Any fast ways to reduce weight within 2mths time?

shihui

Do you guys know any clinic that prescribe slimming pills that are effective? But not so expensive one...

xiaobai

Hi Esther,

I ever tried taking juz fruits for bf & lunch and juz a handful of rice & plenty of veg. It'z effective. My friend replace her meals with steam dou fu only & it also helps.

Recently I went to a slimming centre and after 6 sessions (around 3 weeks) I really lost quite a hefty inches and the cost of this slimming programme is not very expensive.
Can email me if you all want to know more. Won't dare to say much here else people will thought that I am running an advertisement.
Just wanna share this effective weight loss programme with you gals. Don't need to skip meals also.

My email address is [email protected]

alan_golfnut

Actually, just adopt an active lifestyle and a sensible diet (not supplementation), and you'd be able to start seeing some fat loss. Essentially, losing weight is about creating a caloris deficit, which is you use more calories than you'd put into your body. Of cos, starving yourself (which is the essence of a lot of liquid and meal replacement diet, based on Very Low Calorie Diet or VLCD) is not the answer, and the metabolism slows right down when the body detects that it's not getting enough food and therefore, it'd start storing any food the body takes in as fat, hence your weight would increase again.

apple1304

all.. pls DO NOT buy the product recommended by milk_shampoo... The product she is selling is from COS*** and this is a MLM!

milk_shampoo: IDENTIFY THE PRODUCT u trying to sell! Is it from COS***?

All note that there are many from COS*** (esp Tangjong pagar) trying to MLM such pdt. Beware!

lobang_king

yeah... I think so.... I agreed with Alan, a sensible diet & exercise regularly is more than enough. I am in the group of slow methabolism, I started my weight lose plan after CNY. In the 1st 3 mths really can't c any result,& I nearly wanna give it up... luckily I didn't! I shed bout 5Kgs in my past two mths. Think I will stick to my current weight lose plan, Haha!Wish I can lose another 10Kgs before Dec...

friends78

Hi Alan

As your advice, I tried exercise ...but no result after two months.... Any more ways to help? I normally run the treadmill for 30 mins... 3 time per week....

redtail81

If you really keen on losing weight. I have come across an effective weight loss programme which my friend has personally tried it and lost 10kg in a month plus. It has personal trainers to advise you on what you should do and what you should not do FOC too.
Interested ? Email me at [email protected]

gnatasha

I really want to lose some weight, but would like to do so thru the healthy way. Anyone has experience with personal trainers? Got recommendation for female trainers? How much do they usually charge? TIA.

alan_golfnut

FRIENDS: Sounds like you're doing nothing but cardio and no strength training. The key to more effective fat loss is to raise your metabolism, meaning you gotta lift weights to raise your metabolism. When your metabolism is raised, you're able to burn fat more efficiently. Don't use the weighing scale as the definitive guide to effectiveness. Check if your clothes are getting loose as well. Good luck!

gabrielle: PTs charge a whole scale of prices, and it's really about getting what you're paying for. Do check the trainer's qualifications as well as VERIFIABLE testimonials. Drop me a mail if you need more information. Cheers!

gnatasha

Thanks Alan, will email u. Has anyone tried those Weight Management Prog at hospitals such as CGH, Alex Hosp and Mt E? Any feedback? CGH is charging $400+ for 24 weeks, wonder how much others are charging...TIA.

redtail81

But lifting weights got to watch out if lifting too much weights end up getting muscles which might no look good lo

alan_golfnut

"But lifting weights got to watch out if lifting too much weights end up getting muscles which might no look good lo"

Not true. Firstly, EVERYONE has muscles, and secondly, women simply do not have the hormones to pack on muscles like men can. No real personal trainer will advise their clients not to lift weights because building muscle content is the key way of raising metabolism, hence burning more fat.

redtail81

i mean got to watch out cos the border line of lifting too much is so easily crossed. Once over done it your arm will be big den skin will tends to expand lo.. next time when not doing any more exercise 'flappy arms' ?

godzillaoh

Aloha!

