Any teachers here?

poseidon_gal

wanted to try teaching..but i am scare of the english test.. i failed my GCE O level english.. got a D7.. make my way to poly and somehow landed up in NTU... i

Will MOE look at my D7 english even though i have a degree in engineering?

beldry

hey poseidon..u can try.. this one im not very sure leh.. but no harm trying.. hmm.. but have u really tot carefully abt teaching? life s really not a bed of roses.. im somewhat counting down to my bond.. hmm.. i dun wanna be a wet blanket.. but really, it takes a lot to be a teacher these days.. and i sometimes really question why i'm in teaching at all.. maybe its my school culture..maybe its the system.. maybe its me.. hmm nonetheles.. some of my frds are quite happy though.. no harm trying if u are really very keen on teaching.. good luck girl!

jacrudo

hey, hey, me also a teacher. been teaching for 4 yrs ++. I totally agree with ambush. Teaching is not realli like what others think. U realli need alot of passion to stay in this line...
for me, why i in this line.....
firstly, i like teaching.. (but getting more and more tired due to the admin stuff and always have graduating classes.. stress) also no choice, cant quit cos have to pay for the house...
my fh is also a trainee teacher for pri. i see him in nie also like veri stress... now wan to become a teacher also not easy....

mum2

Hi Teachers/Tutors,

I'm staying at Jurong West near Jurong Point. Anyone of you are keen to coach my son (P1 next yr) in Chinese, Maths & English? Or any frens to recommend? Email: [email protected]

alvamar

hi ple...i'm just half a year into service and i'm starting to feel tired out already....any tips on lightening workload or work stress?

kwlim

hi JY

why are u already tired out? usually fresh teachers like yourself are most enthusiastic...

your stress coming from which aspects? admin? ROs? Stakeholders?

cheer up, at least got school holidays to look forward though they are getting shorter and shorter and people not within the industry always think we start holiday the day their children starts...sign...

i was so pissed when one of my husband's colleague thought we had 6 weeks of holiday in december..and we only worked half days...in fact my holiday only start officially from Dec 1st, in between still hv to go back to prepare materials for exhibition to be held straight after x'mas. where got holiday?

autumni76

i thin, when tired out, must look what you like to do, to destress.
And, don't feel guilty about taking one or 2 hours to destress.
And when destressing, don't think about the work at all.
For me, i like to whack com games last time. See too much computer, more tired.
So now, i turn to things like window shopping, sitting in a cafe and watch ppl passing by. Usually i choose those super cold places to go to too, then got holiday mood. hahaha..

crescent

i'm thinking of teaching as a mid-career switch...

would like to know regarding the teaching subjects.. is it assigned to u or u get to choose wat subjects u wana teach...
actually i'm thinking of teaching home econs....

any ideas how do i go abt it, i have been thru the moe webby... but very little is mention on home econs...

tulipzz

crescent,
You can always inform the interviewers that you'd like to teach home econs. I've heard that nowadays, you apply for teaching online. Last time it used to be that you can choose the level ie. primary or secondary. So if it's home econs, it would be secondary.

crescent

hmm.. wat abt other subjects such as maths, science, english??

do moe assigned which subject u will teach or can choose?

i'm actually considering to switch after my wedding which is in Oct. so most probably i will only apply mid next yr after my bonus in the current coy...

selenal

u can choose, but might not get what you've chosen... according to my friend's experience, she signed up to teach Eng based subj but MOE offer her CL...

tulipzz

It's true that MOE do give people the opposite of what they want. I've heard of so many cases where the Chinese-trained actually had asked to be English teachers and vice versa. Usually these people don't mind either. But you can always opt out if it's really not what you want.

For subjects like maths, science english - if you're talking abt primary level, you'll teach all of these if you opt for English. However, if you opt for secondary, then they might ask you to specialise in two subjects, depending on their needs.

crescent

oh, i see....

hmm... another q... we can choose to teach pri or sec too?? or they will again assign based on qualifications??

if they were to assign, based on wat criteria...

sorry so many qs... :eek:

mshoon

Hi crsecent,

To teach in a sec sch,you need to have a degree in teaching/academic subject.(from their list of recognized universities).

