Any recommendations for a pet shop to buy a puppy?

spud

we are thinking of getting a small-breed puppy like a Maltese or Mini-Schnauzer, does anyone have any recommendations for a good pet shop?

PS: We've been to Joy Doggy and Pet Station already.

natash

Try Paw Wow at balestier...Joe is great!! He delivers dog feeds to my place and hs sister did the grooming for my doggie kekek...delivery services for food and also grooming....

cherubies

hi natash,
i'm looking for a terrier. can you share the address of Paw Wow at balestier with me? thanks!!

coven

most of the dogs at ASD or K9 are usually dogs for non-HDB estates... but ya, do try to chk out their sites. if can, probably a visit to the SPCA too.

puppies are usually easier to train and adjust to new environment. adult dogs will require re-training and adjustment and more tolerance.

good luck

cherubies

Hi popeye,
i have been to both excellent websites. Coven is right, most dogs are too big for my hdb flat.

Anyway i will search for my dog slowly, if i can see a small dog up for adoption at the websites, i will consider.

Hi Coven,

dog-lover

Please do not go to TINY PAWS at Balestier. They have a pet shop at Century Square in Tampines also. (Under the same owner, Husband and wife team i guess) I have a friend who went there to buy a maltese there this year during the CNY period. Guess wat, a few days after she had bought the dog. she realise that her dog vomit had diarrhea and refuse anything that is given to her and seems to be in a terrible pain.

She called me to ask for advise as to which clinic can she go to... (Knowing that i have terrible experience with certain animal hospital/Clinic)
I recommended her to Animal Recovery at Eastpoint in Simei. When told of the condition, the vet suspected that it could be Parvo-virus. So the doctor draw some samples from the rectum of the dog. The dog have to be kept in isolation due to the contagious nature of the diseases. After a few days, the results were out. The doctor confirm that the condition is Parvo-virus. It is a highly contagious diseases. and any dogs without vacin will be able to catch the disease. The virus will only be destroy using bleach. We have dogs at home too, after visiting her dog we need to wash our hands in diluted bleach to prevent us from spreading the virus to our dogs.The dog was not vacin when sold to her, and the doctor said that the survivial rate for dogs with parvo virus without vacination is close to zero unless miracle happens. For more info on Parvo virus, please visit http://www.lbah.com/Canine/Parvo.html

The Dog did not recovered despite my friend, a student spending close to $1000/- on the medical bills. Angry with the fact that she had also paid ard 700+ for the dog which is not assure of to be in a healthy condition. She confronted the shop and told them abt the condition.The virus also have incubation period. The owner say that they will not give her the medical bills but will refund her the money which she had paid for the dog. And they want to have the dog back to be with their own pet shop vet.

dog-lover

a few days after she have given the dog back to the pet shop. she called to enquired abt the dog condition and even ask for the vet of the pet shop so that she could visit the pet. The lady owner refuse to answer her phone. She tried for many days... after abt one week. The owner finally anwser her call. When my friend ask abt the maltese condition, the lady owner said in a very hack care and rude attitude, die already and hang up the phone. The illness and death of the pet sadden my friend and her family. This shop attitude is really bad and have no ethics at all. I urge all pet owner to seriously consider professional ethics of a pet shop when choosing a pet.

natash

Oh Dog lover

This is so sad, me myself have 4 dogs and is a super doggy lover...

The pet shop is so irresponsible. As what I always advise my friends, if you buy a dog from a shop. The next better thing to do when you collected your dog is to bring it to the vet and see if there is any problem with the dog. To make things easy for both owner and shop owner, as doggies usually come with a 10 days guarantee return policy thing. Do not do anything to the dog and call the shop owner from the vet to clarify everything.

There is a couple of pet shops in Balestier but im sure Tiny Paws is not one of them...located here...There are Puppy Island, Soo Kee well known for expensive....ahha Paw Wow pet care supplies...and Urban Pooch the cafe for dogs...

Anyway, when I was in Australia...I know this pet shop owner...she told me that if puppies that are sick are returned, either they recovered and resold again or if they really cannot be save, they will put them to sleep. It so sad hor....

