Any good SEAMSTRESS to recommend ?

cawaii

fairymoss,
she quote me $120 for cs w/o beadings.
i didnt check w her on the credit card, will check with her and let u know.

Errr... girls ah... I understand that Kim lives in the East... but does she like make her dress in the West or Central area cos' I am interested to make a cheongsam but lives in CCK leh

fairymoss

Hello Female,

U back in Singapore already issit? Long time u didn't post msg here. Hey, saw u yesterday at Kim's place!

female

**GASSPP**

fairymoss, hahaaaa, so qiao! which one is you?? spects or no spects?!! you actually recognize me!!

i havent been back for 2 months; sat was the 1st time i visit kim ever since my wedding. brought my jie-mei there to make her gowns. btw, did you see that oh-so-gorgeous lace wedding dress?? is it yours? its the most beautiful thing i've ever seen! kim said the bride-to-be took the idea fr my wedding dress. i must say, the bride did a far, far better job than me!

i'll probably see you there again, coz im making some dresses too - 4 good friends' wedding this year. what are you having made?

Hi female,

good to hear that so many girls has 'benefitted' from Kim's hands...hahaha

think i'll visit here soon to get her to sew my bridesmaid's dresses too...
seems like can get her to do for me one CS as well huh...
how you getting on?

choco

hi female & all!

i'll be meeting kim for the 1st time this saturday to discuss on making of evening gown, as well as dresses for my mum & MIL. (decided to visit her after hearing all the good reviews from female)

Wld like to find out if any of u had asked Kim to make dresses for ur mums before? Does she hv experience in making that type of dresses?

Also, will kim be able to design the evening gown for me? Or wld i hv to give her a design? Coz i'm not v sure wat design i'd like yet...

Am also thinking of asking kim to make my bridesmaids' dresses. Postpet2 - care to share how much is each bridesmaid dress?

thanks & appreciate all ur comments!

Hi choco,

I've not talked to Kim yet for bridesmaid dresses, but from threads above, i think it cost abt $80 for simple ones.
You may wanna ask kim abt it?

fairymoss

Hello Female!!

Which one do you think it's me? Heehee, I'm the one without specs, long hair but didn't tie and the skinnier one. Oops, think my friend gonna kill me for that.
I recognise u! You look exactly the same as in the pic, complete with the makeup somemore! after that, Kim showed us your pics, the same ones which you posted on the net. That lace dress isn't mine lah. I didn't make any dresses there, brought my Mummy and MIL to make theirs, and that girl whom you saw is my bridesmaid and I brought her there to make hers. I dunno want to make one for myself or not. My BS doesn't come with tea-dress but if I'm gonna make one, then would it be too rush?

Choco,

My bridesmaid dress cost about $160, it's a simple tube dress. It also depends on the material, if it's lace, think more ex lor.

princess_lee

Hi to all beauties here,

Can I have the address & contact no. of Kim? I wanted to do a tea dress. Is she good with chiffon, any idea?

female

hi fairymoss,

ahha, i did think that was you
Just a feeling. Me exactly like photo?? Strange, did u see the size of my eyebags?? & i only had acne cream & eye-liner on..hmm, maybe i shld stop bua-ing my pimple cream all over my face haahhaa! When is your big day? Kim can churn out simple dresses quite fast, esp if you buy the fabric yourself.

rem to give the dresses' photos to kim afterwards hor. she always complain everybody promise to send her photos, but few actually do. mine was looong over-due.

princess, kim's tel: 6783 1963. shes located in Tampines. Chiffon is a common material - shld be no problem.

fairymoss

Female,

Wah, your six sense so good, can tell that was me ah? Yeah lor, i think u look exactly like photo leh, maybe the eye liner lah, that's why I find u soooo familiar, but u were on the phone, so didn't call u lor. When would u be going to Kim again? sekali will see u there. My big day in June, actually I brought my mum, MIL, bridesmaid to make dresses, and I myself didn't tailor. I got mine at the BS. Yes, Kim is fast, she says she can finish 2-3 dresses a day leh! ok, would take dresses' pics of mothers and bridesmaid so that she can add on to her portfolio.

choco

hi fairymoss,
wow wld appreciate if u cld email me the pics of the dresses made at Kim's place when they're ready!

i'm also getting married in june & thinking of making my EG, mum & MIL's dresses, and prob bridesmaids' dresses. Was actually quite concerned that no time to do all that! Coz so many dresses...but seems like Kim's quite experienced & efficient, so hopefully will be ok!

