Any dentist to recommend for braces - good and at reason price

skyla

oOoOoO.... thank!
goin to check out e place soon i think

chicklet

Dr Alfred Cheng at Mt Elizabeth. He did my braces as a student at NUH years ago. I tracked him down and got retainers a while. He's a good chap.

eowyna

is it very pain n difficult to bite the food?

Dentist also recommend me to do braces but i am already so old n skinny n cant imagine i will be even skinnier after putting the braces.

diamond42

Hi eowyna,

I just did my braces. It is not that painful but it is difficult to bite food. And dont worry, u wont lose much weight becos u will find a way out to eat. Haa...haaa...haa...

If you are staying in Kallang area, i would recommend Dr Ng of Logos Dental Surgery. He is very good!

Total cost is $4K.

eowyna

Hi diamond42

Thanks for yr feedback..

been delaying doing it for more than 10yrs n now so old liao.. looks so weird to hav braces.. previously wanted to do it but my ex doesnt allow me to do it.. now i am a free bird can go do it but thinkin of my age... haiz... duno can find bf anot.. haha

jacq_seah

I'm Jacq.I happened to find this forum n hope to get some advice frm u guys...I juz had my braces on last thurs at the ntuc tpy branch n since fri nite i startin having ulcers n till now i had 9 ulcers aready.Do you all experience serious ulcers prob while puttin on braces too?I m thinking on changing the OD...izit advisable to do dat?

nookeew

hi jacq... i think it's normal to get ulcers once u have braces on... i'm more than one year on braces, and still get a few ulcers after the monthly adjustment...

why do u wannt change OD?

chicklet

Hi, agree that you will definitely find a way to eat haha. Most times, the mouth will feel very sore after each visit because the dentist would have tightened the screws... So it's Congee Nights for a while. But hey, it's a great mini-diet method ;)

Ulcers will be a way of life for sure. I was religious abt rinsing and gargling after each meal. It helped a little to reduce bacteria so it made the ulcers bearable. Pack a small bottle of mouth rinse and toothpicks/tooth brush wherever you go. Bits of spinach can and do get stuck.

But really it was worth it! I only wore braces in unversity and worked for a while with them on. The day you take them off, there will be a terrible stink from all the food bits strapped for ages, but then after a nice polish and rinse, you WILL BE STUNNED BY HOW STRAIGHT AND GORGEOUS YOUR PEARLY WHITES LOOK!

Definitely a must for good self-image if you can afford it. The agony is short term compared to a lifetime of nice teeth afterwards (assuming you are good abt wearing your retainers afterwards lah. Regression can and do take place).

bubu

Hi Jacqueline,

I have ulcers for the first month because of the two front upper brackets which have something like small pin sticking out and rubbing against the skin. The clinic gave me a box of wax which I stick them on the brackets. Helps a lot. Now, no more ulcers.

x1nyu

hi gals!

i intend to put braces but unsure where's cheaper... any suggestions?

how long is the min period of time i nid to have e braces on ?

samgirl

May I have the contacts to the Smiles clinic which u are all talking about? My wedding is next year Mar...and my teeth are very crooked..so thinking of doing something to it...

jacq_seah

din expect any replies here cos i realised dat this discussion is closed after i post the msg :p Btw thanx for those advice...actually the main reason y i wanted to change an OD is cos when i started to haf a lot of ulcers n my mouth started to swell, I went back to the dentist. But i was being pushed away by the assistant saying dat even if i were to c the dentist its aso no use..n this happened for 2times...but i was worried dat time...cos once the swelling really gets pretty bad....dats y i tot of changing OD...heard dat its not advisable rite..?

but anyway thanx for those advice

as for t0otiE...mayb u would want to consider ntuc denticare at orchard(heard dat the doc's not bad...but too late for me when i found out) or the Smiles clinic they mentioned above?If u r an ntuc policy holder or related...its like....3700+ for the braces(excluding the xray n polishing...)

this braces thing...is abt 1.5 to 2yrs..

laggal

hi guys,
any one noe of any good orthodentist that is ard north side...thinking of going to Dr Kuan & Associates @ Serangoon North.
Desperately need guidance...really worried abt the pain tat i would have to go thru..=(

vaunei

XUE yafang (auldreay),

could you refer/ reccommend me over to Dr.Lee at Smiles Clinique at Novena sq? because I think if go through recommendation will be cheaper.. and i cant PM you, cos of your settings.. i'm a student only. would reeaalllyyy appreciate if u could help me out!! :) thanks!!

isobellies

vaune, if you have budget constraints you can go to national dental centre, they're cheap(er than private?) and apparently v good!

