Anybody join Contiki, Trafalgar or Insight Vacation before?

just_engaged

Hi, Chummy.

Not sure if I am too late to reply. I live in the UK and I am going to Greece in the end of Apr for a holiday and planned my trip ala-carte. Saved me quite a fair bit of money. Also if you book via their local travel agents (pay in Euros), you might be able to get a better deal than with Trafalgar and Insight (which I was also considering). Let me know if you need further details.

chummy

Hi Stary,

What do u mean by local agent?? Agent in greece??

Do u mean we can just fly to Athen n engage the locaal tour from there?? Wld tt be difficult??

Coz I'm afraid of the language barrier n the timing constraint..

Hehe I dun mind if you can shre some details.. who knows if my trafalgar does not go through I need to source the other agent..

just_engaged

Hi, Chummy.

Yes, I mean an agent in Greece. It is like a package tour but they customise it based on the islands you want to go, how much time you want to spend and the sort of hotels you want. Benefit is that you can decide where you want to go and how you want to travel between the islands, e.g. air or sea. Also, as they do a package tour, ALL airport transfers are included so you fly to Athens and they will meet you at the airport with all your tickets and details, etc. So no worries. :eek:) (P/S: By ALL transfer, I mean, it also includes when you reach each island, transfers between port/airport to your hotel) But note that this is free and easy and no tours are included but I don't think you really need that in Greece. Alterntatively, you can also ask them to include tours and they will be able to price it in.

It is not difficult as they will communicate via email to you and you just pay up in advance when you have confirmed that it is what you want (similar to package tour). It is not the same as going to Athens and then hiring local travel agents for those so-called "day trips" as this is all pre-planned.

No language barriers as I have dealt with them and wanted to book but FH decided to plan it himself and saved even more. :eek:)

You can look at this website http://www.greecetravel.com. Fantasy Travel is what they recommended and I did deal with the guy and he is pretty nice and easy going. No harm just asking him to quote and you can compare. That's what I did with him and a couple others and his was the best. Note that they are a little slow in response. I counted and think they responded only every alternate day. Hee..

samgirl

My FH and I just signed up for a Contiki tour package on NATAS. There was a 10% discount for packages book during the fair so we had the discout off the prices quoted in the official Contiki booklet. We booked the European Vista (Timeout) tour of 21Days...after the discount and conversion from USD to SGD (at current exchange rate), it costs about 2.8 K per pax for the land package.

Since we wanted to visit lots of places in Europe (and probably in future then shortlist some places for a more in-dept revisit) and we don't know hot to go about booking the accomodation and transport, so we decided that Contiki is our best bet. Though we know that there's quite a lot of party going on at nights for Contiki tours, but we will be able to opt out and have a walk around on our own so I don't think it's a problem...and morever, since Time-Out consists of 100% hotel stays (and not shared cabins and camping stays) thus I guess it's more "private"...

One main reason we chose this package is tat it includes a 2 night stay ON TOP of Mount Pilatus at Swizerland...heehee...

chummy

Thanks stary,

I just got a confirmation from trafalgar. They have reserved the seats for us.
But I will extend 1 or 2 days. Not sure wheteher I will just go ard by myself or book another local tour.. will look ard

Wah samgirl.. u r so lucky.. how do u manage to get leave for 21 days holiday??
Which travel agent did u sign up during NATAS? I sign up duirng NATAS too

samgirl

going to bring over 10 days of leave from this year over to next year...since working 5 days a week so only need 20 days work of leave for 1 whole month :p

novia

<font color="0000ff">heh heh so no one here going to italy?

Chummy, when's your tour? Congrats! you managed to get seats.</font>

chummy

Hi Bride,

Our tour will start on 14 June. Still need to apply visa though.. crossing my finger tt everything will b ok.

me n my hubby decided to go Italy much later in the future :D

Our next destination will b eastern europe n Spain &amp; Portugal. U shld go to Eastern europe b4 they convert to Euro.. it is much cheaper now..

pinkbear

Hi Samgal and all,

me jus back from my honeymoon holiday in the ist week of March..oso took Contiki tour by UOB travel planners...my friend took and went in December..he said it great..another one took Insight..went in Dec oso...it oso great..

no regrets for it a very good tour....starting point London, went Amsterdam(Holland), Germany, Austria, Italy-Venice, Rome, Florence, Vatican City, Switzerland and Paris in France..happy with the Europe land tour guide..veri helpful too..

so it a wise choice you have made..and 21 days..it going to be awesome too..the 4 places which i really like are Rome and Venice in Italy..it awesome.. Swiss and Paris..Paris truly romantic to mi esp Eiffel Tower..the view is so amazing...

i am glad my friends recommend mi this tour..

fleur1

Hi Chummy,

Which airline are you travelling by? I was checking the SQ website and found that they don't fly daily to Greece.

