Any Singaporeans Staying In Overseas

loveluis

I'm a singaporean homemaker staying in overseas...
Anybody same as me?

loveluis

Hi popeye,

Nice to meet you.....
HK... nice place...lots of eating & shopping *cool*
How long have you been staying in HK ? Ur married to HK or hubby posted to HK for work?

I'm in US for about 5 mths now

fern

i'm in Australia, moved here with my hubby 3mths ago. He's Aussie.

What does your hubby do loveluis? And what about u, popeye?

loveluis

Hi Fern,

Nice to meet you....

Which part of australia are you in now?
My hubby likes Perth...hope to migrate there next time

Ohh... ur hubby is an aussie... *cool*
My hubby is posted to US for work.... so I accompany him

fern

Good'ay loveluis!
I'm in brisbane, and I have been to perth many years ago. It's too slow and quiet for me i think! Yah, my hubby is ABC.

Which part of US are you guys and are you going back to Singapore? What do you do in your spare time?

loveluis

Hi Fern,

Yep, heard from my hubby that perth is slow & quiet....

I'm currenly in Los Angelas, yep going back to singapore for a short holiday in 2 weeks time...

Hmm.... do housework, watch tv, surf internet, learn to cook new dishes & learning spanish now...

How about you? Any kids ?

fern

Wow, learning spanish! That's cool. Is it your choice to stay at home or are you not allowed to have a job?

I envy you, can go back to Singapore for holiday! I miss home, but cannot afford to fly home yet. My husband and I just got jobs, and I think we can only plan to go back next year in June or July.

We are still young, 24 and 25 respectively, so no plans for kids yet. Maybe in 3years time.
I'm presuming you don't have any kids?

gracious

i'm in melbourne, accompanying my hubby who is finishing his masters this year.
anybody staying in melbourne? maybe we can arrange a get-together?

loveluis

Hi Fern,

Yep, learning spanish as both of us like spanish singer Luis Miguel....heeehee
Btw Spanish Songs are really romantic....

Hmm... I'm not allowed to work here

Heehee...thanks to the company.... dun think I can afford to fly home also...$1800 for a round trip *fainted*
ic, what's your job in aussie? Both working in the same company ?

Wow...both of you very young *envy envy*
Yep, no kids at the moment

How do you spend your weekends in Aussie ?
Rest & relax

loveluis

Hi gracious,

Accompany ur hubby in melbourne ...*cool*
Hmm... have u been to Penguin Island? See the cute penguins.... so nice

Ur hubby finishing his masters soon ???

fern

Loveluis, mind if I ask what line or industry your hubby working in? is his co also paying his spouse expenses so that u can be there?

How long more do you expect to be in USA or is his a permanent posting?

We spend our weekends doing housework, going to the beach, going to church on Sundays, and chilling out at home. We also get up to some cooking together. my hubby likes it. Hee hee...

And how do you spend your weekends? What are your plans for christmas?
Me and hubby just found a place to rent (we are living with his parents at the moment), and we'll be moving out in 2weeks. So I guess we'll be spending christmas doing up our new home! We're really excited and looking forward to it! We also cancelled some holiday plans so as to start moving.

Hi gracious, good'ay! I have not been in Melbourne before, and that is one place i'd like to go.

I actually met up with siewmaiharkao from this forum, who's in brisbane at the moment staying with her boyfriend. It was nice to meet some Singaporeans here!

So tell us more about yourself. What do you do while your hubby is doing his masters? And I guess Australia is not a permanent home for you then? Are you planning to return to Singapore?

loveluis

Hi Fern,

My hubby is working in the private sector... his posting is for 2 - 3 years...

Our weekends are spent at the bookstores read mags, books & drink coffee...and marketing... sometimes we will drive to the premium outlets about an hr away from our place
tat's when I've got to fight with my temptations...*heehee*

Hmm... i will be going back to singapore in 9 days time...for a short break... so spending Christmas in singapore..

Ic ic...cool...new place...can enjoy ur er ren shi jie

Oh u cancelled ur holidays...nevermind u got plenty of time to explore Australia

We jus came back from our LV Nevada (dun know why cannot spell the full word) trip about 2 weeks back... Cool place

Hope to plan a trip to San Francisco in March next year

fern

Hey Loveluis, I have been to LV Nevada and San Francisco. The golden gate bridge at SF is really beautiful.

loveluis

Hi Fern,

Yep, heard that its really beautiful.... I'm now doing some research for the F&E trip....

Hmm...seems that Popeye & gracious MIA liao

fern

It's miserable here today! It's wet and rainy, and it'll remain like that for the weekend too! What a bummer! Looks like we can't go to the beach this weekend...How's the weather at your end? Is it winter now? We are now in the first weeks of summer, and Australian X'mases are traditionally hot hot hot!

popeye

hi loveluis, fern

sorry for being MIA, seldom come into this site. My hubby's a Sporean, found a job in HK, so i quit and join him here. I love HK as well, but too bad, he's got another better opportunity coming in Spore, so we might be returning to Spore soon in 2005. Frankly, if i have a choice, i'd rather stay in HK. Loveluis, u're right, the food's good and we're spoilt for choice when it comes to shopping! Spore's too stifling for us. Sigh. Anyway, to answer your question Fern, my hubby's in the banking industry

loveluis

Hi Fern,
Yep, its winter now...but it doesnt snow in LA

But it's surprisingly hot today in LA...can u imagine 27degrees.... its usually 6 - 15 degrees during the past few weeks...it would be hot for the next few days*sian*....seems that the weather here is getting me prepared for the singapore weather next week...hahhaha
Hmm...*cool* to experience Christmas in Australia

Hi Popeye...
I'm so happi that u replied

Yep...HK is a paradise for food & shopping

So when will u be back in singapore?
Btw how long have u been in HK ?

sannie

hi fern and loveluis.

i'm living in toronto right now. :) am working in a database marketing firm..... came here with hubby (he's french and found a job here) and luckily i found a job abt 2 months after arriving here. was desperate to work as i was not working for a year while we were living in vancouver.
I have a love/hate relationship with TO. Sometimes i want to leave this city and move somewhere else, sometimes i'm happy to stay here. Currently, the feeling is neutral. :p Just went ice-skating in the open today.... and it was also snowing so was fun. but i know i'll start to hate it when it gets too cold..... sigh... never content.

fern

Aww Sannie, i heard that Toronto is very beautiful and has a big asian population? But i also heard that the weather can be extremely cold! I dun know how i'd feel living there?!