vaunei

i know..
but those have to join the waiting list that can wait up to a few years right..i was thinking of maybe getting it done by the students? do i still have to wait very long? and anyone has the contacts? thanks!!

morekisses512

Need advise.. Im 24 and has not have my Wisdom tooth yet...
My gum starts turning red and sore, experience several ulcers almost every month...went to see a dentist and was told that it might be probably due to wisdom tooth unable to grow...my dentist did nothing except to clean up my teeth.
He told me I have two baby tooth not extracted yet?!! Is that possible???

staruiz

hi morekisses, it's possible to have baby tooth. I have one too. e dentist told me it's probably there's no permanent teeth underneath it, that's y it's still there (didnt drop off when i was young).
when ur wisdom tooth is growing, it's like tt. i had e pain for a few mths too. u wont want them to cut open e gum & make it grow out, right?

wyxq

HI to the lady who is looking for cheap and gd dentist:

I suggest u go to polyclinic dental and then ask them to refer u to Alexandra Hospital to do ur braces. I had my mental braces done at $3200 only! u can save alot more than u go to private dentist. And the ordontist in Alexandra Hospital are patient and very professional and most importantly skillful.
You will expereince mouth ulcers for first 3mths of braces and its normal!
Just apply those normal mouth ulcers gel and u will get used to it.
all the best! I m gng to get my braces remove on 9August2006 and my phototaking for wedding is on 1Oct2006.

summer_baby

Jacqueline

I ask the private one at Compasspoint shopping centre and was quote $3800. Only $600 more so it like no much different leh. Unless u go to those really high exp one in Mount E etc, $5k like tat.

yuezhi

Done mine at Alexandra Hospital. Would recommend Dr Yong, cos he is very friendly, as compared to my previous Dr. But remember to ask and take notes of the price. Cos my pervious Dr. did not give me the total price from the start.
1.) ask like how much the total package cost.
2.) if the package cost e.g.$3800 but after e.g. 2yrs u still can't take out the braces and have already spend $3,800, do you still need to pay the monthly cosult fee.

Cos at the start u might need to pay $1,200 to $1,600 first, then pay abt $100 during ur monthly appt.

My previous Dr. did not tell me the total cost of the package, so when i was transfer to Dr. Yong, I was shocked when I need to pay $1k++ more. As I can remove my braces sooner than I thought. But Dr Yong is very kind in explaining, and didn't over charge me.

Jacqueline- i agree with u.

poorthing

i still have 2 wisdom teeth have not extract. so can i still make braces? is ceramic braces as effective as the normal metal braces? i mean will it cause the treatment to become longer time? Thanks

banoffi

I'm also considering wearing braces to correct open bite and gaps. Anyone tried Dr tan hwee hiang at aesthetics dental before? She's really nice, but quoted me $6K for ceramics upper and lower.

banoffi

such a big price difference! I am actually looking for one near my office (raffles place), so I can go during lunch to do tightening etc.

annpaul

hi people, i got some dental questions. you guys are the most active so i shall post here tho its not braces related! hees i've got very bad receding gums. din take care when i was young. to the point its exposing the roots. what can i do about it? i've heard of filling it with gums. is there such procedureS? sounds weird to me. anyone tried before? where and how much does it cost? now i'm very scared my teeth will drop if my gums continue to recede.

another dental problem, my two front teeth has internal staining. think due to too much floride when i'm young. its unsightly when i smile and i'm very very conscious. have heard of putting veneers or something like that over the teeth will help. thats what they do in the extreme makeover. anyone tried those veneer procedures before? how much is it? i've seen ads on papers but not sure of the pricing. not able to commit too much money but would really like nice teeth for PS man! please help! if u know of a reasonably priced dentist, please let me know. thanks much. can also email me at [email protected]

poorthing

annpaul,
maybe u make an appt to see polyclinic dentist first. let him examine ur teeth and gums. he will sent u to specialist like ndc for treatment. in this way, u will charged at subsidised instead of private rate..

poorthing

hi snow, y ur braces for half ceramic is more ex than whole ceramic? u mention both upper and lower ceramic is $3.2k and for one ceramic and one metal is $4k?
btw, where is ur clinic? and how long u need to wear?

rocher_ho

Hi whitehooves,
I would like to PM you but your setting doesnt allows. Can I know how much is Dr Alfred Cheng's pricing and how good is he? Thanks.

whitehooves

hi rocher,

i've juz changed the settings. think it shld be working fine now.
let me noe if it still doesn't work. not sure if can disclose his pricing in the forum like tt or if the forum allows it.

sg_guy

I recommend the big organisations like NTUC, NUH, NDC.

