Any teachers here?

miss t

A teacher here. trainee actually. now doing my practicum.. already scary, don;t know how to handle when i really start man.. i think i'll be horrified with the workload

t-hopeful

Hi Miss-es =)
May I know how's the workload as a trainee?

miss huang

A trainee is supposed to have half the usual workload... but its killing me already.

t-hopeful

Care to elaborate?

t-hopeful

what are the things that trainnee need to do (and need to do later when you actually become a teacher), your working hours (include OT), the good and bad?

kittycat

Hi T-hopeful,

If you're interested in teaching but aren't sure, you could give contract teaching a shot. Unlike a trainee teacher, a contract teacher gets the full load of a trained teacher and experiences the life of a teacher.

It's tough........

miss huang

You teach for half a day, but the "behind the scenes" job takes like 12 hrs. Depending on how hardworking you are. Preparing for lessons, and other stuff.
Teaching is not a half day job, rather, you do OT at home. Unless you have the passion and want to help the students, don't choose teaching.

atapic

Yes, if u have
1) love for children/youths
2) love for teaching

then go sign up to be a teacher.

I have the love for kids, but i kinda suck at teaching & classroom management... and sometimes the admin work, lesson prep does bog me down. It is almost a 24 hr job.. cos usually u gotta bring work (marking) home, and prepare for lessons, set papers, take care of CCAs, extra duties (eg Sports Day, Children's Day...), do work reviews, attend courses...
My weekends are usually not spared from take-home work.

Perks: June & December hols. Beat that!
Loving smiles from your children.

And I thot it was a 6 hr job too...
Not easy, but if i find investing in the lives of children worth it all... go for it! Pray abt it!

BTW, doing the practicum can be a very hectic affair. Writing detailed lesson plans for the observations can really really tire you out. And the need to impress your supervisors during observations adds to the stress. As a trained teacher now... I have more duties & admin work, but thank God, no more writing dumb lesson plans!! hehehe...

kittycat

And if you teach in a school with discipline problems, then you also "burn" lots of energy everyday scolding and disciplining the kids/teenagers.

t-hopeful

Hi all, thanks for sharing the experience! So far the experiences that I have gathered (here and from other sources) are quite negative, that really dishearten me
I *think* I quite enjoy working with children (not teenagers!) but I am also afraid that this is just "3-min hot". I have enquired about contract teaching with MOE before and the reply was that Contract teaching is not an option given to an applicant and it is offered by MOE to teaching applicants who do not meet certain criteria eg at the interview stage, the interview panel is not sure if candidate will make a good teacher. Hence, candidate is offered contract teaching to be tested in the school first before a permanent appointment is offered to him/her. Arrgghh, I really don't know whether I shd really make this big switch in career and moreover there is this bond.... *sigh*

miss huang

Maybe try relief teaching?
I need 6 hrs to do each lesson plan. So I could only do one lesson per day. Which means no weekend. Holidays also got things to do. But at least there's a break, taking away the 1st and last week of stuff.

Come support the new community leh! Whether u are a teacher or not...

http://communities.msn.com.sg/SingaporeTeachers

sheena

I'm a current teacher. Just 1 piece of advice to all intending to be a teacher - you need to be committed. If you are thinking of joining teaching as a temporary job, pls think twice. Otherwise, if you want to touch the lives of children and are willing to go all out to help the children,we welcome you.

It is no easy job but it is really meaningful.

PS. Pay is good too.

eunicetan

halo Sheena,

juz out of curiosity, how long hav u been teaching?

t-hopeful

Hi Sheena, yes I agree with you - that's why I really need to convince myself that this is for me before I jump into it. Thanks for your advice
However, pay is good? That's the first time I hear about this! All the comments I have on pay is that it's "ok" or "not good" ...

miss huang

The pay is good if your qualifications are high... If you only have diploma its not that much.

