Any Singaporeans Staying In Overseas

mrs_n

Hi missy, I'm in UK but not in London though. London is an interesting and exciting place to stay and definitely the place to be if you're looking for jobs/study. Beginning to realise this now that I'm starting to look for work, all the jobs are down South! Too bad that we are in the North. But its nice living here though, air is cleaner and also less expensive than London.

missmissy

Hi Mrs N, I'm quite bad with direction. You said you are in North, do you mean Birmingham or further. So what are you doing in UK?
It was quite bad when I was first here. Hated and still hate the cold weather. Yah. the place is expensive. I', staying in a 1 bed flat with my husband. Though it's away from city, but still expensive and takes a long time to travel to work. So we are moving nearer to our work place, but have to share a house with 6 other pple. Hope it will turn out well.
What do you normally do when you are free?

mrs_n

Hi Missy I'm much further North and more East than Birmingham. My husband & I lived in a village called North Wheatley just outside a town called Retford (about 45 mins East of Sheffield). I came to Sheffield to do a PhD and ended up marrying an Englishman. Just finished my course last November and got my permit to stay (& work) in January. So now I'm just trying to find something. But not so easy as I don't live in a big city and buses from the village to the nearest town is rather infrequent about 1 every 2 hours. My husband drives to work so basically I'm stuck at home everyday. Apart from housework and cooking (& surfing the net) I try to occupy myself by doing some craft work (hoping to sell it on ebay or something). Hopefully can get a car soon so I can be a bit more mobile and perhaps finding even a part-time job would be easier. My choice is rather limited to the Yorkshire area, hubby not in favour of me working further than that.

Yah, the weather is still very cold. Normally it should start to get a bit warmer in March but at the moment it doesn't seem to be the case. How long have you been in London? Good luck with the house-sharing. 6 people is quite a crowd are they all couples?

missmissy

Hi Mrs N,
I can understand how you feel. when i was first in london, was idling for 2 months b4 i got a job. What's your Phd abt? With such high quali, maybe that's y it's hard to find a job there. how many yrs/mths have u been in UK? Wat ur husband's occupation? pardon me for being kaypoh... just thought might be nice to get to know pple in a foreign land. who knows, next time if you come london, you can come my place for dinner and get to know more friends. being abroad really need alot of friends. Somehow, i just can't seems to be close friends with the westerners. might be culture diff. maybe you could email me and keep in touch. my email is [email protected]

mrs_n

Hi Missy That's great will keep in touch. I'll email you.

frosty

Hi, my situation is reverse. I was in the States for 14 years. Just returned back to Singapore for permanent stay about five months ago. Still trying to adjust my life back to Singapore pace and trying to re-establish myself.

mrs_n

Hi Angela, it must be tough getting used to the singapore weather and lifestyle again. Yeah 14 years is a long time. What made you come back?

Good morning Missy!

missmissy

Morning Mrs N.
Had a full breakfast. some more, a colleague's bday and he brought alot of cookies, muffins and fruits in. though i had my breakfast, i still went to take some for snacks later. kiasu sporean.
found it strange when i heard a colleague said a big cookies can last her the whole day. It makes me wonder m i a big eater. I noticed the westerners normally have a sandwich or cookies or salad for lunch, but yet I seldom see them munching on chips. I can't do that. must have rice. if i eat sandwich, later sure will eat some of stuffs. Really make me wonder how come they are not hungry thr'out the day. My husband says they are used to having light lunch but heavy dinner.
I would rather prefer a good lunch than a good dinner...

mrs_n

Your hubby is right on that. Most people have sandwich and apple for lunch and maybe packet of crisps. I think people have a bigger dinner as they usually go drinking in the pubs in the evening. When I was in the lab, normally its the Asian students that bring the rice for lunch, me included.

