Any place for good and reasonably food in Sembawang/Yishun/Woodlands area?

mg fan

Calling all gals staying at Sembawang!! Any good eateries to recommend? I recently found Bongo Bongo at entrance of the Night Safari serves very good spagetti!! And the ambience is good as well..Its like BK but with good decor...There is also another eatery near sembawang park in the midst of the terrace houses...cant remember the name....

Anyone any other recommendations?

mango

The Thai Food at Sembawang Shopping Centre is good too. There are some eateries near the Pierce Reservior, like Roti Prata, Japanese food .. it is all not too bad. There's nice Curry Fishhead at a coffeeshop opposite Sembawang Shopping Centre. Of cos not forgetting the Satay Club in Sembawang.

meekoo

i highly recommeded Sembawang Shopping Centre there is the chinese zi cha stall... it good, cheap and fast!

and also the bbq fish too!

mg fan

Thanks Mango, Meekoo..

Heard that the Thai food at sembawang shopping centre is shifting? Anyone know to where?

Pierce Reservoir? Jap food? what name is place for Jap food? i love jap food!!

mango

huh? is it really Shifting? gosh!!!
There is only one Jap food there... cant remember the name

I dun stay in Sembawang but I do know abt the thai food at Sembawang Shopping Centre. Love one of their specialities..the spicy fried fish dish.

There's also a seafood restaurant opp Sembawang SC tts pretty good and reasonably priced. Think its called the Yishun Seafood restaurant? ITs a bldg on its own.

ohno

There's Chong Pang Nasi Lemak (shophouse) just next to the Air Defence System Division, which is also right after Sembawang cottage. Opens from 5pm till late... the queue will start to form when it gets later. Was voted the best Nasi Lemak in the first series of "Yummy King"...

Check it out....

semko

According to Makansutra, Chye
lye Restaurant and Sum"s Kitchen and Hong Kong Roasted Meat(both opp. Sem. Shopping cen)are good...

Hey where are you gals staying...me at 351A...

cher

The terrace house restaurant at Sembawang Park is called Bakuroo BBQ and Grill. Big serving.... love the clam chowder soup in a bread pot!

The Jap. rest. along Pierce Reservior is called Tamako. Always go there to eat, price very reasonable.. Especially the sashimi set!

jady

hi cher,

may i know Bakuroo BBQ is at which part of sembawang park? i've been to the park but dnt recall seeing any restaurant there leh..is the price reasonable?

semko, i'm staying further away at 506A. lucky u, just opp MRT rite?

cher

I do not have the exact address but when you go along the stretch of road to the park, you will see private houses on the right...

I think it is at the last turn in road to the private houses (between new semi-detached houses and the old terrace houses)

Anyway, look out for the small wooden sign at the turn in.

Hope I don't confuse you...

mg fan

Hi Jady,

Cher is correct, but i cant remember the road name leh....it should be the last row of terrace houses near the park. Its opp a row of uncompleted houses...

Ah, i was jogging to the park last week and i think they took down the sign alreadie...there used to be a sign though..thats how i found the place...

if u drive along the main road, cant really see it unless u look further in...

Thanks Cher! Will find Tamako and try their sets this weekend...yum...

Btw, me staying at 355A..

passerby

Hi Jady,

The address is:
Buckaroo BBQ & Grill
12-B Andrews Avenue -- off Sembawang Rd.
Tel: 67542621

If you are going there during the weekends, do make a reservation as it's super crowded.

jady

thks passerby! will definitely chk it out!!

hey! btw, i find this coffeeshop selling gd laksa(maybe to me lah). i'll go eat evry wkend! it's at yishun central(not the 24hr coffeeshop).
u know if u walk to end of bus interchg, u'll come across a flight of stairs/escalator.walk thru this part, u'll see the small coffeeshop opp.

sally

hi MGfan,

U stay blk 355A?.. Me jus behind your blk.. i'm at 354A..U jus shifted in right?..
I heard the sembw shopping ctr zi-cha is gonna take over by GIANT.. Dunno how true it is..

So did u go try the tamako?.. how is it?

mg fan

Hi Sally, yup, i just shifted...Should go down this weekend to check the thai stall and tamako out...

aiyoh, did not get the chance to go tamako...had the sudden urge to have the meatballs at ikea, so when there for dinner...

Mango, whats Tamako's address huh? My hubby thinks that he has been there before...Issit Lower Pierce or Upper Pierce? Thanks!

pig pig

Hi MG Fan,

Tamako is along the same row of shophouses as the famous roti prata stall. There is a church next to it.

Opposite is,.... I think SIM now, used to be the old Ahmad Ibrahim Sec School many many years ago.

A few more places is "Han's Restaurant". This is their first stall. Also, there is the famous Ampang Niang Tou Fu along Upper Thomson Road. Can't remember where. Anyone can direct?

I have been living in Yishun for close to 20 years (oh no, feeling very old now.....) and I only know of these few places as mentioned earlier that is good. Unfortunately, this place is not like Katong where there are lots of good food.

mg fan

Thanks Pig Pig.

Yaloh, our area like not many good food leh...but also good lah, can help us control and keep in shape...hahaha

yuanyuan

Hye MG Fan,
Dun say tat. Actually, U think our area the food quite good leh. I'm staying at Yishun, and so far, i think we have the most, good yet not expensive food.
Some places like gain some publicity liao, then no keep up standard or increase $.

