Anyone been to Banyan Tree b4??

rene

sc04, take care

xixi

Hi Catz

Where did you got book your trip? I visited the website and like what I see
. How is the weather there during end Oct?

krazy76baby

the prices quoted is in US $. hubby and i will be going to bt bintan and i would like to find out if i need to change sing $ to US $? or can i pay in sing $?

jamci

Krazbi, the price list are all quote in US$, u can pay thru credit card. Think they will convert to RP on the bill instead which i noticed on my bill when i checked out.
Just tell them charge to your room no. should be no problem.

podolly_gantan

hi starz, hehe just a tip

go for banyan tree bintan during the natas fair. it is a whole lot cheaper
i did tat @ this yr mar NATAS. 3D2N @ $750+, include ferry surcharges n ferry return trip. it was a promo by bintan then there was 5% additional discount for citibank card holders. need to top up $32 per person per day for breakfast so we opt out. get their in-villa room service n opt for the "basket" the portion is enuf for u
tat cosr ard $25 i tink.

greenie

hi doll, thks 4 sharing.... we prob wun pick banyan tree.... too exp leh... saving up 4 a longer trip... juz wanna get away 4 a while... thks 4 sharing.

demi

You can stay at Nirwana hotel at Bintan instead, it's more affordable, but it's just a hotel room loh, you don't have the resort feel.

Use credit card to buy things there must be careful, first they will charge in RP then convert into SGD, most banks will charge an admin fee for the conversion. Check with your own credit card bank better.

mirabell22

hi peeps, got a cheap lobang! my fren got this voucher from his co as a reward... but he's not planning to go and so he's selling the vouchers.
the vouchers include:

3D2N stay at BT Bintan (for 2), a choice of any of the villas (subj to availability), and S$800 cash vouchers which can be used at the restaurants/eateries/spas/massages at the resort.

the vouchers are vaild till Dec 05, including wkends.

my fren is hoping to get $1500 for the vouchers, so that's $750/pax (including accomodation/food/spa). transport wise u have to settle yourself... just take a ferry ride i guess?

kenneth

Myself and my wife love banyan tree a lot. Though our stay is very short 2D1N over the weekend, it was well worth it.... private jacuzzi, nice balinese chalet, quiet surroundings, friendly and warm staff, beautiful quiet beaches etc. U feel like a royalty there. U can ask the karts to fetch u from pt A to pt B.
As for cheaper food, u can go to kelong to have ur meals. Ask the reception.

mirabell22

i've decided to take up the package from my fren as mentioned above... hee so exciting..
but guess $800 is a bit too much for me n my bf... so for those who's going to banyan tree bintan this yr, pls pm me. willing to let go $400 cash vouchers (can be used for spa/food) at a lower price. =)

forestlim

Can i know wat currency should i change - US$ or Indonesian RP if i am going to Banyan Tree Bintan? I read the earlier thread and was a bit confused. What do we use to pay at the shops and restaurant? I have credit card but I think it might be cheaper if I used cash.

Also, i heard that we can book a limo and then go to the shopping area... how long do we need to spend if we are going to the shopping area? Will there have cheaper food for lunch at the shopping area? Is it worth to go to the shopping area?

Nutty - Hi, I heard that we can go to kelong to have our meals that's cheaper.. is it very far from the resort? How much does it cost to take the ferry to the kelong? Wat food do we eat at the kelong? Approximate how much? Coz i am on budget... so if going to kelong for lunch is cheaper, then i will want to go coz i never mind to kelong too...

Tks so much!

Best Regards

touraco

Hi forest
the charges are in US$ but u can pay in rupiah as well.
if the shopping area is the one i have been last time,there isn't much to do there.

forestlim

Hi Touraco

Sorry.. ask u again... so wat currency should i change and bring along to spend - US$ or Rupiah? Which is more worth? Still thinking wat currency to change.

Tks!

Best regards

ane

Hi Forest,

been to Banyan Tree Bintan before, all charges we charged to the room then upon check out then we pay by credit card.

as for the expenses in town,, we pay by S$

blissbride

Hi Cutiebear,

As for food, can advise where to go for nice food in BanyanTree?

How safe is the town....?

Although I have been to Bintan before, have yet to visit the town area.

ane

Hi Bliss

There are a few restaurants inside the resort itself, all prices are in USD. Basically all the food are quite nice.

As for the town, is safe and u can see alot of singaporeans there.

haagendaz

SGD400 cash voucher that can be used at Bintan Banyan Tree resort's gallery, spas, and all restaurants/eateries. Valid till end of yr. Going for only $350.

haagendaz

hi all, SGD800 cash voucher that can be used at Bintan Banyan Tree resort's gallery, spas, and all restaurants/eateries. Valid till end of yr. Going for only $700. pm me!

blissbride

Just went and enjoyed myself at Banyan Tree Bintan. Really very very relaxing trip. The service there is really first class....thought everything there is truely very expensive! Each meal is about S$100 for 2 persons.

To those who will be going soon ...*envious*.... So Nice!!!! Me hope to go back again.. prob to Maldives Banyan Tree the next trip.

oohlahlah

Been to Banyan Tree Bintan. Loved it!! Have
decided to go back every year...

You can good value package with Fascinating Holidays. Check it out

diijai

In addition to contacting travel agencies, those interested on a Banyan Tree package should also call the Banyan Tree Reservations directly. Remember to ask what are the 'best promotions' available for your choice of destination. If you don't ask, they won't tell you.

I will be heading down to Banyan Tree Phuket with my wife next month. Was offered '3 nights for the price of 2' package for a jacuzzi or pool villa. Picked the Jacuzzi villa at USD$250++ per night. This offer is available to all AMEX card holders till Aug 05. It also comes with a one time 'buy one get one free' spa treatment.

Worth considering if anyone is heading down. Cheers.

bladers

Why don't they just charge slightly more for rooms and include breakfast to dinner? I think its such a hassle when they charge seperately. It's a way to attract more people to book as well.

The rooms ain't cheap, they shld do this..$100 per meal for 2 is just too much...

Nirwana is much cheaper but of cos the rooms are noisy, insulation is really bad when people walk past ur room...

bladers

is it safe to travel out of Banyan tree at night to go kelong and return to the resort? I've only done it in daytime from Nirwana but not banyan, pls advise..

noscon

anything to do there, other than spa?

Can I ask the px roughly for 2 pax for 3d2n?

how is better than other resorts in bintan?

thanks for answering

berszewai

yes, i agree. Angsana is cheaper than Banyan Tree but you get the same high standard of service under the Banyan Tree brand. The 2 resorts are located next to each other and share the same beach and watersports center.

chipndale

just got back from angsana.. and was very impressed with the service and rooms there. food wise, we felt banyan tree prices were q a bit more ex than angsana. and angsana spa was really good! overall pretty good value for money i would say. for 3d/2n, we spent abt 750 for 2 pax including food and spa. banyan tree would have cost 1k for 2 pax excluding food or spa...

dorymiki

this thread seems to have died! =P
Anyway i just came back from Banyan Tree Bintan, our mini honeymoon and we spent SGD 1.8k plus woho... a lot sia, as compare to some of you here... we stayed there for 4D3N.
Its a truely wonderful experience and its like heaven hahaha... think cos we paid for the service and ambiance but we enjoyed ourselves very much there...

teho

hi DoryMiki,

did that budget include food? is it true it's 100 per 2 persons?

Can eat from elsewhere?

rosemarie

I have not been there but my friends, a romantic couple said its a heavenly place for honeymooners and a real 10star paradise..
hope you have a marvelous honeymoon too.