Anyone attend a weekend afternoon wedding banquet

hmm

I would like to check on anyone attend a afternoon lunch wedding banquet before. And what is the comment from the guest and relatives?

Yah, i attended one at Conrad. It was solemnisation followed by buffet lunch.

Was ok lah, just that people came with paper bags (after shopping) and were more casually dressed (polo-T and jeans).

Think the relatives gave less ang pow also, same applies to friends.

The bride told me that she had to re-iterate to everyone that it was held in the afternoon, coz the mindset of most people is that it'll be a dinner at night.

this is what i am worry about, becos i intend to have my chinese lunch in the ballroom and not the buffet style. Can't get the date i want.

Hi....

Our Wedding was Lunch Buffet as Our Church Ceremony was on the Saturday morning.

The good thing
is: the guests were present in both ceremony & reception.

The bad thing
is: some of the guests will be leaving early as they have other plannings to do on their weekend. So we didn't have the chance to take a photos with those who are leaving early....

But still...depend on how close you are with some of your friends, luckily 70% of our guests are our friends who try to stay until the reception ended... so we still have fun with them on photo-taking on the stage...

Kezia

Hi Hmm,

Yeps, i've attended a Lunch Buffet at Regent Hotel(church ceremony @ 11am, guests travelled to hotel for lunch @ 1pm), and a Lunch Banquet at Marriot (service held in hotel ballroom @ 11:30am just before lunch @ 12:45pm).

In both weddings, the couples printed the dress code in the card - as 'formal' and 'smart casual, no jeans' - so that guests will still dress-up a bit.

Both ended abt 3-4pm. The turn out for both wedding lunches was good. Comments were generally OK. the mood was livelier than dinners.

The lunch buffet spread at Regent was great! very beautifully presented. most of it was western food so quite refreshing from the normal sit-down.

The lunch banquet at Marriot was like dinner - 8/9 course. we had little cakes for dessert. it was THE BEST dessert ever! we had a sugar high after that. hehe... the price for lunch & dinner was the same.

i thought lunch was good cos we had time to hang out with some of our friends (also wedding guests) after that - shopping, coffee....digest our food before sleeping. heehee... naturally we didn't eat dinner. the bride & groom also got to rest earlier.

the down side was that both was on a saturday. so some of the guests who worked on saturday morning could only attend the lunch without the morning ceremony.

Hi Orchid

What if the wedding lunch happen to be in the afternoon. Is it better than Saturday or worst then Saturday? Has anyone attend Sunday lunch before? Perhap can share the experience.

I always find that to have afternoon lunch it will be liverlier and relax as compare with dinner. And also 1027 also mentioned that ang bao will be less

i'd be having wkend lunch buffet at a hotel.
can i noe hw much angbao wld i be expecting ?
i'm more worried abt angbaos from relatives from M'sia...
pls advise if u can. tks so much!

hi hmm and vg45,

i had wedding lunch banquet in marriot last Nov. it was fine.

and yes, the ambience is more relaxed, and everyone still dress up for the occasion.

as for the ang pao, yes, there are some pple who gave $40... but that's minority. Mostly still range between $60-$80. i think it also helps cos most of my guest are friends.
i also received some very generous ang pow too.
enjoy!!!

hi mist,

tks 4 ur reply...
u hv any m'sian relatives/frens attending ur lunch?
how much did they give ?
mine is lunch, and a buffet at that, but veri ex lor..my hubby like it there.
if they were to give me S$20 angbao..cham leh..

any1 out there can give some advise ?

i can feedback 2 my hb...

tks all...

hi im goin to hold mine ,wedding 8course lunch at Marina Mandarin tis 3/4/05

at first consider buffet, found tat most food provided are not worth the price they charges us for most hotels...so decided to go for 8 course lunch

hi vg45,

i do have m'sian friends... they are quite okay, giving me abt $60 - $70 also leh.... but reduce muslims guests, cos to them, $20 angpow is very big liao... so having muslims guests sure lugi one.

i agree with penguin, initially i also wanted buffet, but after looking at the food, it's just like normal buffet we went, so decided to hv lunch banquet instead.

hi mist,

cham...all fr m'sia r relatives...no frens..
incl. children duno wld their angbao be bigger ?
cos buffet count by head 1...

lunch banquet fd def better, but me & hb prefer it casual lor..so no choice gt to go 4 buffet which is reali 'bo hua'.

any1 else gt experience ?

Hi mist,
I would like to know how do u convince ur family or hubby's family to have wedding lunch? I'm caught in between now cos my MIL is so against of having wedding lunch and most hotel's ballrooms were already taken up for dinner. My family and hubby is ok with it except the MIL. Pls advise and thank you.

HI kiki

It's the mindset of the elderly. My mum is very against lunch as well as I have the same problem like you. Can't find venue for dinner. And given that lunch is not really much cheaper than dinner and it's gonna be a very rushed affair for the two families. Ended up having argument with my mum for a week. In the end, I turn to my aunt for help as my cousins had done lunches before and she managed to convince my mum to go for lunch.