Do you eat more here than home? I find that when I first came, I tended to eat a bit more because its so cold. But seems that my body has stabilised and now I eat less. Though if I'm too busy I find that I don't feel hungry and can last on 2 meals a day. But if not busy, then its a different story.

frosty

Thank you for the welcome.

I married an American, that was why I moved to US. A few years ago, we got divorced. Later I met my current bf, an Australian/US PR. Last year, he found a job in Singapore, that is why I am back.

My experience in the States overall is good. The only one problem was I felt lonely and bored. I had a job as an Account Assistant. I had a few friends. But somehow, it was difficult to establish any kind of close friendship. Perhaps it was cultural barrier. What do you think?

mrs_n

Hi Angela

Don't really think culture is an obstacle to close friendship. I knew a girl from Mexico and we became good friends, we went to the same church and she was in my dept at uni too. Her upbringing and outlook on life may be different, but as long as one accepts people for who they are, don't think the cultural difference could be a barrier to friendship unless we want it to. But I have to admit, while we were good friends, I sometimes find it difficult talking to her because of the language. I do find it easier talking to fellow S'poreans & M'sians b'cos of our common roots and also, its nice to chat with people from home. But generally foreigners (regardless of nationality) tend to band together, as people who are away from home usually develop an empathy for others in the same situation as themselves, so I think friendships are forge due to our similar circumstances of being away from home rather than cultural.

Sorry for rambling on. Rushing off to MIL's for dinner.

frosty

Mrs N:
At work, the bunch of colleagues I worked with were very close. We could talk and share about anything. But after work hours, we went our separate ways to home. We hardly did not do anything on weekends or weeknights. If we did, it was only after multiple schedulings and tries. Even with my ex-in laws, we had to schedule time weeks ahead to visit them. There is no such thing as calling a friend now and the next moment, you are meeting up at a mall for a cup of coffee or tea. In fact, such behavior is not welcome.

In summary, I think I have good friends. But I don't feel the closeness of what I expect of a close friendship.

mrs_n

Hi Angela, what you say is very true but it doesn't necessarily happen because people are culturally different. I had the same experience with my colleagues in Singapore, good friends in the office who wouldn't hesitate to help me out when need be but not close enough to go to their house any day any time. But its natural that we feel this way, people probably prefer to spend time with their family in their spare time than with their colleague.

I think the 'closest' of what constitutes a close friendship I could possibly define was the one I shared with my housemates in UK. All of us were from different countries (Mexico, thai, S'pore) yet there was something like a 'family' feeling among us. We did almost everything together which was quite nice. And we knew that we could always depend on each other. But I guess this was because all of us were alone here and had no family close by and we knew each other quite well as we saw each other 24 hours a day. This kind of friendship is quite rare and I think it is harder to forge such ties once you're married as your time is devoted more to your husband and family.

The few close friends I had in school & college now have families of their own. It use to be easier to meet up when they were single but priorities have change over the years and now we aren't as close as we were before.
Sometimes it is nice isn't it to have somebody else (other than your hb or bf) to chat to or do things with eh?

Hello Seasons!

sweetbeng

I am stationed in HK. Travel very frequently to dong guan as well. Quite tough because I miss home, and bf.

Still trying to adjust to life in this country. Dun understand where people say HK is so nice. Maybe coming here as tourist and as a working professional is different.

mintymints

How long have you/will you be there? I'll be moving there next month, so if you'll like to touch base and catch up on some "lors" and "lahs", let me know

24seasons

Hi SweetBeng

I am staying in Dong Guan. My hubby working here. If u come DG, let me know k so that we can meet up? I miss home so much.

gobinggo

Hey Sweetbeng, totally agree with you. haha.... I dislike HK too. Been here for 2 years and YEAH I'm getting out of here soon. I actually didn't even like the place when I was here as a tourist.

I'm heading to Sydney next...

ee_lingt

Hello to my fellow Singaporeans living overseas,

I am currently living in Turin, Italy and as far as I know, there are only two other Singaporeans living here. Any of you know any other Singaporeans living in Turin or any other Italian city or town? I think most of you are living in either Australia, the States or England where you can meet up with quite a number of other Singaporeans too.