Anyway Cherubies, address of Paw Pow is
613 Balestier Road Singapore 329909
Tel;6252 0838

So far as I know Tiny Paws Kennel is
located at-
133 Sims Avenue Singapore 387455
and the other

Tiny Paw is located at
Century square-
2 Tampines Central 5
#02-18 Century Square 529509

Just to note, its not at balestier...

nas

fluffy

You all can try the Animal Resort (T81) at Seletar Farmway. I bought 2 westies from them. They have a large selection of very cute imported puppies.... I am a very happy customer with them.

coven

i used to 'visit' some dog sites tat do provide rather clear n good feedback on petshops and wat to look out for. i no longer have the links to them but u can try searching under singapore dogs maybe can turn up something. just a little precaution, sometimes those sites are very 'political' so tread carefully.

btw, tiny paws r one of those rather known for their 'attitudes'.

agree with natash, before buying from any petshops, try to get the health record from them and those 10-days guarantee. local pups probably wont hv gone thru quarantined. imported animals are quarantined before selling. check whether have the pups been given any vaccination and see if they r more than 3mths old or have weaned off milk. if u're particular, find out from the petshops on the pup's ancestor tree.

another thing, they will attempt to sell alot of things to u tat might find them redundant later ... so judge for urself and get the necessary stuffs. the toilet training liquid MIGHT or MIGHT NOT work.

popeye

HI Cherubies

U're welcome...u can try calling Meng who's in charge of Canine Love....i think she has a list of people interested in adopting small dogs...she put up those big-sized dogs on the website becos generally it's harder to find a family with private property to adopt these dogs, so it's given priority...so try calling her and check. It's better to give these poor dog a second chance for a loving home

Dog Lover, i read with disgust this Tiny Paws act....i actually stay in Tampines and i frequently go to her shop at Century Square to buy my doggie's supplies...grrr...., i'll never visit her shop again...
yes, i think they're husband and wife team...if i'm not wrong the shop selling pets is in Geylang? Cos i rem having dinner with my family in Geylang, then we saw the shop and cross over to take a look, then the guy (with long hair, i think) said the shop at century square is also his. Dun wan to visit the shop liao....but i rem going to the century square shop once and saw one mini shnaucher with her, very very cute, she said its her own dog...very mild temper and adorable...anywa i always thot the lady who man the shop (must be the wife) looks and sound cold, everytime we wan to buy something and ask some questions, she answer us with a rather curt and rude reply, like seeming to tell us "Why do u have to ask, u dun know meh?" kind of attitude....will never patronise them liao....rather go further to buy food for my doggie

Btw, dog-lover my regular vet is also at ARC at Eastpoint Simei...my vet is Dr Sulyni who is very very good with pets...wat about u?

coven

oh ... sorry for being long winded, just hv to add this. small breed dogs are not necessary small in attitudes. so choose carefully.

as i have a jrt at home i can only share wat i know abt them.

JRT (remember milo from Mask?) ... small cute. very intelligent, HYPERactive, loyal, can be possessive and domineering. requires basic training and firm owners. sheds alot DAILY. might hv sensitive skin due to lack of long hair for protection. good part, no need to visit groomer.

coven

hi popeye,
i second tat! Dr Sulyni is indeed very nice and good with pets! i always bring mine to see her and she remembers them.. =)

spud

Thanks for your helpful suggestions…..

Fluffy, do u have the exact address of Animal Resort or the tel no? Thinking of going there tomorrow to take a look, but can’t seem to find them in the yellow pages.

jewel

I bought 3 of my dogs from Soo Kee along Balestier Rd.

They bring in imported dogs from Australia & all my dogs have v. good nature. Price kind of steep but money well spent

dog lover

Hi Natasha,

I am not able to verify the exact location of the shop cos my friend who bought the maltese is not in town. Anyway, i am sure that they work as a husband and wife team cos my friend was given the number at Tiny Paws at century square when she tried to call to enquire abt the condition abt the dog. Feels that their attitude sucks.

Hi Popeye,

I used to frequent their shop too. not anymore cos i feel that they do not know wat is customer service. and their goods are not very fresh too (Nearing expiry date). I have bad experience with vet in singapore. I do not have a regular vet at the moment but bring my dog to a clinic in katong for vacin. Luckily for us, cos that time when my friend's dog got the parvo virus, i had regularly brought him for the yearly vacin.That is really important esp. if you do take your dog out for walk. We do not know wat bacteria is lurking in the enviroment whoch might infect your dog. Post your email and i will write to you.

dog-lover

Just to add, ARC is recommend to me by a colleague of mine. So when my friend ask me i just refer her there. Cos i can't find any other vet i can thrust with their diagonsis. Except to ask her to try ARC. Since we are stayin in ard east and arc is very near too.

