Any cooking masters here?

hendryjane

Hi to All!

Just curious if there's any good cooks in here.
Maybe we can exchange some good receipes here!
Then we can learn more skills!
How does that sound?

pinkbunny

me too! not chef standard but i love collecting recipes online and reading cookbooks. i've also done the most auntie thing and attended a few cooking classes at the neighbourhood CC. and i'm proud to admit that i enjoyed it! hehe.

let me get the ball rolling with a cool recipe:

GRILLED HERBED FISH FILLETS
ingredients:
• 2 pieces of fish fillets (the frozen kind from the supermarkets is good enough)
• 1 teaspoon of basil (if you can’t get them fresh, the dried kind is OK too)
• 1 teaspoon of thyme (if you can’t get them fresh, the dried kind is OK too)
• black pepper (grounded)
• 1 teaspoon of chopped English parsley
• 2 tablespoons of olive oil
• a few drops of lemon juice

instructions:
• buy fish and buy ingredients
• defrost fish
• marinate with all ingredients and leave covered in fridge for approximately 2 hours
• place fish on heated frying pan and cook evenly on both sides until you can cut through the fish easily with your frying slice. discard the marinating juices.
• serve with veggies on the side. On nice plates of course

a ‘fast to cook, good to eat’ recipe by pinkbunny

not a good cook but i love cooking! have collected tonnes of recipes (i.e books, mags & online etc) and will be happy to share here if you'd like.

most of the time, for quick/easy cooking..i'd use some of the ready sauces/soup stock to enhance the tastes/flavours..these ready sauces are really easy to use even for 'cooking virgins' - absolutely foolproof and good enough to impress your loved ones for a start (for valentine's day?)!

pinkbunny

hi KPO

i also have it! i felt so bad printing it out (i mean, the guy needs to make SOME money, right?) but it also felt so gooooooooood :D

hi pink bunny,

haha..i know exactly how you feel. the irresistable urge..yet guilt. you tried any of the recipes yet?

pinkbunny

KPO

nah. it's printed and nicely binded sitting on my coffee table. i've labelled the recipes i want to try though!!!

i did memorise his roast chicken recipe at a bookshop though and THAT was absolutely fabulicious!!! :D

you want?

Pink Bunny

You have been holding out on me!!! Hahahahaha ... can I have the soft copy of those recipes .. all 121 pages ... puh-lease!!!!

stellarm

hi hi, i love to try cooking new stuff too but am not a very good cook lah. errmm.. at least my ah lao thinks its edible. ahahha.. i started out learning to cook chinese cuisine.. bought my first cookbook "The Best Of Chinese Cooking" by Betty Yew. Her books not too bad, quite easy to understand. Now my book is bery dirty liao..keke..wif all the stains from flour and soya sauces :p

demio

my wu di recipe:

bring water to boil
add noodles
add seasoning
add egg
optional: add prawn/meat/abalone....

wala! less than 2 min

demio

hahaha... pink bunny u must be a fan of chu qian yi ding!

ok seriously i have one rather simple one:

marinate chicken wings with hua diao wine and some giner slices. Best to leave overnight in fridge.
Just add more hua diao wine and some wolfberries and steam and you'll have yummy drunken chicken.

pinkbunny

demio

yes chu qian yi ding is my FAVOURITE! with egg and sesame oil........ drooling already

your chicken recipe sounds excellent. i'll try it out soon! cheers

demio

haha.. pinkbunny... just don't drool into your noodles...

here's another rather simple one....

chop garlic, water chestnuts, celery (can replace with lettuce if you dun like celery) and carrot finely. add minced meat, sesame oil, egg and a little rice wine if you like. leave to sit.

You can either: pan fry it to make patties; or

take shitake or chinese mushrooms, remove the stalk (you can chop the stalk and add it to the meat mixture if you dun want to waste).

overturn the mushrooms and put the fillings on it, put in a plate and steam. Add soyu or oyster sauce (the vegetarian ones made from mushrooms taste best i find) depending on taste preference.

cooler0821

Hi need help any1 know how to use slow cooker?

Can i put in the food in the morning then which buttom to select High Low or auto.. That i can eat when i m back in the everning?

pinkbunny

hi ivy, set to low also can. but one tip: if you want to use pork ribs, you should blanche them first (i.e. scald with hot water) or else will have smell

you're welcome to join us at the 'chinese soup recipes' thread - we share many recipes there. cheers

the_grape

okie.. just to share my receipes also.
Lee Kim Kee has a very nice spicy black bean sauce. I use to to cook a special Jap udon dish.

chop up some cabbage, pork shoulder/collar.
stir fry some of the lee kim kee sauce in a wok.
the wonderful smell of the bubbling sauce will melt your heart.
then add in the cabbage and fry. then add in the pork shoulder/collar cubes and the udon.
add more of the sauce in.
then add some water.
cover the wok.
once noodle is cooked. and pork is cooked (not over cooked though!) , lift up the cover and serve the dish hot.

you can get udon from super market.

sleepygal

Can anybody help me with this dish?

I am trying to cookd broccoli with carrots. When do I need to add in the carrots or do I need to boil first?

Any experienced cook master can advise me on this simple dish?

noknok

Cleo75,

Actually depends on how thick you slice the carrots.. if you slice very thinly, they cook n soften very fast. But if you're chopping them into big chunks, then they'll take about the same time to cook.

Put both after water is boil. Don't cover the pot after you put the vege in, if not they'll turn yellow. If you wan to fry them, you'll still need to boil the broccoli first cos they take a little longer to boil. Add a bit of oil into the pot when you boil the vege.

Hope the above helps and is what you're asking for.

dixie08

I am sharing this recipe i hope you will like

Potato Salad with a New Twist

• 8 medium Yukon gold potatoes, washed, unpeeled and cut into 1 inch cubes
• 1 pound chicken tenders, poached and cubed
• 6 hard boiled eggs, chopped
• 1 cup frozen petite peas, defrosted
• 1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
• 2 tbsp lemon juice, divided
• 3 green onions, chopped
• 2 thinly sliced celery stalks
• 1 cup Ranch dressing
• Salt and pepper to taste
• Lettuce to line salad platter
• 2 medium avocados
• 1/4 cup roasted sunflower seeds.

Boil potatoes until tender, about 15 minutes. Drain and rinse under cool water. Place the potatoes in a large bowl, and combine with the chopped eggs; sprinkle with olive oil and one tablespoon lemon juice that has been mixed together; stir in the green onions and celery. Toss the chicken and petite peas into the potato mixture. Add salt and pepper to taste. Mix the Ranch dressing into potato mixture until well combined. Peel and cube the avocados and toss with remaining one-tablespoon fresh lemon and fresh ground pepper to taste and chill till used. Place potato salad on a platter lined with favorite lettuce and garnish with the cubed avocados and sunflower seeds. Serves 6 – 10.