Any Good Driving Instructors to recommend?

modern_gal

Hi can anyone recommend good driving instructors who teaches using auto cars? Am thinking of taking up a refresher course.

fng

Looking for Private Instructor... any good recommendation.
(Working in town area & stay in North)

Thx Thx

joylin_bb

I have just passed my driving test.

You can try Albert. He is a very patient guy.
He give me a lot of advise and encorgment during my test. You may contact him at 96695522. Say that you are recomaned by Veronica

fng

Thx Snow!

But wonder your instructor teach ard North area too? and i passed the advance frm SSDC...his is Ubi rite?

many thx

fng

Thx u so much! Snow...
but i stay woodlands, UBI is quite far for me...
wat a waste....
But Thx!

fng

Hi! Snow...
Though couldnt get Albert as my instructor... but he recommends his fren (also Albert) from BBDC. Hope this albert oso good! (not sure anybody learn from him b4?
Thanks for all ur info.

gwenie69

hi,i have a bad experience to share bout my instructor,pls b warned.his name is john,in his early fifties,he drives a grey nissan sunny,plate sD,his no is 90258323 n he is one sarcastic guy.I really need a pte inst,test @ ssdc n havin no recommendations @ all,he was e best i cud find,or so i thot.All those my frens recommended are @ ubi n its inconvenient.This guy is wad u wud describe,yaya.He was telling me all e rules,muz make advance payment 2 bk 4 nx slot,if nd 2 cancel,muz give him 24hrs notice,cannot b late,if sick muz produce mc,otherwise he will charge me 4 his time.Instead,he blew me off 2 times.both times he nv showed up n i waited there.when i called e 1st time after waiting 4 him,he gave me stupid excuse dat he had a tummy upset n nv apologised 4 causin me inconvenience(i took off dat day)then e nx one,e reason was he din rmbr dat i chged no n dinno lesson was on dat day,practically blamedme.n bcos he caused me so many inconveniences,i chged my slot(1st time),he got so mad that he msged me suggesting dat i chged instructor.ive had 7 lessons wit him,ive alrdy booked my test date n this is my 1st time,alrdy i have phobia of such irresponsible inst.help me pls.

berlinelee

I would like to recommend my driving instructor, Mr Tan. He teaches both auto and manual. I just passed my driving test. First try. They are using honda and teaching at Bt batok. Nice and patient Tan brothers. They are a pair of brothers.

If you need their contacts, you can PM me.

dwarfs8

Any gd pte driving instructor for auto driving at ssdc?

Is $39 weekdays and $42 weeknights and weekends for 1.5hrs reasonable? Pls advice. Tks...

vogue

Hi Iris, I am paying about the same price as yours @ $39.00.

Guess It should be ok but I am thinking of changing private instructor though. Guess I will wait till my next driving test. If flung (touch wood!) I'll change instructor. He is kind of no patience.

dwarfs8

yep, have checked with other forums, and they also said they paid abt the same price. Unfortunately i'll only hav time to take my lessons on weekends, so it be $42.. circuit charges be more x as well... nevertheless, i hope i'll pass on 1st attempt!!

gwenie69

hi dodie.hope its not too late! pls DO NOT GET NAH HOCK BEE! HE REALLY SUCKS! PLS READ UP THE POST I POSTED MONTHS AGO..REALLY...HE'S E GUY I WARNED U GUYS ABT... NOW I RMBR...HIS CHINESE NAME IS NAH.CHECK OUT E NO...ITS E SAME,PPL....
YA LIKE U,I GOT DUPED,THINKING HE'S SOMEHOW RELIABLE COS OBTAINED HIS NO FRM E WEBSITE.. turned out to be such a creep... i really hated him.

gwenie69

ppl...private is cheap but not safe. there's a lot of crooks out there.Either they're cheat or they cant teach.for private,you REALLY REALLY NEED RECOMMENDATIONS.A TRUSTED ONE.GOOD LUCK...

melody_jan

Can anyone recommend an instructor in the West (BBDC)?

My 2nd attempt is in May. The 1st time I got 4 pts penalised in the circuit for something that was wrongly taught by my instructor. For other reason, I am contemplating to change him.

The 2 highly recommended instructors (Mr Ng & ALbert) only teach in Ubi, is there anyone in the west who is as good as them?

Urgently need to find one to start practising for the test. Thanks.

picotee

Hi, I'm oso looking for manual driving instructor. i stay in woodlands. any in the west/ north to recommend? Or any instructor from Woodlands Driving School?

Fang, have you started under Albert from BBDC? Do you recommmend? what are the charges?

