more remote beaches, away from the main touristy belt

actually we booked all our day tours and spa when we reached krabi... there are plenty of tourist agencies 'fighting' to get your business! hee! i think every 10 steps you walk you'll prolly reach another tour agency - and prices are rather competitive - think you can bargain the price down a little more. so no worries, you should be able to get your bookings done over there. what FH and I did was to read up the lonely planet (which we had) to see which tour agencies are more recommended and we walked there and booked the tour the day before - the nxt day the tour bus would come to pick us up from the hotel

as for the spa - it was recommended by the tour guide and it was quite a jackpot find cos we truly liked the spa so much, we wont hesitate to recommend to everyone!

some of the things to do there:
(1) snorkelling/scuba diving
(2) rock-climbing if you are game - krabi purportedly offers the best rock-climbing in the region!
(3) island hopping - some of the beaches are really pristine and beautiful - the sand is fine and white! you can go there, soak in the sun, have a picnic or something
(4) eat to your hearts content with cheap and good thai food!

hmmm... i think that's all i can offer for now... hope this helps! any more qtns pls do feel free to ask!!

shelyn

wow rokko

that's a lot of info from u... thanz for sharing. I'm looking forward to my trip next yr...haha... can have a long time dreaming about it.. =P

jaspeng

Good Evening. I'll be going to Krabi for my honeymoon. Wow, there are so many posts, will take time to read through.

My hubby and I have decided to stay in Ao Nang Villa. Anyone stay there before?

chaoahbeng

rokko, wonderful field report from krabi. thank you.

I will be going to krabi for relaxation next month, do let me know if u've got any other lobangs to add.

chaoahbeng

bitbit...sorry to reply late hor, I din see your reply until i refreshed the last 24 hours option.

Anyway, I heard that kravi is not very much affected. On that day 2 casualties, one is a foreigner who went snorkel, the other is the boatman who brought him there. The hotel and facilities are mostly untouched.

But hor....for me, as long as the hotels and infrastructure are ok, I couldn't care less. why? u're thinking of going also issit? hehehe. good leh, then I can see you and my wife in bikini....lol.

bit_bit

no lah, i thot i heard Krabi being mentioned in the news, then saw ur posting, out of concern just ask lah

now bery beezy with work... difficult to take leave oso...

rokko

hi ah beng, hehee happy to give a field update cos i had such a great time in krabi! anyway, bit bit, it seems that krabi itself is not affected esp if u're staying at aonang beach... i know railay beach is slightly affected (where rayavadee resort is) but the main aonang stretch is not affected...

u can read this: http://www.sawadee.com/tsunami/statements.htm
it shows u pixs of krabi now, and it looks fine! and they really survive mainly on the tourist dollar, so pls show them your support by visiting them!!!

chaoahbeng

dun worry man...I go there sure eat a lot and go for lotsa massage one. hehehe.

but rokko, I read your report and find that u really describe your exploits quite well leh. Got any good lobangs to recommend or not ah?

Bit bit like disappear already leh...

rokko

hallo ah beng, mebbe bit bit never check this thread? hehe...

eh what lobang are u referring to? all the ones i mentioned above are my lobangs/recommendations already! what other lobangs u need, tell me i see if i can help... hehee... but im not lobang queen wor! ;p

Hi folks,

Just found out that Tiger Airways will be flying to Krabi! Woot! I love Krabi, and was upset when Silkair stopped their direct flights there..had to go via Phuket instead (waste time).

avid_reader

Alhana, any recommendation for hotel in Krabi? Which website is good to book for hotel? Just booked the Tiger Airways S$9.98 base fare promo!

Hi avid

I envy you leh..wish I could go to Krabi NOW! Hehe..when are you going? Think Tiger is only starting flights in Oct?

Ok, about Krabi La Playa. I didn't book the pool access room, and I regretted it. The pool is HUGE and very nice. Love the swim-up poolside bar. can sit in the water and drink pina coladas..haha.

Try http://www.asiarooms.com or http://www.resorthotel.net

Both offer good rates and are prompt in replying to queries.

There is a small supermarket near the hotel...maybe about 100meters away? There were some factory outlet shops nearby too, but I heard they've closed due to lack of business or high rental. It's not too far from Ao Nang beach, and if you walk the other way you'll go to Nopparat beach. I liked the hotel..wld definitely stay there again (n get the pool access room) if I do return to Krabi

avid_reader

Thanks Alhana! Looks like there's not going to be much shopping in Krabi. Saw anything interesting to buy?

The trip's in November.. going for 8 days! Cos air tics are cheap (abt $200 in total for 2 person inclusive of taxes), we're looking for a nice hotel to stay. But Nov is considered high season.. looks like the rates will be at least about baht4,500 for the pool access room at La Playa. Nothing beats being able to jump into the pool from the hotel room! I saw the pic.. it's so nice! Likely to book for the buy 4 nites free 3 nites promo. I can't wait!

Nope, nothing much to buy, unlike Phuket. Shops are limited, unless you go to Krabi Town (which is already quite sleepy n low key) Didn't buy anything....just went on tours (do the 4-island tour...the islands are beautiful!) and ate ate ate! You MUST try the streetside pancakes...they're like roti prata, but thinner and crispier. The ones with chocolate and banana are really good. No kidding. If you have a sweet tooth, they can even add sugar and carnation milk on top.

