Any Teochew bride to advise on bridal customs?

eevee

Both my HTB and I are Teochews but we are quite lost on what to prepare for the customary. Can someone advise me?

shyantiffy

actually to be honest... if both parents are not too particular & traditional.. mayb u wanna keep it really simple..

being a half teochew... i really stopped my mum frm asking what should the traditions be... cos 1 thing i cannot go with is that bride haveta be out of the maiden home BEFORE SUNRISE!! I dun wanna end up as a panda bride leh....

den some really very tradition ones goes into details of wat the groom should eat before the steps off to fetch the bride... heard its some kinda fish, ou hher, (black fish??) & alot la.. those guo da li thingy... those teochew candies la..

so i told my mum la.. I'm legally a hakka.. kekeke.. even daddo didn't expect the traditions (cos he dun even know them.. hahah) den she better spare me frm her half-knowledge teochew traditions... but to please her, I still go with her teochew candies tho..

If both u & FH's parents do wanna follow the traditions, there is a shop near yishun's chongpang area... they make teochew candies + the boss can really offer u alot of info in teochew customary. Below is their address & tel. no. Hope it helps..

Gin Thye Cake Maker
Address423 Sembawang Rd Singapore 758392,
Singapore, 758392
Telephone 6257 1566

eevee

hi tiffy, really thanks for the info.

Well, me am just findin out thou i do not intend to follow if it is too troublesome, etc ... E.g the getting out of maiden home before sunrise. That one even my mum objects ... haha ...

Teochew candies i wanna follow ...

shyantiffy

oh yea... personally I'm okie with the teochew candies too.. cos its yummy...hahahah

also watever u need to know & buy u can get frm this shop wor.. basically they have everything like those teapot set la.. even tam pui! hahaha... but me ain't buying those la.. like my mum wanna buy me the bedside lamp...den told her not to cos I dun have any bedside tables.. hahahaah

think the 4 dian jin... ur hubby have to buy la.. cos to teochew that seems to be one of the most impt item... i juz got mine today... but my is 4 dian bai jin (white gold) hahaha.. dun like gim dang dang stuffs,,,

sockie

Understand that the cans of pig trotters is needed for GDL for teochew customs to be given to bride side. Now I tried to find from the NTUC, i didn't find any cans of pig trotters. Wonder do you all have the same difficulty? What do you all do? Pls advise. Thanks

happinessbliss

Pig trotters are not allowed in Singapore by HSA. For my GDL, we are replacing with angpows for the pig trotters. U can go to those shops specialised in GDL stuff, they will advise you on how to do it.

jinnie1982

my mum juz told me to get out of the hse by 9am on my customary, butta my fengshui master say the best timing is 11-12pm. wat should i do ? OMG !

she oso told me to get those kind of teochew biscuits for GDL, but now wondering where to get them, any ideas ?

hi sockie,
i tink ntuc has stopped taking in orders for pig totters, seems like the china side got a problem again. tink it has been sometime, even the MA lIng Luncheon has been seen for ages. another worry.

sockie

Thanks Happiness&Bliss, hope to really have those pig trotters for GDL, as follow the traditions more. But if really no choice, maybe really have to replace with ang pows. Are u a Teochew bride? Do you have 2 hard liqors for GDL? Can we use back the tea set passed down from my mum for actual day?

Jinnie1982, perhaps ask your mum to discuss with your fengshui master. This kind of issue can be troubling, like my parents in law say cannot reach my hubby's home at 9am, and must come earlier, as 9 pronounced as "Kar" will take away the wealth of both families, sigh they are traditional in this way but they do not really check the timing of feng shui master.. What is your mum's rationale before 9am?

Not sure Teochew biscuit sold in Da Tong, u may check with them. Hope that the pig trotters may come soon to ease our worries

jinnie1982

my mum told my da jie n er jie 2 dif timing, my da jie has to be out of the hse b4 7am as my er jie is ard 9am ...

hopefully my hse area (near eunos) got this DA ZHONG GUO, dunno got sell the teo chew biscuits or not.. will call them for enquiry...

sockie

Strange, where is there 2 different timings? Did u ask her the reasons for the difference? Mayb u will know why she chooses this timing for u

Hope u can find the teochew biscuits.
Think for me i may get cake voucher to give away, as it's easier to deliver

jinnie1982

hi sockie,
ohhh ... i remember liao... my da jie timing is my ah gong choose one then my erjie, went to c the tong shu timing...initially er MIL told her can reach her hse by 11pm but my mum told her to leave the hse early.."early bird gets the worm"

ya lor, i oso wish my mum could decide on the cake voucher like Bengawan solo, hehe lighter mah hahaha ... but my mum being a half traditional teo chew ... no choice~~

verena

Hi ladies, i'm new to this thread.