I'm a trainee teacher now doing my practicum too. I don't think pay is that good if you consider all the extra hours and work we put in. But personally, I enjoy teaching and that's why I joined. I was working in the private sector in the past and I took half a year before deciding to send in my application form. And I didn't go into NIE immediately too. I wanted to do contract teaching and I did it for another half year. So all in, it took me a year to finally decide that this is it for me. As for the practicum now, it's really tough and I've been complaining to my hubby that I'm losing the focus of teaching the kids. Sometimes I just feel that I'm going into the class to put on an impressive show for my CTs and supervisor just for the sake of my own grades. Sigh!! seriously can't wait for practicum to be over. And like what atapiC said, no more dumb lesson plans.

misst

dear mint, i'm also doing my practicum now.. actually, to so call 'put on" an impressive show also benefits the students at the same time. I'm sure they are learning as well. i think mine are.. so far, i have yet to make a single powerpoint slide for the students// relax, the teachers want to see good classroom management and adequate planning and proper delivery and most importantly the evaluation part. Don't worry, if you sincerely want to help the students learn, you'll shine in your practicum.

as for me, i got to practice more initiative in school events, coz that's what my principal wants to see. she's really strict.

sheena

Sheena's here. I have taught for almost 3 years. There are moments of ups and downs, just like any job.

Sometimes we will not realise that we have touched someone's life until the pupils or the parents came back to thank you personally.

The pay is more than sufficient to me cos' I don't lack anything with that pay.

F

fhorn

Really surprise to find this interesting posting. I will be getting my posting soon. Very excited and at the same time worried over it.

I really agree with what Sheena had mentioned. I had my contract teaching in two different schools. All of you must be wondering why two schools. After my first contract school,I was not sure whether teaching is for me. So when I completed my contract, I left the school. I found a job then and don't know why I ended up teaching again but this time teaching computer stuffs to kids in primary school. Then I realised that the kids and even parents from my first contract school, called me and wrote to me. I was touched by them and they even encouraged me to teach again. Then I knew and realised teaching is for me. That is how I had my second contract before entering NIE. That is why I agree with Sheena.
Sometimes we have touched someone's life without realising.

Somehow, I managed to survive my both practicums.For those having practicums out there, jia you! Will pray for you all!

To encourage those out there, there is a book which I read sometime ago. It is a collection of true life accounts which students of all ages sent to thank their teachers. After reading this book, I am really motivated to be a good teacher. Hopefully, I can remember the title correctly. The title is "If not for my teacher-- : a nation's tribute to teachers in Singapore." You can find this book in most of the national libraries under Singapore collection.

Hopefully, this will help those who are still considering to take up teaching as a career.

Hi fhorn,

How are you? We've not chatted for a long time. I'm doing my practicum now at Yew Tee Pri Sch. It's a new school - only started in 2000 and having their official opening this year. I don't mind being posted back to this school. The school is really big and so far the staff are all quite nice.

hi misst,

thank you for your encouragement. Good luck to you for your practicum too.

F

fhorn

hi mint,

I am fine. Handed in most of my assignments. Now, preparing for examinations. At least, don't need to go to NIE so often. Really hated the journey there.

So did having your practicum? So far how's everything? Hope everything goes well for you! Take care!

Have you chosen your bridal boutique?

Hi fhorn,

Yeah the journey there is terrible. Luckily for me I had a friend who drove me to school. Such an angel!

My practicum was very stressful. My sup is the nastiest person on earth!! But now no more assignments so I hope things will be a little better. I'm left with two more observations.

Yes, I have chosen my bridal boutique - Silhouette. Will be starting my first designing session on Monday. so excited.

Heard that the school posting will be out in early may. good luck to you!!

F

fhorn

Hi, Mint

School posting will be out. Very exciting but got to settle exams first. You will be getting your posting as well, right? Good luck to U too!

Remember to inform us abt your first appointment with your bridal shop. As for myself, I have already designed my gowns already. Will go for first trial after exams.

miss t

my sup is not too bad but my SCM is horrible!!! She actually asked me to step outside and then told the class i just taught that my methods were horrible and that she had just failed me for that observation. I was damn pissed!! I mean, tell me where i've gone wrong lah, what for tell my s tudents? totally lost face in front of them, now they only see me as incompetent .being a trainee sucks

atapic

Which SCM is that?!? It's ridiculous behavour... and plain mean.

miss huang

That's a horrible SCM... SCM should be more professional... I heard of CT doing that though... Haiz... Guess there are all kinds of teachers around...

passion

Hi Miss T

I am also a teacher. I was in the same shoe last year but I was lucky as I have very good CT and NIE colleagues. I am shocked to hear what had happened to you. you can actually write to trainee teacher's unit and complain. STAND UP for Your rights. MOE will not condone such behaviour. SCM is suppose to help trainees and not demoralise and humailiate them IN FRONT of students.

