Any help on teeth whitening for naturally yellow teeth?

isobellies

hi monster, yup, i did zoom before my wedding last year, but haven't been as diligent with the follow up home whitening gels, i still have tons left! :D zoom was quite good, i usually have sensitive teeth (can't eat things too cold), but i hardly felt any sensitivity when i did the whitening.

are there any other laser systems apart from zoom?

monster6

There are other whitening systems besides Zoom.Zoom is not laser whitening.laser whitening is a totally different thing.Zoom is light activated whitening.

sunflower44

Hi Monster6 and Iso,

i've gone thru these 3 dental websites in BKK, and shortlist from there. Maybe u can check it out.

1) http://www.silomdental.com/
2) http://www.bangkokdental.com/
3) http://www.bangkoksmiledental.com/

I've chosen Bangkok Dental; initial preference is Silom Dental but their appts could not match my timings in BKK. Like what Monster6 said, if u go there just for the purpose of doing ur teeth, then it may not be worth it, considering the accom and air tix u gotta spend. Since me n FH planning to go there and scout for stuff for our new house and wedding, might as well do it there... =p

Monster6,
u're a dentist rite? an check with u where is ur clinic? How much u charge for dental checkup, etc? Me thinking of going for a checkup b4 i go BKK...

monster6

Hi Sunflower,

U need to PM me for me to give u the address of the clinic.otherwise it will be deemed as advertising.

ezekiel

Went to this dental clinic at Paragon, Ho Kee Hai & Partners. Apparently they're highly recommended by my previous dentist as there's is some kind of specialist-everything-pao-ka-liao clinic. Just did my cleaning covering up all the spots on my teeth and going for teeth whitening real soon at $1200 (for a specialist to do think quite worth it). The website is www.hkhdentalimplant.com

They're on 13th floor just beside the lasik surgery (can take off my specs at the same time!) kekeke.
My friend went there to do teeth whitening and super shiney after that! but she continued to smoke even though first 2 week cannot and now so wasted. Shimmer has gone. Think she's doing it again.

Can't wait to get me some pearlie-whites!

fionaallen

i have used the DIY kit but it's too tedious and too long. I even got bad sore throat after several uses.

Then i tried Brite Smile (which is a patented whitening technology from US used by some dentists globally) and i get instant pearlie whites. It also got rid of the stains in between my teeth. I did that about 4 years back and my teeth still look gleaming white.

There is promotion for $900 now. http://www.britesmile.com.sg/

harrods

Hi All, just want to update that I found the VICCO powder that some of the others gers have talked about here. Will try it for a week and see how it works. ;)

monster6

VICCO powder? How does it work? Where is it fr?
To me,it seems like it's more of abrasion to remove external stains than working on yellow teeth (which is considered internal stains).If used excessively,abrasion will result in sensitivity.The only way to remove internal stains is thru' whitening.No other ways.Anyway,external stains will be removed by scaling & polishing by the dentist.

ariesta

hi cynthia, watson has a DIY whitening product... but havn't tried it yet... quite cheap. $45 for the kit. take home and put it on every nite for 5 days i tink....

cynthia2317

thanks ariesta...
i saw it too. its call cleverwhite i think. I m nt sure if it works and will it cos any sensitivity to the gums or teeth.
Have anyone use it before?

i have tried colgate whittening product. 2 years ago, its wsa heavily advertise and cost about $20 +.
after a few days of using, i think its too strong for me as in it attack my gums. my gums bleed. so, i thought maybe the liquid should not have contact with my gums so i avoid the gum area.

but..not much difference averall. dun attempt too much whitening product cos it will weaken your teeth structure.

one cheap way is to apply baking soda to teeth to achieve that "whitening" effect.
for me, I clean my mouth with tissue after i drink coffee. or i will eat chewing gum to remove the stains.

erinkgt

did anyone try crest whitestrip?? any idea where i can get this from? i never try ebay before,also i no credit card..

