Any Hilltop Garden bride?

reb

Care to share your wedding experience at hillTop garden level 2 ballroom? Comments from your guest.

hazuki

hi, i attended a wedding there juz this mth.
service - 3/10
cleaniness of servers - 4/10
no lazy susan - the glass turning table
ballroom looks - 9/10
aisle - very long (must walk faster)
carpark - 1/10 (no space - park at neighbourhood carpark n put coupons)

pkum

hi petrina, why do u rate the service 3/10? pls comment more.

I went to view the venue on nov 06:
ballroom- 9/10 very beautiful, pillarless
aisle- 8/10 long aisle, means longer march.. i like that
car park - 2/10 i think guest have to come early else really no car park.
deco - 8/10 really very crystal theme.

hazuki

at my table, the server's vest was dipping in my partner's food while he's giving out food portions. (Yuck)
the sharkfins soup was dripping all over the table (no glass turning table so cannot clean, not sure if they'll clean though)
between 7-up n plain water, they nv ask b4 topping up. they simply assume they're topping up the correct drink.
no ice when topping up... not cold.
same for liquor n chinese tea as they use same glasses for all drinks (water, beer, soft drinks, chinese tea,liquor)
i wanted to book them as the ballroom was nice, but i dun wan horrible after dinner critics frm my guests... so i chose holiday inn instead.

pkum

hi petrina,
thanks for ur valuable feedback. i will take note of that. hopefully highlight to the in charge. or 'warn' my guest...

reb

Thanks for feedback too! btw do you gals mean the crystal ballroom level 4? Pk did you book hilltop gardeen for your AD?

seah_fiona

Hi all Brides

Wow I see the feedback it since like hilltop ia not really a good place to have wedding dinner? As I quite like their ballroom...

pkum

hi rebecca, yes i have already booked the 4th floor ballroom. and i really like the ballroom itself. my ad is this june 07.

acy

i've attended a wedding there and i think you reali have to look out for the audio/visual.. the music was either too loud or too soft... overall, i guess the staff there is still pretty "green" and inexperienced.. so u reali gotta keep a close watch..

stage is oso v v small... not much space left with the champagne glasses and the cake. ur emcees will either have to speak at the rostrum placed off-stage or squeeze somewhr between the tiered-cake n glasses... oso, pls get v tall emcees cos there's no stand at the rostrum...

then again, i liked the ambience and decor.. food is good too... this plc is value for money...

only my 2 cents worth for your consideration!!

pkum

hi acy, a week before our ad, we should be trying out the av devices and do some planning. hopefully 5 mths later, they will gain more xperience and do a better job. cheers

acy

we tried out the av before the wedding started (i was helping out at the wedding as an emcee). things were fine, but during the actual event itself, the music was too loud during the march-ins and they dunno how to tune the volume down at the right moment. this is all abt timing, right? beyond our control.. during the dinner, they played the music too loudly too. we had to tell them to lower the vol at least 3 times throughout the dinner!

but well, like u've said, i certainly hope that they've accumulated enough experience by ur wedding!!

pkum

wah like that ah.. i better put one person in charge of the av system. cant relly trust those people..
what is by then, they change for new guys for the audio... then these new guys oso no experience.
but my side , we have to control whatever and as much as we can.. *headache*

bel_vodka

hi pk.. i have juz signed up the wedding dinner package with hilltop too. im oso a june bride. my Ad is on 25 june. wad abt urs?

princess_val

hihi mi 24 June @ crystal ballroom.

Saw tt Hilltop isn't providing very good service, so i will have to warn the in-charge first. if not good service, i will demand compensation.

pkum

hi rebecca & sophisticated bride, pls share with us your experience when your AD is over. congrates & cheers!

rebecca: i haven go for food tasting yet... have u confirm wtih them ur no. of table? i tot of going there next week, coz i haven confirm my no. of tables... i understand they will print 75% of ur total no. of tables right?

icy_icy

I had also book the crystal ballroom, heard fm my friends waiters service not so good, but then again I had already book, so hopefully they will improve when my ad comes....mine is on 2nd Dec 2007.

reb

Yah they will need you to comfirm the number of tables. Have comfirm 32 tables.they will print 75% of the invitation cards,additional printing will be done if you need more. Mine AD is Mar 17,yours?

icy_icy

Hehehe, Thks Pkum!!