F

fhorn

Hi Ms T & passion fruit

I think better don't complain. I am worry that MOE will blacklist you and will not be good for your career. Just a concern.
Since it is already over, just try and try to forget about it. Just tell yourself that you will not do such things to new trainee teachers if you have any under your wings next time.

Lastly, pray you will not be post back to that nasty school to meet that horrible person again.

All the best for your exams!

eunicetan

halo all,

any of u tinkin of inviting ur kids to ur wedding? my ex-kids whom i taught 2 yrs back kept insistin tat i invite them to my wedding. they were P2s when i taught them. tat yr was my first yr teaching n i had the most adorable class
i was thinkin maybe can get them as flower gals
but mine is not a church wedding, juz the normal dinner banquet. then if i invite them, does tat mean i gotta invite their parents as well?? wouldnt tat be very strange?

missuskoh

Hi eunicetan & all,

I am considering the same thing! I teach in a Sec schoool and my first form class graduated last yr. And they hv been pestering me to invite them to my wedding dinner. I won't mind inviting them, after all, they are genuinely happy for me. But I attended a colleague's wedding last yr and he invited his then form class, newly graduated too. And the feeling was a bit uneasy for us guests, coz you are supposed to relax and enjoy yourself, and your ex-students are seated at the next table, observing your dressing and behaviour. I felt a bit awkward, so dunno want to put my colleagues through the same thing again.

miss huang

Why not have a separate party for them? A small gathering or something...

miss t

hi, miss t here

actually, the incident happened abt 2 weeks ago and i complained to my supervisor as i was so upset... and until now, that SCM has not given any formal debrief of that session.. SURE is taking her own sweet time, ( as if I'm interested to hear her comments)

think i may just fail practicum, school weightage is higher than NIE supervisor's voice. sigh.. what to do.. just very suay to have to do my practicum here

actually time has healed the wounds somewhat just that i have not taken any initiative to talk to that bitch. i just try to get out of her and the principal's way. it has been stressful here, crying every other day. not becoz of the students who are wonderful but pressure from colleagues and principal( VERY ON TYPE)

my sup advised me not to ask the principal anything. i also don't want to do any formal complains, my sup has agreed to look into the matter. but i think justice will never be done. if i win the lottery, i'll surely pay off my bond and get out of teaching

eunicetan

halo miss t,

real sorry for wat u r facing now. hope tat ur supervisor would be understanding eno' n willing to stand up for u. meanwhile, juz bear with it until practicum is over n when u complete ur training, i hope tat u would be sent to another sch.

i was like u, hoping to strike lottery n then get myself out of the bond during my first yr but time flies so fast tat it's now my last yr of bond. we cant really afford to break the bond so might as well juz make do with it

eunicetan

halo missuskoh n Miss Huang,

hmm...a separate gathering seems plausible
but where n when to hold one? should i get my hubby along? maybe invite a few of them to my house?

atapic

miss t,
If u are really serious about not coming back to this school, please QUICKLY write a letter and make an appointment with the principal of any school that you'd rather be in. Ask that this principal request for you before the school posting comes out. Don't do it too late, else there'd be little chance that you can swop already. Is the online swopping service still available?

miss t

huh?? what online swapping servicec? problem is that i don't have any school in mind. My alma mater is an independent sch and i have no intentions of returning. thinking of a school near the aljunied /kallang/eunos/bedok area.. any suggestionss?

miss t

mine is an honours degree is humanities. does any school have openings or very in need of teachers in humanities in the east area? the existing sch i'm in has 4 humanities teachers including HOD and that is already considered as quota reached.

eunicetan

in fact MOE is going to allow teachers to apply for transfer online soon. as long as the sch tat u'r applying for accepts ur application, u'll be able to transfer. u can even apply in advance for up to a couple of yrs i tink.

atapic

It's some online thingy that i did last year (May i think?) I was posted back to my practicum school, but I hated to walk for 9min, take LRT (now u know where i stay!), then change to MRT, then finally catch a bus. It's crazy. I ended up taking cab everyday to school for 5 bucks.