erinkgt

does anyone know of a cheap dental??? any recommend???i got lotssss of decay & filling to do...I went for nuh dental consultation.Dentist said i must do all my decay & filling before i can consider bleeching. also, is i-white kit effective? i read from somewhere that it work...
pls advise, thanks.

eliaz_0509

hi...i was recomended a dentist at chai chee...LUMINOUS DENTAL CLINIC....found the whitening services are very very cheap...mayb cus they juz opened and all treatments are going at a superb low price..n the dentist is so handsome!!haha....ask for DR LEE..i also brought my mum down as she wants to do implant.i ustand implant is very expensive (10000PLUS) but was thinkg since tt clinic juz opened,so probably they may offer cheap prices..but when i brought my mum there, DR LEE said she dun nid to do implant n offered another alternative wic is so much much cheaper!!n my mum reli hv no probs wif her teeth aft tt treatment!!!this DR LEE reli hv ethics!haha...n its not that DR LEE doesnt know hw to do implants..cuz i heard his nurses askg him abt implants appts..etc...

hv visited Q & M but e svc reli 'yucks' me..wil nvr go bk there again...but for the ethics of DR LEE, who reli just cares abt his patients well-being, i reli dun mind going dwn to his clinic at chai chee...dou i'm stayg at Sembawang...hee...email me at [email protected] if u want more info...good luck every one!!

yellowteeth

Hi hi anybody has the experience of going for teeth whitening at National dental centre? How do your find the effect? I just called to make an appointment and just the consultation itself costs $70-$90 because i m going direct and thus no subsidies. =(

the hotline also mentions that teeth whitening costs around $900.. expensive leh..

erinkgt

hi yellowteeth,
i was told ndc waiting time is very long so i went nuh 01/08/07 instead.i paid total $80.++ for consultation & two x-ray on teeth.the dentist said i need to do my LOTS OF decay,Lots OF FIlling before i can do any bleaching.After bleaching, need to redo filling to match the whitening.So now, i am trying to find cheap dental to do all these...

Btw, have anyone try crest whitestrip??need to order online-but i no guts & no credit card. Also heard i-white from guadrian is good, any comment???

eliaz_0509

Hi SW,

hv already emailed u..hope u rec it..cuz my pc screw up again...

anyw,the previous time i went to do teeth whitening under DR Lee was at his previous clinic which cost ard $1200..now i think Dr Lee's Luminous Clinic is having a promotion ...(cuz i saw the promotion phamplet outside his clinic)..think sud be ard $600+..but not sure if the promotion ended...haiz..sud hv waited for his new clinic rite...

the only cons i've cum across is that one of his nurse doesn't know english v well so u hv to really speak slowly..anyway, below is his new clinic address and contact nos..

LUMINOUS DENTAL CLINIC
BLK 25A CHAI CHEE RD (Bedok area)
#01-455
TEL:64464364

Eliaz

monster6

Lgt: Crestwhite works,but it's not available at pharmacies in s'pore.It's a US product.I don't think it has arrived at our doorstep yet.But Crestwhite will only work to a certain extent coz of saliva contamination.So the end results may not be wat u expect.

ELIAZ: 1st,I feel happy that u've found a handsome dentist whom u're comfortable with.I have mixed feelings reading ur post.As far as I know,there are only 3 methods of replacing missing teeth.

1) Best option: Implants.Expensive,but best option as no other teeth are 'disturbed'.Long treatment time,but success rate of abt 97% in a non smoker & someone with no underlying systemic disease that will compromise the healing process

2) Bridge: 2nd best option.Less expensive than implants.However,2 teeth on either side of the space needs to be trimmed in order to support the bridge.in a way,2 good teeth (assuming they haven't been restored) are sacrificed to replace 1 missing tooth.Many times,I will only trim those teeth if they have a large filling that will require a crown to prevent fracture.In this way,since the supporting teeth needs a crown,i don't see it as sacrificing a good tooth to replace 1 missing tooth.

