Any remedies for pimples?

sacher

I have a breakout lately. Anyone knows of effective remedies to help alleviate pimples? (besides the usual keep your face clean etc)

Very ugly

Pls help

seiko

Hi sacher

i use a sulphur(10%) medicated soap fr NTUC healthcare as part of my cleansing routine. Do not use any scrub on yr skin rite now as its only gonna worsen the problem. Its gentle enuf 2 use daily. once the pimples dry n scab falls off, use a whitening pdt 2 lighten the scar. hope this helps
I'm also taking oral supplements fr Fancl for 2 mths now. I alternate btn the Cleartune ( for adult acne ) and Whitening supplements. Remember to drink lots of fluids though. Drink 1 glass of water once u wake up 2 'flush' the toxins. Thats what i read fr mags.
hope this helps

sacher

Seiko, do the supplements help? I have heard of pp taking but dunno if it really works. Cuz i am actually considering too but...dun get offended hor..I'm afraid the pills dunno safe or not..cuz it's not really from the doc but manufactured by a cosmetic brand, you know..i have this fear it might be like that Slim 10 (choy...choy ..choy touch wood..) thingy..got hidden danger.

seiko

Hi sacher

i think they do cos so far my zits r under control. Fancl's pdts r of plant origins so i suppose its safe

sacher

ok..maybe i'll go and enquire. I am actually using their facial cleanser. They are able to advise which are the pills to get right?

seiko

Hi Sacher, i recommend their Cleartune powder cleanser containing sulphur too. They will give u a bklet on the ingredients of their dif pdts. Very useful guide. For pimples it wld be the new Cleartune supplement forumlated specially for sufferers of adult acne.

seiko

Hi Fun Fun
i'm now into my 2nd mth, and i take 2 in the morn n 2 at nite at the suggestion of the salesgirl cos she claims it aids in better absorption. Seems some contents of Cleartune is water soluble n if u take 4 capsules at once, the body isn't able 2 fully absorb it, so juz passes out as urine, that explains the 'yellowness' in urine. the results varies in individuals, so maybe if u dun see any improvemts soon, better stop or swtich switch maybe to EPO? Cld yrs be a case of hormonal changes?

hope

Hi everyone, just wanted to share some thoughts... I'm one of those who suffers from terrible breakouts too but i went to see a skin doctor and my skin has improved tremendously!! I was given a course of anti-biotics (but i can't remember the name now) and it has really helped... i also use the anti-bacterial cleanser from dermalogica and i find it very very good and would definately recommend using that for a start!

Z

z

Antibiotics are given for short term relief of infection, including pimples. Long term consumption is bad for body (think liver).

It's true that facial scrub will cause more acne. My skin is oily type and once I used to wash with rather croase scrub, the more I scrub, the more pimple comes out the next morning. Sort of the skin gets irritated.

There's a prescription drug call Roaccutane which can effectively suppress acne. But pregnant cannot take it, if take it cannot get pregnant. And it can cause mood swing. I haven't try it before but heard alot of feedback that it's very effective. But it's quite expensive. Some say after they stop taking it, acne will come back. Some remained ok after that. Some worst outbreak when they stop.

But best natural solution is still watch your diet (less oily food), drink more water, enough sleep.

z

happygal

relax and exercise also!
because acne causes is also by hormones, so reduce stress n dont worry too much

exercise helps in blood circulation, hence will help e skin energise, so eat well, sleep well, clean well

bobomagic

Hi Sacher

u got to try this...use any clay mask(becos of their drawing properties) n dap them on ur pimples, after every 15 mins, wash mask away and repeat dapping. Do this about 1 or 1/2 hrs before sleeping. Near to ZZZ time, dap mask on pimples n leave them till next morning when u wake up. It's a great remedy especially when u have like a big event the next day. I personally suffer from the same problem as well n this definitely works. I also reccomended this remedy to a frd who was getting married within the week n it really brought down the angry looking pimple on her nose.

sacher

Yes bobomagic..i used to do something like this too. I will dab (i use the Blackmores clay mask) it on my pimples everyday, sometimes twice a day to dry it out. It used to work But not this time round (maybe too many pimples already and on a wider area)..plus my face kinda dry so the next day when i apply the makeup, my whole face looks terrible.Dun put makeup looks worst.

I read somewhere and a doc once told me, mus sleep before 11pm. Coz between 11pm and 2 am is the best time for your body..So i've been adhering to that too.

funfun

Hi Seiko,

Hey, you sure know the products well. By the way, what's hormonal change? What are the symptons and what supplements should I take?

