Anybody join Contiki, Trafalgar or Insight Vacation before?

chummy

I'm interested to join their package to Europe.. Any experience to share?? Do we need to pay the agent here in US or Sing $$??

Hi chummy,

I joined Trafalgar tours to Europe twice, in 2001 and in 2004. Really good experience although quite pricey, but it's worth it. I paid the agent in sing $$ I think...email me at [email protected] if u have any other qns coz I seldom check this thread =P

chummy

Hi Beary,

I'll send u email..

novia

<font color="0000ff">hi chummy,

i'm interested in going with trafalgar for our honeymoon. To italy. how about you? The prices are in US or Euro but they will convert and we pay in sing dollars.

contiki and the other 2 are quite different in price cos the other 2 are more up-market. pay more but accommodation is much better. contiki more for singles and backpack. At least this is what i think

hey beary, which tour did you go with?</font>

Hi bride,

I went with Trafalgar on both trips. They are definitely better than Insight coz my parents used both insight and trafalgar rather frequently before, and the later comes up better in terms of service, hotels and food. Contiki is really meant for youngsters = teenagers. The contiki group usually use the same hotel as trafalgar and the group is always very rowdy! they always end the tour day much earlier than us to go clubbing, and while we set off at 8 in the morning, they wake up at 8!! so i think trafalgar is definitely more worth it =)

novia

<font color="0000ff">hi beary, oh i was under the impression that contiki accommodation are more 3-star to 4-star hotels? Backpacking inn and all? is the accommodation with trafalgar good? they promised 5-star and above and that's why i thought they're more high-end like insight.

think we've more or less decided on trafalgar. The travel fair is in march so do you think it's too early to book for our honeymoon in dec? Cos there might be good discounts offered by jetabout holidays.

hey beary, how did you make the payments? In USD? the brochure they gave me has got prices so can i just convert to sing dollars? Sorry... need some advice here. thanks!</font>

Hi bride,

Contiki has a few accomodation options for you to choose, e.g. hotels, cabins, even camping grounds. All depends on what kinda travel style u prefer. It's definitely very youngster-oriented coz Contiki has a max age limit of 35. Insight and Trafalgar is more for adults and retiree. On average, on each tour the majority are retiree or ppl in their 40s and above.

Both trafalgar and insight have 2 different class of travel, i.e. Super Saver and First Class. The Super Saver class uses 4 star hotel chains like Ibis and Holiday Inn. The First Class uses 5 star hotels like Westin and Hilton. If budget is not a problem for you, then First Class will be the way to go. But I've tried the Super Saver class as well and the hotels are always good and clean, although it can be a bit small. You can save a few hundred dollars per person by taking the super saver. In my opinion, the hotels don't really matter coz everyday u'll only reach the hotel ard 9 or 10 pm just to sleep and wake up early morning to continue the tour.

The travel fair doesn't offer discount on the tour price itself coz the price is controlled by Trafalgar. But Jetabout bundled it with airfare and that's where the discount comes in... Also, Trafalgar has early bird price/discount. So the earlier you book, the more discount u'll get =) although the discount is only abt 5% or less.. hee.. still better than nothing.

Ur honeymoon is in Dec? That's right in the middle of winter!! Brrr...=P The price is cheaper than in summer tho..Trafalgar has special packages for winter.

I paid in USD. You can pay by SGD too but using Jetabout's conversion rate, which is usually a bit worse than money changer's rate..

Feel free to ask me qns. Glad I can help =)

fleur1

Hi Bride,

Nice to see you here. So, you are going to take up Trafalgar's tour. Most likely, I am going for the Cosmos' tour. Are you an UOB Card holder? I received this month's booklet on promotions and saw that UOB Planners have discounts for some tours including Contiki's. Anyway, when I called, they told they have discounts for Cosmos' tours too, so I am glad.
I guess you can look out for such discounts in the later part of the year...

Hi Beary,
Do you know anything about Cosmos' tours? I like the fact that they bring us to the various cities, but let us enjoy several days free and easy.

Hi Fleur,

Sorry..I've never joined Cosmos tour before. From what I've heard, they're in a lower-priced category compared to insight &amp; trafalgar. Cosmos is in the same category as Globus. Trafalgar is more of a premium tour operator.