Yah, I think the high season starts from Nov. Yup, the hotel looks like it does in the pics..the pool is that lovely. I have lotsa pics of the pool...hehe. When we were there last yr (June), it was the low season, and the hotel was so empty! We usually had the whole pool to ourselves..my, that was sheer bliss.

skin

Hi, im plannin a trip tp Krabi on 3 May for 7 nights! Am def going to stay at La Playa, hear alot of good comments abt it!

I'm just wondering whether any one of you have stayed in the Superior room before, is it comfortable enough? Am thinking not to splurge on the pool access deluxe room since I would be out at the beach most of the time!

Then again, Im also tempted to take the pool access deluxe room, coz it looks sooo nice. Is it a private pool or a common shared pool?

Any comments abt the types of rooms? Superior, deluxe or pool access deluxe room?

There is a promo on pay 4 nights, free 3 nights. If I book the Pool Acess Deluxe Rm, do I get to stay in the same room for the 3 free nights or they will transfer me to the superior room? Any one knows?

Will be grateful for any comments, thankss!

xiaohei

Hi all, I've just visited Krabi last month. Its 4D3N and we stayed at La Playa. We took the room with Pool access and jacuzzi and I simply love it! But do not expect too much for breakfast becoz the buffet spread is limited. Oh and we find the mattress is very hard, gave us backaches!

Day 1, the hotel is accessible to almost anywhere so we had our meals at the local stalls. Cheap and good! Must try the banana prata by the roadsides... cheap and good indeed!!

Day 2, we went for fishing and we caught 3 big ones! Good experience for me!
We brought the fishes to a nearby local stall and they cooked for us, charging SGD$6 for 2 fishes.

Day 3, we went for White water rafting and it was a great experience! The tour guide is experienced and all I wished for is to try again!
At night we went shopping and I realise that S'poreans are not popular becoz we bargain too much. If you see the price tag, most likely its fixed price.

Last day we went for city tour and I must say the shopping sucks! They tour guide also brought us to a duck noodle store and the noodle was tasty but the fried rice was a horrible mess! So avoid the city tour and go on your own instead!

My next trip will be Bali. YES!

icebaby0

I super suay when i went. The season was really bad and the weather wasn't so good. So tour agents unwilling to go out to sea.

But Railey beach was nice. Food was cheap.

Overall, preference will still be Phuket and go tours from there in future.

digo

Krabi is one of my favorate sunny desternations in Thai, ahead of Koh Samui, Koh Pang yang, Phuket etc..

I found its a bit less travellers there that other more developed and well-known islands..

Sea food BBQ is cheap and tasty.. beach is fairly clean with sof whit sands.. (I went to Rally beach) where ppl are chanllenging themselves for rocky climing..

Its also a short fly from Singapore, perfect for a weekend get-away if you want to try some new places besides Bintan..Pity now the budget airline like Tiger is not flying to Krabi anymore..

natsy

Thank you for all the inputs here. We'll be going for a short honeymoon in mid-June and since it'll be our first beach holiday..am wondering if you'll recommend Phuket, Krabi or Samui. We would like to relax, with a nice sea view for about 3 Days. Shopping I know is nothing much, but from what I understand, Phuket is commercialized yet away from the hustle and bustle if you choose the nicer beaches, Samui is beautiful but no one I know has been there...while Krabi from those I asked is boring
Although the pictures say otherwise. Kindly share your 2 cents worth :D
Thanks and much appreciated

anise

kim.. me been to krabi and phuket... if u are going for seafood, both are comparable... as for beaches, i still prefer phuket.. coz u won't get to step onto any stones while strolling along patong beach... the feeling is cool... only thing is dat patong is packed with alot of tourist.. As what i know, other beaches in phuket are more quiet as compared to potong but as a first timer there, potong will be a wiser choice.. lotsa things to see and food to eat..

as for krabi... it's more quiet and the traffic is much betta.. pple in krabi are more friendly, dat's what i feel..

i prefer phuket over krabi but hubby is opp of mine =p so i guess up to own preference.. will be aiming samui next =)

icesugar

I've been to Krabi last year in Aug with my HTB...

Nice place, really go there to rest and relax...

Think we went for 5 days 4 nights, went island hopping, elephant riding, water rafting and shooting... We went to town also, but there's nothing much there...

Conclusion is the place is really for relaxation...

hee...

lavenderbear

i went to Koh samui 4yrs ago, Phuket last year and Krabi earlier this year.
My verdict
- Koh Samui
The island is huge, with many nice beach facing resorts. I stayed along the beach and didnt venture into the city at all. There's acres and acres of nice beach on the island itself. However, there's limited airline flying from sgp direct there.
- Phuket
Budget airline flies there. Commercialised, a marsh of everything and anything from night market to adventure to massage and beach bumming. To be near Patong beach, the resorts there are more costly and too crowded. It's slightly more costly
- Krabi
I think the main area in Krabi was recently renovated, everything look neat and new. Mix of cheap and expensive accomodation. If you like island hopping, i prefer using Krabi as my transit point. Budget airline flies there.

natsy

Awesome! Thanks for ur comments! Just got married last week and am desperately looking for trips! Hahaha :D Am looking at Koh Samui now. Unfortunately all flights to Bali are booked till Aug.

Have shortlist to 2 hotels, now thinking whether I should spend the additional $600+ or save it.

michecwy

im going to bkk for 7nites, and hope to spend 2 nites at beach area, can i know how long duration do i need to spend on bus from bkk to krabi? is thereany bus transport to there?