I just wanna share my weightloss experience. i have jus resigned from a burnt-out job and it left me feeling depressed and moody. recently i have picked up the local Shape mag and after reading one issue, i am enjoying the different set of exercises that is used to make me feel healthier and of course, losing weight. initially, I go gym with a heavy heart and felt restless. Now, i bring in the mag and read it while i am exercising. I dun exactly read, but more of following the exercises seen in the mag. its been 1mth and my muscles have signifcantly toned and i can jog longer!
i now find enjoyment in lifting weights and doing other exercises but in moderation. i also learn to eat happily and healthily. the exercises left me losing a kg per week. sounds easy but you got to be really disciplined, else its really tuff...

I have learnt that not to weigh myself everyday. I weigh myself once a week and consistenly on the same day. this way, i can monitor my weight better. i feel one nid not to be so obsessive with the numbers on the scale. as you feel that your shorts or pants are looser, you will def felt really motivated.

Hey Alan, i have noticed that i toned alot of lifting weights consistently. this leads me to able to jog longer on the treadmill, which leads me to perspiring it out.. i heard pple telling me walking briskly on the treadmill can tone the calves muscles better. is that true or it makes no different from joggin? cos jogging will be the muscles appear bigger...?

alan_golfnut

"Once over done it your arm will be big den skin will tends to expand lo.. next time when not doing any more exercise 'flappy arms'?"

Wrong again. Skin is made of collagen, which gives it elasticity. So unless you were extremely obese, there's little likelihood that the skin will stretch. Needless to say, muscles (esp in women) won't stretch the skin to that extent. And in case anyone is wondering, muscles DO NOT turn to fat if you stop exercising, cos they're two completely different compounds altogether.

alan_golfnut

Godzilla: G'day! That was a fantastic story that you shared there! You really documented the process really well. All my clients started off the same way too, as sedantary individuals who've never had much of an active lifestyle and with a compromised quality of life. Once they start seeing progress (both tangible and intangible), they get really motivated and the changes they make to their lives become a way of life rather than a "have to do".

Re your comment about lifting weights helping your jog longer: You see, if we're heavier, our legs might not be strong enough to carry the body weight, so instead of giving our lungs and heart a workout, our legs tire first. So now that your legs are stronger, you overcome the aching in the legs and are able to run longer.

Re difference between brisk walking and jogging: It really depends on several factors, incl the manner in which you walk. But assuming everything to be equal, there'd be no difference between brisk walking and running in terms of what it does for your muscles. If you wanna work your calves, the trick is to walk a lot of uphill courses (or increase the "incline" function on the treadmill), cos you'd need to "push" yourself up the slope more with the front portion of your feet, thus using your calves more. Give it a try!

Finally, jogging does not make muscles appear bigger. In fact, as you prob already found out, women cannot get big muscles like men (heck, even some men can't get it! *grins*). If anything, those people who complain that their "muscles" are big could simply mean that their fat level surrounding their muscles is high. If you delve deeper, you'd find that they work a lot on strength training and not enough cardio.

Good luck, and keep up the good work! You're an inspiration!

sleepysleep

hi alan,

for toning our arms and etc, light weight with more repetition will be effective.. is it correct?

hi gozilla,
what kind of execise is that? care to share?

beagle

Happened to read this interesting thread and i thought i can share a thought if you all dun mind. Firstly, i dun have instant way or ideas in losing 10kg.
Anyway, for those who wished to lose weight, so as to feel and look good, focusing solely on weight lost may not be wise. For e.g, going on diet only, may lead one to have a pear shape figure. If you have already a big built, why not capitalise on your broad shoulders etc?
Therefore, i suggest re-evaluate what you want and perhaps you can target something better.

godzillaoh

aloha!