But after all the trouble, i managed to find a place for dinner (not hotel but country club) so end up having dinner still.....

What you can do is maybe get someone from your hubby side who is close to your MIL and feels that lunch is okay to talk to your MIL? On the other hand, maybe instead of hotels, you can also try country clubs for their ballrooms for dinner?

Thank you so much for ur reply. We tried alot of venues and most has already been taken up including country clubs....i'm somehow lost cos hubby travels alot for business. Well, my MIL is a clever wan. She had ask one of her sister (hubby's aunt) to speak to me and the aunt say nobody will ateend ur wedding lunch..blar blar blar.....I was so wrong that i never imagine my MIL could b so conservative cos all along she's kind of open-minded wan leh....jus feel sad abt it. I feel like suggesting to my hubby to forget abt the dinner and jus go thru the ceremony in the morning. I will jus explain tat i cant find a dinner venue and MIL dun wan lunch and there's nothing i can do already lor....Good Idea?
Have a great day...cheers

Hi Hmm,
I attended a banquet on a Sunday afternoon @ Hotel New Otani. It was the first time I went for chinese banquet in the afternoon. I didn't quite like the atmosphere. It felt like less formal, & too bright. The effect of the fanfare wasn't as nice compared to an evening dinner. It felt like the banquet would be cheaper, but I found out that she chose a dinner package cos' she said she prefers the dinner menu. So, she spent a lot, but people had the idea that it should be cheaper. Personally, don't quite like the atmosphere of daytime banquet.

hi kiki,

my mil has no problem with lunch banquet.... in fact she just leave it to us. it was my mum who has problem, but i told her i can't find any place for dinner banquet cos it's booked and we have paid for the deposit!!! cos my mum is abit like no choice loh....she not happy, but nothing she can do, unless she wants to pay for my deposit loh... ;p

hi ping,

maybe the lightings at hotel new otani is too bright... mine was held at marriott, and they have dim down the lights at reception area and ballroom, so it feels like a dinner. and my guests feel like a dinner banquet, just that when the dinner was finished, they realised it's still bright day light outside. ;p

it is true that everyone is thinking that Lunch is cheaper than dinner?
oh no!
i've having my at Hyatt (enough to cover dinner cost at Regent!)
anyone had attended Hyatt? how is the food and ambience?

I know my husband attended on at ritz carlton, and the lunch wasn't cheap. Cost over $80 for each pax. It was a western style lunch somemore.

The whole table thought $40-60 was enough to cover...who would have known. Cos they thought it was a buffet.

hi faith_joe,

Actually, I thought that lunch is cheaper than dinner too! I saw that Marriot had some form of promo on wedding lunch and it was rather cheap. I would think that the couple is saving money if I'm invited to a wedding lunch too.

Hi Ashley,
Actually not all hotels are having promo for lunch. Some can be quite ex too. My hb and I prefer lunch as we wanted something more casual and cosy. We also try to avoid the "traditional" yum seng.

hi, can anyone advise what to put on the invitation for lunch banquet to ensure ppl dont mistaken it for buffet?
coz i heard a lot of time, when it's lunch, ppl thot is buffet. thanks...

I have placed a $2k deposit with Qian Xi Restaurant (Hilltop) for 35 tables at Crystal Ballroom. Pillarless and high ceiling. Very good PERKS. I have to postpone my wedding and I'm willing to let go at a discounted price.

I have fixed it at 7 dec 08. As I've placed the deposit early, I'm able to get a better price @ $568 per table.

Have a look:

Special Wedding Package:

1) Free Flow of Hard Liquor, Red Wine, Beer, Stout, Chinese Tea and Soft Drink (Hard Liquor and Red Wine for booking of 25 tables & above)

2) Free elegant ivory sear cover for ALL dining chairs

3) free 10 pax food tasting

4) Wedding March & First Course Presentation with Special Effect

- Laser & Disco Lighting

- Smoke & Music Effect

- Projector w/ projection Screen

- Hugh Stage with LED Lighting

5)Multi-tier dummy wedding cake with champagne fountain with complementary bottle of champagne

6) Free wedding invitation cards with free printing

7) Free guest signature book

Total capacity is 65 tables

Interested parties, pls email to [email protected].

We just had our lunch banquet at Fullerton. The ambience is great, very cozy and relaxing and all the guests stayed all the way till the last dish and didn't rush to go off even.
We managed to cover the cost which we are vert grateful for. Had prepared to pay, must be prepared to pay because you are giving a treat to others actually, so don't expect much.Actually lunch doesn't differ alot from banquet dinner.We printed banquet lunch on our invitation cards but some ppl do ask if it's a buffet.

Hi Piupiugoh,

Im intending to have a lunch banquet at fullerton next year as well. May I ask if their service and food is good?

Any advise from those who had weekend lunch banquet? I'm feeling quite stressed because we are thinking of doing a lunch banquet on Sunday but we get lots of very weird responses from people. There are many who thinks that lunch banquets are ALOT cheaper than dinner.
Some even assumed we are having buffet lunch.
((