For now, I'll continue with the cleartune until I finish them. (ooh, I notice the yellow urine too. Was very worried, so it's actually the cause of the pills huh! mystery reviewed!)

seiko

Morn Fun Fun

no lah, dun know very much, juz remembered wat the salegirl siad onli *HEHE*

Hormonal change wld normally occur near yr menses when a hormone surges ( can't remember the name )
n that over production causes growth of zits. I'm onli simplifying the explanation here. At that time, we r more prone 2 zit attacks. I take Evening Primrose Oil wif 50% GLA as i read somewhere that GLA does help 2 contain the zits.
Besides, EPO is of plant origin so is safe 4 taking. I take the 7 seas brand. It is evening primrose + star flower oil mixed, containing 50% GLA, 1 of the highest concentration ard.

Yalor, when i saw the yellowish urine, was very worried too, till i asked the salesgirl when i next visited them.... Phew....

bobomagic

Hi Sacher

In that case, sounds more like u have a case of roscea or acne. Like wat Hope says, maybe u should visit a doc. A round of tetracycline(something like dat) should clear it and this can be prescribed at clinics. Yah...usu hormonal changes chanes us to break out even in adulthood...so better to see doc n clear it fast rather than leave with scars later. BTW is the claymore mask u usu sepcially for pimples cos maybe that's why it's too strong? Maybe should switch to those Jap or french mud mask(wh ppl use for oily normal skin type) may be milder. How abt Sothy's? Heard it's quite good.Have not tried it yet though.

sacher

Yah..this time round the breakout was quite bad...though now slightly better ..intend to c a doc later this week...cannot dahan leow..

hi5

I know of a skin product that can help pimples, acnes and dry skin. It is an American products and it has 250,000 clinical test cases over 10 years. It is test in Boston Hospital in USA by Dr Dan Bird, a dermatologist. The moisturiser is the only FDA approved for use in the hospital.

Write to me, [email protected]

seiko

Hi sacher n bobomagic

ive tried almost all the medications in the mkt back then. Roaccutane/Tetracycline/Retin A/ Glycolic acid etc.. but the pimples still come back. Also thinking that constantly replying on medication isnt gonna solve the prob.... so i began my own experimentation n have now found my own 'tailored' skincare routine. I also observe which food's make me breakout. I know the mags say otherwise, but i find that if i take too much 'coconut stuff' like kaya, nasilemak rice, i will develop pimples leh... strange but true....

same

hi sacher,

you may wanne try this facial soap, Acne aid. it can be bought at guardian pharmacy.

helps to dry up the acne and to recover faster, you can use the cream.

hippo

Hi sacher,

Just like to share my experience with you.

I have oily skin & experience mild minor breakouts occasionally, often a week before menses.

However, about 3-4 months ago, I had serious breakouts in the form of big lumps/cysts-like kind of acne for a week plus. Don't know why, but thinking back, a few things happened during that time which I think may attribute to this: 1stly, sickness cos' I was down with flu/sorethroat & coughing for very long, & was on medication from the doctor. 2ndly, not eating well, as in eating very little, mainly outside food & 'junk food', had some weight loss even. took chinese herbs when I was recovering from my illness. Of course I'm not sure if these things that I did aggravated my acne, but they all happened at about the same time.

Now, my condition is much better...I would say back to the usual, still have 1-2 small pimples just before menses. There're a few things I did & still doing :

- watch my diet : hardly eat red meat & deep-fried food, only take vegetables, fish & sometimes chicken
- take zinc supplements on doctor's advice to fight my flu/cough. However, it seems to help in my acne control too. Later, I realise that the vitamins supplement I've been taking (vit.A, B & zinc) are actually meant for the skin, as in cells repair & aids in healing!
- take hot honey with lemon every night (actually meant for my flu, but it seems that the vit.C from lemon is supposed to help in healing too)
- went back for facial (after I stopped for 1-2 months)
- take extra effort to cleanse/care for my face : cleansing milk, facial wash, toner, moisturiser, serum, & mask very often (heartache cos' these products cost quite alot...)

ok, that's all I have to say....

cheers,
hippo

seiko

Agree wif Zippo ... Zinc + Vit C aids in healing of wounds (acne ) .. Try Redoxon.... its good... I recommend the new Time Release

bobomagic

Hi Sacher
I'm sure things will be better once u see a doc. Most prob just hormonal. But agree with what Seiko & hippo said..for some ppl, food does make a diff so maybe wat used to not affect u previously may be contributing to ur problem now. So maybe like them, u can try n observe if wat u eat is affecting the breakouts.

Hi Hi5, does it help with scarring? cos now no more pimples but got scars left over sob sob...u can email me at [email protected]

callisto

bobomagic,

For scars, take an antioxidant formula (with Vit A, C, E, selenium, etc), or grapeseed extract, or pygnogenol (more expensive).

You can try breaking a Vit E capsule and rubbing the oil directly onto the scar. It didn't really work for me but seems that lots of people swear by it.

jan

hi all, my frenz had acne problems since teens, she now in her late 20s and for the pass 2 mths, she been taking a kind of honey that helps on skin problems. U gals may want to check it out at taka basement where they sell honey, near the harolds section. Seriously, i don't remember which cuz there's a whole range of honey for different purposes. But the honey don't come cheap, the good one she's taking is about $40 to $50. I can see the results on her face, it works on her.

jan

sacher... i'm very sure it's not the manuka ones, it's another type with the A......., i bought the manuka ones for cold and sore throat.

pausini

Do u believe in injection that will ease ur pimples for ur big day? I have a friend who just did it for her wedding and it works very well.