My friend told me that the ppl workin there are very friendly and professional with good attitude, they are v. caring towards your pet rather than those vet who just wana earn your $$. when she brought the dog there, she was told to avoid contact on any surfaces when she is in the clinic. And the clinic will promptly clean and disinfect areas with bleach to kill the germs.
The dog is also put under isolation to prevent the virus from spreading to other pets.

fluffy

Hi Spud,

I believe the address is given in the following website:
http://www.rictedkennels.com/

The person who runs the place does not sell the puppies. They lease the place to another person named Jack. Currently Jack is the biggest importer in Singapore. Brings in about 60 dogs at once from Australia, of which he sells quite a lot to the other pet shops. So you can get better prices there.

The entire place is sort of like an animal farm, so it is rather rastic... don't expect an air-conditioned place smelling clean and nice. But the good thing is that he places a few puppies in each enclosure, so they can play with each other, instead of being alone like many pet shops (ie. cannine socialisation).

If you are interested, ask if the dog comes with a certificate to show the pedigree. It is blue in colour in Australia. Most dogs do not have, since certified dogs are usually from registered breeders for show/championship purposes and the lineage consists of so-called championship materials. It is absolutely OK if the puppy you are interested is not certified. Just check that the import paper of your dog tallys with the microchip embedded in it. Also it should receive 2 courses of vaccines in Australia. The vaccines are not counted in Singapore, and the dog will have to re-go for the vaccinations, but at least you know that the dog has already got some protection from certain puppy viruses such as the deadly parvo virus & distemper.

grace

Can pay a visit to these pet shops. They're reputable in the market and and one stop pet shop (Besides, pets, they also sells acessories, food, supplement, gromming services)
:-

Pet Safari in Eastpoint mall, 1st storey

Ecrisson Pet Farm, 18 pasir Ris Farm Way (Exit by TPE pasir Ris). Also a pet hotel.

spud

Have visited many,many pet shops/farm over the weekend... bought a female maltese puppy at Animal Resorts in the end. She is so adorable, can't wait to go home to hug her. BTW, the puppy sales at the Animal Resorts is from a pet shop call PawsWow... they rent the place from Animal Resorts.

Thanks for all your help!!

fluffy

Hi Spud,

It's great that you found your doggie.... Glad to be of help to you... BTW if u hv any problems with your girl girl u can always call them for advice.... and the pet shop at the front is also very helpful and they sell pet stuff at very low prices.... i buy most of my stuff from there...so far cheapest in S'pore....

natash

Hi Spud

Yes The puppy sales at The animal resort is from Paws Wow...They have a join venture there and rented the place for the placement of puppies both local and imported....

Joe is very nice guy as I visit his shop so very frequently kekek...lots of love for dogs..him and his sister who does grooming...great combination..

Hope you have ample cuddles from your doggy k...Enjoy..and take lots of pics with her cux they grow up so very fast and a bundle of joy!!

Nas

october

I adopted my doggie from K9 Love, Meng. I had always wanted to have a dog but due to work commitments, it had always pull me back on getting one.
Then come this day, I just suddenly decided to drop Meng an email to be a foster parent for abandoned dogs, making it known to her that I can only take small dogs as I stay in a 3-room flat now.
I was then introduced to this 10-year old Silky Terrier. Old she may be, but when you see how she shivers and the misery in her eye, you cannot make yourself refuse her. I took her in and now, she is so much happier and plumper, wagging her tail each time someone comes home. She is now a part of the family and I was glad that I did not turn Meng down the last time when she was introduced to me.

shane

Just want to urge those who are thinking of getting a dog to try to adopt. I myself bought a dog from a petshop. Only after i did some research then i realise there are so many doggies out there homeless and needing of care and love. If i had known earlier, I'll be more patient and look ard for a small dog to adopt. So should i decide to have another dog. I'll definitely adopt. Agree that most dogs up for adoptions are big but there are also small breeds available occasionally. So check ard.

Puppies really require alot of your time and attention. You also have to train from scratch, esp toilet training. An older dog might bring along old habits but some are already toilet trained and are gd ard pple. So it's not that bad afterall.

Another alternative will be to look for local breeders. at least u can look at the parents and judge the pups size, health condition, temperament of the dogs. All these will give u a gd idea wat your pup will grow up to be.