Rebecca I didn' know that they will print 75% of the invitation cards only leh....they did not tell me if I need more I have to paid wo....Shouldn't they provide it all free of charge for us...I very raw in this kind of things....

pkum

Hi blinko.. how many table u getting? i may be negotiating for more. because we are getting ard 60 tables...

icy_icy

Hihi Pkum,

I'll be getting only 45 tables at crystal ballroom, if you need more tables think you better ask Suzanne whether could compromise more than 60 tables, hopefully you could get it!

pinklady23

I'm interested to have my wedding at hilltop garden. But seems like the service is quite bad. Please share with me your experiences. Thanks. i do not have so many guests, do they have smaller ballroom for about 20 tables?

icy_icy

Hi Joelle,
Yes, they have a smaller ballroom at 2nd Level, if u do not want too many tables, they can closed the partition accords to ur requirement. Overall I still like there, cos it looks nice, especially the outside haha..U and ur HTB can go down take a look before u decide. So when is ur Actual day?

pkum

hi Blinko, i shld be getting 60-62 tables. but they r only givin us the invitation card 75% of the cfm guest... scared 75% will not be enouhg.

hi pk...

i got 75% of my tables (30 tables)... ard 250... for the cards and insert. i guess shld be enough. coz some coming are couple or family. so one card for them...

pkum

hihi mine is 60 tables. i scared not enough. for myself mostly is individual.. but maybe my in law side is family and company...

icy_icy

Hey Pkum,

Think you better check with them if to print by ur own cost for the extra, wat's the cost...But sadly they did not inform me of this issue , only to print 75% of the card....

Learn fm experience of my brother in law wed, my father in law wrote on the invitation cards for the attendees but he should write on the envelope instead, so they have to dump many of the written cards and re write again. Try to count hw many pple you are inviting in a list, fm there then you see whether enough or not loh....Hopefully yours will be enough...

bel_vodka

if were to gif the staff there ang pows as an incentives to ask them be more courteous to my guests n provide better services, how much shd we gif them each person? aiyo, alreadi very tight liao still muz gif them AP.. zzzzzzz very sian wor..

ezvy

Thought of holding my AD at Hilltop garden, got a few enquiries and hope that those who have booked can advise.

1) How much deposit do they need?
2) How many ballroom do they have?

loink

1.I placed a 2K deposit.. Not very sure how much thou..

2.Crystal ballroom on the 4th floor (1.2k compulsary)
Unless u choose the ballroom on the 2nd floor, depending on the no. of tables u have cos they hav 3 partitions.

ezvy

Thanks Loink & celine for your info...
Dunno can nego for lower deposit or not,
coz very tight now...

One more question, do they diiferentiate between weekdays and weekend price, coz its not stated on the website, but price for weekend are normally higher...anyone can advise? Thanks

icy_icy

Hey Ivy,

I dun think there is any difference in prices whether in weekend or weekday. The table price list they show me are all net price.
I've confirm my tables with them last Oct/Nov 06 for my AD on 2007.
Their std requirement is 2k, mostly now around the range. U can call Suzanne(Hill Top Manager) for more info.

All the best!

I'm a Hilltop garden bride too...my AD is on 27 Jan 08 and we've reserved the crystal ballroom on level 4.

Blinko: Yes, there is no difference in the price regardless whether it's a weekday/weekend package.
They recently have adjusted their menu price.

Suzanne has showed us the new lazy susan...very nice..very diff from the clear standard ones.

I'm worried for the service after reading this thread...will work with the person in charge to ensure everything will goes smoothly.