U mean with cosmos you can have several F&amp;E days in the middle of the tour? That's nice =) trafalgar/insight only have either all F&amp;E or all tour. But they do have a slower paced tour where they let you have some time to explore the cities on ur own and only bring u to the main attractions.

Hi Bride,

Think I told you smth wrongly...I paid in SGD. Reconfirmed with FH just now.. He remembered we were quite disappointed with Jetabout's conversion rate..

novia

<font color="0000ff">hi beary, thanks for your input! I think we were looking at the first class trafalgar tours. After searching the internet for the hotels trafalgar will be providing, we thought honeymoon must have nice room :p ic... so the discounts are for the airfares? That's good anyway, cos we still have to search for our own airfares. Have to compare with zuji.com and see which is cheaper.

ya my honeymoon's in dec. I know it's winter but i really want to spend christmas in rome and new year's in another country. Sort of to celebrate our new beginning
Ya, winter much cheaper too. we like cold weather so we don't mind. thanks for your help, if i think of any questions, i'll ask you

hi fleur, yup, we've more or less decided on trafalgar, just not sure which tour to go for. Definitely Italy only but they have a few for italy. Really? UOB got discounts ah? But not for trafalgar leh... actually, this is what i know:
budget: contiki, cosmos
premium: trafalgar, insight, globus
globus is actually the premium brother or cosmos
all of them are similar to the cosmos tours where they bring you to different places but yet they give you lots of free time to roam around. That's why i prefer these europe tour operators than the local ones like chan brothers.</font>

chummy

Hi Beary,

I guess we will discuss here afterall..

Thanks for ur sharing.. I have more question though..

Can we pay in USD instead of SGD?

Also, do u think it is better to take this kind of land package than to take a package tour arrange by the SIngapore tour agent?
I'm afraid it will be difficult to arrange the airfares n meeting the gropu at the destination place.. wat do u think??

Hi Bride,

I'm thinking of Italy too.. but I'm also considering Eastern Europe.. mine wont b in Dec though.. mayb around jun or july..

Hi chummy,

If i'm not wrong, Jetabout doesn't accept USD. So have to pay in SGD and follow their conversion rate...

I think this kind of land package is definitely better than taking a s'pore based tour. For one thing, u'll be travelling with people from all over the world. The food is better too coz you'll have the chance to enjoy the country's local food instead of chinese food usually preferred by spore based tour.

Don't worry about arranging airfares. if ur getting the package from jetabout, they can help u take care of the airfare. trafalgar also have an airport transfer service, so when u arrive at the destination airport, just look for their representative. As for joining the group, what I usually do is I arrive 1 day earlier and stay at the hotel where the tour will start from. That way, the next morning you can just go down to the lobby and ur tour director will meet u there. It's all pretty easy to do...no worries

If I can comment on ur destination, I think Easter Europe is really worth visiting
I went to Prague and Budapest, both are gorgeous! Italy is nice too of course, esp venice. very romantic :p

I think the travel fair is the NATAS fair this coming march.

novia

<font color="0000ff">hi girls, natas fair will be coming the weekend of 25-26th March. That's what their website says.

Hey chummy, I would love to go to eastern europe too! I think it's so romantic, hell i think the whole of europe's romantic
But i guess we can never finish visiting them all so i told FH, this is not the last time we're going europe so one country at a time. he almost fainted! haha!

hi beary, so we have to pay jetabout in SGD? Do they charge a surcharge over and above the stated price in trafalgar's brochure? we're a bit worried about that cos the package is already expensive enough. Also, isn't it cheaper to get our flights off websites like zuji.com? Cos i'm sure jetabout will charge a levy if they buy the tickets for us. Did you get jetabout to buy your air tickets for you?

ya i think going one day ahead is a very good idea! Think we may do that. Thanks for the idea beary!

do you girls know if there will be another NATAS fair in sept or later part of the year? We think it's a little too early to buy our honeymoon package in mar since our honeymoon's only in dec...</font>

chummy

Hi ladies..