Alan, wow! thanks for spend time to type down the explanation to my questions. are you doing freelance or you are in any of the gym?

just wan to share about buyin a pair of jogging shoes...recently to motivate myself, i went to get a pair of decent joggin shoes(with gel instead of air pump)from queenstown. and i got it for a realli price for the brand! realli comfortable! cos the current one i am having is abit uncomfortable on my sole. my sole feels pain and the sides harden after doing joggin and brisk walking.... now with the new shoes, i can jog even longer and most importantly, not giving myself an excuse to end my jog earlier! hahhaha

yeah i do increase my inclination when i do brisk walking.is it the higher the better? i always use 2.5 den i tink as time pass, i will increase it...

i also felt that this exercise thing doesnt nid to be a everyday thing la.. i learn that i shld at least eat at everymeals and not skipping the entire meal. i tink losing weight is more than dropping that number of kilos.

Although it mite take a longer time as it nids alot of self discipline, i guess it all about showing the truth abt my own personal health and getting things done. I used to drown myself with sinful snacks when i suffer a job burnt out.... even my frends and family gets it from me..! ahahaha. but now i learn to deal with overwhelming emotions like going for a stroll in the park and picking up a new hobby!
i used to go to bukit timah when i was in npcc, and now that if i find its bored, I will recommend anyone who wants to sweat it out! this one is really fun and def you perspire more!

you know initially, when i start to weigh myself, i thot, alamak, how come my kgs nvr go down leh? Anyway, as i said earlier on, most importantly is that you seemed happier than bfore and your clothes are more loose.
nvm abt those numbers on the scale. now i am realli focusing on my tummy! sometimes i am realli tempted to go to those slimming centre to tone my tummy! but i tot, i do alot of tummy toning 1st bfore i give up lar...situps and crunches quite tuff but its worth the sweat!

hey sleepysleep, the exercises are more of target training type, like toning the legs and the butt!
the exercises explanation are difficult to xplain without the pictures...xplanation super long if i have to xplain it but you probably u can see in this issue shape mag to know more..
erm abt the part on lifting light weights with more repetiton, i not too sure, but when i feel that my arm no longer feels that pressure, i go for a set of the next heavier ones. but i do stretch after doing weights, so wont be pain the next day.

Hey nelson, ur way of losing weight is also exercising? 10kgs! dats alot!

I find that men tend to lose weight easier than women.

Hi Godzilla,

May I know what's the brand of your jogging shoe and how much did u pay for it?

btw, anyone knows how one can improve their sit-up?

alan_golfnut

godzilla: Yet another inspiring post!
*thumbs up* I can't be too specific in case mod don't like, but yes, I work in the industry.

celia: Yes, men lose fat more easily because they tend to have more muscles, meaning their metabolism is higher. And women do tend to have more fat, for protective reasons and reproductive reasons.

And the brand of shoe isn't as important as whether it fits you. Everyone's feet are different, some broader than others, so it's best to go to a shop where they know their stuff, and get them to help you decide. Walk around in them in the shop to see whether it's comfy.

My advice is always to do crunches rather than sit-ups. Crunches will hit the abdominal muscles more directly than sit-ups, which ends up stressing your front of legs and hip flexors more than your abs!

There is this diet call Atkins Diet (Low Carbohydrates, High Fat, High Protein). Its very effective if followed correctly. Personally I lost more than 20KG in about 4 months. But I do exercise like a siao char bo beside going on the diet. Result vary from person to person what it does what it claim ;) Very fast weight loss.

alan_golfnut

Atkins, while seeing quick immediate results, is not sustainable long term, and many people actually rebound after that. The high fat bit really doesn't make sense, I mean, you're trying to lose fat but you're eating more to lose it? High protein should be taken with caution too, cos it puts the kidney under a lot of stress, not to mention the danger of gout.

The safest way is still an active lifestyle with healthy diet.

sleepysleep

is the following consider a healthy diet for lunch?
i have 'vege salad' that consist of carrot, cucumber and tomatoe. 2-3 slices of bread with the following for alternate days. ham, tuna, potatoe salad, egg salad..

is these a healthy lunch? what else is needed to keep it healthy?

many thanx..

beagle

Hi sleepysleep,
I feel that your 'veg salad' sounds nice and maybe healthy for the 'day'. Before i say what i feel i must declare that i'm not a nutritionist. What i gather for a wholesome 'veg salad' meals are:

1. Have a change of your veg mix.
2. Include in your 'veg salad' some leafy veg or veg that are fibrous.
3. Don't forget fruits.