BTW, the Thai food at Sembawang SC want to shift where huh??? Cos I quite like their food too. Its rather cheap. ....yummy yummy..

smurf

The Thai food had been shift to Yishun (opp the popular 7-11 & next to KFC.

It is either tat or they got another branch there.

greenie

irene, i think its shifted up to the 3rd level in Semb SC. Now its a restaurant on its own. went there the other day... it was very crowded!!!

junni

Starz is right, it had shifted upstairs.. The one at Yishun is formerly the "Bei Sheng Lou"

This is a new branch of the Thai food it's been there since last year if i'm not wrong. Both places serve the same food, but the one at Yishun charge slightly higher price as it is a restaurant.

The one at Sembawang still gives discounts to the customers though the place has been renovated and they now has a unit on it's own.

wormy

for everyone with a sweet tooth... found out by chance yesterday while going for the chong pang nasi lemak that there is a dessert shop selling yummy dessert! tried the sweet stem egg with milk and ice dessert... taste yummy yummy! ;) think the shop name is 'tian yuan'. somewhere besides the macdonald's.

cookies_gal

For Nasi Briyani (hope I spelt it correctly) lovers, check out the nasi briyani stall at the Northpoint Foodcourt. You won't miss it coz there's guaranteed to be a long queue there during dinner times! It's very generous with its portions and the rice is simply heavenly. (They really use spices liberally) The stall has been around since Northpoint started and my family hasn't found a better briyani stall since...

bit_bit

There's a foodcourt opp Sembawang Shopping Centre which serve yummy bbq chicken wings & sambal stingray... the whole place used to own by Yishun seafood restaurant, but now they only take up abt 1/4 of the area & the rest of the space is converted into a 24-hr foodcourt..

cookies_gal

Some more reccomendations, this time in the Woodlands area at the old Woodlands Central (the big hawker centre near the Causeway)

1)Fishball noodles. You gotta be real early to try this stall, even on weekends, he is sold out by 10am (he's located either opposite a laksa stall or in the row behind the laksa stall)!!! His chilli looks very different from other fishball noodle stalls.

2) Roti prata stall along the last row. Their masala thosai is also good!

3) Nasi lemak (operated by a Chinese). Cheap and good.They offer the option of white rice, nasi lemak rice (I think it's green in color) & nasi briyani rice.

littlesmurfie25

yup the thai stall at sembawang shopping centre is good. apparently the one next to chong pang's kfc is the same branch. i love their pineapple rice!!!!

bin bin, thanks for sharing. i didnt know opp sem shopping centre is a 24 hr food court. tot the entire place belongs to yishun seafood rest. can go try next time.

cookie's gals, agree with you on the nasi briyani. shiok! and yes, the queue is always there....

there's a zhi char stall at blk 313 sembawang cres or drive (near the mrt) that's good. the bak ku teh and pig trotters is yummy too.

book2004

I stay at sembawang. 1 stall that I eat quite frequently is Ba4 Cho4 Mee at Fu2 Cheng2, the eating place opposite of sembawang MRT.

IT Special

laksa

Hi there....

Try this stall at YOU HUAK coffeeshop selling home-cooked dishes opp Semb SC. Their famous dishes includes seafood beehoon, prawn roll,sambal fishhead and delicious indo-style chicken wings.

All their greens n veg are fresh and properly "washed".

It's pretty packed during dinner time.So sometimes have to wait for quite a while.

I checked w them n realised there are oni two"chef" in their kitchen,a couple in their sixties.Making sure every dish is properly done, they never rush thru the cooking.So, customers have to be a little patient.

I frequent their stall at least twice a week n amazingly, i always see the same regulars there.

One sad thing is, they are closed o sundays.

chubbyz

Oh yeah...the coffeeshop opp sembawang SC, i know i know...they have a signature dish call 'bai mee fen', very good le...muz try...tot it looks plain but the taste was superb!!!

snow_baby

my contributions :

IVINS peranakan food - upp thomson
JAI Thai cafe- Thomason plaza
The Prata Place - 1, thong soon ave
Duck rice store - the kopi tiam stretch along the The Prata place, at a corner
Nice zi chai - the corner kopitiam outside nee soon camp (beside the pet shop)
Liquids cafe for nice pasta - opp nee soon camp

bamster

Yes.. I stay Sembawang. And the coffeeshop opp Sembawang SC "Chye Lye Rest" selling Curry Fish head is good. They have other signature dishes like Fried Chicken, Tofu Prawn and must try their chillie crab as well.

bel_vodka

a coffeshop near wdls blk 515 serve very nice popiah n rojak!

a coffeshop s11 near marsiling mrt serves very nice chicken rice

jaimieleeus

there's a coffeeshop near yishun interchange (below crown palace restaurant)that sells very very nice salted egg crab (though their black pepper crab is not nice). m addicted to it and must get my fix there every month.

noscon

hi jaime

I also love love love salted egg crab. There is this coffeeshop store that sell salted egg crabs that got branches in a few area. One of them is at Greenridge mall(bt panjang), the other is in a coffeeshop beside ghim moh mkt. Third one is in choa chu kang and theres others. Theirs is good esp the ghim moh one...fresh crab!

sella

There is this seafood eatery called "Sembawang Yatch Club". Good food, good price.. it is beside the sea.. go during weekend night.. very nice atmosphere.. But preferably if u have ur own transport.

The cereal prawn is yummy