Any contractors do blum hinges/mech??

angeliqueho

Hi, any of your contractors did the Blum hinges/mechanisms for your kitchen cabinets and other cupboards? Only want the hinges. I know those kitchen specialist doing them but their price is expensive to me.

bungy_jumper

hi angelique,

I nearly did the blum system too, but in the end i found it too ex because i wanted the drawers system too.
My ID told me that to install blum system, they need special tools and equipment. Also, at that time she told me their cost price of 1 hinge is about 80 cents, excluding the instllation and sorts..

angeliqueho

hi jumped, i know its expensive, but don't really know how much more expensive... but if its a few hundred more then its ok.. i just want an assurance of study cabinets. Saw the cabinets done up at my MIL places and one of the cabinet(dish drainer cabinet with frosted glass) just let go only after 1 or 2 months. They repair again, and now its hanging lose. Quite dangerous.. I plan to forgo the bomb shelter concealment in order to raise budget for my kitchen..

terrapin

My kitchen cabinets are installed using the Blum system. The mechanism is very smooth and sturdy; you can pull out the drawers and sit on it without damaging the runners.

Actually, there are quite many different Blum devices. As mentioned, there are the Blum hinges, and if you also want to install the Blumotion for doors, the mechanism cost about $3.60 per piece. Besides that, you may also need to get the adapter plate, which cost about $0.30 per piece and about $0.62 per twin adapter plate.

I also got the Tandembox drawers, which cost between $40-$60 per piece, depending on the design (double gallery or boxside). You will also need to get the runners for the drawers, which cost about $40 per set. All in, it costs about $100+ for a drawer.

Of course, all above prices are quoted direct from Blum, and does not include installation. Installation will depend on your contractor. Yes, it is true that you need special equipment for installation, and not all contractors can do it properly, hence they may charge a premium. I was charged about $400 for installation, in addition to my foot run of cabinets

terrapin

All in, spent about 9K+ on the carpentry, solid surface and Blum system, not including appliances. The cabinets are about 48 feet, Corian surface about 20 feet. Is this what you are asking?

angeliqueho

yup terrapin, thanks. what is your contractor's company? i want to add to my list...

bungy_jumper

hi terraipn,

yah, your kitchen very big. mine only 30ft plus corian. Already came up to 7K. I skipped the blum because of cutting cost. No choice, plus the kitchen doors and appliance, my kitchen already came up to 10K

angeliqueho

wah... @@ jumped, your kitchen alone is 10K? How much is your per ft charge for kitchen chabinet? you opt for higher end of finishes?

bungy_jumper

actually i find nothing special lor. Just that the door is already 1.5 and the corian is 2.3K including corian sink and drainboard.

terrapin

Hi jumped,

Yes 10k sounds about right. I agree that renovation of the kitchen is indeed very costly; it came up to about 30% of total renovation cost.

The hood, hob, and oven cost another 2k, stainless steel backing of kitchen another 1k+. Including the fridge and kitchen sliding door, the bill came up to about $16k. Moreover, this number hasn't even included tiling and other miscellaneous applicances.

That is why after spending so much on the kitchen, I was thinking might as well get the Blum system. It cost about 10% of kitchen bill, but makes a lot of difference in the experience you get out from the kitchen.

Just an interesting thought. Assuming we cook an average of 1 meal per day for the next 10 years, the renovation works out to be approximately $4.40 per meal

afcai

Hi Jumped,
wow, u did yr kitchen cabinet so expensive, must be a golden place to view(esp one step in, can find differently, hee...:p). but will you be using it often? cos my cousin also did her kitchen so nice but never used. she dunno how to cook.

bungy_jumper

hi terrapin,

I thought mine was very expensive, but your 16K sounds even more ex than mine. Cos I always reading here and there cabinets+corian only 4K plus. Anyway, i still find that i am overvharged for my kitchen as it is really really very tiny.

hi afcai,

Ok lar, i can cook so i should be using it quite often, i think. hehe

afcai

Hi jumped,
that's good and it's worth the money spent renovating the kitchen nicer nicer.but if one dun add up the fridge, hob, oven, sink and kitchen sliding door, terrapin' kitchen is not so up to 16k liao.

terrapin

Jumped,
Your kitchen is quite okay... 30ft should be bigger than usual already. I have seen many of those ID's packages that includes only 20ft-24ft of cabinet.

