Any teachers here?

bonjour

Hi puzzled,

i think i will reply to your friend,

"yeah, I'm not working PHYSICALLY in the office. But I sure am working physically at home, in mrt, on the bus, at the bus-stop, in the dental clinic, in the poly clinic, in the bank-----marking worksheets. SO, it's STILL work related to my career. If you feel it's what you say, why don't YOU try teaching?"

In my opinion, only naive and ignorant ppl would say such things.

whenever my friends commented that i'm having a half day job, i just tell them,"Well, since you are so envious, why don't YOU take it up then?" And mind you, alot of them are jobless. But they can recite to me the hardship of teachers and rejected. SO i told them to stop all their nonsense, which they did. These ppl are so damn childish.

Sure, i get bonus, with a cut every yr la. Sure i 60 days per year off, where i got to attend workshops, meeting, set exam paper, clear marking etc. Only ignorant and childish ppl like your friend would comment such thing.

In any case, if teaching is so simple, why is it that the most number of patients who seek psychologist help are teachers? ???

contract_teacher

Hi puzzled,

i totally agree with Bonjour.

Your friend IS very ignorant. I mean, come on, even though we get 29 medical leave, tell me honestly, how many of us really use up the 29 days?

I still go to work despite minor discomfort. Unless i fainted like i once did, else, i still go to work. despite sore throat, slight fever, cough, sore eyes, flu, muscle ache etc.

And besides, talking about that maternity leave, have you ever heard of the SAME teacher giving birth to babies once every year???? NO! This only applies at most 4 times throughout our life time! And to be frank, i know of teachers who are always having miscarriage, thus need a full year of leave to have a successful labour. With this, they get no pay. By the way, didn't know that male teachers also have maternity leave. hhahaha......

I once have friends who commented teaching is easy. So i asked about 3 of them to help me look through those MCQ and cloze passages. That alone, they took about 2 hours. After tat, they never dare to say that teaching is easy. HA!

jioupzy

i totally agree wif the fact tat teaching is no heaven and its not for everyone... no doubt they stay in the office till 6pm but once outta of the office, they can forget abt their work, they can even take urgent leave if they wanna but us??? wat abt all the camps where we hav to stay overnite (note: no overtime pay, no time off given back even if its a sunday..)
hols r the only time when we recuperate and recharge for a whole new term... pls dun say we r very free... it hurts when ppl say tat cos it makes me feel as though all my effort in educating the nxt generation has gone unrecognised....

anniesem

Hai teachers..
all your comments deserve millions of claps..
Why can't pple stop commenting how good lives are teachers having? Sometimes I really lazy to say anything.. jus gave some of my friends a weird smile and said " Like real"....
Haiz.. really hope more pple are over here to see what;s a true life of teacher?

loss

Juz to add,

Commented by one of my good friend who joined teaching as a contract teacher but left after 1 week to join the police force.

He said: "You don't need a prisoner to kill you, all you need is a bunch of Primary 1 kids...".

He came to school on the first day and was delicated with 4 relief periods of Primary 1 class. He tried to tell them some tale stories but ended up running around to catch them. In the end, he was able to continue telling his story only after grabbing hold of 2 tyrant kids sitting on his lap.

Friend out there....try it. It's murderous.

It's strange how some teachers complain here non-stop but yet they are still in the profession. If you really love the job, there shouldn't be any complains. And if you think that you're the only one with a hard life, think again. This is a teachers thread. Goodness!!

jj

Reading this thread make me sad and worry. No longer teacher is a noble job, it's has become just another other job that you do and get your pay, no more passion. Since like alot of teachers hate their job but out of no choice, stay put. Worst, it has become a place for those that have a difficulty finding job in this current market situation.

health72

Since you gals feel that being a teacher is so stressful, why not try out this job? Have you ever thought of being entrepreneur? Have anyone ever thought of what will be happen if you ever get retrenched one day? Have you ever thought of your parents, wife and children expense? Have anyone ever thought that while saving at same time, you can actually earn at same times? Well, in fact, there is such scheme which is getting popular in Singapore. This scheme has been strongly encouraged by our government. Economics is not really good in Singapore recently, so it's always better for us to start saving for rainy day.

