Any Korean drama serial fans here?

gene

hi sakurasan,

i've just started watching korean drama and i liked it. Me hooked to it liao, instead of switching on channel U, 5 or 8, i'll play the korean VCDs..

mvp

I'm not really their fans but quite enjoy watching korean show, esp winter sonata and qiu tian de tong hua...still hv a few more that I watched from TV..like zheng xiang, qing ding da fan dian.....

sakurasan

My fave so far is this drama called Sucessful Story of a Bright Girl. It's VERY VERY nice...funny, touching and the main leads have great chemistry. I've also watched Popcorn and hong dou nu zhi lian...

Mvp: Is qing ding da fan dian good?

ella

Hi hi

I only recently started to watch Korean drama. I LOVE Winter Sonata!!!! Cried and cried as the story develops

Another one that I have watched before was "Huo Hua", but only managed to catch the last 4 episodes, missed the front.

Is qing ding da fan dian the same as Hotelier, with Bae Yong Jun in it?

gene

hi sakurasan,

i started watching those korean serials on tv first like winter sonata, qiu tian de tong hua, i'm pretty bad at remembering the title names, there's another one about a couple working in a soft drink company..(shown on tv too)

the one that i have just completed on my own is hong dou nu chi lian and i really liked it...

now going to start on another, (let me go back and check the title) think its a police cum love story kind of thing?

any reccomendations you have? i prefer those like hong dou...love story and yet thought provoking, not the kind that is shallow love story

i like the male lead so much!!!!!

sakurasan

Hi Gene

If you like hong dou, then you MUST watch Successful Story of A Bright Girl. It's got the same female lead as hong dou, Zhang Nara. The maled lead in this show is darn good-looking...I keep "drooling" over him!!

For hong dou, which male lead do you like? The rich guy or poor guy? I like the poor guy better.

gene

hi sakurasan,

Really?? then i have to grab the successful story of a bright girl. zhang nara is which one? the bad girl or good girl in hong dou?

both guys are good looking, but i think the rich guy look cuter, i prefer that kind more.. hee...

for the successful story..what's the chinese name? i may go and look for it after work later..how about glass slippers? have you watched?
maybe we should exchange VCDs to save $$

what u think?

sakurasan

Hi Gene

Zhang Nara is the good girl...I find her very adorable.

Successful story is "cheng gong nu hai de gu shi"...I wldn't mind lending you this but half the discs which I bot are spoilt!!!
The discs keeps getting "hanged" thru'out the movies...and I ended up borrowing the movie from my colleague. We cld exchange other dramas...

dopey

Hi gene,
Glass slippers is nice. But it has a sad ending. There are 4 parts. So watch out when buying the VCDs.

AMong all the korean dramas i have watched, I still vote "beautiful Days" as my fav.

WInter sonata 2nd. :p

gene

hi sakurasan,

yes, i find her adorable too, and pretty!
oh dear, where did you buy the VCDs?? didn't you went to tell them it was spoilt? ok, have you finished watching them, if not, i don't mind buying and then lent it to you.

hi dopey,
thanks for sharing. Yah i knew it came in 4 parts, was very tempted to buy the other time, but have not finished watching hong dou yet at that time.
What's beautiful days about?
any idea is there any new drama serials? glass slippers i know is pretty new.

sakurasan

Hi gene

Thanks for ur offer!!
I've finished watching the drama..borrowed them from my colleague. I bot this serial from TS Tiong Bahru and I cldn't get it exchanged coz I lost the receipt. *sigh* Anyway, the hong dou that I bot from TS Tiong Bahru also had the same problem. They changed it for me but it was the same... and they told me that it's got something to do with my VCD player...which cld be correct coz I encountered the same problem with some of the HK serials also.

dopey

Hi gene, beautiful days is a old drama. ABt 2 yrs back?? abt there lor.

I think its hard to find them in TS liao.

Anyway, sure there are other good dramas too.

spring

I loved Autumn and Winter Sonata!

Btw, read in ST sometime ago that the famous and beautiful transvestite Harisu is in Winter Sonata?! I think it must be a mistake. Should be in another show cos none in Winter looks like he/she.

can anybody enlighten me?

(ps unless it's in Autumn - cos there is a facial similarity with Harisu and the lady who acted as the 3rd party - fiancee of the male lead, except don't think she's as tall and sexy as the Harisu)

erin

hi!

I have watched a few drama serials too. mainly just rented them from the shop near my place.

My favourite: beautiful days, all about eve and "qiu tian de tong hua"

nutella

I am starting to watch my 2nd korean drama. Saw Winter Sonata and now I am watching Endless Love, that's same as Autumn Sonata right??? Already started crying as I watched the first 3 episodes, I can't imagine that I will be crying for the rest of the show...I am really a crybaby

So who's this Harisu??? I am really curious...

spring

sorry for the late reply. Harisu is an actor who went thru a sex-change operation. saw her pictures on her fan's website and she's really BEAUTIFUL. She really is much more beautiful than natural beauties.

