Any JP or GL for recommendations

bearyblur

i personally had a bad experience with Mr Chan K.Y.

My wedding is end of this year 2007. Being a kiasu couple and after reading about good comments of Mr Chan in this forum, my bf actually call him last year(2006) dec to pre-book him to be our JP.

Of cos, he agree and according to him he has already noted down our solmenization date in his book. He in fact ask us to call him ard July 2007 to confirm again. We felt so lucky that time.. smiling away.

We did. We call back ard july 2007. His response was... 'Oh, why u call now, is very early. Call me ard Oct period'. Of cos, we know we a bit kiasu la. But we just wan to make sure he got our 'bookings' and everything is on schedule.

Just early this week. We called him again. Guess what, first he ask us why we call him for, later he told my bf that he did not note down our date of solmenization and ask we all to look for other JP to conduct our solmenzation! During the whole conversation, his tone was kinda of rude.

Imagine you were in my position, how will you all react?? Now, i have to start to look for other JP again..haiz...

yoshimi

thx a lot.. I'm so glad that I'm able to get him cause the rest are either not available or turn off by the location.

bearypink

Hi All!

When you call the solemniser and he has agreed to grace the ceremony, do you actually ask for the signed consent?

Coz my JP (Mr Chan) told me that the process is automated and I don't need to meet him to do that. He will be sending in the form on our behalf.

How did you all handle yours? Would be worried if I lost my JP on my AD! =)

girl_next_door

hi pinky,

My JP (Prof Yu) also didnt pass me the signed consent. Since your JP had assure you that he will send in the form, then you dont have to worry much

For me, I will get in touch with my JP 1 week before soleminzation day to remind him.

kewpiechong

Dear all brides-to-be

I just had my wedding solemnization on 17 Nov and I want to share with everyone what a wonderful JOP I got.

Lt Lim Huan Chiang. He had the presence. He could control the situation. And he is super bilingual. He had a great sense of humour and he was really friendly. He really made my solemnization ceremony truly memoriable.

You may wonder, how come most people seem to recommend the same few JOPs. I don't know how good those JOPs are. But how I selected mine is based on ROM's recommendation ie find one near you! I know it is risky. But rather than going for the same few popular JOPs who may be really busy, find one who is less "well known". If you are worried abt his pronounciation, you can always speak to him on the phone first before confirming. But if you are still worried, try my JOP Lt Lim Huan Chiang (Tampines area)

chun_chun

hihi! just had my ROM last saturday. shall share my experience here. hope this will come in useful for others

it was a simple, cosy and memorable ceremony (very small scale with 11 people (excluding me and my hubby) i.e. only our family members at a hotel suite), all thanks to Mrs Chia who helped us to grace our solemnisation.

Mrs Chia might be quite 'well-known' for being demanding cos she requests to be picked up by the rep of the couple and also escorted to the next rep or taxi stand (depending where she is going next). Also, she requests to meet the couple weeks before the actual day for a briefing. she also requires us to come up with our own vows rather than using standard one.. it can get quite cumbersome and stressful initally but i personally truly appreciate the fact that she demanded all these.. reason being, she wants to be escorted just so that she will be ready the min she arrive to grace the event. she made our event so memorable with the many meaningful things she said (i was too nervous to memorise any of the things she said!).. the fact that she wanted to meet us is to brief us on the actual day so that everything can run smoothly and up to her expectation! & last thing abt the wedding vow - me and my hubby arranged to prepare our own vows so we only know what each other had at that very mmt... full of anticipation and excitment! so i really would like to thank Mrs Chia for being so demanding and so responsible! highly recommended JP by me and my Hubby

fruitypeach

Hey girls.
I am now very panicky. 3 months ago I called Mr Phang to be my solemnizer and he agreed.
Just yesterday, he called to say he can't make it and referred Mr Koh to me.
My solemnization starts at 2pm and I am getting the JP to come at 2.30pm.
But Mr Koh said he can't guarrantee that he'll be punctual. So I gave him allowance and said latest by 2.45pm, which he can't promise as well..
Because I'm having a lunch buffet which starts at 2-5pm, I can't expect my guests to wait for an hour right?
and if they start digging into the food, wont it be weird if the JP comes, they have to stop eating for the ceremony?
And Mr Koh even told me "Usually your guests will come late, so it shld be fine if i'm late". Then he said i have to pass him the consent form personally at Jln Besar CC, which sounds ulu and i dunno where.. And he said he's only there every Wednesday, after 9pm. -.- At such timing!!!!

My ROM is in 2 weeks' time. I now trying to find other JPs, at this time all the recommended ones are not available, i am very sad!

pyhoh

Hi Jerlyn

so sorry to hear dat las min got hipcups on ur side. Do cheer up ok.