Furthermore, your 10K already includes the kitchen door and appliances, so the price is quite reasonable. I have been to this kitchen specialist at Park Mall that quoted about $50K for a "designer" 30ft kitchen. How do you define "designer" anyway? Think as long as you like it, then it's okay.

Agree with your comment that kitchen's the most tiny place but spent the most money.

bungy_jumper

hi terrapin,
my kitchen really small, the reason why it could come up to 30ft, is because, i requested for U-shape. If i did it straight or L-shape, top & bottom will never add up to 30ft.

poohcsl

hi terrapin, me interested in getting the blum mechanism for my kitchen too... did u call blum direct for a quote or did u go thru ur contractor? or can we get the blum thingy off the shelf in shops?

terrapin

Hi poohcsl,

I did both... I called Blum for a quote, and compared it with that from my ID. We got a consultant from Blum who looked at my kitchen layout and proposed the various systems for different locations. The quotations were similar as my ID did not take any profit from the Blum system.

It is actually more complicated than it seems, ie. for drawers, there are S series, I series, etc.. and each series comes with a number. They represent diferent depths, single or double gallery, pull-out with boxsides, inner trays for cutlery, etc. Each kind of drawers comes with different functions. Even the Blumotion for doors comes with various stock keeping units (SKU), and they require different adapter plates and mechanism.

Unless you are very savvy with hardware and has lots of time, it may be better to get the system through a contractor/ID.

afcai

Yup, initially, my kitchen cabinet package(come with free gas hob & sink) only offers only 20fts and we took 2 sets so the extra cabinet were made into another wardobe type.
wow, $50k for a 'designer' 30fts kitchen is really expensive. anyway, if I added up my kitchen door, tap cum fridge & w/m, it will be less than $5K.

bungy_jumper

wah, that's very reasonable and it really confirms that i overpaid. anyway.. non-reversible already.
my 10 K doesnt even include the fridge, w/m and tiling

terrapin

hi jumped,
how much did you pay for each foot run of cabinet? Thought you got a pretty good price for the Corian. Maybe it's your sliding door that's ex.

heart

anyone know where to find 180 degree hinges for kitchen cabinet..i been finding for months..comeing to a year. urgently needed help..

guy

A & D is using something similar to blum but according to Johnny, much cheaper... because they bring in from Germany themselve...

newbbi79

Hi pals,

I was given the blum system too but din want it and exchanged for other things from my ID.Coz from wat I neo, the blum system can onli be used for abt 10,000 times and it might be spoilt by then...til then, got to change another one so kinda of troublesome for me =D..Just my own opinion.

terrapin

Blum South East Asia Pte. Ltd.
#03-01 Sunlight Building
150 Ubi Avenue 4
Singapore 408825
Rep. of Singapore
Tel.: +65 6 547 1760
Fax: +65 6 547 1761

tanc39

The cheaper alternative to Blum is just installing the Blumotion from Blum and everything else just normal cabinents from your ID capenter. If you want the internal to look nicer, can always look for drawers divider, stainless steel racks and etc... from Ikea. This will definitely cost you like 30 to 40% from pure blum system.

pinkhippo2002

My carpenter install for me
no additional charge.

He even managed to get 15% discount for me from Blum. Some carpenters can get even larger discount

But I must pay for those systems (pass-through cost)

My carpenter is happy to install for me. Otherwise he has to provide the normal tracks anyway if I don't use blum. Now I'm paying for the tracks

pinkhippo2002

we went blum at Ubi (address above) to look at their system. they have a mini showroom there and will provide you the price list for all system

With that price list, you know you should pay less than their published rate since they offer carpenters & ID discounts

esther_c

hi ppl,
my contractor does blum,in case any1 is interested.He is Jason Sim from Joyous Home Design (Hugestone Construction).His hp is 93855798.Just say Sheryl recommended.

jj_autumn

Can anyone recommend a contractor just to do the Blumotion Hinge and Pull-out Systems on my existing cabinets? Thank you!