Any Cross Stitch Lovers???

sweetsecret

hihi....

any cross stitch lovers?

im a cross stitch lover. i had 4 books of precious moments cross stitch. i exchange all my collections with my frds.
anyone of you want to exchange your collections?

used to buy my materials at the raffles mrt stat. but nw under reno. had no idea where it had shifted.
anyone of you noe where it is nw?

jurong entertainment centre also have a shop n is cheaper than the raffles mrt.

shoplight also can find cross stitch materials. but i tink is on the ex side, unless you have the discount card.

anyone noe where to find cheap cheap material for cross stitch? (like the threads, needles, cloths etc)

i realise if i buy the thread(the same no) from different places you can the slight diff in the color.
anyone have the same experience?

Cheers...

blush

hi xue

i'm a precious moments cross stich lover too! but it's been a long time since i did one. work very busy nowadays. i think after this, i shld blow the dust off my stuff, and start doing another one!
i even bought a design that says "i'm a precious moments lover" once, but have gotten around to stitching it....i love their figurines too!

i used to buy from the raffles pl mrt too...but not working in that area now, so didn't know it closed down.

i thot if you buy the same brand of thread, it should be the same colour? so far, i don't have a problem with this...

snowpooher

Hi Xue, yes, you will tend to get different tones of colors though the thread no is the same. Maybe the thread comes in different batch.

sweetsecret

blue genie,
ok ok...

blush,
all the shop at raffles mrt closed dwn liao lor, due to renovation/upgrading.

tats the problem, i buy the same brand(DMC) from different shops, i came across that there are difference in the color... theres one time i already stitch on the cloth liao then i found out the difference, aiyoh heart pain leh... have to unstitch n the lobang become bigger...

mochamel

Xue & Snowpooher
i am a precious moments cross stich lover
you all buy your the cloth & thread separately.
i normally buy them in the pre-packed.
But must see closely, initially when i started i didnt releaise that the thread given in the pkg not the exact colour that it should be as per the picture.

i like to know is it true that no tying of knots is allowed?

i went to spotlight to see. range is wide but price like not cheap. as where to buy cheap cheap, i have no idea, keep me posted if you all know. thanks

blush

xue
oh dear...i understand very pain to have to unstitch....

as for the difference in colour...i will go back and check. i also buy DMC..and sometimes buy another piece not knowing that i already have it, and end up with a few pieces of the same colour. but i put together, looks the same...hmm, better go and double check.

mocha
i have this impression that a lot of the sub-urban malls have a craft shop, maybe it's cheaper there (eg. bishan junction 8, tiong bahru plaza)? or how about chinatown, there's a Dragon City that sells a lot of stuff (for knitting, cross-stitch, crochet etc) but this is just me guessing. havent actually gone and check the prices yet.

bit_bit

Hi Mocha,

I usually buy the cloth & thread separately...

The prepacked ones are normally more expensive...

Tying knots (the knot will ve to be quite big, otherwise it will come through the hole on the cloth) will cause the finished piece of x-stitch work to appear uneven, esp when framing is done...

amerlinelee

Hi Bit Bit

I agree, tie knots already when framing pretty ugly!!

I always buy pre-packed bcoz I am simply too lazy to go shopping for cloth and thread hehehehe... : p

now even lazier...i paid my colleague to do for me mass production pieces hahahahahah

hi xue

color difference is due to difference batch being produced..so always make sure you buy all the thread necessary for each project b4 u start...thats why when pple do knitting, they buy wool according to "production number" printed on the wrapper to make sure all from the same batch...

sweetsecret

Mocha,
for a perfect cross stitch no knots are allowed(at the back of the cloth). but if your cross stitch required you to tie a french knots on the top of the cloth, den you have to tie the knot.

Blush,
they do look the same to me too... but once i stitch it, it so much different... can clearly see the difference...
me too... most of the time i will end up having 2 to 3 of same color thread.
nw i end up alot of threads.
i kept all my thread into those 3layers tray container. total i have 4container, 16layers tray. n i label them, the 200series will be in one of trays, 300series will be in another tray etc...
one of the salesgirl taught me these way... so whereever i start doing i will juz check wat i have n wat i dun have... den i wont end up buying more n more of the same color...