Basically, the essential thought are have a proper mix and make sure have a well rounded meal that contain the needed vitamins.

As for bread, you may want to consider those that do not contain preservatives. And not all people can take bread, as it may cause skin problems.

personally, i do not promote having 'veg salad' meals for lunch too regularly. May seem healthy. Your alternate ham tuna seems nice. But i do recommend steam fish or food of that sort. That will give you the needed fish protein.

sleepysleep

hi nelson,

thanx for the advice =) coz i not too sure what are the proper mix actually. =P

i try eating lettuce.. but the lettuce cant last too long even though in fridge, will have some purple 'vein' thus i stop eating lettuce coz i not sure if the lettuce spoilt already or not.

not too sure what are veg are more fibrous hehee.. i love green vege but those need cooking and office cant cook haha! i eat fruits @ hm hehe.

i didnt know preservatives are added into bread. normally i buy those ntuc fairprice etc brand, are those with preservatives?

too bad i dont eat sashimi etc raw fish.. else will be gd for lunch-in meals... i will try to source for more food for my lunch ehehe!

thanx for the advice again! =))

godzillaoh

ALOHA!

hey celia... its ascxx. cost $75 onli. heheheh.. but as wat alan said its true lar. everybody's feet is diff so u mite u wan to dwn and try and see if its comfortable for u. the sales girl quite ok lar..she makes sure u get the correct sizeee...
ermm accordin to her, she claim that she is the onli store that has this promo. and fair enuff, i went ard the shops and its true lah.... cheap and good. ahahhah...

hey sleepsleep! u can add shitake mushrooms i guess.. alot of fibre.. i jus gotton a pack from nt**. cheap and nice to eat. if u like pepper den add them cos its reali tasty! for my tuna, i now using the canned tuna with water. i tot it will be tasteless but its realli tasty! and best of all its healthy! i choose the chunks instead of the flakes... bigger pcs... nicer to eat and not soaked with the syrup, i guess... i add cherry tomatoes(those small small type), cabbage .. like urs one lor...

jus to share my xperience...ermm after gym, usually its lunch time, usually i go for a small bottle of H* milk or those mari**** fruit drink. can be realli filling. usually i skip bf bfore i go gym...

godzillaoh

ALOHA again!

i tink eat too much bread also no good lar.. will get fat too unless u hit the gym like no body business...i tink always choose the multigrain type.. its healthier i guess.. i know gard**** is made fresh everyday and the multigrain is super soft... and the they xpired within like 4-5 days... so i presume they dun put as much preservatives like the other brands lar... u always buy wich type of bread? sun***** come out one new multigrain type also..it cost more than the latter.. i duno nice anot.. u tried?

Hi godzilla,

Thanks cos I've been looking around for a jogging shoe since my current one giving way. So far, no luck as all of the jogging shoes cost more than $120. So I'm really surprise u got yours at $75....I think I better check it out at Queensway. Mind tell me which shop since its having promotion.

I have difficulties losing weight after giving birth and worse of all, I have severe constipation and even doctors cant help me. I tried alot of method but nothing helps. Eating fruits can even give me severe stomach upset. Sob Sob!!!!

sleepysleep

hi godzilla,

thanx for the advice..
yeah yeah i am eating those cherry tomatoe hehe! shitake mushroom i like! but cant eat raw right? hehee.. i am quite suaku..

hhhehe tuna i was trying out some different fav, oops seems like i am not dieting =P so the tuna with water is nice? hhehee will go try the next rd i buy... =D

my mum buying gard**** so i am eating that hehee.. didnt try sun***** =P

hi ladies/gents
how to define constipation? i am someone that dont have "big biz" daily since young, izzit okie? do i need to increase my fibre intake?

sleepysleep

hi godzilla,

thanx for the advice..
yeah yeah i am eating those cherry tomatoe hehe! shitake mushroom i like! but cant eat raw right? hehee.. i am quite suaku..

hhhehe tuna i was trying out some different fav, oops seems like i am not dieting =P so the tuna with water is nice? hhehee will go try the next rd i buy... =D

my mum buying gard**** so i am eating that hehee.. didnt try sun***** =P

hi ladies/gents
how to define constipation? i am someone that dont have "big biz" daily since young, izzit okie? do i need to increase my fibre intake?

godzillaoh

ALOHA celia!