Thanks for the inro abt NATAS. Guess I will b there to hunt down my honeymoon.. must record the date on my calendar

Beary, thanks for ur sharing as well..

Btw have u found ur AD photographer.. I read from somewhere tt u r looking for one

Actually I prefer Eastern Europe, but my hubby prefer Italy.. so we will decide later based on the budget n the tour dates available..

Hi Bride.. dun worry abt ur BF... he will be ok eventually :D
My hubby is still complaining now coz he said I "robbed" him for honeymoon qeqeqe.. but I like travelling a lot.. so he understand lah..

Btw Jetabout is not the only one that offering Trafalgar rite? I think Chanbrother n Dinasty also has Trafalgar.

chummy

Btw Bride,

I think NATAS usually is twice a year..so shld have another one in the second half of the year.. but not really confirm ya.. dun held me responsible for this

novia

<font color="0000ff">hi chummy,

haha ya my FH will be fine but then when he wakes up still must pay :p i dunno about chan brothers and the rest offering trafalgar tours.

I hope there are 2 cos I don't think i will buy the package in mar. Will still go down to take a look though...</font>

Insight is having a roadshow at the Travelex Holiday Fiesta in Raffles Place, near Caltex House on 22-24 Feb, 11 am to 2 pm. Maybe u'll b interested

Hi Bride,
I don't think Jetabout will impose any other surcharge on top of the price stated in the brochure. About the airfare, ur right. It may be cheaper to get it urself from zuji or other cheaper travel agents. I never buy my tickets from Jetabout, coz there's this travel agent that I regularly use and their rate is always the best.

Hi chummy,
Nope, I still haven't found AD photo/videographer! There's so many choices and altho I've narrowed it down to just a few, I still haven't had the time to meet them yet.. panicking soon...So many things to do..haven't settled honeymoon matters either

If I'm not wrong, Trafalgar has a few tours that cover both eastern europe and italy. I think one of it is called heart of europe or something, I remember seeing it in their brochure. So u can have ur preferred destination and still make FH happy! :p

chummy

Hi Beary n Bride,

22-24 Feb are not weekend leh.. cannot go since my office in not in the city

I will check the package out. But another prob is we cannot take too may days leave. I think 10 days is max since we need few more days to travel.

Dun worry abt the wedding so much.. Mine is June n I have tons to do..I just settle my AD photographer with Benny Ang
Still have florist, caterer, cards etc
atleast u got 1 more mth than me

Hi chummy,

that's the problem with working right..can't take too many leave...sigh...how i wish we have 42 days leave like teachers :p

I never heard of Benny Ang actually.. hee.. Was considering between gabriel mendes, jon keng and segami. Will check out Benny Ang also then
Have u found a videographer yet? another headache.. hee..

chummy

HI,

42 days leave.. sigh.. I guess it is everybody's dream

I decided not to use videographer.. no money oready :D

I decided to engage a good photographer instead..eventhough their price is on the higher side.
I wld recomended Kuang from 39 East Images, Plushphotography (Kuang's student
),Mendes and Benny of course

Among the one I mentioned above, Mendes is the most competitive in regards to the price. Kuang's is the highest

Hi chummy,

Thanks...Will check out those photographer u mentioned. So is ur AD confirmed on 10th June? How's ur prep coming along?

novia

<font color="0000ff">hi beary, so where do you buy your tickets from?

hey beary, i would suggest mendes, heard he's quite good. Mine's Hilarion Goh if you're interested. I think his photos are really good! Guess you must make a trip down to all the PGs in order to know which one would suit your tast

novia

<font color="0000ff">hi beary, so where do you buy your tickets from?

hey beary, i would suggest mendes, heard he's quite good. Mine's Hilarion Goh if you're interested. I think his photos are really good! Guess you must make a trip down to all the PGs in order to know which one would suit your taste</font>

Hi bride,

I'm meeting mendes tmr...Heard good things about Hilarion too! Maybe I'll try to see him too... Thanks for the tip!
btw, ru using videographer?

chummy

Hi Beary,

Yup, now is confirm 10 June

My prep is on the way.. very lazy leh..
going for my PS next wk.
After tt still need to look for invitation, caterer n florist.

