Anyone been to Banyan Tree b4??

christine

I was wondering if anyone been to Banyan Tree b4? I went to the website www.banyantree.com, it is really very beautiful.. Btw, anyone know which travel ageny offer packages to Banyan Tree resort?

banyan tree

hi, i have been to banyan tree bintan last year and i highly recommand it if you have a budget but would like to experience a lavish holiday at a banyan tree resort.

i booked it through this agency at pearl's hill complex (the one after the police headquarter walking down from outram mrt) called connection after comparing prices. We stayed for 2D1N and paid ard $200+ each inclusive of ferry tickets.

i think 2D1N would be sufficent as there is not actually a lot to do over there, unless you are a water sport or spa person. for me, i spent most of the time strolling on the beach or enjoying the jacuzzi in the comfort of my own villa. you can call the banyan tree sales office in singapore and ask them to fax you a list of spa activities. now with the new-built angsana resort right beside banyan tree, perhaps there is more to offer.

at banyan tree, you travel within the vicinity on a cabby (i am not quite sure if this is how you call it) like on a golf course. just call for one and it will pick you up from your door-step to anywhere you want, even a tour around the resort!

meal is slightly expensive there, with dinner of $40+ / pax (only main course and drinks). Lunch is around $20+ for a sandwich + drink.

however, the treatment you get from banyan tree is very good with their high quality of service. everyone is treated like a queen or king as compared to the usual resorts.

if you really love to rest and relax at the privacy and comfort of your own villa, i really highly recommand banyan tree! can you imagine sleeping on the bed with the view of the ocean RIGHT IN FRONT of you!!!!!!! unforgettable....

banyan tree

P.S. i heard that banyan tree phuket is even nicer! but if i have the money, i will choose banyan tree maldives!!!!
i would certainly love to experience all the banyan trees available!!!

lisa

I'm thinking of going to Banyan Tree Bintan. I want to know if there are any water sports that we can do there.

Thanks,

Lisa

ahgirl

Hi Lisa

Yes, they do have. How many days do u intend to stay there???? their jaccuzzi is excellent

jojo

My hubby and I are intending to stay at the Banyan Tree Bintan...but 2D1N seems so short...was wondering how much it would cost if we extended by another 1 or 2 nites...

banyan tree...your deal was rather cheap, right? So far...the ones that I saw cost between $300plus to $500 plus...can you give me specific location to the agency which you went to? How much did you spend in total at the resort? Sorry for asking so much...but I have a budget to adhere to as my actual honeymoon will only be in June 2002...

JoJo

hi jojo,

the bintan banyan tree resort had a special promotional package @ $198/pax for 2D/1N...not sure if they still have it though...check out any travel agencies (prices don't vary).

the banyan tree resorts @ phuket, bali etc are much much more expensive.

problem with bintan banyan tree is that it's very ulu...so end up u'll have to have your meals in the resort...the meals are very expensive & can cost as much as what u paid for accomodation (or even more)!

alex

Actually not true that you can only have meals in the Resort... when me and my wife is there.. we actually charter a car to send us to the "shopping" district on bintan. There you can have a very good seafood meal for S$20 for 2 person...there are also some shops selling local products, clothes and a super-market..

Forgot the name of the place but I am sure if you ask the staff there.... they will be able to advise...

hope this helps...

true true...just that limousine services don't come cheap too! wat i meant was that there aren't any food places within walking distances...but i suppose it's really part and parcel of going to an exclusive resort!

jojo

Hi KPo and Alex,

Hmmm...will be calling up some of the agencies to check it out...which kind of resort will provide the best view huh? They seem to have so many different type of resorts leh...Really dunno which one to choose from lah...

Kpo...Good time to lose weight...too expensive...survive on love alone lor....
heehee then come back...slimmer than before...haahaa...

JoJo

alex

Jojo.... KPO is right that there is no other eateries within walking distance...

think the limo is not that ex...S$10 for a return trip...

as for the type of villa... well it depends on your budget lor....

hi jojo,

ever considered other places:

- allamanda/dusit/laguna/sheraton @ phuket (nice resorts..but not as ex as banyan tree..moreover, they're all linked by ferry services...can make use of facilities @ all the resorts including banyan tree)

- rasa ria/tanjung aru @ sabah (beautiful beach front resorts..3D/2N accommodation+airfare <S$500/pax)

jojo

Thanks for the advice...hmmm...Kpo...will go and check out the other resorts as well...we are on a rather tight budget cos all the money will be spent on the wedding preps and then the pending honeymoon...just wanted to get away for a short while after the wedding to get that "feel" heehee...