Pauline, can share more about Mr Tan? how much he charges? thanks!

rara

I strongly recommend my driving instructor Tan Lai Soon. He has the highest passing rate at BBDC (disregarding those with 100% for 1 student, or 75% for 4 students).

Mr Tan LS is actually my 2nd instructor. Before I looked him up thru the TP website, I had a very terrible experience with another Mr Tan which was recommended by someone else in this forum some time ago (probably not the same one as Pauline is referring to).

This other Mr Tan (Tan1) also has a very high passing rate, but his car, and hence students, are shared with another instructor (in fact they belong to a company of instructors who have 8 cars under their name, or so I heard), another much older Mr Tan (Tan2)!!, who is not as good. Tan1 shoved me to Tan2 on my first lesson without informing me, and worse still, made me wait half an hour because some other girl called Tan1 to tell him that she would be late and he thought it was me who called when our names didn't even sound close. Imagine my shock when after waiting for half an hour then Tan who turned up wasn't who I expected. When I called Tan1, he even said "ok ok I'll be there in a while."

Tan2 is worse. When I demanded an explanation and insisted that I wanted Tan1 as my instructor (I just didn't feel comfortable with Tan2), he turned around and started playing victim and shooting accusations at me. He even alighted from the car and told Tan1 very loudly over the phone in Hokkien "She doesn't want me to teach her! You come lah! She wants you!" and when I took over the phone, he turned to the rest of the instructors idling in the carpark "She doesn't trust me what! She wants Tan1 to teach her!" and before I knew it I was the attention of the whole carpark.

Although feeling super accused and pissed, I decided to give Tan1 a chance and booked the 2nd lesson after making sure he would be the one teaching me. But irresponsible as he is, he called me on the afternoon of the 2nd lesson to tell me that he forgot he had another student taking her exam on that day so I couldn't have my lesson.

I had enough and decided to look for another instructor, and thank goodness I did.

I was actually very hesitant on engaging Mr Tan LS at first because he charged very high fees. $50 for registration and $26/hr for peak rate for manual car, when the market rate is $30 for reg and $24 for peak rate.

The money is definitely well-spent. Mr Tan is very well-mannered, systematic and patient. I'm really very retarded when it comes to psychomotor coordination, but he has been very encouraging. I rammed two wheels of the car into and over kerbs but he didn't even scold me. Most importantly, he doesn't waste your 1.5hrs unlike those horror stories we've heard of about private instructors.

Although he has many students, it is not difficult to arrange a slot with him since he has 2-4 students 'graduating' each week. Of course, you have to play your part and book in advance. 1 week before is generally sufficient. He also tries to plan your lessons such that you have adequate time to practise in the circuit and be familiarised with all the test routes before the test.

I really admire him for the pride he takes in his work. Contrary to some instructors who try to make you take more lessons by teaching less each time or hope you don't pass on first attempt to squeeze more money out of you, Mr Tan feels extreme joy and satisfaction when his students pass on first attempt. He is always beaming like a proud father at the end of the week when he recounts the number of 'graduates' that week.

I just had my 23rd lesson with him and my test is in May. I'm taking lessons twice a week because I really need the constant practice. Even if I fail my test, I won't blame him at all because I'm not a student with the highest calibre when it comes to driving.

I heard from him yesterday though, that he will stop accepting new students until april. Sort of a break for him and he wants to concentrate on the current batch for a bit.

rara

Oops, sorry, I didn't read the first post of the thread.

Mr Tan LS teach ONLY MANUAL. He doesn't teach auto.

melody_jan

Hi Rara,

Thanks for the sharing and glad you found an instructor whom u r satisfied with.

Can you give me the contact of this Mr Tan? Would like to try if he can still squeeze in another student. Thanks.

apprehensive

I contacted Mr Tan and he wanted to charge me $40 per hr for weekend. I find that rather expensive. Isn't the market rate around $25-$30? Does someone hav gd driving instructor teaching auto in the west to recommend?

vogue

Hi ple...is it too late to change instructor now that I have my TP date on 17 April in SSDC. The fact that my current instructor does not say word of motivation. He always says things like I should not take the April date. I should take in June or July and also he likes to scold and not approachable at all. I tried to accept him and tahan (patience) with him but god knows that I really really cannot take it now!!!

dodie

am still tryin 2 get a change in instructors. my current instructor gettin fr bad to worse! shld i stop lesson 1st and find another one? considering my test date quite near!

am trying to change instructor frantically who provide fetch and send svc.

my test is on 4 jun 07 and my this instructor sigh...
1) come late, return early
2) nv explain clearly and shout loudly at me
3) kept talkin on hp while i m driving and scold me if i make a mistakes...