I'll send u an email.

Vineyard,

I have not decided yet.. still looking ard.

Bride,

How many PG u saw before u decided on Hilarion? Hilarion is very hillarious rite?? Guess it will b fun to have him around. He si my colleague ex PG

Hi chummy,

I'm also very lazy doing prep...keep dragging things...hee...yup, starting photographer hunt tmr..finally..been procrastinating 4too long. ur PS is in bali rite? tat must be exciting! ru engaging a local PG &amp; MUA?

How come u need caterer &amp; florist? 4church is it? I'm still looking 4invitation too..

chummy

Hi Beary,

I'm engaging Jkt PG n their MUA. It is exciting..but troublesome as well. Do u know a good place to do invitation card in Jkt? I'm planning to do it there.

When is ur photoshoot btw?

Y u need to look for invitation? U dun want to use FS invitation card?

Yup, my florist n caterer is for the church.

Hi chummy,

It's so funny that we're talking in the forum..hee..such a small world. was telling FH abt it the other day n he laughed so hard :p My PS is in late march. Yup, I'm planning to use FS invites coz I love the cover, but the inside is too plain, so need 2find a good designer and printer to do an insert. How come ur not using oriental's card?

Think there's a few good places in Jkt 4invites. I personally like Uno card. u can try weddingindonesia's website..there's quite a long list of invites printers..

Chan Brother's having a travel sale on 26 Feb in Suntec hall 402. There'll be a 10% disc for all Insight landtours

chummy

Hi Beary,

Thanks for the info..

I will try to go down to look at their package, but most likely I just wait for the NATAS.. usually they have better deal rite??

Haha.. yeah at last we r meeting here

Hey I never browse indo website before..mayb shld start browsing them :D
I went down to UNO card when I go to Tarzan but it was closed, I guess I will go there again. Do u know hw much does it cost?

Oriental only giving 70 cards. I need more for my church wedding. So I'm thinking it does not make sense for me to take oriental card n spent printing cost for 70 card n spent another time for the church wedding. As well I do all at once..

FS card is very classy, which one u will take? The one with leaves?

How is ur prep for the one in Jkt? Ur mum helping u to prepare?

Hi chummy,

I guess NATAS will have more varieties

As for the cost of Uno card, it'll depend on the type of invites u want..u noe ppl there like those hardcover type, very elaborate also..hee..think at least 3 or 4 bucks each.. is ur PS from tarzan?

I haven't decided which invite 2choose..hee..the one with leaves is nice, but there's another one that i like also.. I'm very indesicive :p

My mum's doing all the prep 4the jkt wedding by herself. Hee..feel quite guilty but no choice..

novia

<font color="0000ff">hi beary, yeah you should go see Hilarion at his new office. I can't remember the exact address but it's near tekka mall. Yup, i'm having VG. I hired The Wedding Paparazzi.

Hey chummy, I didn't visit other PGs cos Hilarion did my FH's friend's wedding and we liked his sense of humour and at the wedding, he really added fun and spontaneity! FH 'fell in love' with hilarion from then on and we just went with him lor!

you 2 know one another?</font>

chummy

Hi Beary,

Yup my Bali pics will b from Tarzan.
Huh... 3-4 bucks eh.. tt's quite ex. I was expecting to have $2 per card. Guess I will burst my budget again

I saw one at Jkt Intercon hotel.. very nice.. but it is abt $7 a card.. drooling.. :p
But cannot lah.. my hubby will nag n nag.. :p

Where is ur dinner at Jkt? Guess ur mum is njoying herself preparing the wedding.. dun worry abt tt

How is Mendes btw?

I only remember another white card beside the leafy one.. I remember the leafy one coz compare to others, it has the most colour
Have decided wat color for the flower??

Hi Bride,

Yup yup.. we know each other
Actually I know Beary through her FH

Haha.. I guess Hilarion is famous for his fun n outgoing attitude.. Good tt u can decide on him so fast.. at least u dun have to go through the pain of PG hunting

Hi bride,

How's wedding paparazzi's work? Mendes showed me a sample from mirror creation. I thought it's pretty good.