Excited abt meeting her tmrw!

choco

hi neece,
yes kim shops for the fabric with u. So no worries!

i've visited Kim already yesterday. She's real nice & friendly. Think we're all gonna tailor-make our dresses with kim. Gonna buy material with her in April!

shelle

I've called kim and she is meeting me at arab street in April too.. She mentioned meeting another family before that, choco is that you?

So what are you tailoring choco? WG? EG? CS?

choco

hi shelle,
are u meeting her on 3rd april? if so, then that family is me!

am tailoring my EG and 2 dresses for my mum & MIL. how abt u?

shelle

heheh. yes choco. i guess that would be you! I will be tailoring a cheongsam. Maybe my bridesmaids' dresses. I have mentioned to my mom and MIL, but neither seem keen to tailormake at the moment..

When is your wedding day choco? How long does Kim usually take to tailormake a dress?

choco

oh that's you! what time did u arrange to meet Kim? who knows...i may meet u there too

my wedding's on 19 June. How abt urs?
not sure how long Kim takes to tailormake...
but i think give her about 1 month shd be sufficient!

ur cheongsam is for ur teadress?

shelle

yes, my AD is 10 July. She arranged to meet you at 10 am right? I am meeting her at 12.

Wow you are really making a lot of dresses leh. Hmmm. I will show my mom and MIL my cheongsam then see if they also want something similar. The cheongsam is for tea ceremony at my mom's. I am wearing a kua for tea ceremony at my MIL's place.

What style of EG are you doing?

choco

yup we arranged to meet her at 10am.
not a lot of dresses lah...just 3 only

dun think i'm making bridesmaids' dresses anymore...

my EG is probably empire-cut, with beaded material. Not very sure yet...cldn't confirm design either coz Kim said it's tough to confirm when haven't bought material! coz different material may suit different designs. So i'll see how.

what type of cheongsam u making? actually i think cheongsam is a good investment, coz at least u get to wear it again, unlike an EG!

shelle

i think a classic traditional type of cheongsam.. either gold brocade or gold lace.. but with a halter! heheh. I dont know if my fiance will approve though.. i'll have to ask him..

I'm making bridesmaid dresses too.

EG can still wear again, i am sure.. do you know what colour you like?

choco

yah i think halter cheongsam is nice! i was thinking of making one too! then switched to typical EG coz i think i still prefer that for my wedding dinner...
ur fiance is the 'traditional' type?

i like pastel colours, but i won't get something too pastel coz these colours don't stand out for EGs. Yah...so prob something in between..prob won't be too strong a colour, but not too pastel either. i like lilac, purple, pink, turquoise, blue! so many colours! gonna choose beaded material...

how abt u? what colour's ur CS gonna be?

i'll be down at Arab St tmr morning with my mum to look-see first. Coz i can be very indecisive when it comes to choosing such things...dun want to torture Kim on 3rd april... so going for a pre-selection round first to get a better idea

shelle

Hi Choco, how was your preselection? Any nice materials? Anything that you liked?

I think I am going for gold colour. But with some modern twists to the gown like halterneck cut.