Most puppies from petshops/farms are from puppy mills. Think abt how the poor pups' parents live. So try not to 'support' them in their trade. When the demand stops, the supply will too.

coven

just to add on abit more to shane's above posting, there are many local breeders who breed for the sake of breeding and $.

so unless u know EXACTLY what u're getting to besides seeing the joy of puppies... pls dont breed them also simply coz the parents are so cute and tat u believe the offsprings will be even more.

the health of the bitches (female dogs) deterioriate further after each birth and unless u're willing to spend $ on time to help them in recuperation (similar to confinement experience by pregnant women), the mothers might not look as good as before.

shane

well said coven, i almost didn't wanted to neuter my doggie cos i find him so cute. and thot that if i didn't then next time still got chance to breed him if i wanted to. but no lah, for his own sake, he'll be gg under the knife soon ! *ouch* feel so painful for him

coven

ya lor .. mine also so cute tat my family initially refused to let mi get her spayed. myself took awhile to decide too ... so when she reached 6mths old before the first heat, operation done! no menses, no puppies.

as mine is a jrt, seen/heard too many cases of abandoned jrts tat i refused to add on the number. very disappointing to find tat in sg, pet responsibility and education are very lacking.

shane, just remind urself lor ... after neutered, he wont get prostrate :)P tin tat's the spelling) cancer.

twinkle

Hello dog lovers,
Care if i join? I have 2 lovely dogs a english cocker spaniel n a westie. Tiny Paws in Century Square has closed down only left the one in Geylang that sells puppies also. It's operated by this couples they had a son n their house have 10 dogs can you imagine? They do breeding at home especially snauzhers cause she has a favourite snauzher boy she used to placed the picture at the counter of her shop.

Alot of my collegues have dogs, recently i met one of them who bought a westie about 10 months ago, i was very angry when she told me she still placed him in the playpan whenever she goes to work n as westie are pround to be great jumper there was once he jump over n the playpen fell into parts,he cut his palms n bled a lot. And i ask her "why can't you just give him freedom or at least just restrict him in the kitchen area since he's the only pet in your house?"
Her reply was " Cannot lah what if he anyhow pee my flooring all marble you know will stain the marble"

Isn't it sad for the dog to be in the playpen for the whole day only let him out when she's not working n does not allow him to go to the bedroom cause she say unhygiene!!

Being a dog owner of 2 i do not restrain my dogs at home n they have all the freedom they want at home cause they a paper trained n they don't mess up my house even if they do it's my responsibity to train them well.

natash

Helo tinkle,

Me also find it funny for those people who have dogs and at the same time,do not allow the dogs to go to their bedrooms...

I let me dog roam in my house as well..with the appropriate toilet train, my doggy pee and do his business on the newspaper in the kitchen...occasional accidents happen I understand but as you mentioned, its our responsibility to train them....

I do lecture my doggie when he sometimes try to be funny by peeing in the living room instead of the designated place...butonce the warning is forwarded to him, he gets it...I let him off kekeke....

My doggie sleeps with me in the room too but on the floor beside my bed cux he finds it too hot to squeeze in with my hubby and me...kekeke When I placed him in the bed with me, the next moment you know..he is on the floor again...So i just let him be...

I guess everyone has its habits and ways of teaching their dogs...Its hard for them to understand and us to unerstand them too...

Alot of my friends asked me, eeee...why you let you dog sleep with you in the room, so unhygiened....but I bath my doggie twice a week...how unhygenie can he get when I wipe his paws and bum after he pee and do his business...

Well, I guess its how you keep your dog clean too..funny if the dog thinks we are unhygenied beings too and refused to let us hug them kekekkeke ? NAs

toe

u can check the newspapers also. seems like no one does. i got my beagle from a owner of 2 beautiful parent beagle that gave birth to 8 little pups. one way to find the most healthy ones is let the owner of the pups let the pups loose from a room and usually the one that rush to u for comfort and cuddle treatment is the one to pick. as for health. always get the pup to a vet for vaccination.

as for dogs roaming in the room :p haha erm for me coz he has a big playground. my family restrict her to enter coz they will always be trouble of food lying around. (this will turn out bad if they change their diet.... and u will have to go check out which other dog food is better. usually the pet shop will tell u to get the canned meat.)

oh yah. anyone having trouble recently with padigree dry palets food? My dog try to shun away from it everytime i wants her to eat. ending up i will have to hand feed it. like what was reported in the news article a few days back with the owner of the golden retriever. i have since changed the diet for her and i am glad that she is all hyper abt her food again.