Snoopy...Villa on the rocks will probably leave my wallet and bank account on the rocks as well

sugar

Jojo,

How about Pangkor Laut Resort in Pangkor, Malaysia? It's a resort on a private island and you have a choice of hill, beach or water villa. We stayed in the hill villa few yrs back. Problem is you have to have all the meals in the resort as you are stranded on the island. You have to take their private boat from Lumut (which is I think about 2 hrs from Kuala Lumpur). Their limousine can take you from KL to Lumut too.

hi susan,

i'm not sure how much it'll cost now..but when i went a couple of yrs back...there was a promotion...3D/2N @ allamanda (flying by thai airways) was $450+/pax (pool facing suite, didn't include daily breakfast). dusitdusit/laguna/sheraton are more expensive...banyan being the most expensive. check out the papers or with any tour agencies...they'll give u the latest rates.

eunicetan

halo all,

u might wan to check out Fascinating Holidays for their free &amp; easy packages. they've got many packages for all the resorts mentioned above n their prices seem very reasonable too!

kit

For those who are interested to go to Banyan Tree in Bintan, if you hold the UOB credit card, you can redeem your un$ to get cheaper pkg.
I hv stayed 1 nite in Banyan Tree Bintan during Valentine's day last year. Till now, my husband still think of the sun-deck jacuzzi and ocean view in front of our villa (we stayed in villa on the rock). Its expensive though, compared to other resorts, but its worth a try. Imagine you hear wave clapping while you sleep, forgetting you are actually lying on the bed, not on the beach.
You can buy some tidbits and cup noodle if you want to cut some costs, there is electric kettle in your room. The F&amp;B outlets are very expensive, imagine we spend S$80 (for sandwiches and drinks) juz for our lunch!Bring more indonesia rupiah. Try not to use credit card, though it's all priced in S$, they will convert to rupiah then to S$ again!
It's better to hv your meal outside the resort, it's cheaper!Hire the transport from the resort, tell the driver what time to pick you to go back to the resort.
Good for those honey-mooners and madly-in-love!

kiasu

Is a Resort very different from staying in a hotel? My husband badly wanted to try Banyan Bintan Resort. But what I want is those '5 star hotel' feeling when I go there. Is Resort same meaning as villa? Will there be air conditioned room? With bath tub? Carpeted floor?

Please help to reply me, as my husband wants to go for this V-Day. I don't like the sun and sea, but he likes it v much. Should I give in this time??

banyan tree

hey kiasu, dun worry, banyan tree is a 5 star resort !!!!!! very high class !!!! certainly not the lok lok one u thinking of !!! and it certainly has air con. but no bath tub tho..instead it has a sunk in "bath tub" i.e lower than floor level. no carpet, but they have parquet and marble flooring !!!!

i think u and yr hubby wld love it !!! why not visit their website for more details ????

kiasu

Any difference between Angsana Resort and Banyan Tree? My husband says Angsana is half price cheaper, but no one here been to Angsana...so I am in doubt.

Oh, is that sunk in bath tub similar to hotel room bath tub?

banyan tree

hi kiasu, angsana and banyan tree are under the same management, BUT i do not encourage you to go to angsana!!!!

my parents juz went during the hari raya holidays, and they came back complaining like mad !!!!!! according to them, there is only 1 restaurant which is open, with no other facilities besides the spa....and mind u, their delux room has only 2 single beds NO double bed !!!!!!

but frankly, there isnt anything much u can do at banyan tree also, but at least there are more restaurants to choose from (to be frank you can eat at banyan tree restaurants even if u r staying at angsana coz the 2 resorts are juz beside each other) and banyan tree resort is much luxurious compared to the normal hotel rooms at angsana.

guess the only diff btn the 2 are

1. Banyan offers individual hut with own jacuzzi in every hut, more ex one offers a pool with jacuzzi. Angsana are hotel rooms. for me who dun swim, dun go spa, dun do water sport, at least i got to enjoy the jacuzzi whole day long at the comfort of my own hut.

2. Banyan is more high class than angsana. at banyan, everyone is treated like king and queen.

3. but of coz angsana is much much cheaper.