I miss Singapore quite a bit especially the weather, shopping, local food and of course my friends. I try to visit Singapore once a year, usually just after Christmas. Being so far away from home, I am trying hard to ensure that I don't lose my friendships and that I keep in close contact with family and friends. It's difficult and it requires a lot of effort and sometimes I worry that being 'out of sight', I'll soon become 'out of mind'!! :p

Are there any Singaporean 'clubs'-associations where you gals are living? There are only three of us here in Turin so we just meet up once in a while for lunch,dinner and the fav Singaporean pastime -shopping! (Although I must add that things aren't cheap here but there are many big outlets for branded goods junkies which I am not :p)

Oh case, in case you gals are asking yourselves where is ULU TURIN, it's in the north west of Italy near Milan. It's where the recent 20th winter Olympics were held. If any of you are planning a trip here or have friends coming here or nearby for a holiday, let me know and I'd be pleased to give my two cents worth :p

mrs_n

Hi ee-ling, know just how you feel. But count yourself lucky that at least there are three of you in Turin, wish I could say the same. I'm the only Asian (never mind S'porean) in my village. While its true that there are quite a number of Singaporeans living in England, they are mainly concentrated in or near London. I don't live near London or any big city in england and the chances of coming into contact even with S'porean students is also pretty remote. So my only contact with my fellow countrymen and women is through this website which in someway is like a godsend at least it enables me to keep to my s'porean roots (esp with the singlish).

Btw, from the coverage given to the winter olympics, turin looks like a lovely place to live in. Maybe its a bit more ulu than other italian cities but can't be any more ulu than living in a village surrounded by farmland.
What brought you to Turin?

ee_lingt

Hi Mrs N,
Wah, you live in a village, well at least you have clean, unpolluted air to breath, lots of greenery, peace, tranquility and youdon't have to deal with noise, traffic and pollution!

Actually I like the fact that Turin is 'ulu' and not popular with tourists cos I really didn't like it very much when Turin was 'invaded' by nearly two million atheletes and visitors during the Olympics. I like Turin cos it is relatively 'quiet', there are many regular exhibitions, heaps of galleries to visit, artwork to appreciate, there is a fantastic cinema museum, we aren't too far away (an hour's drive) from the wine growing countryside region where Barolo and Barbera wine is produced :p and we are surrounded by many beautiful mountains.

I think Turin is underrated and underappreciated but I am slowly but surely 'fallin in love with this place'.

Oh yes, to answer your question, I am in Turin cos my hubby who is Italian works here.

mrs_n

Hi ee-ling, yes its pretty quiet living in the village. Quite like living in the country, its very pretty in summer but yeah, it takes a bit getting used to. Such a contrast to life in S'pore. Not easy to find jobs around here though. Are you working? I'm still looking. At the moment, pretty much at home on my own most days but sometimes my MIL pops by to say hello and it does help that my BIL & his family live next door.

Turin sounds like the kind of place my husband would love to visit. He loves mountains. All the pictures in our house are of either the mountains he had climbed in europe or of gliders.

piyopiyo

Hi all, hope i am welcomed to join the thread. I am working in US. In San Francisco to be exact. Been here for 3 yrs. My hubby came here to join me 2.5 yrs ago, both of us are from Singapore. There is a huge Singaporean community here. So don't feel lonely but miss family.

ee_lingt

Hi PIYO,

Wow, it must be great living in SF with so many Singaporeans there. I've been there before and my favo spot was the incredible SF bridge and the stunning views of the bay from there. So do you meet up with the other Singaporeans often and do you all celebrate festivals together?

Mrs N,
I have been teaching English to the Italians for about 2 years. It is surprisingly an interesting and fun experience and I get a lot of fulfilment from it. It's really rewarding and luckily my classes are usually either individual classes or groups of no more than 5 so that makes it easier to handle. I can't imagine being a teacher in a public school where classes consist of more than 20 students. It would be a nightmare!