Like vogue, no words of encouragement only words of sacarsm.

Gwenie, luckily i didnt contact that nah anymore! phew! thanks for ur warning. my instructor surname is Goh... fr ubi. so gals also better beware!

so if any1 knows of any kind patient instructor who teach at ubi, pls kindly pm me can? quite urgent tks!

naddy

I've just go my PDL and I was planning on getting a pte driving instructor.

Will a pte driving instructor pick me up from my home in Woodlands? Then, he will drive us to BBDC where I'll receive my lessons? How exactly does it work? Will I have enough practice on the circuit?

polo

Last time, my instructor gave me a step-by-step picture guide with instruction on it for parallel parking..it very useful. However I lost it. Anybody care to share (photocopy a copy for me) with me if you happen to have it? I'll pay u for the postage & photocopying charges. Pls PM Me.
BTW, my instructor is daniel ng. Dunno if it is the same person as Mr. Ng??

Thanks much.

tutus

Hi Cloudpearl,am interested in taking lessons from Mr Toh.Is he patient, systematic and does he speak english(not fluent in Mandarin - the language used by most private instructors as advised by my frens). Also,may I know of his charges - enrolment fees, $/hr, where is he based and does he teach manual too?
Thanks muchie.=)

donnasamuel

PEOPLE I AGREE WITH SOME PEOPLE HERE. DO NOT GET NAH HOCK BEE AKA JOHN COS HE SUCKS SHIT BIG TIME. I THOT IM REALLY BAD BUT HEZ REALLY ONE F ING DEMORALIZING SHIT. I SHOULDVE CHANGED LONG AGO. WHY DIDNT I CHECK THIS FORUM EARLIER. I ALR HAD LIKE 20 HOURS OF LESSONS. NONE OF THE LESSONS WERE ENJOYABLE. HE ALWAYS END UP SCOLDING ME AND SAYING SHIT THINGS. I HATE HIM.

donnasamuel

im trying to change my instructor from nah hock bee to another person from ssdcl. anione has good recommendations please? And by the tt nah hock bee keeps scraping his rotten finger.

oh dodie you're still under nah hock bee?

dodie

hi donna, i just failed my test at Ubi, not under nah! i ll b enrolling in sch even though its more exp... as long as i can get my licence... sigh, ve to part with a bit more money! eeek... that nah is so unhygienic! when is ur test date?

puzzlerain

Does anyone have Hap Poo Hock contact number?
Saw that he has very high pass rate.
Any comments about him?

Or any yio chu kang instructor to recommend?

Have anyone heard about IDrive School?
Izzit Good?

pineappleab

juz to share my bad experience with one bad instructor too, promised me lots of things but didn't even do it. Actually one of best rated Instructors on the internet...but what he does is actually assigned you to other instructors. I got assigned to a instructor who can only speak slurring chinese and hokkien. I dont even understand what he's talking half the time.

Driving instructor
Soh Guan Hong
HP: 9738 2550
NRIC S1178657Z
make him your instructor at your own risk,

The instructor that i was assigned to:
Poh
HP: 9755 4561
speaks slurring chinese
bad attitude
doesn't even wear shoes when teaching
put his legs on the car seat
imagine the standard provided by Soh Guan Hong
Mitsibush car SGE5748J - but i think he changed car coz of complaints
when ask him about making advance appts, say will let u know again, then how the hell am I going to arrange my schedule? wait for them? bunch of lousy instructors

And they will try to make u take more lessons , so that they can improve the passing rate of Soh Guan Hong (which is available on the Internet)

lucky, i have since changed to a much better instructor...if I can make an official complaint of this, pls let me know the contacts. thanks

helper123

I failed my 1st attempt of driving test and realized that I have to wait for 3 months for a retest (Tried to book for retest and nearest available slot is 3 mths later)!

By the way, i am taking the driving lessons in school and not private. I am comtemplating to switch to private (cos cheaper) for my revision lessons.

Is there anyway that i can shorten the waiting period for my retest? Waiting for 3 mths is ridiculous as i need the license for my new job. Really at a lost now.

Please help!!

nannyboo

i'm lookin for a pte instructor for auto car ard sengkang area as well..
provides fetchin & sendin services..
wat is e market rate now?
under pte, will e instructor go to circuit or it depends on individual?

me_beary

anyone knows any good instructor who can speak english to recommend in the north/ yishun area?

Thanks,
beary