From what I know,if you had got a distinction or B for Chinese in A levels or O levels,they might offer you Chinese in Primary school.

janey

Hi crescent,
there is a seminar on 19 May? I'm also thinking of teaching as a mid-career switch.. need to register?

crescent

need to check something from all of u... can we apply for leave/marriage leave during the period as untrained teaching before the NIE admission and hw about during the NIE???

also, what is it like during the pre-NIE posting as an untrained teacher, can i have the full detials please??

btw, janey, have you submit ur application yet?

alvamar

it is very difficult to get leave from NIE admin office. they will simply tell you off by saying that you are not entitled to any leave!
it happened to me when i told them that i got a HDB interview. they said that to me and i told her off by saying that you mean any trainees cannot buy house and get married? then she shut her mouth and processed my application

zenith

i'm interested to conduct a tupperware replacement cum sales demo at school. is there anyone in the SWC? or is there anyone interested or who can help me to make arrangement? pm me.

candy_floss11

I am also thinking of teaching as a mid-career switch, but planning for a baby next year. Will I have any problem getting maternity leave during NIE?

tulipzz

Hi candy floss,
You won't have any problem getting maternity leave during NIE. However, when you're in there, you probably won't want to take too many days leave either becos it'll affect your coursework. I have friends who were pregnant during NIE days. They ended up taking four weeks of leave becos they couldn't afford to miss too many lessons. And while they were on maternity leave, they had to rush to complete their coursework and projects. A friend's wife gave birth 3 days prior to an exam. She had to take a cab down on the third day to take an exam becos she'd have to adjourn another semester for that paper if she didn't.
Most of them who were pregnant during NIE days didn't do as well as they had like becos it was too stressful juggling both pregnancy, confinement, baby and coursework at the same time.

selenal

anyone has problem applying for Marriage leave?? I applied and was told by the new AM that i was not able to take marriage leave cos marriage leave (paid unrecorded) is only to be taken within a yr from ROM date. So those doing ROM and dinner on same day can only take leave after ROM date, which makes no sense at all, cos most of the preparations are done before the AD itself. This is something which i really don't understand the rationale behind it, after the govt promoting marriage and childbirth...

jacrudo

Hi selel,
it's a practice to take the leave only after ur ROM. i had my ROM last year and my actual wedding this year. Because my AD is more than 1 year from rom i cant use my marriage leave so i apply for marriage leave a few days before it expires and apply for UPA for wedding preparation (1 day) and after the wedding (1 day)

selenal

Hi jucrado,

really glad to hv someone replying to me. May I know under what reasons do you apply for UPA? I've tried to apply for UPA (marraige) but my AM told me i cant cos i need to apply for unrecorded paid leave first before I can apply for UPA under marriage. Even when i asked my P if its possible to apply under any other good reasons, she did not allow cos she says she needs alot of evidence to support.

I've actually consulted my aunt, who is a P in another pri school, and she said its actually possible to apply under any other good reasons. It's very depressing to know that I am not able to take leave for preparations, considering that alot of preparations need to be done for customary. The new AM goes by the book, all according to black and white. Prior to her arrival, my other colleagues had their ROM and AD on the same day and they had no problem with the leave.

furthermore, my AD is in the school holiday, all that i will miss will be the few days of meetings, no curriculum time lost at all. Looks like i'll have to take no pay leave for marriage.

lynntsh

hi all, has anyone taken or is taking masters? I would like to take up Masters in education(EL) but not sure if i will regret my decision. Any advice?

eve29

Hi Teachers/Tutors,

Anyone of you keen to teach my daughter, she will be in P3 next year, subjects English,Maths & Science (focus more on english), once a week on Saturday for 1.5hrs. I'm staying at Toh Guan Road(near IMM), if you have any experience tutors please recommend? Email: [email protected]

uiliz

hi jacrudo, i'm a teacher too. as my wedding and rom is on the same day, which is on a sun, from which day shld my leave starts? and what sort of leave are there to take? alil confused here

joyous097

Hi teachers

Hope to get some help from here.

I have been coaching my girl,p4 level for all subjects and she has been doing well in an elite school.

I am looking for a good sci tutor in the hope helping her to break thr the 90s benchmark.Just wonder, anyone know of any good tutor that specialised in doing psle science and has a good track record with students that has a good foundation and did very well in psle.

rgds
Joyous