Any good dermatologist to recommend?

ah

I've got an oily and sensitive skin so thought of seeing a dermatologist so anyone has good dermatologists/products to recommend? Thanks in advance!

partygal

Hi Ah Mei,

You might want to see a professional doctor. Dr Phay from Specialist Skin Clinic at Orchard Building. The fees may be a bit high, but if you're looking for a good and reliable one, you may want to try her.

marissa

Hi Ah Mei,
Do you breakout often or do you just have oily/sensitive skin?

I have seen Dr Lim Kah Beng and he is really good. Per consultation is about $110, incl. of medicine and cream. If yours is serious, then he may recommend you to take Accutane/Roaccutane, a strong antibotics which dries your skin and balance your hormonal level. However, you can't get pregnant, if not, baby will be deformed.

He has 2 clinics:- East Shore Medical Centre (tel: 6440 1568) & Gleneagles Medical Centre (tel: 6471 0965).

F

fiona koh

Hi Ah Mei

My dermatologist is Joyce Lim. She is at Paragon, 11th floor. Her numer is 6834 9159.

ah

Hi Marissa,

To be precise, I've an oily T-zone which often causes whiteheads (small bumps) and pimples on my forehead.

Do you have any idea roughly how many times do I need to visit Dr Lim Kah Beng before my skin problem is completely solved?

sushi

Hi Ah Mei,
Yours didnt' look very serious, so maybe a normal course of antibiotics and cream will work. However, it still depends on individuals. Some will hve recurring pimples, others have perfectly good skin after that.

Umm... he will normally prescribe medicine+cream for one to one and half months. You may need about 2-3 mths for the skin to clear up.

Hope this helps. Good luck!

ah

Hi Sushi,

I need your advise on my skin condition. If I want to get rid of my oily T-zone permanently w/o having to rely on a product (i.e. when I use the product then the oiliness is under control & when I stop using, the oiliness comes back), do U think I shld visit the dermatologist or go for facial? Thanks!

orchid

You can visit Dr. Lim Kah Beng at Gleneagles Medical Centre. He's very good but he's very expensive.

sushi

Hi Ah Mei,
I am no expert in this area leh. I believe that if yours is really serious, like outbreak which causes serious scarring, then it's best to go to a dermatologist who can prescribe medicine.... cos I think it's most likely due to your hormones.

However,if yours is just T-zone oiliness, or lack of glow on the face (for eg), then a facial may do the trick!

Just my personal opinion. By the way, Dr Lim Kah Beng is a really good dermatologist.

Sushi aka Marissa

ah

Hi Sushi,

I've decided to give facial a try 1st & if it doesn't work then I'll visit Dr Lim Kah Beng. Btw I've went for my trial facial at Beauty Inspirations yesterday, I guess it's too early to say about the result but sure hope it works. Anyway thanks so much for your advise. Take care and hope to see U around at Beauty Inspirations!!!

Good Day ... :eek:)
Constance

ghetto_grrl

can try Dr Patricia Yuen of MD Specialist. her treatment really works! but ya must be prepared to spend some money ..$5000 for 5sessions of IPL i heard ..but really can see alot of difference.

jitpong

Can try Dr B C Ng at Chinatown Point....he dun recommend taking medicine cos it only a short term remedy...breakout again after stop consuming it....in which i try before and its true..

He will ask you to use his facial product daily instead...no consultation fee...only have to pay
for the product you buy from him...and sometime he will use laser treatment to extract your
pimples only $30...of cos on a case by case basis...depend how big is the area.

I got serious breakouts at my chin after one month it has improve a lot and now i got no more breakouts

xavier

Hi, everyone. I have been having acne problems for years due to very oily complexion and is considering of going to a dermatologist but i am rather ignorant of any good docs and do not know whether a private one or going to National skin center is better. Can anyone give me advice on any good dermatologist for acne which they have heard of? Thanks....

edna

Hi veroni,
Currently, I am visiting Joyce Lim and Laser Clinic at Paragon. I find her quite good. But her charges are abit on the high side..first time consultation is abt 85..and subsequently is 65. Not including medicine. So each visit can come up to abt 200 - 300. The medicine can last abt 2 months. Some antibiotics to be taken orally for 6 months, and some creams and lotions to be applied.