Oh, I just realised from the "Catholic Brides" thread that you are also a catholic bride... getting married in Holy Cross?

Anyway, capella is the restaurant. I did not taste the food much... Haha... Too busy entertaining my guests. You will know when it is your turn. My guests like the food though....

Hi Bride and Chummy,

By the way, I have just switched from the Eastern Europe to Switzerland/ Paris tour. It is essentially the same price, just that I incur $100 switching cost. Less rushed itinerary and direct flight (SQ rather than Qatar Airways). Now looking forward to Switzerland and Paris.

fleur1

Hi Chummy,

Which airline are you travelling by? I was checking the SQ website and found that they don't fly daily to Greece.

Oh, I just realised from the "Catholic Brides" thread that you are also a catholic bride... getting married in Holy Cross?

Anyway, capella is the restaurant. I did not taste the food much... Haha... Too busy entertaining my guests. You will know when it is your turn. My guests like the food though....

Hi Bride and Chummy,

By the way, I have just switched from the Eastern Europe to Switzerland/ Paris tour. It is essentially the same price, just that I incur $100 switching cost. Less rushed itinerary and direct flight (SQ rather than Qatar Airways). Now looking forward to Switzerland and Paris.

samgirl

Hi Jenny...
Which contiki tour u took? And how's the weather like? heard it's very very cold...Many questions to ask you since i'll be travelling during this same time next year...can u email me at [email protected] or if u have msn can you email your msn email to me so it'll be easier?? Thanks alot... :p

pinkbear

Hi samgal,

icic..cos i thot you going in May..
my email is [email protected] you can email mi your qns..will try to answer for you..
..the weather is still cold at end february.. cos ours was last minute book as initally we got very upset over a loccal tour tat cant seem to fulfill its promise to central europe ..so my friends recommend mi this tour..you mean you can book so early for next year 21 days tour or planning huh..?keke..it good to book early cos heard got some discount...

i took the 12 days..total 18 days..extend a few days in start point london(we fly there early to check out the place)
and extend in paris, end point...(very worth it)..we din follow the tour back to london due to the extension...as such, we depart from paris, Charles Guelle Airport instead of Heathrow airport in London..actually interested in the 16 days tour but due to last minute booking no seats left..buy air ticket to london, fly sq, st flight to London...tat time was deciding bet sq and ba but ba taxes are costly..so might as well go by sq..journey veri smooth..vei good..

still need winter wear though.. france is veri cold still ...in fact, esp at the top of eiffel tower but no regrets..it so beautiful when lighted up....but i don find London veri cold though..Italy is ok , not too cold..i c my oz mates taking their trenche coat off liao..

21 days is good for it can do a comprehensive coverage of central europe...the sights are very scenic esp along Austria Alps..it breathtaking..i do tink my coverage was pretty good as it covers netherlands including amsterdam etc...bypassing belgium...

the tour was very mixed...gather point is london..my tour got 49 from all over the world..very interesting to be travelling in a diverse group...26 oz, 2 nz, 7 american, 3 south african, 11 asians-7 japanese, 2 taiwanese, 2 singpore(we)....it a very gd experience from the local travel group..pretty cool.....

the 4 places i mention above are mus go..cos for Rome, got the ancient roman history , the coloseom, pantheon, louvre museum..all mus go..venice, gondolas boat drive as Venice is sinking..city all in water.., paris, very beautiful romantic lightning at nite in the city..truly romantic in my eyes...swiss...beautiful scenic alps..but use swiss franc only..no euro pls....

hope the above are of some help to you..feel free to email mi your qns..will be glad to help you with them...

pinkbear

Hi Samgal,

as i have been to western europe covering spain and portugal before..i wld still tink the above 4 places are the mus go place..esp italy..so much things to see..

shorty_gal

I am planning to go Europe for my honeymoon in oct. Not sure how's the wather ther? And wher to go. Thought of joing the Contki tours but seem tat no one ans my calls....
How should i book the tour? Can i do it online?

ahyeow

i'm also considering COntiki tours but was worried about the itinerary? whether it will be very rushed and need to wake up super early?

aspialle

hi Jace, i went to Europe last Oct (mid), went to switzerland, germany and paris. Its more of autumn going winter v soon. suggest u bring winter clothings if u r visiting the snow mountains.Day time the weather can drop to less than degrees,so bring along ur gloves too.I book thru SA tours, the agent is good , tink they engaged Trafalgar

chummy

Hi Fleur,

My airlines is Thai Airways.. it is not from the travel agent, I bought from zuji.
Sq no promo.. so it is too ex :D Actually the cheapest is Qatar..but we prefer the Thai airways timing..

Why u decided to change to Swiss n France??
I thot eastern europe is too good to be missed..

Can I have the contact for capella btw?? YUp yup.. getting married in Holy Cross

Bride..