I feel that Australia is not too far from Singapore, thus i dun feel too far from home...

Hi popeye,
i thot the HK lifestyle was more stressful than Singapore? I dun understand or cantonese, and i felt very lost and intimidated by the HK'ers. I also heard stories about how shopekeepers would scold you if u tried to bargain with them? Haha...

sannie

hi fern, yes, it's cool here in TO. in jan, the temp could go down to -30 degrees. that's the hate part of my relationship with the city. :D

there is a huge asian population and on a whole it is a pretty safe city and there are lots to see and do..... could travel to NYC, niagara etc easily. In the last 11 months i'm here, we have had the opportunity to visit a couple of places.... but it is very far from sg and i do miss my family lots.... and the food too.

do you go back to sg often?

fern

I have just been in Australia 3.5months. i came here in Sept with my hubby. Dun think will be heading back till june/July next year...boo hoo! I miss my family so much closer to the christmas season!!!

kkyko

Hi hi...
I'm a SG(PR), born in Hong Kong and is an Australian citizen staying in Sydney. I'm trying to organise weddings in both Sydney and SG. Any tips?

damsel

Hi Karen,
Which part of Sydney are you living in? I'll be moving there in Mar. How big a wedding are you planning in S'pore, which stage are you at now? Anyone helping you from here?

am in US as well...NYC to be exact. Yup, homemaker too. Like Loveluis, I'm not allowed to work and husband's in pte sector.

It's cold now and it snows on and off. The weather was doing great up to last weekend when it went sub-zero... I'm also looking forward to going home

kkyko

Hi Damsel,

I'm staying in the North. Only 8 tables in SG and I'm almost finialising my wedding details. Going to SG next weekend for a week. So by that time, I should have everything settled and ready to go for my Oct wedding!!! =)

So where do you stay? U married? =P

ee_lingt

Hi Karen, I read that you are planning your wedding from overseas. Glad to know that you are almost set for the wedding. You are efficient! I am already married (in May 05) and I too had to plan and prepare for my wedding from overseas and I only had about 6 months! We also held two small dinners in Singapore, one for relatives and parents' close friends -9 tables and another dinner for about 30 close friends. I was lucky that I my parents were really 'hardworking' doing alot of legwork and checking out places for me. I never thought I would be able to complete everything and organise a church wedding, lunch reception overseas and two dinners in Sing, all in 6 months but I did it!
Did you get your WG, EG etc in Sydney or Singapore? Are you studying or working there?

idy

I am also a moving to Sydney after my AD (Feb06). Now still working in singapore. Going to Sydney for 2 months in sept n back in SIN again for final preparation for my wedding.

selphie

I will be moving to HK in Nov after my wedding.. hubby posted there. Popeye if you are still reading this, where are you staying in HK?

springbride

Hi Selphie,

Hope u r still reading this thread...R u in HK already? Settling in fine?
I might be moving to HK with hubby soon. He's finalising details abt his pkg, so not confirmed yet. Having mixed feelings abt it... Though I love shopping, but am afraid that the work culture is so diff there. Heard that pp there are very 'pia', 'kiasu' and selfish in the workplace, so very difficult make good friends.

springbride

Hi idy,

I'm also thinking of moving to HK after my AD in Mar next yr. Hubby will go there first in Jan. Think that it's easier to plan the wedding here.

R u still working in SIN? Wow, how did u manage t take 2 mths' leave to go to Sdyney?

miso

Hi I am a homemaker currently staying in Japan.
just moved here one month ago.
we are enjoying autumn season now..something impossible to do in singapore

I see, so you're doing your ACCA at the hammersmith mgt college, not emile woolf at caledonian around KX? i used to live at finchley rd-swiss cottage vicinity. u must pass by these stations after you change at Baker St daily? hehe

missmissy

no... it's costly cos' will pass zone 1. i take the silver link to kensington olympia. now waiting for my ACCA results. haven't decide where to do yet. How u noe i'm doing ACCA. quite strange to chit chat openly in the forum. email me if u wan to chat more. [email protected]
are you staying in london now?

dear, I'm no god lah...you were posting all over in ACCA and LCCI threads yesterday, remember?!

haven't decided what to do yet? I thought u just said you're working?

nope, I used to. i love london, so i love speaking to londoners.

missmissy

oh yah... i'm working now... boring job... the pace is just too slow...
what i meant was haven't decide which school to do my ACCA. must wait till results out. really expensive to study. me not earning much also.
You love london? then y you go back sg? i only came here to join my husband. he came here to work 2 yrs ago. we decide to get married and end the long distance r/s.

it's good to be able to find a job in london
not many pp can u know!! so r u skiving at work now?!!

it's ok, i'll return to london one day, cos i left my heart in london!

haru

my hubby is considering trying for a job, which is likely to be based in Dubai...not confirmed though..anyone lived there?