nicatan

hi veroni seah,

alot of my colleagues go to skin club at ngee ann city.. u can gve it a shot..they use their pdts and of cse antibiotics too.. if u dun like to take oral med. can try using their pdts..

jitpong

Hi Ching

The address of the demalogist is

133 New Brigde Road
#04-19 Chinatown Point
Singapore 059413
Tel: 6733 9233, 65380000

What i can say is it works well for me, my brother and cousin, now my FH and mum also consulting him

most impt, his charges not expensive, no consultation cost at all so good for pple like me with budget.

xiaomin

National Skin Centre is good. Look for Dr Leow. I was treated by him.
To note that not all doctors there are good, muz request for the right one.
Dr Leow is good in treating acne.

starmoon

hi xiaomin

is dr leow oso good in treating acne scars and freckles? i am thinking of seeing him but not sure if it works for me cos my fren told me that she went NSC to see abt her skin condition and it didnt help to cure the problem. oso, are the lotions, cleanser, medication expensive?

angel88

Hi Gina
I also heard about Joyce Lim. What problem do you have? Is she good in treating acne, spots and scaring problem skin? Thanks.

leafania

I know of Dr Phay as a very good dermatologist/skin doctor. Highly recommended by my best friend who uses her products and service.

Address: Specialist Skin Clinic Pte Ltd
1 Grange Road #06-04 Orchard Building
Singapore 239693

General Enquiries: 6-734-1411 (preferably appointments)

bucky

im sry for bumping this again but im interested in Dr Lim Kah Beng. I am thinking of seeing a derm my acne is just not clearing with any off-the-shelf medication. I think im quite severe. Is he good with acne patients.

strawberry78

I just went to Dr Patricia Yuen, very good, got rid of the tiny dots like face warts, skin tags, milia seeds very smooth complexion now.

sputnik

Hi strawberry78,

How much does Dr Patricia charge for consultation etc? Can I get the address/contact no of her clinic? Thanks!

icezee

Roaccutane has many side effects besides the most common one that doctors will tell u- that u cant get pregnant. It can cause serious hair loss problem. After taking it, i had hair loss problem!! So i stopped already. Then after that i went to another doctor at NSC. I think dermatologists always give the same oral medicine, i was told there're 3 main types for curing acne, Roaccutane, antibotics or contraceptive pills. So now i dun see any doctors coz it doenst help that much. If i've money i would see a genealogist, coz i think my hormones really has smthg wrong as my period is irregular. I think NSC is good enough and the consultation cost is reasonable, but look for right doctor that is recommemded by pple.

xiao_xue

any one know Dr Georgia Lee? i'm looking for her clinic somewhere ard holland v. she's a very popular dematologist i guess as i often see her on Channel U. i'm looking for her contact, any one can help? Thankx!

icebaby0

I go to Dr Kelvin Goh at Orchard M.D.

The clinic actually have 2 -3 doctors (all family).

But the Dr I go to is Dr Kelvin Goh

Clinic Name: Orcha M.D. Clinic & Surgury

Address: 391B Ngee Ann City Tower B #08-03

Tel: 6884 9353

Available Only: Tues, Thurs and Sat (9am - 5pm)

Remark: Can call for appointment

Other clinic

Clinic Name: 8 - 11 Clinic & Surgury

Address: Blk 924 Yishun Central 1 #01-338

Tel: 67590310

Available: Tues, Thurs and Sat ( 6pm - 9.30pm)

Remark: Walk-ins only. NO appointments.

elmomoo87

Hi Icebaby

My friend reccomends me to try out at 8-11 clinic too! But she says now Dr Goh has moved to orchard so do you know if his prices are still the same? My friend couldn't provide me with details as she did not frequent him now.

Thanks lots!

elmomoo87

Hi Icebaby

Thanks for the clarification! If it's okie can I ask what kind of treatment did you use? Cause I am interested in peeling and is it true that the face will be red for one month? Thanks!

icebaby0

winnie,

didn't do any sort of treatment but because i had this dry skin below my eye which keep appearing the whole of last yr and got really bad. So went to him. After the 3rd session, finally found the pdt that work for me. Now I am also using his facial wash and toner range. Ain't too bad.

