Any cure for insomnia?

bladers

Has anyone combatted insomnia? I used to be able to sleep after a long jog but not now and so prone to eating pills every nite...can anyone suggest effective methods that cured ur chronic insomnia?

bellrin8880

Hi bladers

I'm not too sure how long have you experience this problem and is it due to menopause? You can try to use a Japan medicated bath salt (550g) (shampoo size) to do a scrub on the back and shoulder where we usually tend to ache. It should help you to relax and sleep well. There are 4 fragrance to choose from - lavender, camomile,citron and iris. Exclusive product which I'm dealing with.

If interested, can email me at [email protected]

trillionire

I drink Lipton camomile tea b4 sleep
avoid coffee/tea after 12pm
Also took chinese sleeping pills if no drink camomile

shyantiffy

Hmm... my GP is always very stingy about giving me pills to help me sleep..coz I have problem sleeping too last time..sometimes can continuously go without sleep for 3 days..Den 1 day i got so sick of eating pills juz to fall asleep I've decided to try different things...

Aromatherapy... this works wonder for me..
2 drips of lavendar & 2 drips of rose.. can make me sleep really soundly..dunno y.. but most importantly.. have to relax ur mind..when u lie on the bed.. dun think of work or worries.. juz close ur eyes...& imagine a big peace of green grassland in front of u..u r lying on the soft grass looking at the blue sky..

Drinking of camomile tea also helps me...

Bladers..if u are attached or married.. hmm.. think sexercise is better den any other exercise to do before sleep wor..

Juz my 2 cents worth of suggestion...

pink_lotus

My brother says he drinks Meiji milk just before going to bed every night and this helps him to sleep soundly.

I think drinking milk isn't enough though to cure insomnia. People get insomnia because they worry too much. Relax, take things easy and you'll get rid of your insomnia.

yvonne__gary

Hi all, I am an insomnia patient more than 1.5 years ago. I was having insomnia since oct 2005 and have went to see several doctors. I even did a full medical checkup and eveything turns out ok and healthy.
I went to see a few psychiatric doctors at TTSH, mount E (Miss Pauline Sim) and even go to sleep disorder clinic and all don't seem to work and they also dunno the reason bcos it can be a lots of reasons behind. They give me sleeping pill, and a lots of other kinds of medicines.
It was only until I was recommended to see a doc at CGH, he is doc Peh. A very nice senior consultant. He asks me lots of questions on how it starts, how it continue and how I feel lately and many other questions.
He did not prescripe me with any sleeping pill but I was given a medicine for mood disorder (Seroquel).
He told me insomnia can happen to anyone and anytime and it can come w/o any reasons.
After trying the medication, I can sleep well and slowly, the dosage is decrease from initially 25 mg to 12.5mg and then abt 4 mths later, I stop the medication.
After I stop it did come back again abt 2 wk later and I continue the medicine again at 12.5mg for abt 1 wk and I totally recovered. I have been able to sleep well thereafter and it has been for abt 1 year.
I was a happy go lucky type of person w/o any worries and it can suddenly happen to me and those insomnia period was a total nightmare to me. I can't sleep and I have to work and really can't concentrate at all at work.
Hope all of u can recover from insomnia soon bcos I know that type of feeling is very very terrible.

fancysearch

hello Bladder & Yvonne,

Yes having insomnia is a very irritating problem.

An illustration, e.g we able to start and off a new laptop in split seconds. However when the system gets older, even after we switch it off, it takes a long while to shut down. This is what happen to insomnia people, the nervous system is no longer as balanced as younger days.

Has to be very careful, cos without treated, in a long run, one has higher probability to get thyroid.

It very complicated process indeed to explain.

However please do not depend on the sleeping pills. When our system rely on external remedy like that, instead of improvements, the system will totally forgot how to "shut down" next time.

My hubby introduced a plants nourishment for the nervous system to his friend who is having depression problem (imbalanced nervous system too), he experienced tremendous improvement. This friend initially need injection every 2 weeks, now need injection every 2 half weeks.

I feel is worth to try since it's organic plants. Think at only S$60 plus.

I'll fwd your email to him if u keen. [email protected]

noti2

Sleep is the best medicine. i sleep 7 to 8hrs straight every nite..shiok!

Why can't sleep? Becos yr body and mind is too active. Be happy...slow down...learn to relax yr mind and body Try yoga!

PM me...i teach you how to sleep well. hee..

i love to sleep...incl afternoon nap. shiok!

I have insomnia for 3 years. Tried many supplements to improve it. Recently, I find Luminex from Melaluca company help me sleep better. It is actually herbal supplement for promoting emotional health. 1 month supply is about $30, as I get my friend (member) to purchase for me.