If u or ur immediate family members are NTUC Union/LINK card or insurance policy holders, u can get 10% discount on ortho services.

NUH houses the dental faculty so there are lots of experts there to tend to u. If u are a pooor student can wan to be put on waiting list, the cost can be discounted to $2200. The waiting list is abt 1 yr i think. u can call to check.

NDC is the most common ppl normally go... as a result, the appointment date can be quite long away after u make ur booking on phone. It's waiting list is 3 yrs last month i called to check if u want a discount.

AH also has ortho but not many i think... it does not have long booking dates away from ur phone call... u can try there too. I heard the nurses service there is good too.

The general cost for metal braces at these places wud be $3500 to $4500. There is also the Damon metal braces which is advertised as no need extraction and less painful. For waiting list ppl on NUH or NDC, the price as mentioned jus now is around $2200 .
For ceramic braces it's abt $800 to $1000 more ba.

For Lingual braces ("invisible" braces - placed behind teeth), the cost i called to check at mount E is $8500... but it is not suitable for complicated cases. U can get a lower price if u go to private clinic cos i think it's quite hard to get suitable patients for invisible braces.

glitterluxe

Hi peeps, I nid help on my post orthodontics. But I oredi posted in another post at "Help needed URGENTLY on post-braces (orthodontist)". Pls feel free to refer. Thanks!

mscupid11

Hi folks,

I'll recommend Dr Cheng from Ubi Dental Clinic. I'm currently wearing Damon 3 braces. The brackets are smaller and it is not binded by those rubber bands around each bracket, so supposedly your teeth can move faster. I'm supposed to wear for 2.5 yr and with Damon 3, i'm only required to wear 1.5 yr. Its $3.5k for Damon 3, and for conventional braces, its only $2.8k. Pretty reasonable i guess. Pls book appmt at 68414080 if you are interested. Hope this serves to be useful!

isobellies

i'm on invisalign, "invisible" braces. they work a bit like retainers and are a little bit troublesome (because must always take out when you eat or drink anything other than water) but so far i'm happy with the results! it's not cheap, $8-10k, but no one can tell that i'm wearing braces, apart from the fact that my speech is affected slightly (but this happens with normal braces anyway). you can google "invisalign" for more information.

i'm now almost half way through my treatment! :D

eiffel_tower

hi, I am new here..

I've been on ceramic braces for 2 months plus and my teeth are moving so fast I almost couldn't believe it. It is rather painless compare to what I expected. I thought it would be slow as my case is complex..

I am doing my braces at this clinic recommended by my cousin at Braces & Aesthetics Dental Clinic. Doctor is Dr Soh Jen. He only charge me NUH rates same as my cousin who was formerly treated by him at NUH. He is very nice and seems very experienced and I would recommend him. He seems very patient too. His clinic is by appointment basis only. So need to call to book appointment 1st, tel is 67322706.

qubic

Anyone who needs to take off 4 teeth (2 upper and 2 lower) and willing to share their experience ?

How long does it take ?
Is it excruciating ?
=(

jaz811sg

Hi qubic,

I did. Took out 4 teeth before i could do the braces. At first the doc suggest that I take out 2 first the other 2 do another day. After he took out my 2 teeth i felt ok and told him to go ahead to extract the other 2. Cos better to get it over and done with. Actually it really depends on your doc, if he is experience enough you won't have any problem. Just be prepared the needle is really long loh, almost fainted when I saw it, but my doc very experience and steady, I do feel a bit of pain but can tahan and less than 5 secs the injection is done. I dun feel any pain when he's extracting, but can feel the tooth moving. My doctor movements are firm and decisive, he took less than 1 min to extract 1 tooth. Just my last tooth gave me problem, as it's planted deep in my bone so it took a longer time. Other than that the experience is quite bearable. I'm not the kind who can take pain, for me to say bearable I think should be quite ok for most people. I think you must get a good doc who is patient and reassuring so you'll be comfortable, as you will be spending quite a lot of time with him. Hope the above information helps. Good Luck

anomaly

hi qubic,

I did my braces at Dr Cheng's at Ubi Dental. And I must say he's good.
I also had to extract 4 teeth. The extraction wasn't painful at all. And I'm the kind who will cry at injections.
I had my braces since last October. I have on damon braces and this is really fast. Dr cheng already says I probably hv another 6 months for the braces to be removed

hurt2x

I am thinking to do as well.. hope not too late...

Most prob I have to do extraction cos I have a tooth that was half grown ( or rather stuck betwn 2 teeth ), does the package include extraction?

Considering Ceramic.. How long is the process? A day? Any recommendation (good and at reasonable pricing) ard North / North-East area