Never tried the peeling. But his orchard office is damn nice. hahaha

elmomoo87

Icebaby

Hahaha.. Okie thanks lots! I want to try peeling because I dont want to spend money on makeup anymore.. So if peeling can solve my "fen ci" and pimple scar problem then horray!! Heez..

Oh yeah one last question.. Is his consultation fees expensive?

s02621880

hi all, I currently have some serious facial problem. Due to my research over the internet, i think my skin is contracted with so call "sun-poisoning". My facial skin becomes very dry, red and rashes all over. When contacted to sunlight, it get worst. My skin will become red and more rash will appear. Not really sure whats happen to my skin actually. I think my skin is spoilt?? =( All this started when i was badly burn by the sunlight 5 months ago. The skin centre was not a great help actually cos the appointment date was far to long. It can take up to 2 months for my next appointment. Worst stil is there is no confirmation of what my problem is... I really need a quick and reliable cure for it cos it really is givin alot of problems. Pls recomendation me any good doctor which is good in dealing with my problems. I also hope those who have a doctor currently, pls help me ask whether is there any cure for my problem. Thks everyone... *sad =(

angelica

Hi Lim, you sound distress! I recommend you my skin doctor, Dr Alan Ho from Cosmopolitan Clinic. Tel: 6327 3773.

s02621880

I really appreciate for your recommendation. But jux wana find out hw much is the consultaion fee?? I m afraid its too expensive for me. And do you have the address?? Does he roughly have an idea on hw to cure my skin? & realli thx for giving a hope~ =D

kimmies

Hi,.. not sure if you guys have tried MDA (Microdermabrasion), but I used to have very bad scarring (itchy fingers), then I did MDA and it has really improved. Now, when I put on makeup, my skin looks almost flawless.. almost only lah, because if you look closely, can still see the shallow scars :p, but my close friends commented that it has really improved alot. I stopped already, because after a while, the level of improvement stopped, I guess that's the best it can get.

loterie

Ya..me too. I tried Microdermabrasion in this private clinic. My skin has been better, clearer complexion. My doctor even prescribe me with whitening booster for effective skin whitening..Pores getting smaller too..so happy!

icezee

Hi KYM & RINA, where did u all do microdermabrasion? IS for wat purpose?

I have breakouts!!! My acne is coming back!!! Think is due to effect after facial, coz i stopped going for facial. now i waiting for breakouts all come out & clear. I dun wan to see those dermalogists, they always tell me same thing & prescribe me same medicine. Not of much help. There's one medicine roaccutine, after i ate that caused hair loss problems! I so dunno wat to do now clueless man...

ling25

I am really interested in visiting a dermatologist for my oily skin and obvious pores. Have summarised the list of doctors recommended on this thread. Does anyone know if the dermatologists mentioned here are effective in treating oily skin and obvious pores?

Thanks for the help.

<center><table border=1><tr><td>
mime_msword.gif
list of doctors
Summary of doctors.doc (27.1 k)</td></tr></table></center>

icebaby0

Ling25,

For me, so far I have no issues using Dr kelvin goh's facial wash and all.
I find the stuff very oil free. But then I have non-oily skin..generally normal skin. Only that i had issues with the dry skin under my eyes and my legs. Both which were cured.

I think it's not easy to choose a dermatologist, what works for me might not work for you. But I suggested my dr is because his consultation fee is cheap.

missymissy

hi KYM N RINA,just wanna find out how much does this microdermabrasion cost you?n hows the procedure like?i heard so much bout this procedure like you cant expose to sunlite n so on....maybe u gals can explain to me more abt this......thks yah.

kimmies

Hi Julie, the doctor has this pen like instrument that kind of sucks gently on the skin (like vacuum cleaner) :p I think it gets rid of the dead skin cells and smooths the skin at the same time. After that, the skin may be just abit red, and the doctor will ask you to apply sunblock and avoid the sun. But, for me, my life goes on as normal, I just don't go suntanning right after that... it's actually no big deal at all. I don't even consider it a procedure actually.. just like going for normal facial. I went to this doctor at a neighbourhood area, and she charges less than one hundred per session.. I did about 1 session for every 2 weeks, and after about 8 sessions, I stopped because no time, and didn't really want to overdo it.. I was happy that with the change..

ling25

Hi Kim

Can you share who your doctor is and where the clinic is?

Alternatively, you can PM me. Thanks much.