My fiance is pretty conservative I would say.. so if he doesn't approve, then may be i will end up looking like a chinese restaurant waitress! I am so scared the CS will turn out like a chinese restaurant uniform! that's why I am thinking no high slit.. just a normal skirt. I will ask kim for her opinion!

choco

haha yes better check with kim on her opinion! u're holding ur dinner at a chinese restaurant?

wow, saturday was my 1st time stepping into Arab St. There're so many so many shops selling materials! Couldn't finish seeing them all! A lot of nice materials but i hvn't decided on what to get yet. The beaded materials are really ex, but that's what i'm looking for actually...so am still thinking whether or not i shd go for beaded? Yah at least for u, u already know what type of colour/material u want, so that'll be much easier.

it was quite enjoyable shopping for material, though a bit difficult coz so many choices! hee

shelle

hahha. I will ask Kim. No my dinner will be at Raffles Town Club.

So what is the price range for beaded materials? I really want something classy and elegant.. gold is my colour of choice but I am not sure about the fabric or cut yet..

I think:
1. gold brocade - modern cut (halter, no slit)
2. other fabrics - traditional cut.

fairymoss

I had a bad experience to share. I do not know whether any of you had experienced this with Kim before, but it seems that I'm the only one here to have negative feedback. I'm sorry to say but we didn't find her services fantastic. Her prices maybe quite low and affordable but that doesn't mean compromising quality.

My first encounter with Kim didn't leave me a good impression. On the first appointment she made us wait for 1 hr + before she finished chatting with the earlier customers. The 2nd time round, we went to meet her half an hour later than scheduled appointment, but we were still "early" as she was still with previous customer. When we asked her, she said her ex-customer visited her for a chit-chat session, and she couldn't reject but to entertain her at the expense of us who made appointment to make dresses! The subsequent appointments either she couldn't deliver the goods on time and called to postpone at the last minute, or said that she had other appointments with other customers when we actually had made appointment with her! Then we were asked to fit into her schedule and got to re-queue again when she was the one who couldn't meet the timeline and postponed the appointment. We were quite displeased with her services because we went to her several months in advance but yet she put on hold our orders and attended to other customers who only went to her much later than us just because their weddings are nearer to the date. I feel that if she's not confident of delivering goods on time, she shouldn't have promised her customers, and making them postpone time and again. Also her time management is bad. She would try to squeeze in as many customers as she could on a single day without consideration whether she can accomplished it within the scheduled time. There are instances whereby we were on time but yet the earlier customers were not done, and then when we were only half-done, the later slots customers came in. When situations like this happen, she would call and tell the later slots customers that they come at a later time, but those customers could already be on their way there. We were pretty upset over this dress-making issue. I'm glad that I didn't engage her to tailor my gowns. Those dresses are meant for my family members and jiemeis. But I can imagine the stress and anxiety they are facing. We regretted going to her, and are going to make this our last dealing with her. I think to do business one must have good customer service, credibility and accountability for failures. Not only does the product able to meet customer requirements, but service has to be tip top as well.

c1980

sorry to hear of your experience. has the gowns been settled yet then? when did you usually meet her?

on a side note, anyone knows the estimated cost of making a bustier evening gown out of thai silk? was quoted a rather high price by one tailor. wanted to know if its "standard" / market rate.

c1980

hi doremon... was quoted $6-800 depending on amount of material used and with some intricate beading at the waist. so... not sure want to make or wait for something else. indecision!

hi fairymoss... hope it will turn out fine! seems like the dresses she does is getting rave reviews... just maybe attitude? or busy schedule...

muffin_bear

hello fairymoss,
err, the same happened to me lah, she couldn't deliver the dress a few times, postphoned at last minutes.. once i reached there n she forgot about my apt so din do mine!! i was v irritated and went to another tailor to do my urgent dress. actually workmanship not so perfect for certain cuttings...but i still went back to her for some simple tops, just leave there until she can do lor.... cos her prices quite cheap, n she is oso quite friendly leh..

fairymoss

muffin bear: oh no...so in the end, she couldn't get yours done?? I'm so shocked!!! but why then so many people still go to her? issit her workmanship exceptionally good? u went to another tailor in the end, but what about the cloth u bought? u took back from her?

muffin_bear

fairymoss:

she agreed to do 1 for christmas but last minute she said can't, and she claimed she only agreed to do b4 CNY.. aiyoh!! i just left the cloth there lo and went to another tailor to make my christmas dress, completed in 1 week.
her business is good becoz charges rather cheap.. and another thing is we don't know that many tailors mah.. so if got picture to show what u want and time is not an issue is fine to use her service. i described how i 1 a dress to look but came out totally different from what i expected... i gave it to my sis for work liao. Now she is doing 1 more casual dress 4 me, i gave her a picture this time. for the price she charge, the result is reasonable. can't expect $100 to look as good as $1000 one mah.

fer_nn

I went to Kim to get my ROM dress tailored two weeks ago.. she quoted me $220 for a long satin tube gown. Is the price alright?