Let me know if you wish to know more detail.

crayonshinchan

mint,
i believe tat most of the teachers here have a huge passion for our job - TEACHING!! yes, there are many complains here but wat are all the complains abt?? are they abt the children? abt the imparting of knowlede?? NO!! ITS NOT TAT!!!

A TEACHER'S JOB IS TO IMPART KNOWLEDGE TO CHILDREN AND TO IMPART TAT KNOWLEDGE, THERE MUST BE A PASSION FOR KIDS AND TEACHING...

in this case, teachers are just complaining abt work tat is not supposed to be in the work scope if we want to be able to teach WELL.. like doin reports, markin tons of worksheets and books, bringing them out for activities, the dreaded SEM!!! etc etc... SO IS TAT WRONG?? complainin doesnt mean don like our job. We need a medium to vent frustrations.

health72

Hi reader,

Well, what do you understand about MLM since you
mentioned again? It's actually not about selling but just converting DREAM and HOPE into realistics achievement of Health and Wealth in life. With good health and wealth you can achieve much better goals in life. Believe it, right?

lol

health72

this is a thread on teaching & we'd appreciate it if you'd not go OT here & start a separate thread on MLM if u so wish.

teacher

i agree with crayonshinchan. we as teachers definitely LOVE our jobs IN THE CLASSROOMS..but once you step out of it and are welcomed by loads & loads of non teaching related admin job, this is when you get really put off. my colleagues and i always wonder, why the sch cant employ part time data entry clerk to do the admin job. reason ? sch has low budget. we are even so desperate to the extent of wanting to engage one to do our exam marks entry out of our own pockets !!!! but do u think the sch will allow that !! HA!! dats why we always feel that the 2/3 administrators in the general office are there to lighten the loads of the P & VP, not really the teachers. if we teachers were to list down the non-teaching admin work, you will understand why we complain. remember ? our PASSION is for OUR STUDENTS !! (isnt that enuf for a TEACHER), not the admin work that comes with the job (hey we are TEACHERS !! NOT TEACHING ADMINISTRATORS !!!!!)

health72, thx for your concern. but as you can see, we are all TEACHERS here, INTELLECTUALS !! do you think we will buy your gimmicks !! HAHAHAHAH !!! hey, a good piece of advice to you, go try yr luck elsewhere and dun waste time here.

for those who are still not convinced why teachers complain abt their jobs, why not we do something very boh liao. when sch reopens, we shall all contribute a log book here listing down all the job-related things we have done for the day in sch and at home?? hahahaha....oh..dat shld be convincing enuf !!!

exhausted

Well Done! Teacher.

I'm a teacher too. Guess what, I'm actually in the school computer lab now looking after pupils who are back for CCA. What school holiday???? Holiday = Remedial, Supplementary, SEM meeting, stock taking (e.g. music room art room), COCKPIT updating, TRAISI updating, Level meeting, core meeting, non-core meeting, exam results keying in, trying to clear tons and tons of marking....before we begin a new 'mountain' when school reopens....

Does the above-mentioned involved classroom teaching (except for remedial and supplmenetary class)?

Hi teacher and crayonshinchan,
Well, I'm sorry I don't really understand your part about the admin work. To me, it seems bearable and although I agree it's quite a waste of time. But certain admin work IS for the welfare and benefit of the student population in the whole school. Let's not look only at our own class but the school as whole.

I usually plan my work properly so I dun really have problems of being so stressed out. Also, I guess I'm one of the fortunate ones to be in a school where the admin staff does a whole lot of work for the teachers.

I love teaching so I find it very difficult to be frustrated and have so many things to complain about. True, we have tons and tons of marking to do but isn't it also for the good of the kids and for ourselves too? I find marking as a time of self-reflection on how the lesson went and how well my pupils understood my lesson.