3)Denture: Least expensive.troublesome.needs to be taken out every night.thick,uncomfortable.

From wat i see,implants are still the best options for replacing missing teeth.It's not that i don't have morals coz i recommend implants to patients,but it is the best option.I will place an implant for my mum/dad anytime! in fact,i have persuaded my mum to have 2 implants done,but she refused coz of fear(which is very normal).

I am guessing that ur mum had a bridge done instead of implants.But have u tot if any teeth have been sacrificed coz of the bridge? To me,u seem ignorant of the pros & cons of the options to replace missing teeth.Pls do not be offended,this is my opinion.As a dentist reading how u rave abt how good Dr.Lee is & wow,no need to do implants,have alternatives,i can't help but wonder if the whole range of options & their pros & cons been explained to you & ur mum clearly.yes,there are surely alternatives,but there are pros & cons too.Personally,i always run thru' all the options,including doing nothing to the space & the consequences.ultimately,the decision is theirs.

anyway,success rate that any literature looks at is 5yr,10 yrs,15 yrs.No one looks at short term success rate coz it's not reflective of how good the work is.this is something to bear in mind.and cheap doesn't mean good.there's a reason y it's cheap.My prices are higher than wat i read in ur post.but see,as dentists,we charge according to the amt of time spent.fair enough,right? if i spend 1hr doing a cosmestic filling that makes a person look good,i charge more.the material cost itself is already higher for cosmetic fillings.hence,i'm always quite skeptical abt fellow collegues who charge so little,esp for implants.

Well,as an ethical dentist,i will not comment more on charges,but make sure u find out wat u are getting.there's no free lunches in this world.similarly,u pay for wat u get.

yellowteeth

I am currently using the home kit whitening pdt.. I have only used it for 2 days and I am experiencing immense teeth sensitivity.. is that normal?

the first day I put the tray on for 1 hr and the 2nd dy I put overnight (dentist said min is 1 hr but can put overnight for better result)...but after the 2nd day, I am feeling teeth sensitivity for the whole dy..

also, how much gel should I put in the tray? can I put a lot for better results? I dun see any effect after 2 dys at atll..nth at all.. heard from dentist i shd see some effect after 1st use but apparent it doesnt work for me..

Also the gel seems to get in contact with my gum (as my teeth are very crooked) and I think tt is causing teeth sensitvity. how?? I spent a few hundreds bucks on this tray and I seriously want it to work but on the other hand I m thinking of giving up since the teeth sensitivity is too much....

Pls advice!!!!!

monster6

Hi Yellow teeth,

1) Only use 1 drop for every tooth.placing more gel is only wasting the gel.Make sure u place the gel at the narrowest part of the tray (i.e at the edge of the tooth area).when u wear the trays,press the tray against ur teeth so that the gel will contact the front surface of ur teeth.that is all u need

2)U may be experiencing bad sensitivity coz u used too much gel.

3) Sensitivity is a known side effect of teeth whitening.If it's really bad,stop for 1 day & use it again the day after.

4)Don't give up.U usually won't see any effect after 1 use.u need to use it continuously (4-6 weeks for a medium concentration gel) to see the effect.Home whitening kit is slow,but cheaper than if u do it at the dentist.

5)For better results,avoid tea,coffee,smoking & any food with dark sauces.ur teeth will pick up stains more easily during the duration of whitening.So if u can avoid it,u'll get better results

Be patient! persevere! u'll get there,gal!

yellowteeth

Hi Monster6

i will persevere as I wont want that few hundreds to go down the drain.. Hope I can really see results..

anyway the placing of gel in the tray is difficult because it is hard to spread the gel evenly at all tooth due to my crooked teeth.. =((

Tks for your great advice.. i will continue!!!

yellowteeth

Hi MOnster6,

a question. How long do I have to put on the tray? If I put on a few hours (ranging from 1 hour to say, 3 hours), the sensitivity wont be very bad the next day. However if I put on overnight, I would experience terrible senstivity. Therefore what is the acceptable number of hours to put on the tray so that I will see better and faster results?

rosewhite

Hi monster6..