Hi chummy,

Think if u don't want the hardcover type or a very elaborate card, then $2/card is possible
shop around lor..jkt got tons of card designers.

My mom was just saying she's getting stressed out =P hee..

We quite like mendes. He's very friendly and I like his style. Will be considering him seriously.

The other card from FS is a single piece with embossed border. I like that coz it's very simple, but guess it's more of ang moh style of invite.. Haven't decided on flower colors yet. Still got a few more months.. hee.. how abt u? settled all the color theme/settings already?

novia

<font color="0000ff">hi beary,

wedding paparazzi's work is unique, that's why we signed up with them. If you like more light-hearted type of videography, then you should go to them. Their signature VG is more towards funny rather than romantic
You should meet up with them. I think PG and VG must meet up with them then you'll know whether or not you can click.

so anyone signed up with insight this weekend?</font>

chummy

Hi bride,

I did not manage to go down to Suntec. Yesterday was my hubby B'day, so quite busy with family lunch

Hi Beary,

I dun really have much time in Jkt to shp around..with all the jam, I guess only can visit few shops

We'll see wat we can find..

Btw tis is Hilarion new add: 29 Mayo Street #02-02
I can send u the price list if u r interested.
Who will u visit next?

I just settle my MU.. :D
So happy..strike off one more thing from my list :D :D

Hi bride,

Thanks for the info
will try to meet wedding paparazzi..hopefully soon.

Hi chummy,

weddingindonesia.com has a few card designer's portfolios. maybe u can check them out 1st b4 u go, see if there's anything u like. Maybe can help u narrow down the choices.

ur FH is in town? My Fh was asking abt it

I haven't planned which PG to visit next..hee..procrastinating as usual..not sure if i'll have time this weekend also, so many things 2do!

Which MUA are u using?

chummy

Hi Beary,

Usually my hubby will b in town during the weekend. But not for the next 3 weekend since we will go Ind n I will go down to KL in following wkend.

Haha.. dun drag too long.. coz after sometimes u dun remember exactly the pics tt u have seen.. so it is more diff to compare. Best if u can visit the photographer continuosly I think..
U can look at their website too.. but slightly different when u visit them personally lah..

My MUA is from KL. I used her service when I did my photoshoot there. I found her good. I tried one MUA in Sing, my housemate n my sis complain tt it is too colourless :p
I notice in Sing, most of the MUA follow natural style.. very diff. from Indo :p
Well, it depends on ur preference..
Who is ur AD MUA?

Btw I heard a lot of Fabian Lim for VG. He is quite famous.. he charge around $2900(???).

Mayb bride can advise better whether is considered ex or cheap for VG..

chummy

Oh btw sorry I miss ur question ealier..

I'm thinking of using black n red. I like these combi coz it is very different n elegant

The first I saw it, it was at Hyatt, they use this theme a lot. I just saw the pics at FS.. not bad too..
I will try it in Oriental most likely :p

Hmm.. u can try yam colour, not bad. Personally I dun like the pink colour. It looks very pale in the FS ballroom.. hehe.. I used to consider FS n Hyatt, so I went down abt 3-4 times to look at their decor :D

novia

<font color="0000ff">hi chummy so who did you select as your PG and VG? yes fabian lim is known for his romantic style of videos so if you like romantic romantic ones then he's the right person to get but he gets booked very early so you have to be fast and yes, his pricing is about there for a basic package. Heard he's well worth it though

oh and i saw the hyatt black and red setting before. Gorgeous! So nice! Heh heh wanted to switch hotels but FH didn't allow :p Very very classy combination. Oriental's set up is nice but i think hyatt is more well known for this colour combination. What's FS?

hi beary, ya do meet TWP and see if you like their style.</font>

chummy

Hi bride,

I did not engage any VG. Tts y I'm not sure the market price for VG

My PG is Benny Ang.

FS is Four Season, Beary is having hers there

Agree with u, Hyatt is more known for Black theme.. in fact not many ppl knows tt FS, Fullerton n Oriental have black theme as well.

Where will u held dinner btw? Switching hotel is expensive exercise leh.. try to avoid it lor..