R u still here?? How is ur meeting with Lavish????

chummy

i Jace n Ah yeow,

If u r interested in Contiki u can contact UOB planer, Travelex os SA tour. They r selling contiki package...

pinkbear

Hi Samgal,

jus rec your email..will answer your queries shortly..

Hi Jace and Ahyeow,

you can try UOB Travel planners for i did my booking throu there by friends receommendation..UOB card 10% disount..ring them up or even better go down and get full booklet to see.. you can see online too..but personally asking the agents wld be more clear..waking up early ard 7 to 8 am is normal..jus like in any local tour groups..but the coverage is good..

novia

<font color="0000ff">hi chummy, i'm here
My meeting with Lavish went well. Very impressed with their professionalism. They were willing to interchange certain items across the menus as well. The layout of my church hall they also helped give some ideas. They're the first we've met so can't confirm that we will want them yet but they don't need deposit so they've booked our AD for us already. We want to see purple sage and smiling orchid next. Kriston and f*stre if we haven't decided after meeting the 1st 3 caterers. You? Have you chosen your caterer? A friend of mine got married at Holy Cross 2 years ago! You recep will be downstairs right? Nice!</font>

novia

<font color="0000ff">hi fleur, ya, how come you changed to switz and france? Eastern europe apparently quite beautiful. Sigh... now I also dunno whether we want to change to easter europe or go italy leh... do you girls think 2 weeks in italy alone is too wasteful? Or if we'll run out of things to see? Esp since it's winter time that we're going...</font>

pinkbear

Hi bride,

hmm..i wld say 2 wks is ok for Italy.. there are lots of tins in Italy for one to check out... it wld be a vey leisure and relax tour then.. like Milan, Pisa, Florence, Rome, Venice..etc..

but nonetheless, i tink eastern europe will be a good choice too ..budapest, vienna,prague..etc...so got to consider carefully..

i join a local travel group in 2002 to western europe..and the joruney covers every single city in spain..i wld say the coverage is gd oso..

so in fact, if you ask mi, both are gd options..

cheers..

chummy

Hi Bride,

Good to hear tt ur meeting with Lavish went well.. I will go to BOWS tomorow to check out the caterer.. n will visit LAvish the following wk I hope.. then I'll decide from there..

Well, from my personal experience, purple sage food not very nice. I tried 3 times, but for high tea n breakfast.. not really the heavy food.
But their presentation is good.

I heard from my fren tt southern Italy is good too.. so if u really wanna spend 2 wks in Italy u might wanna cover both the central (Milan etc) n the Sicily part.. Both r totally different..
2 wks not very long lah..especially for honeymoon
but u must check to ensure all the amenities r working during the winter..

novia

<font color="0000ff">hi chummy, i didn't manage to make it to the BOWS... anything interesting or good caterers you saw there?

Ya... southern italy is a good idea hor? Will think about it. 2 weeks is about all the time I can take for me leave :p</font>

chummy

Hi Bride,

I saw Gim Tim, Royal, 4 Seasons n another caterer I forgot the name..
From all tt I saw yesterday I will consider Royal most probably. Will make some time to visit Lavish n Royal tis Sat..

I saw Pine Garden cake as well there.. but it is so ex. He quote me abt 500 for the cake while Royal only quote me 100 if I get the food from there.. I guess I forget abt Pine Garden for now :D Coz Royal Cake is quite nice as well, the use marzipan, so it looks prettier

Have u got ur cake?

novia

<font color="0000ff">hi chummy, I prob won't be getting the cake from pine gardens if my hotel can provide the cake at a cheaper cost. Will have to confirm with the hotel closer to the date.

I met richie from lavish. Met him outside, you don't have to go down to their office. He'll meet you wherever is convenient for you</font>

vine

for those who is interested in contiki tours.
i would say do go ahead with it! i just came back from the tour and i should say i really regret not joining contiki tour in my earlier days!

fleur1

Hi Chummy and Bride,

Guess what? I have a very good reason to switch to Switzerland and Paris. It is because... I have found out that I am expecting... *Sigh* That's a bit fast, right? Anyway, God's timing, I guess. I have been suffering from morning sickness. I hope that I do get to at least go to Switzerland and Paris. (Eastern Europe will have to wait). Hopefully, I will be ok by end May, cos that's the time I have to decide whether I am proceeding with the holiday.

Chummy,
I had my lunch reception in Chijmes so Capella was the caterer. You might like to check with Stanley from Chijmes. His number is 63326272.

Bride,
I had a real wedding cake from Savoury Fare. The pricing is very reasonable and they do fine cakes for hotels and cafes. You might like to give them the design and ask if you can do the cakes for you.

http://www.savouryfare.com/

novia

<font color="0000ff">hi fleur, CONGRATULATIONS!
Don't worry, the morning sickness will be gone soon and you'll be raring to go! Next time you can show your child photos of your honeymoon trip and say "see? you're right there in mumm's stomach"

Does capella do catering for churches? Sound familiar...