Amerline,
i hope that you are my colleague, got someone to pay me to do cross stitch.. oh i see, is due to different batch. like tat hw to ensure i got the same batch????

gers,
i like to use 14count cloth. wat abt you all?

snowpooher

I also buy the materials separately. Cos pre-packed one has restricted designs. Also have lots of unused and leftover threads. But dun keep for too long, cos the threads will break after sometime of keeping.

xue, I'm using 14 ct too cos the stitching looks more "you siew". 11ct looks very rough.

bit_bit

Hi Xue,

I normally use Aida 14, think tat is the standard count & the color... the color is neutral & it goes w most type of color & patterns..

blush

me too, 14 count. the colour is the light beige one, is that neutral? it usually makes the designs look nicer than the pure white one. unless i am doing a very colourful one, then i will use white.

xue
i also keep my treads by series...
but not so organised. i just keep them in a DMC box (the carboard kind that they come in). i think i have around 6 or so...sounds like you have plenty!

amerline
i also dun like pre-packed one. actually i started buying separately when there was one time that i wanted to stitch a friend's name...so of course there was no ready made design. after that, i realised that buy separately got wider range of choices.

btw, where do you gals usually go to frame up your work? thru the craft shop or directly with a framing shop? i don't know if the usual framing shop know how to handle cross stitch...

snowpooher

Blush, yes the usual framing shop knows how to handle cross stitch. In fact, their charging not so expensive than the cross stitch shop. (In fact, cross stitch shop sends the order to these framing shops, so they charge more to earn comission). Framing shop did a better job.

sweetsecret

ya... me like 14count bcoz the final piece will be veri "you siew". the color of the cloth i will pick the cream color... n i will only those hard cloth. there also the soft type. but i still prefer hard hard cloth.

i normally do my own framing...
i will go ikea n buy the frame n i frame it myself... i find it this way cheaper...

bit_bit

Hi Xue,

Agree the framing cost is very ex..

but normally when the framing shop does the framing of our x-stitch work, they will put cardboards & tighten (by measuring & pulling) the cloth, which explain y the framed work appear so smooth & straight... unless u know the techniques, otherwise DIY will not appear as nice...

just my 2 cents worth of opinion...

sweetsecret

Hi bit bit,

i understand wat you trying to say. i will place it properly then i put a cardboard behind n pull then n put super glue(hmm like wrapping the the cloth to the cardboard) heehee...

coz those i bought from ikea do come w a thin cardboard so i juz make use of it lor...

save cost ma... n like tat i can do more cross stitch... if every piece i sent to framing den i cant afford to do cross stitch that often liao lor...

icemilo

Can anyone share with me y we should tie knots when doing X-stitch? If we dun do that, will it be hard to do the 1st stitch (as in will the thread hang loosely, etc)?

i_panda77

hello
157050.gif

me a PM x-stitch lover too..i normally do those cute pics..i have done quite a no of x-stitch but haven go & frame it up cos very ex...what i will do is go outside & buy normal photo frame to frame it up lor....heehee

I have done the wedding party one (the one with bride & groom + jie mei & xiong di)...mostly i do those couple couple one..here are some

157051.jpg

157052.jpg

157053.jpg

...i normally use 18 count one...cos smaller...if wan to frame also cheaper..thread use only 1..

blush

i_panda
very nice! how long did u take to do the wedding party one? i am thinking of doing one to put in my new place...but don't have that much time nowadays...

xue
oh...i didn't know must stretch the cloth one. to save cost, i just buy any photo frame and place it inside. no wonder it usually looks not as nice...
otherwise, i have also made it into cushion covers, then don't need to frame.

sweetsecret

i done the wedding party one too. but is on 14count... took me one mth to complete... n sad to say i lost this piece of complete work... i misplace it n cant find it... so sad...

maybe i try to take pic of one of the piece i frame up so that some of you got a idea wat i mean...

after i_panda posted on 18count, i went to buy 18count cloth n try doing cross stitch on it... wow... veri small... fall in love with 18count... save cost on the thread...

icemilo

Hi Bit bit,

Thanks for the explaination. The attched pic is really helpful

Hi Xue,

If u use 18 count clothes, how many strand of thread will u use? 14 count, I'm using 2 strands of thread. So 18 count should be 1 strand?

sweetsecret

Hi icemilo,

for 18count, i use 1 strand... but the sales ger told me 2 strands for 18count... i tried but dun look gd to me i cant see the X clearly. so i use 1 strand.

last time wen i start using 14count, the saleger told me use 3 strands. but i use 2strands...

bit_bit

Hi Xue,

I oso use 2 strands for 14 counts... tried 3 strands before, but too 'pong3' orledi, not nice.. :eek:p

i_panda77

Blush,

can't remember how long i take to do the party one...maybe 1 mth?? Normally i will sit in front of the tv & do...
157839.gif
..heehee...

I will buy the 18 count cloth in very big piece...1m by 1m...then if i wan to use, measure & cut out what is needed. this way can do more x-stitch with the cloth...for 18 count, i use only 1 thread. Backstitch also 1 thread.

Anyone have the x-stitch pic on
"Our Love is Soda-licious" ? Its a boy & girl drinking from a glass...
157840.gif
Me looking for the pic...

bigbig

Hi everybody,

i am so surprised to find so many cross stitch lovers in singapore, maybe there are more but none of my frens are doing this... They find this a waste of time but i feel totally differently. I have a satisfaction feeling when i have finish my piece of work.

Just wanna update you gers with the price of floss at golden dragon, it is $0.70 per floss and $0.65 for getting more than 10 floss. I actually found a shop which price DMC floss at $0.65 regardless of how many you purchase. It is at Tekka Mall. So far, i am getting pre-pack sets so i did not check on the price of the cloth and etc. Could anyone please enlighten... Thx... Email me will be the best...

