Any Cross Stitch Lovers???

bit_bit

Hi Corrie,

Pictorial guide for Blush's instruction

162885.jpg

bit_bit

Hi ChooChoo,

Most of the craftshop selling the DMC threads should ve the metallic threads & beads for the bride's veil & dress.. (Golden Dragon is one of them)..

i bery kiasu, i'll normally leave a minimum of 10 cm on each side (in this case, approx 15 cm from the border) so as to allow the addition of border (the colorful board) & pulling/stretching while doing the framing...

icy

personally i prefer to sew from bottom...
//////
then I go from bottom again to
\\\
I find it that the stitches will turn out nicer this way. :D

winnie,
that means ur faming is just frame without those paperboard? I am not very sure with that.,

bit_bit

Hi Icy,

*High Five* I'm oso using the same sewing method as u... like tat the stitches behind the cloth is neater and more manageable...

icy

bit bit,
^5!! I find that it makes difference or how the stitch turn out in front. this way, it seemed neater and nicer...:p

bit_bit

Icy,
yah, and according to my sister, this method really helps in saving threads... but dunno how true it is lah...

ilmare444

hi i panda

i am doing "love is from above" groom kiss bride. just started today and done 1/2 of groom's suit. i am using 16count adia. reading all the msgs about the metallic thread is making me worried, but will take the posted advices on metallic thread. thanks gals.

i am using a different sitiching method, top to bottom. do the 2 method give marked differences in the finished product?? very worried.

actually this is my 3rd project, 1st 2 used 14count and fren advised me to upgrade to 16count for this project. very different sitiching on 14 and 16.

hope to finish this project b4 my brother's wedding. after which i hope to do a forever friends or PM "road to happiness" or PM "just married".

i_panda77

ilmare,

i think the finished work will look nice as long as the stitches are consistant (ie. the top stitch shld be the same, eg \\\)

Your brother will be very touch when he rec your gift.

bearlybutton

Hi xue and i_panda77,
I sent you both a PM and email respectively cos i thought it says "new threads not accepted on this page". Not sure whether either of you received anything?

i_panda77

bearlybutton
165378.gif

i tried sending the PM cross stitch pic to you but i think exceed limit or ur mailbox is full. Another other email add that i can send to you?

bearlybutton

Hi xue and i_panda77,

So sorry for the troubles, ladies... paiseh paiseh.

PS i_panda77: will email u using another acc... don't wish to publish my email here. Thanks!

Cheers. =)

ilmare444

hi i panda77

thanks... my stitches are consistently //// so should be fine?? got a "teacher" at work to guide me... i am such a newbie!

to all

I have a photo and thinking of doing a cross stitch of it. Any method to "transfer" the photo images into the usual cross stitch chart? thanks.

bearlybutton

Hi ilmare,

I think you can try those printing and gift shops that do plaques, t-shirt and mug printing, etc. I've seen people doing it but just can't recall which shop exactly. Not cheap i think. Hope that helps.

----------------------------------------

Hi i_panda77,

Have received your emails. Thanks a whole lot!

Cheers. =)

icy

ilmare,
I think the cross stitch shop at raffles place does that, but it is like orange tone kind..

another way is to use photoshop.. and then make it very pixelated.. ehemm.. a bit hard to explain here.

bearlybutton

It's actually sepia tone.

Don't think photoshop is a good idea here, tedious process and must blow it up really out of proportion leh. (Hmm... on 2nd thoughts, think my PS skill sucks. Heh.)

Cheers. =)

sweetsecret

Hi gers,

I have scanned some pictures of my collections.(With my dearest friend's help).
I also had uploaded them up to share to others cross stitch lovers.

sg.pg.photos.yahoo.com/ph/evalimbride/my_photos

If you like to have any of picture's layout, please post it here or PM me using this format.

Request For :
Email Add :

I will try to send to you ASAP once I received your request.

All the layout I send to you is meant for sharing not selling. So do not sell to other ppl for your own profit. Thank You.