Humm.. not being able to deliver the gown on time as promised sounds scary...
. Hopefully I can collect my gown as promised next week.

cody

Sorry to hear abt your unpleasant experience, but i have had many dresses made by Kim and never had a problem.

Different people have different expectations, and i feel you should have voiced your unhappiness directly with Kim rather than to slime her here.

Thru the many times i have worked with Kim, i know she TRULY puts in alot of effort to deliver her dresses. And if she can't, she truly feels bad.

Many times, Kim is often sewing late into the night to get the dresses done. She has once told me that one sure way to help her save time is to stick strictly to sewing.

Think about it .... she doesn't need to spend the time at Arab street shopping for a suitable material together with her customers!
Ask any other seamstress to do that and they're likely to turn you down.

So please, spare a thought for Kim.
No single dress is the same, so please dun doubt her prices or her abilities.

If you need tip top service, go to a bridal boutique to get your dresses for your jiemeis!
Even then, not ALL bridal boutiques live to deliver!

flotan

Kim did my ROM dress for me (which was a CS) last year. had no prob with her coz i gave her lots of time in advance.

never had prob with my appointments too...
guess it also depends on whether the customer take initiative, be a bit "zi dong".
I will take my leave once her next customer arrive coz i don't wanna hold someone up.
believe she will plan her schedule as best as she can.

also, i guess if her customers dropped by to see w/o informing her, she can't chase them away too.

guess everyone's expectation levels are different??

viavia

I do not think fairymoss is out to slime Kim. Perhaps she feels rather "paisei" to voice it out to her face to face. Don't we sometimes endure bad sales service or unhappy encounters, then voice it elsewhere?

Anyway, is this not a forum to share experiences? Experiences could be pleasant or bad...Kim may have met your or others expectations, but she may not have for fairymoss. I see nothing wrong in her sharing her experiences here..becoz i can tell she is merely sharing and not deliberately trying to be offensive. Let's be a lil' open minded, shall we?

yming

i agree with viavia that we should all be alittle open minded ^_^

ok ^_^
fairymoss is not trying to slim Kim n

Neither

Cody is trying to be offensive - she is also just sharing her experiences with us ^_^

i am not good at words, but i really hope all of us r happy brides or brides-to-be

cheerio ^_^

fairymoss

I have voiced out to her nicely, but to no avail. If we were to insist on getting our way and be more pushy to demand the dresses get done on time, do you think I'd still be here sharing my unpleasant experiences? I'm not the only one who truly did not receive good services from her. Muffin_bear is another unlucky soul. I can understand how she felt. Although the dress is not meant for her wedding, but I'm sure that it means much to her, otherwise she wouldn't have gone to another tailor to get it done on time. What I'm trying to say here is that to every bride who goes to her to tailor gowns, timeline is important. No one wish to have hiccups like this happening before their big day when there are 1001 things out there enough to stress them out.

I could not comprehend why the quality of her services could vary so much from customer to customer. What I can think of is there could be a sudden surge of sales when people got to know her through this forum, and by word of mouth, people went to her to tailor dresses. That's why she can't cope with the orders recently as compared to last year or the year before. Well, I sure hope that we can get our dresses on time, and hope that she don't forget or mix up my wedding date with other brides which she did before.

fer_nn,

Your ROM must be around the corner, right? Otherwise don't think you are able to get it so soon. I think she works according to whose wedding comes first, and not which order comes first. The satin you got could be of a better grade or has a long train that's why it's $220. I think when it comes to price, it's a little sensitive. let's not openly discuss here in case of raising a few eyebrows. Price vary according to material, length, cut, so can't compare apple to apple.

cody

viavia, you have hit the nail on the head! Complaints should be directed at the subject of poor service, not to endure and voice it out somewhere else. If we do this, there is no way the subject can improve!