I have removed my braces not long ago, & now going to use the home whitening kit. Question is, i noticed 2 teeth has shifted & though my dentist said that it will aligned back with constant wear of retainers but it didnt work at all. I wear them all the time except eating my meals. What can I do to make it straight again?

Also , if I use the whitening kit, would my teeth shift even more as i was told to wear it when i sleep..thats many hours without retainers.

thx

monster6

Hi Yellow teeth,

The best result will be achieved if u can use ur whitening trays overnight.However,it seems that u experience very bad sensitivity if u use it overnight.I would suggest 2hrs every night.But pls check with ur dentist if it's ok coz i don't know the concentration of whitening gel u have been given.

Hi Rosewhite,

It's normal for slight rotation of teeth once the braces have been removed.Wearing retainers is to prevent further shifting of teeth.I don't know how badly ur teeth have shifted,but i don't think u will get much movement if u wear ur retainers constantly.Don't forget that once we have braces (yes,i've got teeth that rotated after my braces were removed & i'm still wearing my retainers nightly till now),we become more conscious of how straight our teeth are and we tend to scrutinise every rotation.However,to an untrained eye,it may not be so bad.So don't panic too much over this.

ur home whitening trays will help prevent teeth movement to a certain extent,acting like a retainer.However,the tension is not as great as the retainer,so it's not as effective in preventing movement of teeth.If u're concerned,pls speak to ur dentist.I'm sure he/she will be able to work something out for u.I haven't seen how 'bad' ur teeth are after u removed ur braces,so i cannot comment too much.

yellowteeth

Hi Monster6,

thank you for your reply.. I have discovered a way to minimize the sensitivity. Use Sensodyne (or any other toothpaste) and it really helps to reduce sensitivity.. It has eased my sensitivity by quite significantly.. =D

erinkgt

just enquiry...Does anyone went for 2nd time bleaching???

I understand that i may belong to the "natural yellow teeth",but how to be that sure?? Cos, i belong to the "stubborn" type...Dont wish to accept the fact unless there is prove...Because i went for britesmile,then i personally feel its still yellow but others notice its whiten a bit liao...So,does i really belong to the natural yellow?

Since i no extra $$ for bleaching, i was thinking of trying i-white or cleverwhite instead.But both price difference a lot...Any commend??

Then someone mention PROPHY JET polishing.Any1 know of east area dental that have this???

monster6

Dear Lgt,

Yes,ppl do bleach their teeth 2nd time,but only if they have stained or discoloured again.Some teeth do not react to bleaching the 1st time & will need to be done again coz of stubborn internal stains.

b4 u went for ur 1st time Britesmile,did the dentist tell u that u will never get toilet bowl white? sometimes it could be that ur expectations are not met coz u were not briefed properly of the expected outcome.

Why do u want to try prophyjet polishing? it only removes external stains,which should have been removed prior to bleaching already.

reality

I just did the Britesmile recently. It can only lighten by a few shades, not the perfect white type. In my case, I find that the whitening is not very even (some teeth not as good). My dentist also mentioned that to redo again, the best is to wait at least 3yrs. Meanwhile, for maintenance, she suggested using the Britesmile gel, and she said whitening toothpaste do not have much effect.

jo_vin

Does anyone knows what's the difference between Britesmile and Zoom? Which is better? Mine is natural yellow teeth, but will i be able to see visible results if i go for the whitening program? Thanks!

sunflower12

I've tried clever white before. its not very effective...but I have not experienced any discomfort in gums. Now thinking of trying iWhite too. Does anyone know how much iWHite cost and whether is it effective?

musical18

hi, i have known of a toothpaste that could cure bleeding gums within weeks, improve sensitive teeth within weeks and even teeth whitening with weeks. It's especially good for smokers because it remove nicotine stain as well.. Price at about $15 and it can last you for 3-4 months. Interested ppl can email me at [email protected] for more details!

jo_vin

Hi Lina, Zoom is available at Epismile at Thomson Plaza. Not very sure of the exact unit number but it's next to KFC. Price is $950.