I will highly recommand "Pets & Stuff" at Namly Garden. The lady boss is a real pet lover. She sets up this business cos of her love.
I have heard of pet shop owner, starving their dog to slow down their pet's growth, dirty environment etc... Go to her pet shop and you will know what I am talking about. Super clean and no bad odour.

neece

I'm not a dog-owner yet, but been looking ard..
i've dropped by "animal resort" at seletar. seems like they're animal lovers too. any has comments of that place and their puppies? thanks!

relaxfun

My Maltese was bought from animal resort, and i think the main reason i bought there was becos of the low price they offered. The man who sold me my dog is very knowledgeable. but in any cases, after you had purchased yr dog, bring it to the vet within 24hrs for a check up. This will secure yrself tat you are getting a good condition dog illness free.

For my dog, i had to bring her for a deworm medication cos i found that she got sesame seed-like worms (doesnt move kind lah) :p in her poopoo.. and i read from pet books that those are worms lor :p

But one thing i like abt animal resorts is that they will scold the dogs and showing them newspaper roll, and that helps in yr training later on lor... i ever saw some shops that they dun do anything when the puppies bark and bark.

chiwawa

I highly recommedn Soo Kee at Balestier Road. Bought my baby from there 3 years ago. Pricey but dog is definitely in good condition and of good temperament. Besides, the dogs are usually fully vaccinated and they wont sell the dogs if too young. After I bought my dog, 2 of my friends bought dogs from Soo Kee also.

pegsfur

I don't know if I should post this ... most pet shops get their 'resources' from puppy farm, which means they use their bitches like a breeding machine so that they can make lots of money selling the pups.

I started out like some people here, ignorant of what is happening behind the shops' closed doors. After I learnt of puppy farms, I have promised myself never to buy any pet from pet shops again. I would suggest you to check out this site www.doggiesite.com for more information abt dogs.

Btw, a 2 year old male silky terrier is available for adoption. You might want to consider adopting instead of buying a dog.

lux

hey pegsfur..

That's a good attempt.. Is true.. tons of dogs all over the place need a home and here we are buying them like merchandise in a super market.

I know I am going to sounds like a bigot.. but first reason abt Dogs for adoption are very big thus not suitable for HDB. That is a total myth! Or that old dogs cannot learn new tricks.. and a tons of the reasons which I regard as something to make them feel a little better.

Not to say you cannot buy from a pet shop and no offence to those who ald did so. Just consider the alternative if you have space you think you can accomodate a creature in need of love...

http://www.asdsingapore.com/

try the above link..They have a wide availability of puppies which they rescue all over Singapore.

SPCA is also a popular choice.. the list goes on.

Say no to buying dogs from a shop.. Adopt them...

meow19

Yup- try SPCA. Apparently they get about 1000 animals a month. There are pedigree puppies as well coz people give them away as soon as they realise that that cute thing actually poops! Also heard that pet shops that take the puppies back also give them away to SPCA since puppies only sell when they are really cute not so after a few months.

yuanyuan

Oh, I can't agreed more with all the dogs lover here. Hee. I'm a dog lover too, have a 1 year Shih Tzu at home. He has really brought me and my family a great deal of fun and joy.
Read some thread of "puppies for sales" in tis site. Makes me worries! Frankly, if owners really love ur dogs but sadly had to let go, they wont ask for a high $ right? Instead, priority are the dogs' welfare, treatment and concern...

cloudy

Hi all pet owners,

Do you have any recommendations on pet sitters that you have used before? I have quotes from hotdog.com, but would like to compare more.

airex

Hi Mei Jia n all,

Once I went to SPCA and the person-in-charge told me that JRT is one of the common breeds that are abandoned at SPCA. Cos many ppl buy JRT as they r super adorable and playful (and also due to the show MASK and StarHub commercials) but some cannot tolerate their hyper nature in the end.. Therefore, I suggest to those who wanna keep JRT to check out SPCA or any dog adoption sites for JRT..

Thnx

dabee

hi all:
i just wish to post a gentle reminder. for those new dog owner, regardless of the breed u wan to keep as pet.please take an effort to find out and read about their character, habits of that particular breed. many owners din know well enough of their "dream" pet hence later could not manage to handle them in terms of excerises, space, diet etc then abandon their pets later. be a responsible pet owner.
please spread this to ur friends and all around, we got to take care and love animals....