Is it customary for teochew brides to give cakes/teochew candies to their relatives before the wedding? And how early do you need to prepare this?

happinessbliss

Hi Sockie,

Yes I'm a teochew bride(Sept btb)... My husband is a cantonese... For my GDL,my husband side did prepare 2 hard liquor, my side will use 2 bottles of orange juice to exchange. I'm not too sure if can use teaset hand me dwns... cos for us, we bought new sets... Actually, in olden days, suckling pig is use for GDL. But as nowadays quite troublesome to find suckling pig thats y substitute with pig trotters... but now since no pig trotters so substitute with ang pows lor...

Verena < the cakes given to yr relatives are yr 'xi bing" ... When GDL the groom side will bring "xi bing" to yr side (depending on how many boxes yr mum ask for...nowadays most people will go for cakes like bengawan solo etc... for more tradition people will still buy traditional "xi bing"...

sockie

Hi Happiness&amp;Bliss,

Thanks for your advice. Your wedding is approaching, may u have a blissful marriage

happinessbliss

Sockie,

I check with my MIL... she say the teaset yr mum pass you can be use for the tea-ceremony... She say usually a new bride will prepare teaset during GDL (thats for AD tea ceremony)..then will keep then pass dwn to daughter... so yr mother method is very correct and traditonal...

hope that helps...

sylmc

hihi, i'm new to this forum. Like ahblur and happiess&amp;bliss, I'm a teochew BTB and my HTB is cantonese

Thot I pop in here to pick up tips as my GDL is in Nov. I need some advice on suckling pig and wedding biscuits.

ahblur &amp; happiess&amp;bliss - are you both marrying off in the wee hours?

sylmc

Same here. I refused to leave home at 3am like my other teochew friends. But my FIL wishes us to consult a fengshui shifu and we were given 2 hours to finish the whole ceremony! So relatives tea ceremony has to be parked within our lunch reception.

Did both of you order teochew wedding biscuits? I'm sourcing for suppliers now.

ahblur - is your HTB distributing cantonese weddin biscuits?

blurbaby

Jol..

still not sure if htb want to distribute cantonese wedding biscuits.. cos his family really not that big.. mine should be bigger as compare to his..

mine wedding is next yr end so we had yet to confirm all these.. but definitely i will want to have some traditional teochew candies.. to pacify my grandma.. n i wana feel proud of being a teochew..

if i am going to leave my house so early i got to think of the charges for my PG, MUA, Driver, VG... i don't think it's necessary to spend on the extra cost n torture myself... but around 7 plus should be okay la..

sylmc

Just discuss with my MIL today. She said she also wants to distribute teochew wedding biscuits to their side of relatives ^0^ I delegate my parents to settle the wedding biscuits thingy. I'll just pay for it.

I also dun wan to leave house early. In fact, I'm getting the MUA to go to my in-law's place to do my MU for our solemnization and lunch buffet. For the morning tea ceremony, I'll be doing my own MU.

sylmc

Lucky for me, my parents are not very particular though my mum did insisted for teochew wedding biscuits over cakes. I'm thankful that I do not need to fight with them over the buffet lunch. This is definitely going into my thankyou speech

sylmc

no wonder my MIL asked me to go count the no. of boxes! haha

My MIL also asked for 1 set of pants for my HTB. said its a cantonese practice ^-^

blurbaby

my mummy also said that..

then she also said that need hubby to MTM one set of suit for my daddy... I was |||..

lost_in_space

for my case, my mum will just give angpows to HB to buy pants. :D simplified..

for the cakes, I just ordered, then just tell MIL the $$, she reimbursed us back lor.. simple

sylmc

same here, my mum giving 3 angpows to my HTB - pants (cantonese), shoes (my family custom) and a SIL ring

I am a purely teochew bride few years back ago.... Gotten my customary last year oct...
Perhaps my mum and MIL are all traditionally people in this earth.. But there are some things that they can waive and cant..

think thru, I left the house at midnight... becuase the tong shu say so... my point here is, if anyone went to look into tong shu, then no choice got to follow. if not, then just follow what u want.