That's nice that you two live next to or near family. My hubby's family live in the countryside which is about an hour and a half's drive away and we only visit them at the weekends.

How long have you been living in England Mrs N?

mrs_n

Hi Piyo & ee-ling

Been to SF only once but only on a very short visit. Love the place though. Can still remember admiring the scenary of the golden gate bridge from the park when all of a sudden the fog came and clouded out the view.
You are lucky to be in a place where there are many S'poreans. I never thought I'd say this but after living in Britain for almost 5 years, I kind of miss hearing 'Singlish'. Ha! Ha! I don't often get to speak it as my hubby will complain that he doesn't understand me. I'm slowly educating him with some positive results.
Besides, S'poreans, there is quite a large asian population in SF isn't it?

Ee-ling were you a teacher before you came to italy? I know two italian ladies who goes to the same church as I do. They are both from Sicily. One of them is a teacher, she teaches italian to british children. Both of them are very cute and friendly. I think italians are very family oriented and like to keep strong family ties, more so than the british. This is something which I miss very much since I came to the uk as my extended family in s'pore used to have regular Sunday gatherings. I guess we are a bit lucky as my husband is very close to his younger brother and his children like coming over to our place to 'help' us so there are still strong family ties and yeah we tend to help each other out. Did you have to learn italian? My friends told me that different regions have their own dialect, even within Sicily.

ee_lingt

Hi Mrs N,

Do you feel very at home in Britain since you have been there for almost 5 years? I am still slowly adapting but I am definitely 'in love' with Turin already :p

I wasn't a teacher when I was in Singapore so teaching was new to me when I first tried it. Luckily my boss was willing to take me in and train me. I am still 'learning' how to teach but I think I am getting 'better' or rather I hope I am! cos the school gives me quite a lot of hours so I have lots of experience and am getting the hang of it.

Yes, Italians are very family orientated and it is something that really warms my heart cos my family in Singapore is that close and we usually only meet up for special occasions no more than three times a year! Luckily we have a few relatives whom we are close to and whom we usually meet up with regularly.

Do any of you ladies living overseas return to Singapore regularly? My hubby and I try to visit Singapore at least once a year I wish we could afford the time and money to visit at least three times!

Yeah, regarding Italian, yes, I had to learn it. I attended a language school here for almost a year before I started teaching. Actually I am still learning it everyday! It is much more complicated than English.

Do you know that there is a rather large population of Asians here too? Mostly China Chinese who have small shops, food and clothing stalls at markets and restaurants. However, the Asian community here are a rather reserved bunch. They don't seem to mingle around in terms of going to restaurants or cafes to eat or have a coffee. I very rarely see another Asian face whenever I go into cafes, pubs,cinemas and restaurants etc. I wonder what they do in their free time or if they ever eat in Italian restaurants or cafes.

Italy's official language is Italian of course but you are right Mrs N, different regions have their own dialect and even different towns in same region can have their own dialects. However at the end of the day, many Italians except the 'countryfolk' are capable of speaking Italian and their own so called dialect. I've learnt a bit of the dialect of my hubby's hometown too!

piyopiyo

Hi Ee-ling,
Heehee, yeap, we often meet up for meals and there are in fact a few Singapore/Malaysian restaurants in the bay area. We usually celebrate holidays like Singapore National Day and of course, Chinese New Year. I love the SF bridge too, cycled across before. Its so windy at the bridge that I feel myself fighting the wind most of the time.So, how long have you been in Turin? Do you go shopping alot in Milan? =) Are you already fluent in Italian?

