Any David Lim's bride

tiki

Hi Funshine,

R u talking abt David Lim Lee?
If you are, I am his bride, my AD is coming very soon.

If you wanna see pictures of his work (on me), give me yr email address & I can forward to you, can also tell u he's a very fantastic person, great to work with, and very amusing!!

kitty_li

Hi tiki, funshine...
May I ask how did you gals get to know this David? Does he have a studio/boutique?

tiki, would it be possible to share your pictures please? Can also share a bit more about your experience? Thanks in advance!!

im_ashley

I have also just signed up with David, at the recommendation of my cousin.

tiki, could you pls share your pictures with me? Thanks in advance.

kitty_li

Hi funshine,
Oh i see...i happened to come by this thread. I'm still searching for a BS...ok, maybe I'll go visit him at his studio, to take a look at his gowns. May I ask what's his studio name? How's he like and may I also find out his pricing? Thanks!
(you can PM me if you want...)

funshine

Hi Kitty,

He only do MTM, no gown in his studio for you to see..hehe..he is friendly. So how u come across to know him?

Hi Ashley,

Same same 29oct AD 30oct dinner. Have you started discussing your design with him?

kitty_li

hi funshine,
oh, no gown to see ah. Then how can one know how good he is etc? Just wondering. U gals must have had some dresses designed by him before... otherwise, what made you gals decide to go with him?

My friend mentioned that she met this David while also doing her BS hunt, but she went with Bridal Veil in the end. So I thought I would ask around a bit too, before I make appointment to meet him.

im_ashley

Hi funshine,
He did mentioned that he has another bride on 29th Oct but didn't say anything abt 30 Oct. Oh dear. This sounds scary.

Just passed to me some designs that I like. Will be meeting up next wk to look at his sketches and discuss further How abt u?

Hi Kitty,
When is your wedding?

kitty_li

Hi Ashley,
Mine is supposed to be in Nov06 (booked hotel liao), but we may have to shift it further. Hopefully not...*cross fingers*

So you gals find his works ok or good, compared to the other BS like Divine, BV?

Oh dear...funshine, ashley...how is he going to handle this? So one of you will be having your make up done earlier than the other? eg. 630am, and 730am...?? Maybe you gals stay near each other, so that's why he's ok with it...? Possible?

funshine

Hi Kitty,

i went to his studio , saw quite some pic, very beatiful gown he made.

Hi Ashley,

I have yet to discuss anything with him yet. Suppose to meet him this week but have not fix a date yet.

kitty_li

Hi Funshine, Ashley, Tiki...
Oh i see...btw, does the package include photography? Sorry I keep asking you gals questions...coz I really dun have the time to visit him yet, so doing some fact finding first. Am travelling quite a bit for work these few weeks...

funshine

yes photography included. why dont u give him a call and ask him about it. tell him what u needs and let him work ard it.

im_ashley

Hi Kitty,

I agree with Funshine. You should give him a call to talk about it first. He is nice and friendly.

David did my cousin's gown 2 years ago. Quite pretty. What I like about him is that he is very personalised. Other than shoes and videography, he takes care of almost everything.

jacquise

Hi CSI Fan

I've visited him b4 thru a fren's recommnedation but I din take him up. He quoted $4k in total including AD photography. The gowns are all to keep. However I feel i dun really need the gowns and the designs are compromised, in the sense that I find the designs are simple and the sequins, details are very simple. Also, I have certain requirements for PS, eg: journalistic shots which i don;t know if he'll be able to deliver.

But he is gd in the sense that there is no hidden cost like ampoules, hairdos etc and can even throw in a few of your mothers' & Sisters makeup. Good for pple that do not have high expectations on gowns, photography style. In the end i chose BS as I could live with OTR gowns as long as they are nice and I can hunt for the photographer which suits my style.

funshine

I think expectation to everyone is different. One may like gown that is complicated, maybe lots of beads, sequins, embroidry etc..others may like it more simple. So it really depends on individual.

But i think if you wanna add details to the gown should be no problem.

pebsb

David did my makeup. Gown is designed by him, and sewed by a seamstress that he worked with for many many years. Groom suit tailored by an external tailor he tied up with. All gowns MTM & keep.

Actual day photographer is with an external photographer he worked with. David has a few external photographer (studio & actual day) whom he works with.

I got my own studio photo package, so I didnt take David's.

David also did my bouquet, car decor. He even followed me through my studio & outdoor photo. Most makeup artiste only stay for indoor. David went with me outdoor, and gave me change of hairstyle at outdoor.