To i_panda77,

can i know where you get those anmination??? They are so cute !!! Hmmm... is it normal to use 1 thread for both stitch and back stitch??? I thought backstitch must be 1 floss less !!!

To bit_bit,

hmmm... the pic you attached earlier applies to start, how about ending??? I actually tie a tiny knot but letting my thread going through the nearest back stitch -- how you get what i mean... Kekeke...

blush

Hmm...i always thought 18 count will do until eyes squint. but after this, think i will go and try it out too!!

i_panda
i also buy cloth in large pieces, but after doing a few, i will end up with odd shape remaining cloth, which i don't know what to do with. what do you do with it? i don't want to throw it away, like very wasteful leh....

bit_bit

Hi Sharon,

I normally finished my stitches by running the finishing thread along the earlier stitches (see pictorial explanation)
158123.jpg

like i said in the earlier postings, tying knots will cause the finished work to appear uneven when framing is done...

for backstitch i use 1 strand of the brown color thread (can't recall the serial number)

158124.gif

i_panda77

Sharon
158239.gif
i got the cute anmination fr diff threads here...what u do is, save the pic to ur hard disk...when u want to add the pic, click the <upload> then browse fr ur hard disk, select the pic &amp; <upload> ....try it &amp; let me know can or not...

Xue: yeah! you have...thanks so much
158240.gif

Blush: i will normally try to divide the large cloth equally lor...so sometimes cloth very big, pic very small..hee
158241.gif

poohwinnie

Need some advice from you gals here.

There is not enough "cloth" for me to frame up my work cos' i miscalculated the stitches. Any suggestions????

Was thinking of "adding" additional cloth by stitching crosses onto it. Anyone has a better ideas???

micky_m

Hi everybody,

I am also a PM crossstich lover. Usually i buy my cloth and TMC thread at a shop in Ang Mo Kio Central.

can i check with you gals 4 strand of thread is
consider how many count of cloth?

i_panda77,

I have the pic for "Our Love is Soda-licious", if you want i can pass to you or send to you.

i_panda77

micky

thank u so much!..Ermm...but how u pass to me? or do u have a scanner at home. Can scan &amp; email me?

do u hv the cloth wif u now...u take a ruler &amp; measure...see how many squares are there in one inch..that is the no of count...hope it helps
158748.gif

micky_m

Hi i_panda77,

What you want is the cross sitich pic right? ok i will email to you.. what's your e-mail add?
Any other pic you want? i got quite a lot.. all photo copy from my fren kekeke

err dun really get what you mean by count how many squares are there in one. :p

blush

micky
when u say 4 strand of thread, do you mean the cloth or the the stitching thread? i_panda referring to measuring the actual cloth...sorry, if i'm a bit blur...

i_panda
do u have the stitching pattern (dunno correct term) for the wedding couple in a car? the photo that you posted earlier? can email to me pls? i think the wedding party is too ambitious for me. i'm thinking of doing the car one...seems more do-able...
thank you!!

micky_m

Hi i_panda,

ok i will e-mail to you soon becos my house PC is down i will bring to office to scan and e-mail to you. I will go home and measure the actual cloth thanks.

Do you have the book on alphabets one?

Hi Blush,

i mean the stiching thread if i use 4 strand , the cloth is consider 11 count or 14 count?

poohwinnie

Hi! Xue

Wat do you mean by adding colour papers to the borders???

Any good framing shops which you can recommends. I usually went to the shop at Tanjong Pagar and the uncle always complain he has a hard time "tightening" the cloth. There are a few "incidents" whereby i miscalculated the stitches.

sweetsecret

hi winnie,

if your uncle got hard time framing, y not you sew plain cloth to your cross stitch then maybe is easier pull this way...

i_panda77

Micky,
u can take ur time...no hurry. I am asking my fren to help me find the 'Our Love is Sodalicious' PM figurine in the internet...so thinking of doing the x-stitch too...I collect the PM figurines too..&amp; will try to do the x-stitch of the figurine

I have the alphabets one but wif garfield .. maybe tonite i go home scan one page..see if u wan or not

Blush,
ok i go &amp; scan the pic then email u...do u want other weddings pic, eg. bride &amp; groom, groom carry bride, etc?

158974.gif

blush

i_panda
ooohh...yes pls! if you have other wedding/couple ones, can send to me too?

the designs i have are all very old. cos stopped buying long time ago. last few i did were repeats of earlier ones. i used to do as presents, so end up don't have any completed pieces for myself!

micky
the 14 count refers to the cloth...not really the stiching thread. for 14 count, i usually use only 2 strands of the thread...so if you are using 4 strands, maybe the cloth that you are using is bigger than 14 count....but like i_panda says, the way to determine the count of the cloth is to measure the holes/squares in an inch...