Hi Mrs Ng, haha, I still hear and speak Singlish when during our Singaporean gatherings. Yes, indeed, there is a HUGE asian community here. With asians around, gees, property prices also shoot up like nobody's business. haha..

ee_lingt

Hi there Piyo,

Oh that is so nice that you all meet up often to enjoy Singapore's fav past-time! :p I didn't know that there are so many Singaporeans there. The last time I had a festive gathering was for CNY when I invited one of the other Singaporean gals and my hubby's colleague-good friend to have reunion dinner with us at our place. It was fun! We even played majong together after that! (Hubby brought back a travel set majong cos he became addicted to the game after my parents taught him how to play it when we last visited in Dec 05.

I've been in Turin for a little more than 2.5years and no, I don't often go to Milan to shop. I've been there a few times but only when friends were visiting and I had to bring them there to 'jalan'. I am not a shopaholic, things are rather expensive here, I don't buy branded stuff cos I don't have the money :p and I don't even like them :p So, I am contented just shopping in Turin where there are Zara shops which is my fav.

Fluent in Italian? No way. I think I need a few more years before I become more confident and fluent in the language. I am a really slow learner.

So PIYO, what are you working as over there and do you all travel and explore the surrounding areas alot? I have a friend living in Arizona and I hope to visit her one day. Last time we were in California, we went nearly everywhere else but there.

mrs_n

Hi ee-ling, I've only been in the village for less than a year as I was living in Sheffield before that. I definitely prefer the village to the city. Only thing I miss is being able to get out whenever I want to. When my husband takes the car to work, I'm stuck.
Anyway he got me a bike two weeks ago. But I think I need to train up for the ride into town. The nearest town is probably about half an hour on the bike and slightly longer on the way back (our village is on a hill).

We would like to make it back to S'pore yearly but alot depends on my husband's leave. This year my parents are coming up instead so we won't be going back. We are hoping to go back during easter next year, i think its off peak so tickets might be much cheaper than going back over christmas. I like going back during Christmas though because its nice to be with family during that time of the year as well as the city is all lit up. But we spent Christmas last year with my family, so this year we will be with my hubby's family.

I'm sure you'll pick up the language, can't be easy as italians tend to speak quite fast. My friend's husband speaks with a lot of facial and hand expressions. They are very expressive people.
Does your in-laws speak english or do you have to converse with them in italian?

Hi Piyo, guess it would be like a 'mini' S'pore when you all get together.
I think even though you can be friends with other Asians, there is always a special bond that one will have with their own countrymen, sort of like a link to home. Well, who else can understand singlish better than another S'porean.
Are you in SF permanently or just there for a few years?

ee_lingt

Hi Mrs N,

It's nice to ride a bike in the countryside, we do that sometimes in summer or late spring. We've thought of getting a bike once to use in the city but it's too dangerous cos cars don't care about cyclists and it's also polluted to cycle around:p

That's so nice that your parents are going to visit you two in England. My parents visited us twice the past two years but they may not visit us this year in Italy although I am still keeping my fingers crossed that they will!

My MIL only knows some English words and my FIL knows a bit more and phrases too but not much. However I converse with his whole family and all his friends in Italian.

mrs_n

Hi ee-ling, yes quite pleased that my parents are coming up. They will be here for a month.
Hopefully the weather will be good. It was funny yesterday, we had rain, wind and snow. Really cold. But today was nice and sunny. Quite drastic change in weather. What's it like in Turin? Is it nice & warm now?

I would have thought it would have been easier to ride a bike in Turin than somewhere like Rome. Is there also a lot of traffic in Turin? Yeah, its nice to ride in the countryside. Last Saturday, my husband and I went cycling down one of the lanes, so that I could test out the bike and get the hand of the gears. It was so quiet, no cars at all, just farmland on both sides. Not much people too, well, only for the moment.
In late spring up to early autumn, the farmers usually hire eastern european students to pick strawberries and other fruit on the farms around our village, so its usually a bit livier with young people.