I hope those teachers who feel very stressed out will take some time out to relax during this June hols so that we'll feel recharged and ready to begin the new term.

Cheers!!

exhausted

It's not a matter of complaining about marking the tons of pupils' work but it's about if the admin work is reduced, pupils' work will not pile up and we've to mark them during the holiday. The joy of teaching pupils is reduced when faced with all the unnecessary stuff (e.g. SEM).

teacher

sometimes workload varies depending on the levels, classes and subjects you are teaching. so its hard to compare too. oso, not to mention the extra committees you are in like exhausted mentioned.

for me, i teach MT in a sec sch, my classes consist of 1NT (20 students), 3NA (20 students), 4NA (N level class of 35 students), 4E (O level class of 20 students) and 5NA (O level class of 20 students), and am in the WITS/ESSS committee, deptal IT rep having to maintain my own dept webpage.

others i believe are ceterus paribus. all teachers doing the same thing.

but i understand from my fren who is also teaching MT in a Primary sch that life is a breeze for her !!! she can do her marking in class, and walk into class without preparing for lessons coz the lessons are juz so simple and straight forward that need no prep at all !!! compared to us, or rather me teaching the above-mentioned classes, do you think i can do the same as she does ???!!!

see. this is the difference. and this is why some of us complain and grumble while others dun. well...some teachers are juz very positive abt everything. if not, where do we get those long service awards teachers from !!! maybe we shld learn from them...hahahaha....

another teacher

Had a dream/nightmare a couple of nights ago, and it lasted all of 2 seconds before I was jerked awake - I dreamt of PILES of marking waiting for me at my desk in school! hahaha... that kinda unsettled me and I think I better go and prepare my SOW and resource for my students... (that's what happens when there's no textbook to rely on. I teach English and Lit.) Guess it's stress, but you know, I STILL LOVE MY JOB!
So to those who think the teachers here are just a bunch of whiney, no-good, can't-find-a-better-job losers,
, we're NOT. This is just a good place for teachers to get together and destress by complaining (sounds almost contradictory, but aren't we all at least some of the times?)

teacher2

Hi mint,

viewed your photos just now. Just got a feeling that you were a teacher.

*Sign* Gotcha

tired_teacher

Hi Mint,

i suppose you are lucky you are in a good school. Wait till your school change principal, then you know. Or maybe you should try out our school then.

I agree totally with crayonshinchan,
We teachers are given work that we should NOT be doing. No doubt few yrs back there's suppose to be a 30% cut in syllabus or something like that. But HA! It's all being replaced with worksheets. I can even hear the children sobbing at times coz they can't finish their work. What more about the teachers who got to look through 40 sets!

And really, i think, so far, since i started teaching about 6 years ago, I've been a gate-attendant, security guard, admin clerk, road sweeper, clown, compere, dancer, singer, actor, courier person, receptionist, cleaner, coffee lady, computer repairman, video editor, cameraman, postman etc etc etc. i mean, ARE THESE SUPPOSE TO BE MY JOB????? I THOUGHT I'm a TEACHER!!!

Oh, forgot I also became a statue to be scolded be violent parents before. Juz because i told him his son got violent tendencey. He refused to admit and said it's my fault. Now, the son is brought to counsellors. HA!

Even this hols that i'm suppose to rest, i got to forgo coz i need to set exam papers, worksheets, clear marking, update TRAISI/workreview etc etc etc. I HATE SETTING EXAM PAPERS! And, the shops are selling EXAM PAPERS W/O gaining copyright from the schools they're selling. HA! Pity those teachers, their hardwork being manipulated by sale ppl.

To Health72,
you can forget about asking teachers to join MLM unless you know them personally. Coz, even if they join, they won't buy the products. I dunno abt other teachers, but, the teachers in my school, including myself, after deduction of CPF, and using it in household matters, I have bearly enough money left. Matter of fact, i wish i can take up tuition but i can't. Too heavy workload.