4. pls note that angsana check in time is 3pm and check out is 12nn....

well, you get what u pay for, but for me, i never regret paying more for banyan tree...been a great experience.

juz my 2 cents worth...

banyan tree

oh yeah..the sunk in bath "bathtub"....hm...i really dunno how to describe, but it is not an bath tub actually. it is a sunken area where u step in (below floor level) to bathe. of coz it can be used as a bath tub....its something like a small rectangular pool tho it sounds weird....

perhaps u wld like to visit the website http://www.banyantree.com/HotelsResorts/flash_hr_bintan_main.html
for more details and pics....

for angsana, visit
http://www.angsana.com/

ebot

The Banyan Tree in Phuket was fantastic. The privacy that you enjoy there is like no other. There is a little stove area for u to cook a little in the privacy of yr own bungalow. And the jazzuci and swimming pool are fantastic. Think u will enjoy it if you are the sort of couple who like to be alone. But u will need to sneak in food coz the food isn't fantastic there.

catz

Banyan Tree sounds lovely. I recently had my wedding and we went to Langkawi's Tanjung Rhu resort and it was BRILLIANT!! It's also a 5-star resort (like the Andaman and the Datai) and it's got a beautiful private beach. The service is really impeccable and best of all, the package that I booked included all food and non-alcoholic beverages, in-room dining too! When you're bumming on the deck chairs either at the beach or by the pool, the waiters will come around with ice-cold pineapple/watermelon and ice towels.. all on their own initiative. If you want luxe, this is it! They have 4 restaurants, all different types of cuisine and trust me, it is worth-it taking the all-inclusive packages. We also had a private bbq dinner by the beach, with waves lapping on the shore, only 5 metres away from our marquee.. we had a waiter doing our bbq too. Also, free aromatherapy massage for two and we had the use of a rover convertible for a day (they packed us a humongous picnic basket and a huge Coleman, plus towels, picnic-mat, cutlery...)... I really highly recommend Tanjung Rhu. Best of all, no screaming kids.. it's all very exclusive.
You can visit their website at www.tanjungrhu.com.my
I enjoyed my honeymoon so much.. just wanted to share this wonderful resort with everyone. Going back again for our anniversary and this time, we're staying for 8 days!

piglet

Hi Catz

How much did you pay per person and how many days did you spent there? The room with the sea view looks really good but seems real ex though. Which room did you stay in?

catz

Hi Piglet,
Spent around S$3000 for the Stay and Drive package which was 6 days 5 nights. I took the Bayu Suria (pool view) which was lovely 'cos we still had a view of the sea!!! Food was lovely... that's why I'll never regain my wedding day figure again...sigh..

silly

Always wanted to go banyantree but it seems so expensive.....costing US hundred over dollars....
but why is it tat u gals mention that it's only singapore hundred over dollars?

Pardon me for being silly

bijou

Hi Silly,

Probably the less expensive one mentioned is in bintan.
I went there few years ago and was down with fever throughout the trip(and felt better when I got back to Sin)and didn't get a chance to use the jacuzzi. The villa has got a beautiful sea view and service is good(treated like king and queen). HOwever, beware of mozzies cos it's surrounded by greenery.

Bijou

banyan tree

hi silly, dun worry abt being silly here !!!! we are all here to help !!!

i supposed u refer to the prices quoted on their website rite ??? well, its actually much cheaper if u bk from local tour agency, think they have what they call the agency rate which is cheaper than walk-in rate....

anyway, its $$ well-spent..

silly

Hee......silly here again,

Thanks for ur help.me considering a few place to go for short getaway after my rom in June.

Mainly koh samui,phuket or banyantree.
thinking of banyantree phuket..... go 2 place at a time mah....kekeke.....but quite ex right?

so where u gals recommend.

having my banquet in dec after tat then go for real honeymoon...so cannot spent too much yet

rene

Noticed that this tread has been very quiet for quite a while. Hope that someone will notice my message....

Just like to check how much does a 4D/3N stay in Banyan Tree Maldives and Phuket costs. And which travel agencies offer the best deal...

Thanks in advance....

sc04

Hi Rene, I think you may check out in the Banyan Tree website indicated above or you can check with travel agent. They should be able to give you first hand info on current rate.

Me also kind of keen to go Banyan Tree to experience the once a lifetime kind of luxurious lifestyle. kekeke. yeah, I know have to pay through my nose, right.

One nite like not really enough to have the feel and 2 nites seems too crazily expensive for such experiences! Dilemma dilemma.

rene

Hi sc04,

Finally i'm glad that somebody actually noticed my posting....

I've checked their website already but i know some travel agencies do offer cheaper rates than Banyan Tree itself, e.g. I went to SA tours, their daily rate for Jacuzzi Villa for Phuket is only US$350+++ whereas BT quoted US$400 plus+++ (i think).

so which BT resort r u looking at?? ya i totally agree with u that BT is really very very expensive but it's such a nice n romantic resort so can't resist....

so when it's ur wedding??

sc04

Hi Rene, me ah. looking at only the most afforable one - Bintan
haha.