Since I really like Winter Sonata, was curious on ST's report that Harisu was in it. I didn't see anyone resembling her. Maybe the report had a printing error as they sometimes did.

erin

nutella,

u aren't the only one. i started crying whe i watched the 1st two episodes.

If I'm not wrong, the chinese name for harisu is "He Xiu Li".

jenjen

Hi, anyone watched PIANO? I missed the last 2 episodes of Piano last week... apparently they were the last episodes... Anyone can kindly fill me in on what happened?? Thanks

Any chance for you to get hold of the chinese weekly mag that tells the storyline of dramas on TV??

I think that is the best description..

I did watch a little of the last episode but not sufficient to tell you ...
I only know the ending is a unique one..

passerby

Perhaps you can rent the VCD? Usually each VCD contains 4 episodes. This way you can catch the last 2 episodes on TV!

jenjen

i thot it's oredi over? the last 2 episodes is last mon and tue rite? anyway, if no one can help, think i can only buy the vcd..

jenjen

btw, anyone has the Hotelier or Autumn In My Heart vcds? I missed watching both shows.. *sigh*.. just want to watch again.. and Hotelier is showing so late recently I just can't keep awake!

cubby

hi all korean drama lovers,

recently me also started watching korean dramas and have a liking for them too

i also like wonter sonata...and the current channel 8 show on mon and tue called beautiful days! quite excited abt the story..

so wonder wher can i rent these korean vcds? is it at any vcd shops?

bags_lover

me too !! a big fan of korean vcds!!
i have finish all the shows...latest being "all in" ..(its showing on SCV now.)
my fav
1) beautiful days
2) hong dou nu zi lian
3) romance
4) rivals
5) hotelier
fav actors are
1) Jin zhai yuan!!!
2) Li Bing Sien
3) Pei yong Jun!!!
hahaha.. me so crazy tt, even temapted to go Korea to buy their posters!! wahahah!!

mrshay

Good morning to all

Glad to see this forum here, me too, big Fan of K Drama

I am also happy to see that many people also love watching BEAUTIFUL DAYS, I am watching it daily ( VCD) for the past 3 months already,..... Really love the plot and Lee B H.

he is so so cool.....

Hee hee, can anyone let me know what other good dramas coming up ? TS offering the DVD version of the Bright girl..... is it worth catching it ?

cubby

hi bear,

me also like Lee BC...he's so cool man!! really excited abt the the story...glued to the TV every mon and tue!

tobebride

Hi all K-fans,

anyone has beautiful days vcd to let go? If so, how much? And what is the cover like? Also how many disc? Thanks.

mrshay

Hi Cubby/wendy

Sorry, had not been visiting this thread for so long, almost forgotton abt it

Cubby, if u like LBH, let me know, i can share all his websites with u, he is drop dead gorgeous..super cool

Today's news is that he is getting married to his GF.. U know who is she right ?

Beautiful Days( BD) is a good show, I watched almost all Korea shows, nothing beats BD ( as per my own preference. lah....sorry ah )

I am watching the Succesful Story too... nice too

jenjen

I din get to follow beautiful days cos it's always so late at nite.. can anyone kindly lend me the vcd pls?

forest

hi BEAR,
i'm jus a recent follower of korean dramas... i'm also chasing aft Beautiful Days every mon n tues.... really like the story alot... very xin suan.... yet warming...

heee.. its also thru BD tt i like LBH... he's sooo handsome leh.. kekekeke.... who is his GF? i dunno leh.. cos' i'm so new with all these korean actors n actresses... can share share???

mrshay

hI fOREST

Er, his girl friend is Song SH, the one that acted in ALL IN and Autumn ....

It is that show that they fell in love, really very pretty lady

Yes, it is also thru BD that i got hooked on him... nice hair hor

Jen Jen, I cannot loan mine to you as mine is with my collegue now, But trust me, it is a good show to keep for collection..... Nice ending too

tobebride

Hi BEAR,

may i know where did you buy your vcd? What is the distributor's name? Is the vocal ok; I'm worried of buying one that is of China ascent like that in Loving You. How much is it?

cubby

hi bear,

oh isit?? yah her GF also v pretty...but i din watch the autumn..

yah Lee BS really handsome...and the lead actress in BD also very pretty!! i really like the story flows...thou its so late but i never fail to stay up to watch cos its jus so nice!!!
yest was till they got married...i wonder how will it be tonight??

forest

hi BEAR,
ooohhh... Song SH is also the girl who acted in Qing Ding Da Fan Dian (Hotelier) rite? the daughter of the rich man?!?!
ya.. agree she's very pretty!! i hvent watched All In and Autumn yet.. but heard tt both of these shows are very nice too!

ya... Lee BS hair is sooo nice... kekeke... so nicely colored.. n falls so nicely....
find him very cool n charming leh... kekek..