166135.gif

i_panda77

xue

thank you so much....u very 'you xin'

166199.gif

i tot of doing the same thing too...but give up cos if really want to scan...a lot...headache ah. somemore my hse pc very slow
166200.gif

sweetsecret

i_panda77,

you are most welcome... haha... muz share share ma...

yup, veri troublesome becoz i got my dearest frd to scan them... so i only manage to scan part of it... there are still lots more to scan...

i_panda77

Thanks icy & BearlyButton!
166314.gif

Now we hv more pics to add on to our collection...can do more liao
166315.gif

I like the "bride & groom kissing at the post box" one...very nice leh...MUST DO!

Lynn: Hello
166316.gif
& welcome

sweetsecret

Icy,
ok...

Lynn,
yup, we share share the charts. muz share share ma. i like buying the books but some ppl dun like so i share my collections lor... help ppl save some $$...

lol_lyn

Hi i_panda77, Thanks for the welcome.

Icy,
I try to scan & upload the pics here, so that those who wants can get them from me, okie?

icy

Lynn,
I guess we can share what are the books that we have,:p

1. PMR3 Gifts From The Heart
2. PMR8-29 The Baby Book REVISED
3. PMR9 Wedding Collection
4. PM31 Good Friends Are Forever
5. PM34 Noah's Ark
6. PM42 Our Friendship Is Soda-Licious
7. PM49 Baby Collection
8. PM19 a discontinued book.

lol_lyn

Hi Icy, I dun really have alot of books, usually I can get the pre-packed ones, comes with everything.

Yap, I also have the wedding collection book.

ilmare444

hi icy and i panda

thanks for the suggestion on the photo.

icy, you mean can use photo shop? can e-mail me the steps. my e-mail: [email protected] thanks.

i interested in the noah's ark.... but will have to wait.... too greedy... want to do too many projects.

also liked the groom and bride kissing over the mail box... so sweet... bit torn between "road to happiness" and this.... *sigh* finish my current one then decide...

dear all

also only have the Wedding collection.

blush

hi gals! sorry i have disappeared for so long....very busy with work.

anyway, i'm all for sharing! i don't have many books though. my fave one was one that i bought in secondary school. was $50 i think. and that was a lot of money back then....but it was an anniversay edition, and had the "best of" collection. it's a hard cover book....

other than that, i sometimes photocopy from the shops that i buy supplies from.....

ok, will go home and list out what designs i have!

icy

ilmare444,
I actually only try it for pictures like cartoon only, I just try it out. One way is like saving the photo into gif file and limited it to 2 to 4 colours will be easier.. so It might be better to do it in 2 colours only.

Seesee,
I was crazy abt cross stitch for like 2-3 years recently until i got busy with wedding preparations. my friends buy a few for me as birthday gift. :p

seesee

i've got this craz very long ago. but due to my laziness n lack of determination, often left it a side until few mths later then get it back n start doing it.

ilmare444

hi icy

thanks for the info... will try it once i finished my current project. can't wait to finish it, leaving the veil to be the last to sew.

hi seesee

i stopped cross stitch almost 10years ago, very discouraged cos made lots of mistakes. but after completing PM"i believe in miracles" i am now hooked.

btw anyone know where to purchase the beads for the veil?? searched high and low and spotlight always no stock.... i saw a very horrible substitute for the mills hill beads (a finished project in a craft shop), so now very determined to find the correct beads...

icy

ilmare,
I always buy the beads from Sin Yip Seng Art Craft at Raffles place, i think it is still there, but different unit number.

seesee

ilmare,
i've got this sweaty palm problem. so cant always do. no choice. sad sad... anyway, will try my very best to finish all of it.

ilmare444

went to spotlight to purchase the beads, bought the pettie mill hills glass beads (40161, clear), it is smaller than the common beads available in other craft shops. it seems that only spotlight carries mill hills beads. the only problem is that have to use needlework needles to stitch beads, my current needle (from a pre-packed kit, 14count adia) is too big.

i also bought the commonly avavilable plastic clear beads, bigger but can use cross stitch needle.

for gals who love forever friends and patchy bear (me to you), spotlight has a very nice and wide selection of pre-packed kits but very expensive. there are very nice projects for forever friends.... if only these are cheaper...

seesee, my problem is i will suffer from "burnout" especially when stitching PM wedding dress and faces. really feel like giving up and tends to make mistakes. think i have become more patient as i age!