You are looking at Phuket one is it? Does the costs include air fare? I don't suppose so huh. Add on the air fare and I think we can fly all over the world *too exaggerating*

I'm thinking of planning that for my ROM trip in June. Yours is for wedding? When and how many days u thinking of? It's gonna costs a bomb yah!

rene

Hi sc04, haha...me just bought a car so now also thinking of Bintan...hehe

I surf at Sunny hoildays website n notice they have a 3D/2N package at BT Phuket for abt S$2,296 (per couple), any ext add'l S$430 (this is Jacuzzi Villa - the cheapest). The package does incl airfare (Thai airways), daily breakdown and hotel transfers so not too bad lah as compared if you booked directly with BT.

ya, i'm thinking of going there for my honeymoon but might change mind to Japan or Perth, still sourcing around
If I ever go to BT, i'll be looking at 4D/3N at least. So u r not getting married (as in customary) yet?? when it's ur ROM and any plan for ur customary??

Wish u have a Happy n Prosperous Goat Year...Meh Meh!!!

sc04

Hi Rene, my ROM is in Jun and customary will be slightly later. So feel like going for a ROM trip. HeeHee.

Hmm, only intend to spend abt half a k, so that equal max one day for BT?

My other alternatives will be to other resorts in neighbouring countries. Then maybe can stay a bit more days but ta shiok lah, not BT

The package seems quite alright. Did you also consider Maldives or Secellyes (sorri, don't know how to spell)? When will be your honeymood?

Wish a lovey dovey Meh Meh year too!

rene

Hi sc04, Happy CNY to u tooooo!!!

ya, i think with half a k, i think can only spend a day in Bintan but never mind, maybe u would like to choose another resot which is cheaper and spend more in a Banyan Tree resort in ur "actual" honeymoon

ya my 1st choice is Maldives BT but after buying the car, we have to spend less in our honeymoon so downgrade to either Phuket or Bintan

sc04

Hi Rene, hmm..."actual" honeymoon, I have somewhere in mind leh.

Frankly speaking, only want to have a feel of how is it really like there. Too many days crapped inside that villa, can be quite boring. Wait me and HTB stared too much into each other eyes until eyes shot. Haha.

He not very keen in BT actually, not worth the money, he said. But that's my dream leh. Will try harder to convince him

rene

Hi sc04,

so where r the places u have in mind for ur "actual" honeymoon??

haha, might be true that too many days in BT can be quite boring but u can always go to the beaches and have water sports, massages, spa ,etc...but all these need $$$

i'm luckier cos it's my hubby that wanted to go to BT and i also fell in love with the place when i go to their website. just tell him it's a once in a life time thingy lah...good luck to u in convincing him

sc04

Thks Rene, am trying, almost there...hahaha.

If soft approach don't work, hei hei...

rene

Hi sc04,

hey u never answer my qn leh - where would be ur dream honeymoon??

just realised that it's only abt half a yr to my BIG day...feeling quite excited now

sc04

Hi Rene,
Hmm. I've so many in minds at the moment, Japan, Maldives, Africa...thinking of somewhere far if poss...How about you?

So your customery is this yr, congrats!
must be pretty busy. Where are you holding your dinner?

rene

Hi sc04, wow so many places eh?? Me, still thinking of BT (anywhere also can
), Perth, Bali or Japan. At first thinking of going to BT Maldives but after buying the car, quite tight so must cut back on honeymoon

now still quite relax cos my 1st trial is end of Feb'03 but will be quite busy soon....my dinner will be at M Hotel. Have u thought of where to have ur dinner and which bridal boutique to choose??

sc04

Not yet Rene. Have been looking through the forum and got some packages from the hotels. However, nothing concrete.

The thoughts of it rather fearful huh. So many things to do.

rene

Hi sc04, oic. aiya, dun worry, i also start off without knowing exactly what to do but i've got to thank my friend who recommended this website to me which has assisted me in making some of the decision thru this forum. dun worry when u r going to start ur preparation, can ask me for advice, by then i'll be an expert already... haha

BTW, did u watch a prog - Hi Life on CNA on last sat/sun. They featured BT Bintan...it's really nice n they show BBQ dinner by the pool, the food really taste yummy and the massage looks really relaxing...can't resist already

sc04

Hi Rene, sorry for late reply. Nope, I didn't see that on TV. Aiya, missed it! So, you sort of confirm BT already?

Thanks, will ask you for advice when time comes. Keke

rene

Hi sc04,

aiya too bad, in future u might want to watch this programme as it will feature certain items on wedding at times (e.g. bridal boutique etc)..

i've haven't really decided on BT yet, still keeping my options open..hehe
u're most welcome to ask me any qns regarding wedding

keep in touch o.k.??