hi tobebride,
i actually saw the BD vcd selling at 1 shop in parkway parade last wk.. the vcd shop on B1... i was contemplating whether to buy it for keeps also.. the pricing there not fixed one.. my hubby asked 1 lady.. she quoted him 28.. then when i asked another lady.. she quoted me 29.90!!! but saw quite a few boxes of BD... so, if u wan.. u can chk it out.. i'm not sure of the translation tho...

oh ya... the lady who tok to me also mentioned tt this batch of BD vcd are second time copies.. so, the images will appear darker... first copy are much brighter n nicer... cos' this show is already selling in 2000 or 2001.. then sales and stock almost finishing... but due to ch 8 screening, there's a sudden demand, so this batch is a 2nd copy... HTH

mrshay

Hi Tobebride

I had my BD at TS Tiong Bahru, i think shld have stock now... The recording is ok, I prefer my VCD than the TC, coz most of the dialog are not the same as compared to TV, dunno who is wrong, who is right, & also the voice of LBH is weird on TV..super high.... kekkee

I bought at about $23+...that was when it is very new, now shld be cheaper i guess

Cubby,

Ya, I started out watching the TV, stayed so late, next day, me keng MC ah....
Think tonight, she wld be back at LBH house, paying her respect to her FIL... then she fainted lor, trying to prepare her FIL's birthday dinner.. The series is ending soon.... As on my VCD< tonite, screening is Disc 18, the last disc is 19. The last part is touching... me teared like no tomorrow

Hi Forest,

Ya, his girl v sweet, and pretty, read yesterday news that they are getting married, turn out to be a rumour only, they say they only getting married at end 2004..

haha, i dunno abt batches leh, that time, i was so hooked that I decided to grab, regardless of black batches... now $29.90 is quite ex.. TS got 10% disc for members...

Ya, i love his hair, super nice and flowly, be there are the right place, heard that he started this trend of tinted hair and the rest follow... hahaha That's my Ah LEe

To all, yesterday I started my first disc of his another show ( old one), about car racing ( not the Addiction movie, this is the drama)
Quite nice...

chicory

Hi Bear,

I caught abit of BD yesterday night, What illness does Choi Ji Woo has in the show? I only catch abit last night after reading all the good comments here. But i like the korean show before BD, the actress and actor quite funny, always arguing
, but i missed a few episodes already
. Thinking of buying the vcd.

Hi bridetobe,

I bought Loving You too, i also find the dubbing very horrible, and the quality of the VCD very bad. I have seen 3 versions of packaging for Loving U vcds in the market. I am also very scared of buying another series of this quality. I find VCD from Innoform has very good quality

mrshay

Hi Chicory

The CJW has some blood disorder, leading to some cancer.... if i can understand the word : xue ai (san shen) am i right ??

The show before BD , ah u mean the succesful story of a very bright girl, ya, that show is nice ! though i had not seen, i heard so many good reviews of that show, saying that it is cute and funny.

I bought all my shows at poh kim and TS, the loving u I have is ok leh.... Where is Innoform ?

chicory

Hi Bear,

Xue Ai is leukemia. How come Korean shows like to portray the female leads suffering from blood disorders or terminal illness? Like Autumn and Pop Corn's female leads... very sad.

Yes, it's that show, really very cute, quite different from the usual melancholy korean shows, but not sure if the endings will be weepy though.

Your Loving U, the dubbing not with China accent? Is the box pink or green? Mine is the pink box, sometimes dun understand what they are saying cuz' of the China's Mandarin. Innoform is the distributor, not sure where is the office, but Winter Sonata is distributed by Innoform, so is very clear and the dubbing exactly the same as TV shown.

That day, went Poh Kim to look for Successful story of bright girl, can't find...

mrshay

Chicory

Try the TS, last sunday, i was at TS suntec, they have 3 versions of the Bright girl, from VCD to VVD, all going off at 10-30%^ discount !!! Quick grab it

I forgot mine is what colour, mine is from TS.... i dun remember china accent.. I heard the ending for the bright girl story is good but funny

forest

hi BEAR,
alamak... u reveal the story b4 i can catch it leh.... .kekekekek....

har... TS sell it soo cheap ah.. kekek.. then tt shop must b a rip-off man!!!

cubby

hi bear,

me so sad yest!! cos i know next week BD last episode liao!!! hate to see ending leh...

hopefully the next show is nice...will realyl miss BD

forest

hi BEAR,
kekekekeke....
i think u were toking abt tue's (yesterday) episode... n for me hor, i always tape the show down.. then watch it during wkend mah.. kekek.. so, when u described it.. kakaka... it was b4 i watched it lor....

pai seh.. pai seh...

hi cubby,
huh.. next wk last episode liao ah..... man, i'm also gonna miss BD leh... its really my no. 1 fav korean show now!! n miss seeing both LBH and CJW

chicory

Hi Bear,

I bot the Bright Girl VCD at TS Bedok. It's at 40% off, original price is $49.90. I am enjoying every episode of the series, both lead actor and actress are very cute, the way they bicker and pretend that they can't stand each other makes me laugh