Anyway, I found someone who was posted to my current school, and he didn't want to be here. So with the online swopping service, we posted our schools of choice in the bulletin board, and it matched, so we made the swop after informing the NIE (or issit MOE?) office. Last i heard, he was happy there, and i'm pretty okay with my current school too.
Btw, you need a password to access it i think. I think it's Teacher's Network or something like that.

I was from the PGDE (pri) programme, so sorry, can't help u with sec sch areas of choices, esp. in the east zone.

best wishes & God bless!

miss huang

Hmmm... never knew of such a thing... maybe after we become full fledge teachers then we will know.

Hi Miss Huang,

I think all trainee teachers have the passwords to the Teacher's Network. It was mailed to us so maybe you can try to log on to check it out.

Hi miss t,

Didn't know your SCM can be so mean... I thought my sup was horrible. I really cursed and swore after my first observation. I was hopping mad cos during the pre-practicum briefing, he said that it was ok for some noise during group work but he said my class was too noisy during the debrief. I felt that they were well-behaved. grrrr!!!

It's not true that school weightage is higher than nie sup. My sup actually forced my SCM to change a trainee's grade just because he screwed up his own timetable. He couldn't make it time to arrange for a moderator to observe the trainee so he forced the SCM and the principal to change the grade. Guess your sup needs to be more firm in order to help you. You can actually tell your sup about this matter and let him handle it. Sups are supposed to help trainees. Maybe you can also email to Dr Angela Wong. She's quite nice and should be able to help you.

Well to all the PGDE trainees out there, hang in there...two more weeks to go and counting down!! yay!!

miss t

mint, my sup came for my second ob and during the debrief, he told methat the school has been kind for not calling in a moderator or threatening to fail me. somehow i think i spooked my sup, caused him to think that things were THAT BAD.. maybe not lor.. anyway,i've decided to be on my best behaviour these next two weeks and i gotta get all my lesson plans ready by fri!! and practicum file! when do you have to get your practicum file ready?

miss huang

Er, what's the web site address of teacher's network?
For the trainees having exams... good luck... Hope I can survive this last term.

daffy

hi all trainees

i am actually looking forward to the NE excursions... that means our practicum has come to an end. mean while, we just have to bear with all the hardship. but i just can't help but feel so depressed when i think of the pending assignments and exam.... arggggggg!

best wishes

Hi miss t,

My practicum file is due this thursday (one day earlier than yours) and luckily for me, this week, I don't have lessons (cos of revision) so can concentrate on doing a good job for it.

Wah, your sup is really just as bad. I guess he's just afraid of getting into more problems and trouble cos he may need to write a lengthy report just to help you. Talk about being role models!! Huh!!

Never mind lah, just hang in there!! Next week got 1 day public holiday!! yay!!

mandy

hi all teachers here,

sorry, but i just need to check something.

my nephew is in primary 2 this yr. he is suppose to have his exam thsi week. however, the poor him has Hands Foot Mouth Diease and the doctor has inform the school abt it. Therefore he cannot go to school to take his exam. we were told by his school that there will be no retake and he will get Zero for all the papers he miss.

Then my questions is, can't the school let him retake or may any special arrangements for him?? does that mean that he will get zero and then affect his yr end results which will in turn affect his "band" issue? is this is the case, then i dun think it is very fair.

kindly let me know wat is the norm in such cases. We are all very worried and my nephew is crying very badly cos he say he dont want to get zero. poor thing.

pls help!!

mandy

atapic

Mandy: Logically speaking, if the school insists on giving him zeros becos he isn't able to take the papers (which is no fault of his), then this SA1 grades shouldn't be taken into account at the end of the year (SA2--which takes into account CA1, SA1, CA2 and SA2 results). By right, the school should be keying in the results for his CA1, CA2 and SA2 results only for the year end results. So these 3 exams will take a bigger percentage of his overall grades than others who have 4 exams.

Why not just clarify with the HODs or Principal? Just go to the school and have a good chat with them. They usually oblige.