Fairymoss, agreeably Kim's business has improved by leaps and bounds ever since she got popular in this forum. But this also leads me to another conclusion, if her service or workmanship was poor, her business wouldn't have improved so tremendously. Makes sense?

I DO empathise wit you that last minute hick-ups before the wedding is very stressful, but this could happen to anyone anywhere! It's not just Kim, but it could be anyone ranging from your florist to your bridal boutique to your make up artist to even your immediate family members!!!

Likewise, I think everyone here who's keen on Kim's service should stand on her own 2 feet. You decide on your own whether you like Kim's service before you engage her to make something for you. If you don't feel at ease with Kim, there are still alternatives available!

Fairymoss' and Muffin bears' experience here carries a conclusion that some may have missed, that we must give Kim sufficient notice if we want her to make a dress.

In most instances, when Kim tells her customers that she cannot cope to get the dresses delivered by a certain date, her customers would PLEAD with her to make an EXCEPTION.

So far, only fairymoss and muffin bear have come out to share their unhappy experience with Kim. From what I see, there are many more happy customers here who have failed to speak up for Kim.

Despite all that has happened, I would like to reiterate that all discussions in this forum are received with an open-mind, hence my open-minded responses as well. I dun bear any grudges towards anyone here.

flotan

guess those who had unhappy experiences just wanna vent their frustration and share their experience. no problem with that..

i'm not trying to defend her.. just tat it had been a good experience for me so i tot i'd share...

hoping everyone's preparation - in whichever area - will go hassle-free and smoothly

fairymoss

Cody, I did not say that her workmanship is no good. It must be of a reasonable standard, coupled with the low prices in order to attract so many customers. We certainly can't expect too much for the kind of price we pay. That I FULLY agree. I did not doubt her ability to churn out a good dress. I have not seen the physical dress yet after these months of waiting, so can't comment much on her workmanship. The dresses have been delayed and appointments called off several times. So are you suggesting that we should keep calling her to ask her how's the progress? And if she said she can't deliver by a certain date, what in your opinion is the best way to ask her to make an exception? I do not feel good to let other customers' dresses to be put on hold when she makes an exception to make mine. I feel that it's pretty unfair to the other brides-to-be. There's only 24hrs a day, if Kim has to make exceptions here and there, I'm sure it has to be done at the expense of other customers.

Yes, so far there's only 2 of us who have stepped forward to share our unhappy experiences. Some choose to keep quiet about it, be it happy or unhappy ones.

Flotan,

Thanks for sharing and I hope my preparation will go as smoothly as possible from this day onwards. Hearing good review from you somehow build up my confidence in her again. I just pray and hope that things would be better.

shelle

when is your wedding date fairymoss?

I went to see Kim only last week.. i hope there is time because my wedding is in early July. I am making 2 cheongsums (1 short, 1 long) and 2 bridesmaids' dresses, Mom's evening gown (with mandarin collar jacket) and 2 evening gowns (one for my sis and one for me) total 7 pieces!

swish

Hihi..

I'm very interested to see Kim's workmanship, can anyone of you be so as kind as to email me the pics of your CS/EG/ROM Dress? I'm really quite sua-koo about all these tailoring clothes stuff, so if can also please advise me on the price range... THANKS! My email: [email protected]

mrs_chan

Does Kim make WG? My BS are charging me additional S$600 for upgrading OTR to MTM & I feel that it's too exp. for I can't get back the WG.

dingdang

After reading all the posts regarding Kim, I'm really interested in her work! I am planning to get a MTM CS from her. Anyone with pixs of her CS, pls share with me, thks!

btw wat is her rate for a modern CS (long ones)? Does the price include materials as well?