She only spent $40 for the injection. the doctor with injection direct into her face.

obride

hi, I'm using a cream called Propolis Creme. It is made from bee propolis which is a substance found in bee hives. bee propolis is known to be anti-inflammatory and antiseptic. A guy griend used it and he used to have acne scars, the kind that makes holes on the face, and after half a year, we all noticed his scars have reduced significantly and his face is smoother. he said it also can lighten pigmentation scar. we (the girls) immediately switched to it when we saw him :) now been using for 2 months.... its really good. other than reducing scars, it also heal the acnes and i find that my big acnes which usu can take months to heal has healed within a week after use.

soko

hi, obride

may i know where i can get the propolis cream? i have some pimple marks on my chin which i wanna get rid of. is the cream ex?

cleo

hi obride,
me very interested too as i do get pimple now and then b4 menses and there's alway marks even though it heals on its own....so irritating!

Hope to see ur posting real soon!

sacher

Obride!!! You must be a god send!! Quick quick quick...let us know where to get this miracle cream!! Can i buy like 12 dozen first?
Heee...no lah..can i get one first?

How? How? email u or give you my email addy?

Hi pausini, just curious on this injection thingy. How does it work? Immediately after the injection, all pimples will be gone? Nev heard of this before..izzit safe?

pausini

Hi Sacher and ???,

according to my friend, YES! the pimples really gone and her sister tried it before that was why she got and take it a day before her wedding.

???, i dun know the medical term for this injection. I think this is the solution for those really need it becos of wedding or special function.

catz

I think it's hydrocortisone injection. Only can use it in big emergencies if not, not worth it everytime you get a zit.
It helps those huge red swellings to go down in a couple of hours.

obride

hmmm..., just in time, my tube is finishing too.... i'd place order for myself at the same time.

sure, gals, can place orders via email please? let me know the qty. once i collate all the orders i'd send to him and ask him when he can get for us.

pls write to me at [email protected]

sacher

Pausini, any idea where to get this injection...in case i might need it..though my wedding is over but..you nev know when you need to attend an impt function..

Any side effects huh? Sounds too good to be true..Sigh..how i wish i can inject myself anytime i feel like it.

rene tan

Tried and Tested and quite happy with the results :-

body shop tea tree oil, dab on pimples....will dry up into 2-3 days time. No more recurrence on that particular pimple cos it kills the bacteria -$10 plus.

"Simple" brand (WhiteClay and Seaweed Extract Purifying Mask" $8 plus. For oily skin and deep cleansing, draws out deeply embedded dirt and make up and regulates oily skin. Leave on cleansed face for 3 mins and rinse off.

"An Fu Le" capsules from Eu Yan Sang Medical Shop.(reduce pimples, reduce heatiness, reduce inflammation)
6 Capsules a day (one bottle $8.60), a month about $30 plus. I see results after i finished a bottle (50 capsules) Not for Pregnant Lady.

rene tan

Please note that I recommend the above products for sensitive and oily skin.

detox

Hey Rene I just bought a bottle of "An Fu Le" today.
Are your pimples are lot kind or those one or two kind every menstrual cycle? I am afraid my face will get worse after using. My face is actually clear but during menstrual cycle will get a few big pops and take ages to heal. What kind of results do you see? Sorry for asking so many questions!

rabbit

Hi Rene,

I would like to recommend you the tea tree oil ( thursday plantation )and is 100% pure that you can get it from guardian pharmacy. The tea tree oil from body shop is not 100% pure and you can read it from the packaging.

I think its cost about less than $10. I used it when i got see the pimple on my face is starting come out 2days before my PS than the next morning its almost disappear

BEWARE for the Vitamin C from body shop cos not everybody is suitable for this product. This product cause me got a lot pimple ( a big headache)

bubble_bubble

I am suffering from adult acne as well.But the outbreak gets less frequent as i grow older(oh no!). Actually I would discourage any oral medication for skin cos u cant depend on it for life. Best is find the cause of ur acne if its due to heatiness, hormone imbalance or allergy etc and find some cure to curb the outbreak.

Now i am using the estee lauder's skin idealist and moisturiser as my skin care routine and it helps. SKin become smoother. I try to eat less of fried stuff cos my acne is due to food that i eat!! hehehe

newbride

i have acne problem and m quite troubled by it. my skin is sensitive and oily.went to consult a few docs. one of them commented my skin is not the serious type and refuse to give me any medication. one of them gave me some cream and cleanser.effects no longer obvious after a while. and a funny thing is that i have better skin condition during my menses (contrary to normal cases).

Any advice?