I'm waiting for my hotel to give me a quotation for the cake if they can do it, might be cheaper. But savoury fare's on my list

mrs_n

Hi Fleur, long time no see.
Great news, congrats. Noticed that you've changed your plans. Oh well better not be too 'adventurous' now with bb on the way. Switzerland and Paris should be nice at that time of the year (should be warming up quite nicely by then). Been a bit of a long winter this year, not usually cold in April. Weather's been a bit weird, even snowed for a while last Sunday.

Hi everybody else, just thought I add my 2-cents piece. I've not been on contiki but there's another company called Topdeck, which does similar style packages for 18 - 30 somethings. If you are the adventurous outdoor type, it is probably worth going for these tours. My cousins &amp; I went on a camping tour with Topdeck many years ago, and we got to do things like white water rafting, hillwalking etc, not traditional activities we associate with 'normal' tour groups. You get to see the countries but experience it in a different way. My experience overall was a pretty good one, european campsites have pretty good facilities (some even have swimming pools), if you've never been camping before, this is a good way to try it. There were a few couples in our group, but don't think they were on HM though.
HM is a bit more special huh, and if its a good rest that you want after the wedding, it is better to go for hotel based trips.

fleur1

Hi Bride and Mrs N,

Thanks for the well-wishes. Unfortunately, the morning sickness has me put me off from the joy quite a bit. Feel like throwing up all the time. Ya, I thought that at least I will feel safer if I have to, to see a Swiss doctor rather than a Hungarian doctor. Hopefully, there will be no complications and I can travel by then. Hope that the weather will be nice by then too.

Oh, I did not have my wedding reception in the church right after the wedding. Had it in Chijmes so Capella was the caterer.

By the way, hope that you both have a good Easter tomorrow. I went to the "Way of the Cross" on Good Friday and I thought it is really meaningful to remember Christ's scarifice. Puts our life into perspective.

chummy

Hi Fleur..

WOW.. Congrats!!! :D :D
U must be very happy now.. dun think too much abt the morning sickness.. most important u'll have a healthy baby

I agree with u.. I'd rather see a Swiss doctor than hungarian one :p

Btw.. thanks for the contact..

Rest well!!

mrs_n

Hi Fleur, hope you had a blessed Easter too. Went up to Edinburgh on Holy Saturday to spend Easter with my cousins. Came back last night. Pretty tiring as we drove, about 5 hours each way.
Too bad about the morning sickness, hope it'll soon pass. God willing, you won't have to see any doctor, be it Swiss or Hungarian, while on your trip.

fleur1

Hi Mrs N,

Oh wow... Edinburgh! I love Edinburgh. Been there a few years ago. Love the look and feel of the city. It looks very romantic at dusk. Was there with Haggis tour...

Speaking of Edinburgh makes me miss Europe very much. Can't wait to go Europe, so really hope to go in June.... Prayfully, God enables me to go...

mrs_n

Hi Fleur

Yes just keep praying about it, its all in God's hands.

Thought this picture would bring back nice memories for you. Its taken from the top of Arthur's seat.

363825.jpg

scilla

I have been to contiki and trafalgar tour. It really depend how u want ur holidays to be if u want to be with a group of people age 18-35 then contiki tour will be good. But will be very tiring coz u will only sleep like 5 to 6 hours per day and most of the time will be travelling on coach.
While for trafalgar will be more for the elderly really relax and usually really nice hotels stay.
Most of all u will get lot of sleep.
Checkmate!

cathy20

I tried Contiki last year. Did the regional tour - "Simply Italy". It was fantastic!! The entire trip was relaxing - not much waiting... itinery was well planned and relaxing... the guide was experienced and friendly. All in all, I would say that it's an experience of a lifetime!!!

Any recent reviews of these three companies? I am looking at going Europe for my honeymoon in Dec.

We always travel on free and easy but because of the planning needed and lack of time, we thought we should go for land tour.

Valerie87

Any recent reviews of these three companies? I am looking at going Europe for my honeymoon in Dec.

We always travel on free and easy but because of the planning needed and lack of time, we thought we should go for land tour.

My family just went on a tour with Insight last November and the experience with them was great!
Trafulgar & insight are actually sister agencies from the same company. Just that Insight has better hotels and hence higher price. It's consider a luxury tour. Guide was great and the experience with the group more international.
Diff from local SG tour agencies whr they bring you to eat chi food and typical commercial spots.
Our tour mates were from all over the world, great for networking and making friends too!
Not your typical SG crowd ;)

Grace8

Joined Trafalgar before to Europe, I really enjoyed as the guides are very knowledgeable and friendly. Some activities are add-ons though, so you do need to spend more than your originally thought.