Talking to your ILs in italian is certainly a good way to practise the language.
Must be quite difficult at the beginning. At least I don't have that problem. However my MIL is a little bit hard of hearing and since I have a soft voice, she sometimes misunderstands what I say. Rather comical really. But she's really nice, well both of them are, and they treat me very much like their own daughter. Are your PILs the same? How did you meet your hubby? If you don't mind my asking.
Hee! Hee! Not many S'poreans marry italians. One of my friends did, but her hubby is not pure italian though.

ee_lingt

Hi Mrs N,

Turin or rather Piedmont (the region where Turin is in) has been experiencing strange spring weather. It can be nice, sunny and quite warm one day but cold and grey and a bit wet another :-( Can't be sure whether to put away winter clothes or not :p However as we move closer to May and June, the weather should definitively warm up. Or least we all hope so! I prefer hot weather than cold and unfortunately the last winter started kinda late so the cold weather has dragged on till this early part of Spring.

Although the traffic in Turin ain't as bad as that of Milan and Rome, there is still traffic especially peak hour traffic and furthermore, we live in the centre so that means even more exposure to traffic but we are very conveniently located.

Both my in laws are very caring people. In fact his dad used to be a very tough, severe and 'closed minded' person. But surprisingly since we met, he has become rather open, caring and warm in his own ways.

I met my hubby more than 8 years ago in Singapore at a club cos he used to work in Singapore. What about you and your hubby?

mrs_n

Hi ee-ling yah, it was predicated that the cold weather would drag until april this year. But still didn't expect it to snow during the weekend. The poor flowers, they'll be so confused!
Do you have a garden? We used to have a 'jungle' infront of our house but we cleared that up 2 weeks ago. It definitely looks much neater and better. Otherwise its terribly embarassing when everybody else has a neat look.

I met my hubby at a prayer meeting in Sheffield, 6 months after I arrived in the UK. But later we discovered that our paths had crossed in S'pore. Two weeks before I left for Sheffield, I was at a prayer meeting, my hubby was visitng a friend in S'pore and his friend brought him to the same prayer meeting in my church. Funny thing was my hubby sat in front of me but apart from shaking hands, we didn't speak to each other. I had no idea about his name, his country of origin etc. I even forgot this incident until in Sheffield, we started talking about his visit to s'pore and I was reminded of that caucasian stranger and everything fell into place. Shocking!
How long have you been married? I've been married just six months.

ee_lingt

Mrs N,

Wow, you two were destined to meet and get married. Two chance meetings and you were let to your destiny :p How sweet.

We got married last May so we'll be celebrating our 1st year anniversary pretty soon. It's amazing how time flies. How is marriage for you so far?

We are currently living in a rented apartment so we don't have a garden but we hve a balcony on which I have some plants -tulips and daffodils are flowering now although those poor things are suffering from the erratic cold bouts. We've also got some indoor plants in the living room and kitchen. I like greenery although I don't hve green fingers :p

We plan to start looking in June for a place of our own. We want either a bigger apartment with more balconies or a top floor apartment or a small house with a small garden in the suburbs.

mrs_n

Hi ee-ling

Marriage so far has been good. At least we're still talking to each other.

Wah! Time passes by so quickly. Any plans for your 1st anniversary? Did you get married in S'pore?

Yes, its better to get a place of your own. Is housing expensive in Turin? Where we live, its not too bad, much cheaper than living down south near London. Nice to have a place of your own though, you should have great fun decorating. I moved into a 'ready made' house. Ha! Ha! My hubby built his own house many years ago and took his time furnishing it. It was all done by the time I came. As my BIL would say I appeared at the scene 'on time'.

ee_lingt

Hi Mrs N, it feels wierd calling you Mrs N. Have you got a name? :p

Yeah, time passes by quickly. It still feels as if we got married only recently. Sometimes, I think I am 'suffering' from post-wedding day syndrome cos I still enjoy looking at bridal mags, wedding stuff and admiring beautiful wedding gowns in boutiques :p

We got married in Italy but we held two wedding dinners in Singapore too. What about you and your hubby?