Now at night, I take Luminex + camomile tea.

bladers

I found some cure to insomnia, it would be

1. A good massage, preferably tuina.
2. Work all day, night time watch lots of TV like dramas, to make you feel sleepy, will induce you to sleep, and watching TV causes strain and tiredness.
3. Less sweet drinks in the day.
4. Exercise, swimming or jogging (at least 2km)
5. Read a book
6. Make out (sounds dunny but its true..)
7. Don't think of the day's or next day's work, think positive and think of relaxing things like in the sea...

I have combatted insomnia, although sometimes it rebounds, which doc says bound to..

Hope others will recover from it too as I know how it feels..

rihhana_taylor

insomnia is hard to let go but u cud try sum small things. one of them is havin ur meals at regular intervals , reading a book and listning to soft music just before bed or while in bed .

the age old cure is counting .. well if u bored .. u cud plan sumthin in ur head. insomnia can also come due to improper bedding and sleeping habits.

see ur bed is comfortable or not

zestyzan

I have this Relaxation Formula that actually helps one relax, leading to sleep. My friend tried before and it helps.

xueyan

HiRozana

Is it possible to share your relaxation formula that fight insomnia. It is killing me.

fleurjade

Try massages. I have insomnia due to work stress etc and Also hormonal imbalances.
Found this place where i felt comfortable and the lady is experienced and professional.
Aromaglow
Orchard Plaza #03-74.
Don't have to worry as she will not hard sell at all.

I slept very well after my massage.

Also can burn lavender oil & drink chamomile tea.

Wldn't advise U to take sleeping pills. it creates havoc ... mood swings and all.

rihhana_taylor

u might want to try a non-alcoholic chinese herbal tonic.. the chinese name is huiji bu yao jing (waist tonic) if im not wrong.

it helps one sleep.

ene

Hm...you mention long jog. Do you do it JUST before you sleep? You'd have to give your body time to wind down after the jog so best that you give a leeway of a couple of hours BEFORE you sleep. Or else, you'd be wide awake from the adrenalin rush!

cooling

insomnia is normally due to nerve system too active. Calcium can help to soothe the nerves, so drink milk before sleep.

angie2288

Goji Berry Juice will help... Many have experienced that they sleep better and wake up fresh and energetic in the morning, and have good stamina throughout the day after taking it.. PM Me for more information.

bridal81

i hv insomnia too.. but i take a glass of red wine / huiji before i sleep.

really helps a lot and prevent me rolling on e bed for hrs and cant get to slp

cuppacinoloves

elderflower tea aids sleeping , as for cure, i think everyone has their preferences, but well, hot drinks work for me everyday before i go to sleep =)

jeslinelow

Due to wrok stress years ago, I have insomnia and as a result I got dark eyes cirle and sunken eyes. Now everything improved after my friend use his testing kit to check on my 5 organs. Over stress causing sleepless night and as a result liver also stress. Our eyes tell us the problems. I then start to take vitamin and now I'm improving...go back to my young look again liao haha...Note: Beauty comes from internal health. Take Care everyone.

westminster

You might want to try vallium. Very mild but can help to indusce sleep. And, it is reletively cheap compare to other Stilnox.

starstar328

hi jasmine

Yes, too much anti depressant is no good.
But it helps to sleep 2hrs.i m taking miratazapine 15mg. I don't know if i can recover or not. I am suffering and very scare this go
on for years. It all happened in Apr 2010.

I am like Yvonne, i don't what to do.
i do not think and no worry. i hv seen few pyschatric and was given few types of medicine.
I really don't know what to do with insomnia.

Yvonne - hope u could enlighten me.
I hv send you PM - hope u could contact me.
Seroquel - is for the big brian right ?
How u cope with your life ?

Anyone like me suffer from insomnia ?

jassiemint

Try do not do anything 1 hr before sleep? Like don't watch tv or face computer? Just listen to soft music to peace mind?

starstar328

Hi Jasmine

Thks for your support. I suspect is the anti
depressant that caused me insomnia.
I took it in Apr 2010. But now pyschatric had changed to miratazapine that she adv me it will make me sleep. I took it on 10Aug2010.

I just can't sleep & i don't do anything. i lie on my bed with my family and they can sleep except me. I am a happy go lucky person but it just came to me. My case maybe same as Yvonne.
I really don't know what to do ? My head is very heavy. Terrible feeling.

Doc even ask me to go for conselling but there
is nothing to talk abt except why i couldn't sleep. There isn't anything boring me except my sleep.

Jasmine,i really don't know how to cope.