Any good lightings shops to recommend?

bubblepearl

I bought all my lights at Edison lighting house at balsetier. Total 1.1k, 18 double tube *13W glass PLC, 1 black "biscuit tin" 40W for mahjong room, 2* rectangle glass light 2*36W each for MBR and study/guest room, 2 "tin" for both toilets, 1 chandieralle(dunno how to spell) for dining room, 1 hamburger for storeroom, 1 halogen in crystal glass holder for balcony and 2 * flouesecnt tube for kitchen, both 2*36 watts! We were in the shop for like 2hrs?KEKE..the uncle is v good..i told him i want cheap, yet bright lights..haha..so happy that i can get everything at ard that price..include one dining chandieralle at a price of $280nia!

esther_c

Just 1 thing to say!

We got a great service,attitude and reasonable quotes from James of Chan Huat,Balestier 391!

Tell him,it's sheryl who recommended him!

kenshare

hi all, i recommend DK Lightings too.
Derrick service is very good and his prices are the cheapest among so many lighting shops that I went.

One of the dining lights that I love so much was sold to us for 170. All other places quoted 230 to 350.
Imagine the markup those shops are earning!

His wife and son are also very nice! highly recommended!

cutie_gal

Me too. Highly recommend DK Lightings! Jus bought my downlights, toilets, storeroom, service yard from them. Their price is the lowest that I hv source so far, hopefully the quality of the prodts are ok. They are indeed very friendly, especially the wife who keep apologising to us for causing us to wait. They are also veri patient in explaining to us the pros & cons.
They will be delivering our lights today, so excited, haha...

nastrix

Hu Cutie_gal,
Care to share the price u get for the downlight?

Need to get for my false ceiling. Is it the same as the PLC lights? How many amps is urs? I think i need abt 18pcs and 8 halogen lights.

cutie_gal

Hi Myk,

I think is the same thing ba, but different terms used bt diff ppl.
Mine is going for 2x13w, energy saving bulb. Mine is $22/ unit. Abv 20 pieces think will be cheaper. Hope that helps

nastrix

Hi Cutie_Gal,
Thanks for the info

Can i know what brand is your light? the 2x13w

I'm going with my ID tomorrow to get my lights. Now that you've with me at least i have the rough idea on the market price.

Any idea on halogen lights?

cutie_gal

Hi Myk,

I nv ask abt halogen light, the shop jus advise us to use energy saving bulb.

Btw, my downlight holder can't be tilted 45degree to facilitate the changing of bulb as advise by serveral shops that i went to. The price for that will be more exp. Most shop assistant advise me that due to the long hrs of burning, the plastic bulb holder that is hold on by 2 clips might 'melt' and hence when u tilt to change the bulb, the plastic might jus break cos the plastic becomes more 'crispy' le. Hope u get wat I mean.

nastrix

Hi cutie_gal,
Thanks for sharing. Its a very useful info.
Me got to look for PLC, double tube (2x18a) heard the cheapest is $35.

Just imagine i need 18 of it and this haven't include my kitchen lights, toilets, dining light & etc. Pocket getting dry fast.

Cheers!!

cutie_gal

Then u reali should pay DK Lightings a visit, I'm sure u will be able to get a gd price and save ur $ on other hm stuff.
Here is the add: 642 Geylang Rd, Tel: 6741 1335
Look for Derrick, he's the boss.

Jus sharing some experience with u. Ur ID will definitely bring u to those designer light shops,like Lumiere, Vlux, etc. The design is reali nice but reali steep price and the ID get comm of bet 10-15%. No harm going dw with them to see but dun commit on the spot. Jus tell ur ID u need to consider then go search around on ur own, u will be amazed that certain design u can find at other shops at a much lower price. No doubt these designer shops carry some models which u can't find elsewhere, then I think more worth to buy

Enjoy ur light shopping trip 2morrow

do_ra

Hi give a try to one in the yahoo auction. I got mine from one of the seller who actually was posting their ceiling light n plc tube n offering free quotation on other lighting need so i give them an email. was so great to got a gd deal. c wat u like n let them quote u. u wil b happy to get the same thing at different price.

