Any self HDB Buyer (Paperwork w/o Agent) here? Advise Needed

janice28

hi there.. i did mine without agent..

icygal

buyer side or seller side? Go to HDB and enquiry directly lor... Alot of paperwork to take from them & i remember they need you to go seminar...

derlee

Hi Janice,

May I know where do you obtain the listing of flats available for sale if you purchase a resale flat without agent?

leenzy

i need some advice on purchasing a flat without agent.

If the seller got agent, then do i need to give any commission to the seller agent? Understand that the seller agent, will help in submitting the forms.

If required, what's the market rate?

perfect_moment

Eileen ,

did you encounter any problem purchasing a flat without a agent.

I have my fair share of experience. Alot of gimmick advertisement . Some agent don't bother to furnish much details about the house ..

with the raising asking high COV... i starting to feel being place out of the HDB market.

goodbyekitty

no need to pay the seller agent if you never used any of the services. if need thirdparty to sign any paper work, just get a friend to help

lil_fish

hi goodbyekitty, if i saw the ads put up by the seller agent and view the place. is this consider as the seller agent's service?

goodbyekitty

no. The seller's agent put up an ad because he/she wanted people to know about the flat being put up for sale. Once its up on the paper, everyone can view it. If you have met the seller, its also up to the seller if he/ she wants to sell it. If you're not comfortable in paying the seller's agent fee, you don't have to. Of course, if they are keen to sell the flat to you, it shouldn't matter whether you pay the seller's agent or not. Anyway, the seller's agent will already be earning some fees from the seller. At the end of it all, it depends on how much you want the flat.

icygal

yes, i agree. It's optional to pay agent fee. It's better you highlight it to him/her about it. Cheers. Hope you get your new home soon.

softhearted

I am still attending the agent course. Initially I was lured by the lucrative commission that an agent could get. After attending the course, my personal view is that it is not as easy to be an agent. I don;t think I am suitable to be an agent becos I am too softhearted and don't know the game rule well. Agent needs to know the market trend , rules n regulation, be knowlegeable and good negotiator so as to add vaule to their customers and not just be a middleman. Though agent get a 2% comm from seller, but think of the high advertising fee they've spent to market a flat, this could have come up to as much as $1000 for one transaction. If the house was not sold within the exclusive period, all their effort n money would go down the drain. Many times, they have to serve many buyers before they could get a genuine offer. People tend to see at the beautiful side of everything. As a buyer's agent, they need to gather info and searching for a hse that meet their customer's requirement and customers are getting demanding. The searching process is not easy either, you have to do lots of following up, callings and gathering of info and travelling. Likewise, an agent may bring a buyer to see many hses before a buyer decides on one and if u are unlucky, after serving many rounds, and buyer decide to buy from another agent. Base on the current booming market, its the seller's world. Thus, buyer will have lesser bargaining power. But HDB just annouced that more new flats will be out in the mkt today, thus this will mellow the resale prices. One can don't engage an agent unless u can get a direct seller who also don't use an agent. So both parties don't have to pay the commission. If the seller has engaged an agent to do the transaction, buyer will still need to pay agent a commission. But this is not a must, u can negotiate for a lower one. However,agent will choose to serve buyer who is willing to pay a comm. Its a demand and supply game rule. Thus, this will prolong yr searching process. My suggestion is u can advertise on the paper yrself to look for seller who also does not want to engage an agent.

2 2cents of thoughts

pixiepixel

hello small fish
how to tell the seller agent that im not keen to pay 1% com? and when must tell the seller agent? 1st meeting?

mint_leaf

Agree.. unless you are really ok with the transactions/ paperwprk etc. Takes quite sometime running around, marketing the flat etc. Easier to get an agent to do on behalf. I don't have the time to the tedious process. Sold off my flat last Aug, and my agent took more than 10 different clients to view my flat, handle enquiries etc. Just gotten a resale in Nov too. As for the comission part, can bargain one lah, as long as both parties are agrreable.

Hope this helps =)