Any good cleanser?

dreamy_gal

hey, just asking? how can oily skin be dehydrated??

i am using Dermalogica's dermal clay cleanser for oily skin. it has a minty refreshing feel after you wash yr face. its also good if you have congestion/break-outs on your face. Can be used as ad-hoc mask. leave it on for 2-3 mins.

sweet_apple

I think it is possible for oily skin to be dehydrating. Like my skin, it's oily inside but dry outside. If I don't apply moisturiser, my skin will be very dry. But after about an hour, my face will become very oily. Beauticians say my skin type is classied as combination, where I have to use non-greasy moisturiser, gel type would be ideal.

I used Demarlogica Dermal Clay Cleanser before, thumbs up for that but it's very pricey. I am currently using Vincy, a product which is the same lab as Loreal, you can find it at selective Watson outlets.

twinkletwinkle

Hi dreamy/apple,

May i know how mucch is the dermal clay cleanser?
My skin type also dry on surface oily inside.. but at the same time sensitive..

spagal

Yes, my skin is oily,yet very dehydrated. Sometimes, my skin will feel v tight yet after a while, it becomes v oily. I used dermalogica clay before and it gives me small bumps!!!Tried for one week and it's even worse so I have stopped. Looking for some perhaps gel-like cleanser, light and yet can clean well of all the grime!

totto

i also have combination skin.. am using H2o moisturer.. its oil free.. let me try out the cleaner then let u know if it is gd.. jst got a sample yesterday..

bethany

my skin is a bit oily, but very dehydrated.. I've been using SKII facial treatment cleanser for 3 years, yet to find anything better to replace it so far..

felicity

twinkle
i hv dry skin but is oily on the inside as well. i use loreal visible radiance cleanser - cheap and gd. and i use the hydrafresh gel moisuturizer and when in ac for long periods hydrafresh cream moisturiser but not on the t zone.
hope this helps you. happy cleanser shopping.

spagal

twinkle,
i am selling the dermalogica derma cleanser at $35, bought it at $55, it's 237 ml. Let me know if you are interested!
Think most pple with sensitive skin will use eucerin, maybe i will go and check it out! Thanks!

spagal

twinkle,
i am selling the dermalogica derma cleanser at $35, bought it at $55, it's 237 ml. More than 90% left coz used only for a week nightly. Let me know if you are interested!
Think most pple with sensitive skin will use eucerin, maybe i will go and check it out! Thanks!

spagal

hi totto,
can share the h20 cleanser? haha..i think the brand is also not bad, seems very gentle on sensitive skin! how u find the moisturizer?

totto

spagal,

how to share the cheanser ? me havnt buy yet.. wanna try out the sampler first :p

the moisturizer ah.. its written oil free but hor.. when i use it.. still feel a bit oily leh.. duno why.. but overall.. am still oki with it.. i tried the clinque oil free moisturer b4.. also quite like it.. but in the end, decided to give h20 another try.. haha.. i also duno why..

white_dove

May I know where to get the Eucerin cleanser? I also have combination skin, oily internally but dry skin on the surface.

spagal

hi totto!! haha.....*blush blush* haha, i mean can share about the review of the cleanser...hehe...so paiseh..didn't write clearly...i have the same problem as you, when i applied any moisturizer on the back of my hand, it feels light but when i applied on my face, my face immediately looks oily!! but i guess h20 is water-based so it shd be better??
hi angeline,
u can find eucerin at most watsons and guardian...they have quite a whole range of products! I tried the moisturizer once, v light!

strawberrytofu

do monitor ur skin while u are using cleanser for specific skin type. I jus learn this from my asethetician friend.

While many of us will not be able to understand our skin as well as asetheticians, we also tend to use for-dry-skin / for-oily skin cleanser daily.

For example, for-oily-skin cleanser will probably balance the oil excretion in the skin, but we don't know when's the balancing pt, our skin type changes with age,it can then become normal then dry, but we can't tell, thereby specific skin cleanser will not no longer be suitable.

therefore I've been advise to use for-all-skin type cleanser tat can balance my skin type back to normal, and also becos wat we do daily to our skin is d most impt, do know how the product work on your face.

luv to share =)

tunagirl

I've just switched to shiseido's pureness cleanser. It's great for my combi skin, controls my oils and yet doesn't feel tight for the dehydrated parts. Now it feels smoother =)

Heard that Derma products are medicated and aere not suitable for people with sensitive skin. Is that true? Have tried quite a lot of different brands and feel quite tired of continuously buying skin products which dun seem to work and have to be chucked aside

skg

Hi starrynite,

have msg you a friend's contact if you need her advice. She's in the health and beauty industry for some time, may offer some good recommendations to you.

skg

Hi starrynite,

have msg you a friend's contact if you need her advice. She's in the health and beauty industry for some time, may offer some good recommendations to you.

Sukkimi:
Cetaphil may be too mild for her if she's got oily skin. How about trying Kiehl's cleanser? (Scott's Shopping Centre level 1).

doll23

Hi I have normal to oil skin that was dehydrated. I use laneige sensitive skin cleanser and/or kose grandaine white cream cleanser and/or haba washing powder. Like these very much.