As for Jalan Besar CC dun worry its not ulu. Its directly behind Lavender MRT opposite to the ICA Immigration Building. When u exit fr mrt gate turn left & come up.

Hope u can find another JP who can b punctual soon if possible
Takecare!

chopperpiggy

Hi Jerlyn,

Seems like Mr Phang is famous for cancelling his appointment, now I am worried because I just confirmed with him and my wedding is March 2008. Hope that I will not face the same problem, sorry to hear about your case.

girl_next_door

Hi Jerlyn,

I would suggest you look for another JP, it does not have to be all the popular ones mentioned in this forum.

There are many nice JP who are punctual and good but not being 'promoted' here.

If Mr Koh cannot promise you the time of arrival after you have given him much time allowance, I dont think you should engage him otherwise your 'panic' period would start right now til your solemnization date.

Look through the list of solemnizers on the ROM website, choose a few and call them up to check their availability. While talking to them on the phone, you can voice yr concern about punctuality or any doubts in a nice way and hear how they react. Their voice tone and how they reply can be a good indication of their character. Get the one that you feel comfortable with.

graciie23

Anyone has recommendations for JPs who stay in the Bukit Timah areas? Looking for light-hearted billingual JPs...

Please PM me his name and contact nos/email. Thanks!

fruitypeach

Thanks everyone for ur concern.
I randomly called up a JP, his name is Dr. Lim Lan Yuan. Sounded quite friendly on the phone & emailed me his consent form on the same day.

dylan

Ours was done by a Mr Chia Ti Yu whom we call randomly from the Additional Solemnisers list as the popular ones mentioned many of you were not available. Over the phone, he sounded very friendly and accepted our invitation immediately. Well, when we met up with him, to our surprise, he is very young looking at about 30 years old only. By far, he is the youngest we have seen around. He is very friendly and jovial and took his time to explained to us indepth the steps and procedures we need to look out for. On our big day, he actually came earlier by half an hour to run through a rehearsel with us before hand. We are very glad that we managed to get him as our solemniser.

bearyhip

Any JP to recommend? I have approached Prof Yu but he is unable to be my JP as he has work commitmment. My ROM date is 10 Jan 08 and now I am stressed!!!

bearyhip

Hi Terence

Thank you for your recommendation. Spoke to Mr Chia and he is able to be my JP and the best is that he is available either Lunch or Dinner time....more relax liao...next task...venue for ROM....

dylan

He quite helpful and friendly. He met up with us to discuss over on how we would like to proceed with the ceremony and he was ready to accomodate any customisation we need.

After the main solemnisation, he also gave us a touching and meaningful sharing session on maintaining a blissful marriage before formally pronouncing us man and wife.

Ours was in mandarin, but I understands he does in both english and mandarin.

annping

Hi Pinky,

I also called Mr Chan and he has agreed to grace the ceremony. I also asked him whether do we need him to sign the consent form.
Mr Chan also said the same thing that the process is automated and I don't need to meet him to sign any consent form. He said he will call me.

I also worry if I lost my JP on my AD too.

So far, did he contacted you?

gracelourdes

dylan, thks to ur recommendation...i managed to contact Mr Chia just now...he said ok to solemnize for me although mine is on sat and quite early also...

turkkadevi

I recently held my Solemnization ceremony on 27th Jan 08 @ Banana Leaf Apollo Restaurant.

My JP was Mr David Naidu. I would say that my choice didnt go wrong. He was the best solemnizer that i had ever came across. Everyone who attended my ROM simply loved his procedure and they had blast of a great time too.

If you are on a lookout for a JP and a memorable evening. Please lookout for Mr David Naidu and you will never regret it for your lifetime as this only happens once...

Good luck dear ones. Hope this helps.

starjoy

hi can someone send me Mr Chan Kai Yau's contacts? cos on ROM website only state his home tel and i cant call through to him.. thanks!

ixoral

ChopperPiggy: what did u mean? isnt it normal for the JP to say that? :p or you're still excited over the thought of that? hees

etnl

hey you all, i'll be having my ROM solemnization at gardenasia (lim chu kang area).. have called 5 JPs as recommended by you all, and all was unable to make it.. any other JPs to recommend that is near LCK area?

pinkie_nah

Hihi all ...
I looking for a humorous and bilingual JP ... but my wedding is far far far away .. but date is super popular .. 20/09/2009 .. should i start booking now ?

girl_next_door

Hi nahinbliss,

It is too early to book. Most JP will not accept booking. You should start to make a list of your preferred JPs and ask one by one about half a yr before the date.

fatbabe

I am desperate in hunting for a JP.. Called Mr Yeo, Mr Chia, Mr Tang, Prof Yu, Mr Kok, Mr Chan.. All unable to make it..

My ROM date is a hot date (20 Sept).. Was advise to confirmed the venue than called the JP.. Now can't get them. anyone please advise any JP?