By the way, I think I'll leave my email address here in case you don't feel comfy divulging your name here :p It's [email protected]

Housing is not cheap here but neither is it very expensive. Wah that's nice that you were able to move into a home all 'ready'. Hubby had been living with his parents till he got married and because he used to travel a lot and was also posted to Singapore for nearly two years, so he never had the chance to 'settle down' and get a place of his own. But now, it's time! :p

A good friend from Secondary school will be arriving tomorrow with her bf who is currently 'stationed' for a couple of months in London. She is visiting him there and they decided to pop over to Turin for a short visit. I am so excited! It's so nice to have friends and family visit. gosh, I miss my friends and family heaps. I wish more of them were able to visit us here.

mrs_n

Hi ee-ling

That's great. Its so nice to have friends over for a visit, especially those whom you've not met for a long time. I'll be going up to Edinburgh on Saturday to visit my cousin. Another cousin is coming from Australia and will come to our place next week. Quite excited. Nice to celebrate Easter with family.

We got married in England, church as well as legal. Had a blessing and dinner in S'pore two months later. It was fun. Both 'weddings' couldn't be more different. We must be one of the few who got married abroad and had a party back home. Wow, 2 wedding dinners in S'pore, you must have loads of friends.

Hee! Hee! Yeah, I'm still trolling the wedding websites. As you can see, I joined SGbrides after I got married. Was bored oneday and decided to chat with other S'poreans. I used a uk website when I or rather when my hubby planned our wedding.
People were ok very helpful and gave great money saving tips. Yup, still offer my 2-cents piece now and again. So don't worry you're not the only one suffering from post wedding day syndrome.

Sharon (aka Mrs N)

ee_lingt

Hi Sharon,

We actually didn't have the traditional big wedding dinners that people usually have. We decided to hve two separate dinners, one for relatives (90 plus people only) and another smaller dinner for close friends (20plus). We wanted separate dinners for both groups of guests so that we could spend more time with each group.

Me too! I joined the Singapore Brides forum after the wedding basically to give my comments on the bridal studios and MUAs that I used etc. I wished I had discovered this forum whilst I was preparing for the wedding. There is a lot of great advice and ideas.

mrs_n

Hi ee-ling, we didn't really want a big do in S'pore either but my parents insisted and in a way it was nice because I got to see most of my family & friends which I probably won't have the time for as my stay was pretty short (combined it with a honeymoon in malaysia). English one was so different there was fewer people (about 150 odd) and we had it in our village hall with a traditional barn dance. It was fun but also tiring as we had to DIY most things.

Hope you are having a nice Easter holiday with your friends.

ee_lingt

Hi Sharon aka Mrs N and all the other Singaporeans overseas

How was the Easter weekend? Did all of you have a long Easter weekend holiday? My school closed from Thurs and will reopen again tomorrow so I have been enjoying a nice little break. HUbby went back to work today though and tonight, we'll be getting our new car! yeah!

I had a great time with my friends, showing them around (the weather was really sunny and warm, for the first time in 6 months so they were really lucky). We all also enjoyed a lot of great wine, cheese, Italian food and discovering cute little eating places. Wish they could have stayed longer but am sure they will be back for more Italian food!

mrs_n

Hi ee-ling

Glad to know that you had a great time with your friends and the weather was good.

Our easter weekend went well. We went up to Edinburgh on Saturday and came back on Monday night. Although it was sunny, it was still a little bit cold. But we had a nice time inspite of it although we were tired with all the driving. It's about 5 hours each way. My hubby went back to work yesterday too, he was off since Friday, so it was also a long weekend for us.

So is your new car a Fiat? That's what Turin is famous for isn't it?

ee_lingt

Unfortunately I can't drive yet. Will sit for theory test next month but I doubt I'll pass it. I am really afraid of driving here. They are too aggressive and it's even very stressful being a passenger in the car!