Biotherm green biosource cleanser was a tad too strong for me.

herbal

I'm using a very cheap but good cleanser - Johnson and Johnson Ph5.5
Not bad, clean offf the oil on my skin very well and don't feel the tightness.

herbal

I'm using a very cheap but good cleanser - Johnson and Johnson Ph5.5
Not bad, clean offf the oil on my skin very well and don't feel the tightness.

yokoyhf

I use pearl ion lotion. Not bad for hydrating my skin and also giving it radiant. Interestingly it also helps in whitening my skin.

michy_wong

Me got combination skin and have been using Sense gentle daily cleanser. Have been using it for 2 yrs. Gentle for my skin and I feel my skin getting firmer too...

g00ber

my daily skin regime helps keep my skin clear and moisturised. its simple.

i use the make up wipes from Simple available at watsons to clean off make up, then use the artistry cleanser to wash my face. then i use the toner with a cotton pad to wipe off any last traces of make up. usually i will 4get to put moisturiser coz lazy so once or twice a week, i treat my skin to a hydration mask. this mask is so good i use it as a moisturiser by applying a thin layer, now that i am in freezing and dry japan winter.. skin is doing well this time. never thought of using this hydrating mask as a moisturizer the last time i went to spain and i suffered cracked and peeling skin on my nose area. but you must check that your mask is not the type that hardens. otherwise, you will look wierd when it dries keke.. i put it under make up.

chamois

bubu, spagal,

Don't use too strong cleansers even for oily skin, if your pores don't clog to grow into volcano mountains, it's ok. Over-cleansing leads to dryness, and irritation (natural tendency to scratch pimples too), and stimulates more oil secretion and your pores will grow larger too. This is my case. And when your pores grow larger, dirt goes in easily, and then pimples get inflammed easily, so it becomes a vicious cycle.

I believed in sea derived products and that they happen to be good at oil control too. Once I went to Tioman underwater, despite the strong sun, my skin came back much better which I believe is due to my time under in the very clear sea water. I was suprised cos I thought I would be sunburnt/skinburnt though I used some slight sunblock on the face. I decided the sea water must have some therapeutic effect since I also use sunblock on face in Singapore, but my face didn't improve.

But when it comes to packaged skin care products, the chemical properties like liposome delivery, oil-free, gel, non-clog, etc are important. e.g., In colder and drier countries, I prefer Nivea/Eucerin as unlike other creams they do not clog and they form something like an insulating wax layer on top which doesn't feel like oil/cream.

chamois

bubu, spagal,

Don't use too strong cleansers even for oily skin, if your pores don't clog to grow into volcano mountains, it's ok. Over-cleansing leads to dryness, and irritation (natural tendency to scratch pimples too), and stimulates more oil secretion and your pores will grow larger too. This is my case. And when your pores grow larger, dirt goes in easily, and then pimples get inflammed easily, so it becomes a vicious cycle.

I believed in sea derived products and that they happen to be good at oil control too. Once I went to Tioman underwater, despite the strong sun, my skin came back much better which I believe is due to my time under in the very clear sea water. I was suprised cos I thought I would be sunburnt/skinburnt though I used some slight sunblock on the face. I decided the sea water must have some therapeutic effect since I also use sunblock on face in Singapore, but my face didn't improve.

But when it comes to packaged skin care products, the chemical properties like liposome delivery, oil-free, gel, non-clog, etc are important. e.g., In colder and drier countries, I prefer Nivea/Eucerin as unlike other creams they do not clog and they form something like an insulating wax layer on top which doesn't feel like oil/cream.

bb_queen

I have oily and dehydrated skin and the following work for me (but you need to double cleanse if you wear make up):-

-ZA cleansing foaming gel
-Nuskin gel cleanser
-Jurlique

bluey

gals,

check wif u, currently i m using eversoft the white series... after washing i feel a slight tightness in my skin and after a while it is back to normal. Is it ok? or the cleanser is to strong liao?

michy_wong

it's making ur face too clean such dat ur skin is stripped of its protective lining that helps to protect your skin. no doubt u'll find ur face very clean, but over time, it's too harsh and has a drying effect. it's nvr recommended to hv dat 'squeaky clean' effect after facial cleansing.

reismion

garnier's cleanser is good but will have 'squeaky clean' effect after using. end up, our skin will 'produce' more oil. :p

wisqix

The kind of squeaky clean feel doesn't mean that the skin has been thoroughly cleansed. I've tried that garnier blue cleanser before. Think its some pore cleansing wash... but I end up with clogged pores and more fine lines (dehydrated) but oily as what reismion pointed out.

i have supper oily skin...
i am using olay cleanser for acne prone skin. its a black color tube. i am using the same series of mositurer.
alternatively, I am using Garnier's gentle wash (blue color tube).
i find that switching cleanser is more effective than sticking to one particular brand.
in my humble view, expensive cleanser doesn't mean good. what suitable for others may not work for you. have to be adventerous in trying different brand by using travel size first.
a good cleanser should not have a "tight" feeling after washing and it will not cause your skin to become oily after 4 hours of washing.

blushingrose

I have combination skin that is dehydrated and slightly sensitive. I'm currently using HABA's amino facial foam which works well for me. It's not too harsh and never leaves any feeling of tightness. I like it as it does not contain harsh cleansing agents like sodium or ammonium laureth sulphate. But I'm not sure if it is available in Singapore as I get my supplies from Japan.

grapeful

Hi blushinggrose, apart from using a cleanser which you like,you can also try to use a moisturising toner / mask to take care of the dehydration.

cleansers need to be 5.5. pH balance in order not to upset the skin's acid mantle (skin surface). if too alkaline, it will disrupt and result in excessive oil production/pimples, etc

reismion

can try clarin's foaming cleanser. not bad.

am using haba's powder wash n absolute's enzymatic cleaner now.