Nastrix and all, give a try as i noe we hv to spend so much $$$ to set up a new hm!

nastrix

Hi Cutie,
Thanks for the advice. Going today with my ID, maybe will drop by DK to check their prices as well.

Do_ra,
True my pocket are getting dryer and wallet are getting thinner.

do_ra

Hi Cherryapple, i went in to the auction for a look n they r stil posting ther. c the one which they r offering free quotation under the furnishing - lamps. Happy catching ur gd deal.

bridarine

need some advice. As GST is nearing was thinking of quickly buy lights 1st. As they can be quite ex. Is paying in full a good idea? Pay partial means will still have to pay GST in the end as my house ready in sept.

dew76

Hi Bridarine

I'm not too sure but think as long as you buy your lights before 1 Jul, the company will charge you only 5% GST coz in the invoice will state the total price plus GST and you are just paying deposit until the lights are delivered then pay the balance (which should be based on 5% GST). Just rem to clarify with the shop before agreeing to buy and pay k.

I feel that it's better to hold a balance amount coz you never know what will happen later e.g. missing bulbs, cracked lights etc. Hee my experience was quite ok during delivery but we had some problems with the living room lights that we only discovered after staying in and on-ing the lights for a longer while. The shop charged us extra to fix the problems. Though I felt the shop should fix it for us FOC since it was their ballast which caused the problem, we pay to solve the problem since we already wanna stay in.

Anyway, just share with you for you to consider lah. Dun panick k. Happy shopping around

rainpod

hi bridarine, i suggest that u get a black and white from the shop to hold their promise pertaining to the 5% gst after 1 jul. cos it's already stated in the iras website that all unpaid amt (less deposit made before 1 jul) after 1 jul is subjected to 7% gst and these include wedding banquets, furniture and electrical appliances etc. i hv also received letter from furniture shop to pay all remaining amt before 1 jul to avoid being "charged" for the additional 2%.

bridarine

Hi Dew & Rainpod,

Thks for reply. End up the shop said must pay 2% for reminder. So have to pay bopian 1. But still to settle 1 more thing on e list is a gd feeling :D

appleskin

Hey folks
Just like to warn u guys against buying fr 3T, along Veerasamy road. We bought quite a no. of items fr the shop, incl. lights and ceiling fan. Few days before the delivery, the staff called and said that there are insufficient stocks for the white colour lights that we ordered. She proposed that we take the black ones first, then once the stocks arrive, she will change them for us.
It has been 2 MONTHS since we bought the stocks! Till now, she has not changed for us. Neither did she take the initiative to call us and keep us in the loop. Each time we called up, she will be either off duty or she will say that stocks have yet to arrive. .. We began to doubt her empty promises, quite angry with her now.

Besides, the ceiling fan and regulator were not properly installed. Everyone who comes to our new house asked the same question "why is your fan slanted?". It is annoying. Why can't she promptly send the installation man down as promised....

Gosh, really hope that the boss can step in and rectify the problem soon. So folks, be careful when u make your purch at 3T

spikey

Just purchased my stuff from DK Lightings at Geylang. As highighted in this forum, they're a great place to go for good service and very reasonably priced lights

appleskin

Hi folks
just like to update u that the problem has been resolved! The 3T boss sent down a contractor to change the lights and also to adjust the fan. We realised that it's impossible to change the lights alone (unless the contractor removes the lights fr ceiling), so we volunteered our help. In less than an hr, all the issues were ressolved. We were quite pleased with the contractor, who is quite friendly and helpful.
Finally, we can hve the lights that we ordered.
Yeah!

jj_autumn

Hi - Did anyone purchased lightings from Vlux @ Geylang as recommended by one ID?! Just wondering how's the quality and pricing. Thanks.

cutie_gal

I purchase one of my bedrm lights fr there

The quality is gd but it normally does not come with the energy saving bulbs when purchase fr them. They using their so call in-house brand of energy saving bulbs,if u wan tose Philips/ Osram ones hv to top up $.
They are actually sis's co with Lumiere.
Hope it helps.

jj_autumn

Hi Cutie_gal,

Thanks for taking the time to give your feedback. I'd gone to Lumiere and Chan Huat to take a look at the lightings upon recommendations by friends. However, I felt that Lumiere carries a wider range of exclusive lightings than Chan Huat. Vlux, on the other hand was recommended by one of the IDs that I'm still considering. I guess that I'd make a trip down to check out the shop.

cutie_gal

Lumiere's lightings are more of those designer types, certain designs can't find elsewhere. So more unique. N if u like a particular design better dun take too long to consider, cos they sell quite fast as they dun carry alot of stock for 1 design. I actually sppotted one I like but I wanted to see more, end up when I decided to buy this light 2 wks later, no more liao.