Btw I saw ur name at Lavish thread. R u considering them for ur church as well?? Have u met up with them?

Hi chummy,

My MUA is the designer at Blush2..He does hair&amp;make up too..figured it's much easier than trying to find other MUA. hee..He's the one who did my makeup for ROM..Yup, ur right, sg's MUA like the natural style. I'm very worried how my makeup in indon will turn out actually.. don't like those very heavy and thick make up. so ur MUA will come to sg 4ur AD?

Fabian Lim's so expensive?? I don't have enough budget for an exp VG
already blow my budget with the WG and banquet. wedding is so expensive. really feel like bleeding money..hics..

I thought of using black too..but I'm very concerned that the dark color will make the room look even smaller than it already is. Think it'll work better in a big ballroom..I'm using crescent ballroom, the smaller one..worried that if i use black, the room will shrink even further. hee..anyway, just read in a US wedding mag that white wedding is in fashion again. so will think more when it's nearer :p

novia

<font color="0000ff">hi chummy, mine's at pan pacific hotel. ya lor, think i say only, won't change hotel. Pan pac's package is very good and the hotel's ballroom very nice also so no point. Ya I'm thinking of getting either lavish dine or smiling orchid to cater for my wedding recep at church. You having church wedding too? Still too early to meet up with them cos my AD is in Dec. But i heard lots of good reviews about them.

when are your ADs girls?

hey beary, i don't think using the black theme will make the room smaller. It's a unique colour for a wedding, very modern and trendy and if coupled with bright colours like red, the room will still look bright. but ultimately it's your choice.</font>

Hi bride,

My AD is in July..

I agree with u, black is very modern assuming there's no objection from parents &amp; relatives =P hee... I like the idea too.. can't imagine how it'll look like tho. my coordinator said there hasn't been any wedding in that ballroom using the black theme since last yr and for at least the next 3 months.. wonder why...

novia

<font color="0000ff">hi beary, i think it's because singaporeans are generally very pantang, esp the older folks. They believe black's a very inauspicious colour so if your relatives are the open type, then I say go for black. My in-laws are very pantang so I have no choice, if not I sure choose the black theme

My AD's in dec... still so long. When I'm doing my PS, you'll be getting married
So which one's your BS and have you made your gown yet?</font>

chummy

Hi bride,

My AD will b in Jun n yes I'll be doing church wedding. My office use Lavish n it is very nice :p But I think it is the premium package. Hehe worried tt their church package wont be as nice.

I did my WG n EG. I luuuvvv my WG :D But dun really like my EG
But nvmd lah.. not willing to spend more money to buy gown :p

Wah bride..U prepare early for your wedding.. :D
Btw r u by chance Ind-an too??

Hi Beary,

qeqeqe.. understand how u feel.. once u attached 'wedding' word on everything, the price will be triple

How much is ur gown cost btw? Does Blush2x also provide the bouquet, corsages etc?

Yup yup, my MUA will go down to SG on actual day. She will do my hair as well. Dun worry abt the one in Indo. Coz if u go with natural style there, ur guest will be more glam than the bride :p

My room at Oriental is actually smaller than Crescent Ballroom. I only plan to put 10-12 tables inside. More than that I think will b too cram. Hehe dun worry..if I decided to use black u can take a look to see how it feels :D

In Jkt now the trend is also winter wedding.. :p All white..

Btw in the new style magazines, they have the pics of the real wedding couple in FS ballroom.. they r using yam flower.

Going for lunch soon.. hungry :D

Hi bride,

My relatives r definitely not pantang...but not sure abt my FH's relatives..hee..
It's good that u prepare early. I started my prep 1.5 yrs b4 my AD..and somehow still got so many things 2do! hee...it's like a never ending list of to-do things..Time flies tho..b4 u know it, it'll be ur AD too. My BS is Blush2. How abt urs?

Hi chummy,

My WG alone cost me 4k
Blew my budget but I love their gown and cutting..no choice..Blush2 doesn't provide bouquet n stuffs coz i'm not taking package. Initially only do WG with them..then I add makeup/hair and FH's suits..more $$
broke broke broke..
Will have to find florist ltr on to do bouquet n corsages. Any recommendation?