As for my school, really the never ending dreaded workload is terrifying. When

tired_teacher

To tell the truth, to everyone out there, the reason why this thread is responding FAST is coz, now is the hols where teachers got time to check out things for a while. Wait till school starts, you'll find everyone disappear. Disappearing among the oceans of work.

sad_teacher

I joined teaching coz i like the satisfaction i get at the end of the yr when i see the moulded form of the children.

but now, as times pass, i feel my health failing me more and more. i feel very stressed and tired everyday. i used to go to work with a happy heart. now, i go there, dreaded about my work. i find no joy in it anymore since i was posted to this school. i wish i can change a school but, it's not easy to get the school i want.

it's so tiring. few weeks back i had a sweet dream. dreamt that my desk was clean and i had NOTHING to mark. I coud just sit down to set the exam papers. When i wake up, i felt so down. Wish i'm not in a worksheet factory. and i really pity the children.

jioupzy

Hi tired teacher,

i totally agree wif u cos i only hav time to check my mails during hols or the occasional sundays when i'm really free.
i usually disappear when sch reopens though u might catch an occasional post fr me here and there....
my sch mgmt sucks big time but wat to do.... even asking for transfer does not solve the prob cos my P usually rejects any transfer application by giving you lots of crap reasons...

Ya, I think once the hols are over, this thread will just die off...

tired teacher,
My P also pushes us alot during term time, but she's understanding when it comes to the hols. True, we still have to go back for meetings, SEM, racial harmony day...blah blah blah but she still gives us the break. She believes that once we're recharged, we can work better. So will be quite sad when she retires... which is rumoured to be quite soon. Sigh!!

destitonia

didn't know there are so many teachers on this forum.. same like all of you here, what holidays?? when did we ever have a holiday? Our job is 365/24/7, just like 7-eleven. Even when on mc also think of what to do when we go back, how to help students catch up with the lesson they missed.
Just want to share my thoughts with all of you ladies, i was once very concern about not being able to finish my things on time, and because of this kind of stress, it affects my mood and emotion when i go out with my hubby and it's not very healthy cos my hubby will say "why u lian3 chou4 chou4" hehe.. and also when working keep thinking of hubby..i think i can't help it either. On one hand got work to do, on the other hand, want to spend time with hubby..sigh..
Then i read this phrase somewherenow "Live today like there is no tomorrow" It set me thinking...This seems like a good advice..So i decided to "Live today like there is no tomorrow" When i decide to go out with my hubby, no work will come to my mind, just enjoy and have fun like as if there is no tomorrow, When i decide to spend the day working, will tell hubby and make sure i work.. like as if there is no tomorrow..It works very well for me. I enjoyed and relaxed myself and at the same time, can get work done properly..and i know if at any time, i die *touchwood* i will have no regrets..
Just my two cents worth ladies..and remember not to be stingy with your "I love you" cos you never know which will be your last..

unknown

After being a teacher for three years and with my bond over, I realised that I have such strong urge to get out of the service. Not that I do not like teaching, I think its my best career move- I switched from an office job - but just that it is getting so tiring that I can't seem to enjoy the job anymore, especially teaching the upper primary.

I started browsing through the recruit section more often ever since my bond ended and really is in a fix. Should I leave, would I be happier? I really don't know....

ob-rider

Hi gals, most of u teach in pri schools?

I'm still looking for the following mid year papers for my tuitiom students..... SEC 3 English, A & E Maths, Science (Phy/Chem) and SEC 4 E maths

I have the following:
St hilda's - Sec 3 English, A & E Maths, Science (Phy/Chem)
Geylang Methodist Sec Sch -Sec 4 E maths

Anyone has any to share? we all want the best for your kids .... unless there are copyright issues / anything involved. pls advise

ginger

Hi Obrider

Are u a full time tutor? What subjects do u specialise?