I even went to the sis's co Vlux, Lightology and another one shop I forgotten the name liao.
Chuan Huat's range more normal, can find the designs n other shops as well.

do_ra

hi jus a simple comment to share. when ur id recommend u to certain lighting shop, prices will definitely be more ex cos they will be commissioned. look around on ur own n compare the price. u will be shock to see the different. i bought mine from one who was offering at the yahoo auction and they hv provided me wif the light i seen at the lighting shop and as to compare the price, is cheaper than in the shop. i was quoted 1.3k in the shop but i got mine from them @ 750. yet they offer me wif gd components like philip tube n branded ballast. quality as to say, all light shop r the same. so its ur luck to find a gd deal.

pastillies

I got mine lights all fm Dream lights @ Balastier. compared a few shops, felt that still like the design of the crystal chandliers they have. also bought my downlights fm them. dunno if all downlights shd hv ballast, but as far as i koe, all my down lights & even the floresent tube light bulb which i bought fm them containts ballast.

can look for jeffrey...tink he's the manager/boss..Delivery was also very prompt, i didnt except devliery to be so prompt that we were in fact late! & the delivery guy had to wait ourside awhile while we rush down to our new place.

http://jinnyng.multiply.com/journal/item/11?mark_read=jinnyng:journal:11

bamboo

After scouting around Balestier and Geylang for the exact same lights, including downlights, I found that Crown Lighting at Geylang prices are significantly lower. Though I also found that L*ght A***des at Balestier offers the best deals among Balestier shops, but their prices still slightly higher than Crown Lighting. The variety of lights in Crown Lighting is comparable with L*ght A***des. The owner of Crown Lighting, Davis, is also very experienced as he was doing wholesale last time and know all the suppliers. Dont worry if you cant find the light design in his shop. Just describe to him the design you are looking for, best if you have a pic of the light, and he will find it for you. He explained that their prices are lower because of lower rent as they are at secluded unit. As he is also doing the delivery himself, you might be disappointed to drop by his shop without prior arrangement with him. Davis' after sales is also good. We made a small mistake with the model of the handing light, he was willing to change for us as long we have not installed it.

contactandy

hi bamboo

can share with us some pic of the lightning u bought ? btw pls let us know the exact address of this shop in order to locate it .

10s

bridarine

Bought most (90%) of my lighting items from DK lightings as they were highly recommended. Recently needed to buy the remaining lights so went receeing the lighting shops in Balestier. Straight away found two of my more expensive lights cheaper there. "Thump chest". Add up about $30- $40 difference. Didn't dare to ask the others in case more heartpain.
I thought DK is supposed to be cheap?

alice916

Today we just went to buy our lighting item from DK too, didn't realy comphere to price from others lighting shop seen many ppl recommanded DK.
We had spend totaly $720 after discount.
They have promotion til end of september, the boss r very noce and polite person:D We r satisfy to deal with him.

web510

was at Italu collection yesterday...the lights are nice....anyone been there before?

what do u think of the price?

bearyblur

I recently brought my 18w x 2 plc and dining lights from Edison Lighting House. Good pricing and Service! Can look for tony or even the auntie there..

kamy

We bought our lights from the big lighting shop along balestier road called singapore lighting mart. also felt like robert head!!!
so angry with my designer. we so gullible, trusted him, and he brought us to the most expensive shop where every item is priced 50% above others, so he can earn 30% commission. only when we went to the small old lighting shop do we realise that exactly the same items are all sold at higher price. *thump chest* sob sob! money spent cannot get back. so pple pls beware of your own ID, even if you are on good terms with them. They are out to earn commission from all these shops, lighting, kitchen & bathroom accessories, curtain, etc. Now still aching over it.