During my actual night, I had 3 gown & hair change during the dinner - 1 during ROM & pre-din, 1 during 1st walk in, and 1 during 2nd walkin!! Usually brides only get 1 hair for dinner. He loan me a gown for the ROM/pre-din.

David's really nice & personalized. There's no hidden cost. He's like a jiemei who will listen to your concerns & offer you advice. We really enjoyed working with him.

kitty_li

Hi Jacquise, Funshine, Pebs
I see....thanks for sharing.

I really dun have the time to visit him lah...haiz...so can only ask ard etc first. I guess the gown designs and details bit also depends on the personality of the bride. Maybe we might like lots of details, but from the designer's "eyes" perspective, it may not look good on us...Kinda thing. I really dunno.

Thanks gals! I'll squeeze out time to go visit his studio...

jacquise

Ya I would also like to see some of the works done by him.
Especially on the photography. So does it mean that photography will only be in the gowns done up for AD?

He seems like a really nice person & im sure most ladies can click with him!

bohty

Hi Frens,

He is nice person to work with. All this business is by mouth intro. As wat other brides have mention there's no hidden cost.Worth your money.

ant_ng

I believe who even is David bride, sure will love him. I lately work closely with him and i see with my own eye, all brides had become his close friend.

He is someone who will go extra miles for clients, a very nice person. He work with few photographers (including myself), whether traditional actual day photography or journalistic photography, he do have just than the cost will be much different.

If you gals would like to see his gowns, you can view it at our website.

http://www.lettherebelight.com.sg/bridal/bridal_01.html

Ant Ng

aquagal

Aiyo Ant Kor Kor, the link got prob lei.

David was my MUA for both my PW and AD. All my gowns are design by him too. He is very very creative and takes alot of pride in his work. He followed me the whole day for my PS and even changed a number of hairstyles for me. From what my friends told me, not many BS MUA will change hairstyles for you during the PS.

His designs for the gowns are definitely not simple. The end products are always fantastic! Go and check the website that Ant place above. All the gowns are his designs. He got his fashion design cert from London. Plus David is not mainly a bridal MUA. He does fashion shoots too. In fact alot of shoots in those fashion magazines were done by him, just to name 1, Men's Folio. That's why I trust him so much. His skills combine together with Let There Be Light's kungfu, your pics will look like they come from a fashion magazine (journalistic style). Hahahaha! Cos he works very closely with LTBL and LTBL also does fashion shoots.

He is also like a big sister to us. Knowing both my hubby and I are young, we are definitely abit kuku about all these customs. I was so touched when I received an sms from him, in the afternoon when i was on my way to the hotel, telling me to remember to pack angbaos for the helpers for "heng heng". Which MUA would actually bother? Me nearly "shoot" tears out manz.

During my wedding preps, he also help me alot. Even helping us to negotiate with the hotel wedding planner when he felt that we were shortchanged.

On my AD, my friends and relatives were so impressed by him. All of them say that he brought out my best features w/o me looking unrecognisable. I had 4 gowns, 3 MTM and 1 cheongsam loan by him. He gave me 4 different looks for the 4 gowns.

After my wedding, my friend told me (with envy in her voice) how lucky I was to have gotten him. Coz normal BS MUA or even freelance MUA, dun even change hairstyle for you during the dinner. What's more 4 totally diff looks with diff hairstyles. Some will only touch up the Day MU and add a little bit here and there and change to Night MU. David ask me to bathe and wash my hair. Then rest and wait for him to come.
And he did my makeup on a clean slate.

What more can I ask for... I am one happy and satisfied bride

esther_c

hey gers,
i got to hear about david lim lee through a friend.but really curious what does his typical package costs and consists of?

would like to see some pix or more info if u can share to [email protected]

esther_c

hey aquagal....yes i have received...very nice.....indeed!

seriously considering david lim lee after seeing your photos..just not too sure if his package will costs a bomb?ha

tiara_jj

Hi Aquagal

Heheh....I have bought my WG liao! Initially, when I started my BS shopping, I knew that I wanted to get a WG that is off the rack for rental since its I will only wear once.

But I found a WG that is reasonable and new. The shop, Allure Charix, also have EG and cocktail dresses. But the shop do not rent, they are for sales. Eventually, the total package with photos are about S$3k plus. Almost the same price for off the rack rental.

I have only bought the WG. I have not decide if I am going to get the EG from the same shop. Need to see the collection if they are new gowns coming. I am still looking at the rest of the BS for packages.

kimkim_78

Hi David's Brides,

can share with me your Make up and hair do by DAvid? I'm interested in taking up his package too...thanks