Hey! chilll man! relax! u cant quicken the process of losing weight one lar.. u cant eat too many fruits at a go... cos u mite get a stomache upset! previously, last time, i also tot eating fruits can aid my digestion but duno y i also suffered frm constipation! sob sob... later i realised i eat alot of greens, it helps my bowel movement.. hehehe.... multigrain bread helps too. and drink plenty of water ok?

=================================================

hey btw, i came across this article.. i typin out frm Sh*** mag, pg 86 march issue:

Myth: "Eating a serving of vegetables at lunch every day is enuff to give me my daily requirement of greens.

Fact: Wrong, the Health Promotion Board advocates a consumption of "2+2"(two servies of fruits and 2 servings of veggies a day).

To incorporate more produce into your diet:

1.eat fruit with cereal in the morning,
2.load up ur plate with veggies at lunch and dinner and
3.substitute all snack foods with carrot sticks, grapes or strawberries...

* end

==================================================

for me, recently i have been eating alot of veggies, as in mixture, eat in moderation lar.. eating brocoli, cauliflower...try and eat more veggies instead... u can saute veggies with a splash of white wine...its more interestin and less fat... heheheh...i m no nutritionist lah but if u find it hard to get this kind of vitamins, prob u shld go talk to G** to get those fibre supplements. it guess it helps. u mean ur docs cant help u? how come?

np man! prob is better to email u the contact on the joggin shoe?

sleepysleep >>> yeah my mum jus finish the tuna...she finds it tasty too... she jus gone dwnstairs to get a can..hahaha.. but take note if u compare some other brands of cans... some cans sodium amt seems to be higher.. aiyer can try other flavours lah jus dat now i m kinda of dieting ahahhaha.... it good to try differnt flavours for a while else it bcomes a chore to eat like dat... hey u can try salads by using low fat yoghurt instead of the mayo or 1000island,... u can use as dips lah, soups la or marinade on chicken.... ahahhahaha...jus my 2cents.

Novena M** jus open today.. got 20%... i gg there to get a cookbook... so its more fun to eat...

Hi Godzilla,

i get stomach upset from eating fruits. Imagine, just an apple can trigger the pain. I also tried to eat lots of veg and drink lots of water but the results still same. There was once when I only restrict my diet to boiled veg for lunch and dinner, breakfst I take wholemeal bread, something i did for about a week for the purpose of detoxing but constipation still the same. I even tried buying those fibre biscuits, powders to aid digestion as well as to increase fibre intake but still the same. In fact, i dun eat much but still put on weight. Now I do alot of housework, sweat alot but still no luck with the towel bowl. My hubby also tells me that with all these shi* inside my body sure become fat, he also dun understand why i have such problems. In fact, the only time I enjoy regular bowel movement was when I was pregnant...so happy to go toilet.

I think something wrong with my system. I have already 'ren ming' and always dream of opening and cleaning my stomach...haha.....

cinnet26

The oni time i went to the toilet is when i drink one glass of thick undiluted prune juice...
Even if i eat alot of greenies,fruits...i dun go to the toilet...All dun help except prune juice...:>

hi ydnic,

same here and over the years, I had to drink slimming tea which helps me to go toilet. I tried to stop drinking as we cant rely on that but eventually its back to square one.

nutty

Hi Alan,
Does running/jogging on treadmill with your hands holding onto the handle bar burn less calorie than running with your hands off them?

godzillaoh

aloha celia,

when i eat apples, my stomach will churn and feels uncomfortable, so i seldom eat them. cos they contain some kind of acid that makes ur stomach uneasy. have u tried going to a nutritionist and see what they say?