Btw, my dentist told me Brite Smile is better. My dentist is a friend of my friend so she wont lie to me. I just got mine done at Paragon SmileWorks and they having promotion till End Feb i think. Only $750. U can call up and ask them. The number is 6238 9319.

realm

whitening depends on the type of discolouration and severity so difficult to compare results between individuals.
zoom and britesmile about the same, as the two company have decided to combined.

on another note this website may be useful to read:

www.identalcare.com.sg

dyj3003

anyone knows if bleaching will be effective if our teeth colour is naturally a light tint of yellow? my teeth is hardly near white since they develop and has become more yellowish over the years.

I dont take coffee/tea/curry so dont think it's stains from food. Besides, every time I visit the dentist, it's very fast as not much scaling is required, just some polishing. 5-10min and off I go.. want whiter teeth for my PS and AD, pls advise. TQ

kim_angelyn

Anyone tried teeth whitening at Fabalous Tan??
They offer this besides tanning services.

Care to share your experiences? Thanks!

isobellies

bubbles

err.. i don't think u shld go anywhere else but a dentist for whitening, unless you want to have problems in the future loh
i heard bugis got one push cart that offers whitening for like $200+ or $300+ but the guy who said he went, the next day his gums hurt like hell becuase they never protect them properly. now regret.

anyway i recently did Zoom! for $699, not bad results! but also different pple got different result lah. also depends on how much staining things you take, like coffee, red wine, smoking, etc.

pple who are intersted can PM me for more info.

petitegirl

I did mine at a dentist for $400. Its those take home kit. Should actually do it consecutively for 2weeks but I stopped after my 1st attempt. I put too much gel and my gums kind of corrode and looks like ulcer and it hurts.

After that I rest for 1mth and resume. This time I did 2days only and can see visible whitening effects. I stopped again coz I went for wisdom tooth operation then cannot use. Was wondering how white it'll become should I continue for 2weeks.

P/s: It'll cause sensitive to your teeth. Think some may find it really uncomfortable. I hard severe sharp pain like drinking cold water and that kind of sensitivity.

barberry84

My friend has took her teeth whitening treatment at specialist dental group. They have a lot of experienced doctors with reasonable prices. Perhaps you want to try it someday and hope it help..

bomohpang

hi all...i bought the Theramed intensive whitening toothpase...but after brushing, one of teeth chip!!!! my GOD! maybe i brushed too hard or my teeth enamel is too thin. i don know wat to do now! i strongly suggest to consult your dentist before u try any new producst. Now i 'm v regret. probably hv to spent more money to repair my chip teeth. it's really a nightmaire :<

sharon__joseph

hi, may i know how much exactly is britesmile? someone told me they did it for $750 but my dentist quoted me $1200.. anyone has done it before? any side effect?

rachel1987

hi can try one of the best tooth gels on the market. this non-abrasive, non--flouride formula contains 100% stabilised aloe vera gel with bee propolis .the result is a formula that keeps breath fresh and whitens witrhout bleaching.(130g) at $16.35

interested can email or add me at msn at [email protected]

jeff2009

There are many options available in the market for tooth whitening that meets your needs, they freshen breath and help us to reduce dental plaque and gum disease. But i would recommend you to purchase it from Gosmile.com, As GO SMiLE's Two-Step Smile Program is the fast, easy, totally modern way to whiten your teeth and keep them white! Forget those messy, time-consuming, and uncomfortable strips and trays. An ideal solution to get white teeth for those with busy schedules. I have used it earlier and got amazing results.