I have Sec 3 English papers from Bishan Park Secondary.

ob-rider

hi Ginger, nice to hear from someone at last :)

yup, me full time tutor. I specialise in A and E Maths. Science and English is special favour for one of my students. I told the parents on first day that i can only help to answer the girl's queries in science and eng, but can't teach and i need to refer to her textbook for answers and she understands... she just need someone to explain the concepts to the girl.

hmmm..... how do i get the paper from u? is it in softcopy? do u want any of those i have?

kor

anyone can help me? I am offered the contract teaching position from MOE. My teaching subjects are Chemistry and Computer Application for secondary school. I would like to teach primary school. I do not know if I can ask for a change. anyone who know anything about contract teaching?

I wanted to teach very much but personally prefer to teach the primary school. I am afraid they may reject me if I told them before hand. What should I do? Someone please advice....
Thank you...

ginger

Hi Obrider

I am a full time tutor teaching primary levels for all subjects.

By the way, do u know anyone who specialise in Sec English?

I have no soft copy. Leave me your email address so that I can get your address and post it to u.

Hi Ginger,
May I know which areas you teach as I'm looking for a tutor for a P5 girl living in Serangoon.

ginger

Hi Mint

I teach near where I live. I don't mind travelling to Serangoon but my schedule is quite tight. I can only afford to tutor on Wed and Sunday afternoons.

ob-rider

sure ginger, please write to me at [email protected]

i do know of someone who wanted to teach sec eng.... but not sure if she still keen now cos her wedding is in a few months.... anyway write to me and let me know how i can help

kor

I would like to find out if there is any Chemistry teachers in this thread. I have some questions to ask....Appreciate it alot.

pink bottle

used to be for 6 years till end of last year. anything i can help?

kor

Hi pink bottle,

I have not touched on Chemistry for long time. As I am being assigned to teach Chemistry (Contract basis), I am a bit worried that I may not be able to cope. Any advices? Thanks...

pink bottle

Well you can email me at [email protected] if you want any specific help... what is your major if it is not chemistry? and what type of school and stream are you posted to?

kk

Like to check whether there are any gals in July 03 NIE intake and who will be teaching maths (sec)? Thanks

disappointed

To all teachers out there,

I want to switch career and applied to teach but was rejected by MOE after the interview. Can I appeal or should I re-apply? Anyone managed to get into MOE on 2nd attempt?

deeply troubled gal

Need some advices. My customary wedding is during school terms in Sept ( after the one week break) and I hope to go for a short break of 3 days after the wedding. Do you think MOE will approve my urgent personal leave?

Pls help...many thanks...

Deeply troubled gal

freshpoison77

hi deeply troubled gal,

i dun think trs hav any urgent personal leave. if u r referring to UPA (urgent personal affairs), i believe u r not allowed to leave the ctry while on UPA unless ur UPA was specifically granted for u to go overseas.

kk

Hi Deeply troubled gal,

For the customary wedding, perhaps u can try apply for UPA? And i think pretty high chance it will be approved if ur customary is within 1 mth from ur rom. I mean, marriage is something so important and the date is set before u join MOE, so i think they will approve.

For the 3 days short break, i dun think they will approve leh. My customary is in Oct which is a sunday. I have lessons on Monday. If possible, i would also want to rest on that Monday, but wonder how possible it is.

kk

Hi freshpoison77,

Supposed i go on an overseas vacation during NIE school break in Nov/Dec, so what kind of leave do i apply?

wormworm2

alamak ..maybe all of u should reali checked wif ur SA before dishing out advise...
As a teacher u r entitled to 10 UPA leaves and beyond, subject to P approval. As for ur wedding..YES ! u r allowed to take up to 3 UPA leave followed by unpaid leave if u wish to extend further... i wonder if the new generation of teachers make judgement and dish out advice without doing the necessary homework? If it is so, please do not pass this on to the next generation where they cant affort to accept info blindly without making a reasonable research.