Pig trotter in can is now available at fairprice also.... u can have it or not. up to individual.

As for advise, anyone can drop by gin thye for good/detail advise. but whether u want to follow... is again up to individual....

For me, my m and f always think that we should maintain this teochew culture. So teochew candies food are must and must sent to individual home.... It took me 2 days to get things done....

Bride to be, u decide. you and groom want a simple wedding? or follow and listen to what your parents say.

As personally, groom and me follow what our parents wanted it to be as they always say listen to them and you are bound to be correct. And they are happy. We are happy too.

girlstuff

Hi all, am totally clueless about the traditions! Both htb and me are teochews so I reckon this help to simplify things to some extent. My mum was saying that she needs to buy a ring for my htb but when my htb asked his mum, she says it is not necessary... Who is correct??

sylmc

hi sherley, your mum is correct. That ring is known as SIL's ring. My mum said this has been a practice since her times....

blurbaby

Wah!! so many traditions!!! actually each and everyone have their own traditions...

my MIL says as simple as it can be... i neber check on the date/time... as long as it's not too early.. should be alright??

grandma says as long as not leave house later than 9am.. should be alright...

sweetcyanide

ahblur, by right, teochew bride must leave their own house before day break... tats y when i told my sistas that they need to come my hse VERY early, they knew it... Teochew bride.. lolx!!

but of coz, if ur family is not that ban tang, should be ok i guess.

zljoan

nodZ...was told that typically, should leave house by 7am...but me family not that strict..as long as it's in the morning..and even then it's for convenience sake..heee

orangestar

hi all, i'm also a teochew bride and the master i consulted gave me the time bet 9am to 10.59am. This means hubby has to step into my hse exactly at 9am, and we have to finish serving his parents tea by 10.59am.. however, the most headache thing is my parents asks me to leave the hse only aft 10am, cos leaving within the hr of 9am is not good, like i'm taking all the wealth along with me.. best ting is i still have a younger bro, &amp; thats y they're so particular.. hubby &amp; I doesnt really believe in this practice &amp; we hope to psycho my parents thinking.. travelling from my place to his place &amp; finishing the tea ceremony to his parents by 10.59am is definitely a tough thing to do.. help!

happinessbliss

I am a Teochew Bride too. My wedding was last Sept.
Let me try and see if i can help.

Orangestar,
Double confirm with the master. usually if given a time slot between 9am to 10.59am... ask the mster is that the timing for you to leave the house or for your husband to enter the house?
For my wedding last yr, I was not given a time to leave the house, bcos my wedding day does not clash with my "sheng chen ba zhi", so my timing was quite ok. But my hubby have to step into my house to "qu xin niang" by 8.30am. You can double confirm with the master if you have doubts.

Someone was asking abt the ring issue. U can actually substitute with an ang pow. That is a simplify way.

orangestar

thanks Happinessbliss for replying. I've already asked my master. He has clearly stated that my hubby has to step into my hse exactly at 9am to qu xin niang, and we have to complete the tea ceremony to his parents by 10.59am. as long as we finish serving tea to his parents by 10.59am, its considered completed. even if we serve relatives tea after tat time, its OK. i've even asked if we could move the timing earlier to 7am to 8.59am but unfortunately, tats nt a gd timing.. even if it is, then i will have to spend more money to get the MUA &amp; PG in earlier, which actually, I dun mind at all as long as it can solve this issue.. so 'big head' loh.. hubby stays at North while me at East, so its hard to tell if we can complete everything by 1059..

jankoho

Hi All, i am a Teochew Bride too. Like to ask about the Long Feng candle. Do you all light the candle on Guo Da Li time or actual Day.

My Dad and in-laws have different understanding and like to confirm with you all.

blurbaby

i'm facing with problems.. may i check if you bought the red umbrella for your wedding??

i'm stuck with tons of shitty last min request...

eevee

my guo da li is just over and basically we simplified alot of things ...

ahBlur > yes I bought the red umbrella for my wedding but i just bought a normal red umbrella then going to stick the xi sticker on it.

lslyn

I a teochew bride too ... but my parents are more westernised ... so we only follow wat my MIL advise. I wont be leaving home in early morning, so no panda eyes...haha